Review Index:
Feedback

Samsung 950 PRO 256GB and 512GB M.2 NVMe PCIe SSD Review

Subject: Storage
Manufacturer: Samsung

Introduction, Specifications and Packaging

Introduction:

View Full Size

This is it. This is the day we have been waiting for.  Ever since we feasted our eyes on the NVMe version of the Samsung SM951, we’ve been begging Samsung to release this as a consumer product. Bonus points if it was powered by their 3D VNAND technology. It took them a while, but they came through, officially announcing the 950 PRO exactly one month ago, and launching them today! Not only will we dive into the performance of this new model, we will also include its results in our new Latency Distribution and Percentile testing.

Specifications:

View Full Size

Nothing has changed since the announcement. All specs remain the same very impressive 2.2-2.5 GB/s reads, 0.9-1.5 GB/s writes, and upwards of 300k IOPS, all from an M.2 2280 SSD consuming only 7 Watts!

While the 950 PROs will work with the built-in Microsoft NVMe driver (present in Windows 8 and up), Samsung has also provided their own driver, which will increase performance. The same was true for the Intel SSD 750 Series.

Packaging:

View Full Size

There’s really not much to this packaging, but it’s the most ‘retail’ we’ve seen for packaging of a simple M.2 SSD.

Read on for the full review of the 256GB and 512GB Samsung 950 PROs!!


October 22, 2015 | 10:30 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Thanks for the review, looks like Samsung is going to dominate SSD market for quite sometime.

October 22, 2015 | 10:55 AM - Posted by Jann5s (not verified)

Allyn, do you think the recording of all your bin's may influence the measurement of the drive?

P.S. loving the new percentile graphs, they really visualize the characteristics of a drive.

October 22, 2015 | 12:04 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

My implementation does not vary in added per-IO latency as the bin scale is expanded. I spent solid weeks qualifying it for production and I've gone as high as 1200 divisions in testing with no impact on performance or results. I'm limited only by the system RAM and how much I want to make Excel scream trying to parse the output data :).

October 27, 2015 | 02:07 AM - Posted by AnthonyShea

Good word, in general but more so on your new metric and software. building a new system and then proofing the data is a pretty taxing thing to do. No wonder you need that Seiki 40" monitor, its all for excel sheets lol.

October 22, 2015 | 10:57 AM - Posted by kent1146

Me. Want. In every computer I own.

The initial move from mechanical HDD (SATA) --> SSD (SATA) was a huge leap in performance under real-world workloads. But the move between individual top-tier SATA3-based SSDs didn't really show too much of a noticeable difference under real-world workloads.

I'm really glad to see that we are starting to see a lot of NVMe-based SSDs coming out, that are delivering the next "huge leap" in real-world performance that gets us beyond SATA3-based SSDs.

October 22, 2015 | 10:59 AM - Posted by sensacion7

Thanks for the great review. Do you think with the mfg process switch that it could be possible that Samsung will do away with smaller capacity ssd's like 64GB /120GB? Seeing as the cost/GB will go down considerably.
Also, do you know of any Linux compatibility issues for these drives? Samsung recently updated code for the Linux kernel to fix the 840 issues...

October 22, 2015 | 12:07 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

I think the smaller capacities will always have a place, but they may drop those capacities out of the performance lines in the future. A 128GB 950 PRO would see larger hits to sequential performance (roughly half of the 256GB model). The reason the 256 is not half of the 512 is because the 512 is riding the controller's maximum throughput.

October 22, 2015 | 11:49 PM - Posted by sensacion7

Thanks Allyn !

October 22, 2015 | 11:02 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Great review, thanks.

I've found the problem with buying M.2 and PCIE cards is that once you upgrade all you can really do with them is set them aside. You can't just plug them into a different SATA port.

I want to grab a 512GB Samsung Pro, but i can't justify it because i'd rather have the 1TB model, and so i'll wait for that because i only have 1 m.2 slot.

By the way, this conundrum has got to be like the poster child for the FirstWorldProblems meme.

