Review Index:
Feedback

Seagate BarraCuda Pro 10TB Review - Massive Helium Client HDD

Subject: Storage
Manufacturer: Seagate

Sequential Performance - HDTune, File Copy, YAPT (sequential)

We have shifted over to combining our results into two groupings for consumer reviews. First up is sequential performance:

HDTune:

HDTune tests a similar level of features as compared with HDTach, but with a different access pattern. Thus provides us with an additional set of benchmark numbers to compare between storage configurations. CPU utilization has proven negligible with modern processing horsepower, and is no longer included. Additionally, we do not include write performance due to HDTune's write access pattern not playing nicely with most SSDs we have tested it on.

View Full Size

Since Western Digital chose to go big on their NAS drives first, the highest capacity consumer (Black) drive to compare to is only a 6TB capacity. I will include the 8TB Red for more data points, but realize that is a slower spinning 5400-RPM unit.

Higher platter densities necessary to achieve 10TB lead to higher sequentials, and that's certainly the case here, with the BarraCuda Pro 10TB turning in the fastest sequentials we've seen from a consumer part.

PCPer File Copy Test

Our custom PCPer-FC test does some fairly simple file creation and copy routines in order to test the storage system for speed.  The script creates a set of files of varying sizes, times the creation process, then copies the same files to another partition on the same hard drive and times the copy process.  There are four file sizes that we used to try and find any strong or weak points in the hardware: 10 files @ 1000 MB each, 100 files @ 100 MB each, 500 files @ 10 MB each and 1000 files at 1 MB each.

View Full Size

Creations looked good, but the BarraCuda Pro had a harder time with smaller file sizes, likely due to its different caching method and slower seek times.

View Full Size

File copy speeds were decent and competitive with the faster drives in the pack.

YAPT:

YAPT (yet another performance test) is a benchmark recommended by a pair of drive manufacturers and was incredibly difficult to locate as it hasn't been updated or used in quite some time.  That doesn't make it irrelevant by any means though, as the benchmark is quite useful.  It creates a test file of about 100 MB in size and runs both random and sequential read and write tests with it while changing the data I/O size in the process.  The misaligned nature of this test exposes the read-modify-write performance of SSDs and Advanced Format HDDs.

View Full Size

View Full Size

The Seagate unit sat at the top of sequential read results here, and high in the results for sequential writes as well.


August 5, 2016 | 05:13 PM - Posted by Cyclops

I'm surprised you didn't anchor the drive down before taking those pictures. They typically fly away.

August 5, 2016 | 05:31 PM - Posted by Arc (not verified)

By the time I can afford one of these, they will be 20Tb...

August 5, 2016 | 05:50 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

"The SATA connector is in an 'odd' place at the rear"

I'm wondering where the standard position for a SATA connector on a 3.5" drive became "odd".

August 5, 2016 | 06:02 PM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

Well the connector is on the front / top edge if the drive if you are looking at the label upright.

August 20, 2016 | 08:48 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

??
It looks EXACTLY the same as other drives to me.

August 5, 2016 | 11:14 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I actually liked the little pictures Seagate would put on their hard drives back in the day, there was a fun cartoon fish, cheetah, a marathon runner or a hand holding a track and field medal. Much better than the boring old Conner, Quantum, or Maxtor labels. And where are they now? That's right, gone!

August 5, 2016 | 11:23 PM - Posted by quest4glory

There's a stylized picture of a barracuda on the label of this drive.

August 6, 2016 | 01:10 AM - Posted by biohazard918

I quite like their new logos for the drives.

August 6, 2016 | 10:55 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Not touching until there's a few years worth of reliability data available!!! Not going to be another Seagate Ginnie Pig with piles of dead drives.

August 7, 2016 | 09:35 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Seriously? Give it up. It's time for that Zombie myth to die. Take a look at current reliability stats and you'll see that WDs are the worst drives for reliability right now. https://www.backblaze.com/blog/hard-drive-reliability-stats-q1-2016/

Also, it's guinea pig not "Ginnie Pig".

August 7, 2016 | 06:52 PM - Posted by Shambles (not verified)

Myth? Are 3TB Seagate deniers a thing now?

August 9, 2016 | 07:37 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

1. Cherry picking doesn't a stat make. 2. Post your verifiable source.

August 20, 2016 | 08:59 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Okay, I did have the EXACT same Seagate model die that was being discussed by Backblaze a while back.

HOWEVER... Backblaze got in hot water because they not only had HDD's incorrectly mounted, but were also using non-server drives without anti-vibration capability.

The "WD30EFRX" HDD for example is a NAS drive. It is NOT a server drive yet that is how it is being used. The suggested usage is home and small business.

So you need to be very careful about how much trust you give the stats:
http://www.tweaktown.com/articles/6028/dispelling-backblaze-s-hdd-reliab...

August 6, 2016 | 01:34 PM - Posted by Dvon-E (not verified)

Zero latency on the IOMeter? It must have thiotimoline bearings.

August 6, 2016 | 02:02 PM - Posted by CNote

I really like the look of these helium drives... They look slick and futuristic for a HDD.

August 6, 2016 | 11:55 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

These are 7,200rpm drives? Will there be a 5,400rpm version? When you have 6 or more in a NAS they tend to get loud really fast...

August 7, 2016 | 02:46 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Most likely it will downgrade to 5400 when the helium is gone ;-)

August 8, 2016 | 12:16 PM - Posted by tbonesan

Hopefully these are priced respectfully. I have my doubts though. Spinners are still going for way too much.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.