Review Index:
Feedback

Western Digital My Passport Wireless Pro 2TB Review - More Power

Subject: Storage
Manufacturer: Western Digital

Introduction, Specifications, and Packaging

Introduction

Western Digital launched their My Passport Wireless nearly two years ago. It was a nifty device that could back up or offload SD cards without the need for a laptop, making it ideal for photographers in the field. I came away from that review wondering just how much more you could pack into a device like that, and today I get to find out:

View Full Size

Not to be confused with the My Passport Pro (a TB-connected portable RAID storage device), the My Passport Wireless Pro is meant for on-the-go photographers who seek to back up their media while in the field but also lighten their backpacks. The concept is simple - have a small device capable of offloading (or backing up) SD cards without having to lug along your laptop and a portable hard drive to do so. Add in a wireless hotspot with WAN pass-through along with mobile apps to access the media and you can almost get away without bringing a laptop at all. Oh, and did I mention this one can also import photos and videos from your smartphone while charging it via USB?

Specifications

  • Capacity: 2TB and 3TB
  • Battery: 6,400 mAH / 24WH
  • UHS-I SD Card Reader
  • USB 3.0 (upstream) port for data and charging
  • USB 2.0 (downstream) port for importing and charging smartphones
  • 802.11AC + N dual band (2.4 / 5 GHz) WiFi
  • 2.4A Travel Charge Adapter (included)
  • Plex Media Server capable
  • Available 'My Cloud' mobile apps

Packaging

View Full Size

No surprises here. 2.4W power adapter is included this time around, which is a nice touch.

Read on for our review of the WD My Passport Wireless Pro!


June 21, 2016 | 10:23 AM - Posted by Chaitanya (not verified)

I hope they have fixed some complaints of photographers. There was no way of finding out if the sd card inserted was copied completly without going through app. Also that sd reader was connected with usb 2.0, so I hope its now connected via usb 3.0 instead.

June 21, 2016 | 10:59 AM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

As mentioned in the review, SD imports now use the battery status indicator as a percent copied indicator (in 25% increments), and the SD reader goes ~60-70 MB/s (>USB 2.0 speed).

June 21, 2016 | 11:11 AM - Posted by Chaitanya (not verified)

Thanks for info, though that reader kind of slow. 60MBps means that its not even utilising Uhs-I speeds to max. With Uhs-II cards available it would have been really time saver. Although it seems like WD certainly has listned to feedback and take. step in right direction. 18650 batteries also mean they are easier to replace once orignal set goes bad.

June 21, 2016 | 02:54 PM - Posted by Gunbuster

Gotta say that might be the most uninspired packaging I have seen so far this year.

June 21, 2016 | 05:16 PM - Posted by DanF (not verified)

Does this drive have the ability to connect to a wifi enabled camera directly and back up images as they are being shot - so that they are written both to the SD card and the drive simultaneously?

June 21, 2016 | 05:37 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

Unfortunately, no, but that is a very power-inefficient method of shooting (for both the camera and the destination device).

June 21, 2016 | 09:55 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

So you are SOL if you use a camera that uses CF, like most higher end DSLR's. Stopped reading as soon as I saw this limit. I'm not sure why they'd make a idea that appeals for photographers so limited in use.

June 21, 2016 | 10:55 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Because the vast majority of cameras actually sold are SDHC/SDXC cameras. CF-based cameras account for a tiny amount of cameras sold today, let alone the myriad of other devices that use MicroSD that are then compatible with a simple adapter (read: mobile phones).

July 12, 2016 | 12:40 PM - Posted by genghisnico13 (not verified)

Something interesting to add, you can SSH to the drive, so that gives you flexibility to modify stuff.

October 20, 2016 | 05:09 PM - Posted by Tamal Basak (not verified)

It seems like WD certainly has listned to feedback and take. 60MBps means that its not even utilising Uhs-I speeds to max. With Uhs-II cards available it would have been really time saver.

Friendly Deals - Free Recharge Tricks Vodafone Website

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.