Review Index:
Feedback

Seagate BarraCuda Pro 10TB Review - Massive Helium Client HDD

Subject: Storage
Manufacturer: Seagate

Introduction and Specifications

Introduction

Barracuda is a name we have not heard in a good while from Seagate. Last seen on their 3TB desktop drive, it appears they thought it was time for a comeback. The company is revamping their product lines, along with launching a full round of 10TB Helium-filled offerings that cover just about anything you might need:

View Full Size

Starting from the center, IronWolf is their NAS drive, optimized for arrays as large as 8 disks. To the right is their surveillance drive offering, the SkyHawk. These are essentially NAS units with custom firmware optimized for multiple stream recording. Not mentioned above is the FireCuda, which is a rebrand of their Desktop SSHD. Those are not He-filled (yet) as their max capacity is not high enough to warrant it. We will be looking at those first two models in future pieces, but the subject of today’s review is the BarraCuda line. The base 3.5” BarraCuda line only goes to 4TB, but the BarraCuda Pro expands upon those capacities, including 6TB, 8TB, and 10TB models. The subject of today’s review is the 10TB BarraCuda Pro.

View Full Size

Read on for our review of the 10TB BarraCuda Pro!

Specifications

View Full Size

Specs are mostly what we would expect for a large Helium filled drive. Noteworthy is the very low idle power consumption. We'll take a close look at that later in the review.


August 5, 2016 | 05:13 PM - Posted by Cyclops

I'm surprised you didn't anchor the drive down before taking those pictures. They typically fly away.

August 5, 2016 | 05:31 PM - Posted by Arc (not verified)

By the time I can afford one of these, they will be 20Tb...

August 5, 2016 | 05:50 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

"The SATA connector is in an 'odd' place at the rear"

I'm wondering where the standard position for a SATA connector on a 3.5" drive became "odd".

August 5, 2016 | 06:02 PM - Posted by Tim (not verified)

Well the connector is on the front / top edge if the drive if you are looking at the label upright.

August 20, 2016 | 08:48 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

??
It looks EXACTLY the same as other drives to me.

August 5, 2016 | 11:14 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I actually liked the little pictures Seagate would put on their hard drives back in the day, there was a fun cartoon fish, cheetah, a marathon runner or a hand holding a track and field medal. Much better than the boring old Conner, Quantum, or Maxtor labels. And where are they now? That's right, gone!

August 5, 2016 | 11:23 PM - Posted by quest4glory

There's a stylized picture of a barracuda on the label of this drive.

August 6, 2016 | 01:10 AM - Posted by biohazard918

I quite like their new logos for the drives.

August 6, 2016 | 10:55 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Not touching until there's a few years worth of reliability data available!!! Not going to be another Seagate Ginnie Pig with piles of dead drives.

August 7, 2016 | 09:35 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Seriously? Give it up. It's time for that Zombie myth to die. Take a look at current reliability stats and you'll see that WDs are the worst drives for reliability right now. https://www.backblaze.com/blog/hard-drive-reliability-stats-q1-2016/

Also, it's guinea pig not "Ginnie Pig".

August 7, 2016 | 06:52 PM - Posted by Shambles (not verified)

Myth? Are 3TB Seagate deniers a thing now?

August 9, 2016 | 07:37 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

1. Cherry picking doesn't a stat make. 2. Post your verifiable source.

August 20, 2016 | 08:59 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Okay, I did have the EXACT same Seagate model die that was being discussed by Backblaze a while back.

HOWEVER... Backblaze got in hot water because they not only had HDD's incorrectly mounted, but were also using non-server drives without anti-vibration capability.

The "WD30EFRX" HDD for example is a NAS drive. It is NOT a server drive yet that is how it is being used. The suggested usage is home and small business.

So you need to be very careful about how much trust you give the stats:
http://www.tweaktown.com/articles/6028/dispelling-backblaze-s-hdd-reliab...

August 6, 2016 | 01:34 PM - Posted by Dvon-E (not verified)

Zero latency on the IOMeter? It must have thiotimoline bearings.

August 6, 2016 | 02:02 PM - Posted by CNote

I really like the look of these helium drives... They look slick and futuristic for a HDD.

August 6, 2016 | 11:55 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

These are 7,200rpm drives? Will there be a 5,400rpm version? When you have 6 or more in a NAS they tend to get loud really fast...

August 7, 2016 | 02:46 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Most likely it will downgrade to 5400 when the helium is gone ;-)

August 8, 2016 | 12:16 PM - Posted by tbonesan

Hopefully these are priced respectfully. I have my doubts though. Spinners are still going for way too much.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.