Review Index:
Feedback

Seagate BarraCuda Pro 10TB Review - Massive Helium Client HDD

Subject: Storage
Manufacturer: Seagate

Internals, Testing Methodology and System Setup

Internals

View Full Size

View Full Size

The SATA connector is in an 'odd' place at the rear, but this makes sense for cases with the SATA connectors in a backplane, where you would still see the label in an 'upright' orientation.

View Full Size

View Full Size

Seagate has their own unique approach to the new enclosure style. Changes must be made to enable a true hermetic seal in order to keep the Helium where it belongs.

View Full Size

Here's a close up of the control and data connection contacts. These mate with a pin connector on the PCB and pass that electrical connection through the Helium sealed barrier. This is not a trivial thing to do, as there must be no possibility of the second smallest atoms from diffusing through any gaps present.

Testing Methodology

Our tests are a mix of synthetic and real-world benchmarks. IOMeter, HDTach, HDTune, Yapt and our custom File Copy test round out the selection to cover just about all bases. Our exclusive Latency Percentile test dives far deeper into IO latencies than any other simple average or maximum figures can. Direct-measured power consumption rounds out our performance results. If you have any questions about our tests just drop into the Storage Forum and we'll help you out!

Test System Setup

We currently employ a pair of testbeds. A newer ASUS P8Z77-V Pro/Thunderbolt and an ASUS Z87-PRO. Variance between both boards has been deemed negligible.

PC Perspective would like to thank Intel, ASUS, Corsair, Kingston, and EVGA for supplying some of the components of our test rigs.

Hard Drive Test System Setup
CPU Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.125 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth X99
Memory 16GB Micron DDR4 @ 3333
Hard Drive G.Skill 32GB SLC SSD
Sound Card N/A
Video Card EVGA GeForce GTX 750
Video Drivers GeForce Game Ready Driver 347.88
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-650TX
DirectX Version N/A
Operating System Windows 8.1 Pro X64 (update)
  • PCPer File Copy Test
  • HDTach *omitted due to incompatibility with >2TB devices*
  • HDTune
  • IOMeter
  • YAPT

Video News


August 5, 2016 | 05:13 PM - Posted by Cyclops

I'm surprised you didn't anchor the drive down before taking those pictures. They typically fly away.

August 5, 2016 | 05:31 PM - Posted by Arc (not verified)

By the time I can afford one of these, they will be 20Tb...

August 5, 2016 | 05:50 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

"The SATA connector is in an 'odd' place at the rear"

I'm wondering where the standard position for a SATA connector on a 3.5" drive became "odd".

August 5, 2016 | 06:02 PM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

Well the connector is on the front / top edge if the drive if you are looking at the label upright.

August 20, 2016 | 08:48 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

??
It looks EXACTLY the same as other drives to me.

August 5, 2016 | 11:14 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I actually liked the little pictures Seagate would put on their hard drives back in the day, there was a fun cartoon fish, cheetah, a marathon runner or a hand holding a track and field medal. Much better than the boring old Conner, Quantum, or Maxtor labels. And where are they now? That's right, gone!

August 5, 2016 | 11:23 PM - Posted by quest4glory

There's a stylized picture of a barracuda on the label of this drive.

August 6, 2016 | 01:10 AM - Posted by biohazard918

I quite like their new logos for the drives.

August 6, 2016 | 10:55 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Not touching until there's a few years worth of reliability data available!!! Not going to be another Seagate Ginnie Pig with piles of dead drives.

August 7, 2016 | 09:35 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Seriously? Give it up. It's time for that Zombie myth to die. Take a look at current reliability stats and you'll see that WDs are the worst drives for reliability right now. https://www.backblaze.com/blog/hard-drive-reliability-stats-q1-2016/

Also, it's guinea pig not "Ginnie Pig".

August 7, 2016 | 06:52 PM - Posted by Shambles (not verified)

Myth? Are 3TB Seagate deniers a thing now?

August 9, 2016 | 07:37 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

1. Cherry picking doesn't a stat make. 2. Post your verifiable source.

August 20, 2016 | 08:59 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Okay, I did have the EXACT same Seagate model die that was being discussed by Backblaze a while back.

HOWEVER... Backblaze got in hot water because they not only had HDD's incorrectly mounted, but were also using non-server drives without anti-vibration capability.

The "WD30EFRX" HDD for example is a NAS drive. It is NOT a server drive yet that is how it is being used. The suggested usage is home and small business.

So you need to be very careful about how much trust you give the stats:
http://www.tweaktown.com/articles/6028/dispelling-backblaze-s-hdd-reliab...

August 6, 2016 | 01:34 PM - Posted by Dvon-E (not verified)

Zero latency on the IOMeter? It must have thiotimoline bearings.

August 6, 2016 | 02:02 PM - Posted by CNote

I really like the look of these helium drives... They look slick and futuristic for a HDD.

August 6, 2016 | 11:55 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

These are 7,200rpm drives? Will there be a 5,400rpm version? When you have 6 or more in a NAS they tend to get loud really fast...

August 7, 2016 | 02:46 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Most likely it will downgrade to 5400 when the helium is gone ;-)

August 8, 2016 | 12:16 PM - Posted by tbonesan

Hopefully these are priced respectfully. I have my doubts though. Spinners are still going for way too much.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.