October 22, 2015 | 01:46 PM - Posted by remc86007

At least in the near term this shouldn't really be a problem because I'm sure NVMe SSDs will hold their value pretty well and you can simply sell the 512 when the 1TB comes out.

October 23, 2015 | 12:02 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You can probably get an adapter card to use an m.2 SSD in a PCIe slot. A lot of newer high-end boards are including multiple m.2 connectors. Personally, while SFF computers are interesting, I would still always go with a full ATX board on a desktop PC to allow for plenty of expansion.

October 22, 2015 | 11:17 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I guess ASRock released beta BIOS support to allow for NVMe to be used on many of their Z77 and Z87 motherboards:
http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=305&KW=sm951&PN=1&title=sm95...

Between that BIOS and this adapter, I'm very curious if you could use this drive on these older boards. Likewise, Asus is rolling out beta drivers for older Z77 motherboards as well.

http://amzn.com/B011YJ7WLK

October 22, 2015 | 12:11 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

Be careful, that adapter is for U.2 (SFF-8639), not M.2.

October 22, 2015 | 11:41 AM - Posted by Danny (not verified)

I knew that Intel 750 NVMe SSD isn't perfect for client users. It's predominantly ideal for enterprise users who run with database center, file server, web server, especially multiple 4k video source editing. Samsung 950 Pro, on the other hand, does very good job on very low queue depth which most consumers run programs nowadays that require at least queue depth of one such as operating system, games, file copy transfer, and of course web browsing.

-It consumers less power.
-It's cheaper.
-It'll fit in most laptop and desktop platforms. However, it may require M.2 to PCIe Adapter Add-in card to install additional M.2 SSDs.
-But other than that, Samsung 950 Pro is definitely perfect for client and gamers!
-Other thoughts: Intel 750 is considered for workstation purposes, not for regular small-workload use.

October 22, 2015 | 11:48 AM - Posted by bobalicious (not verified)

Good review, but any word on installation process/problems on Win7?

October 22, 2015 | 12:10 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

There is a hotfix to add native NVMe support to Windows 7, but during a clean install you would simply apply the Samsung driver during that process and the SSD should be visible / installable / bootable without issue.

November 10, 2015 | 09:21 PM - Posted by Mikeyd (not verified)

I understand Windows 8 (not 8.1) does not have native support for NVMe boot drives. The Samsung NVMe driver for the 950 Pro is an .exe file meant to be installed after Windows has been installed. Even when I unpack the file it does not appear to include a driver file that Windows 8 can use during a clean install SETUP to allow the OS to see the 950 Pro. I'm running an Asus Maximus VIII GENE (Z170) mb w/ latest 0907 BIOS. Do you know of a workaround to get Windows 8 to see the drive? Thanks!

October 22, 2015 | 12:30 PM - Posted by H1tman_Actua1

oh me wants! I will have this!

October 22, 2015 | 12:37 PM - Posted by Palorim12 (not verified)

Hey Allyn,

Tech Report and andandtech said they had big Thermal issues. Why do you think that is? Your Worst case scenario isn't that bad, but their tests showed significant drops.

October 22, 2015 | 01:39 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

I'm not sure what to tell you (or what their situation was). The HDTach result I included was with the SSD sitting on a testbed with a video card blocking the air from the CPU cooler, so there was no active airflow across the SSD at all. I tried this on both capacities and had an even harder time getting the 256GB model to throttle.

October 22, 2015 | 12:48 PM - Posted by Dvon-E (not verified)

How close are you to needing to build performance logging into the NVMe driver, bypassing the software stack overhead, in order to differentiate the highest tier of drives? The latency graph from Sept. 23 shows software approaching half the overhead.

October 22, 2015 | 01:43 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

I agree that we are gettingto razor slim margins, but testing at elevated queue depth helps keep things spread out a bit. QD-1 results may be super fast, but since the latency added by the pipeline is somewhat constant, and with the ability to infinitely adjust bin size, relative differences between SSDs can still be measured and compared. You just have to realize that the system itself is adding some latency across the board.

October 22, 2015 | 01:03 PM - Posted by S1DIMMER (not verified)

So where are the real world impressions? How fast does it boot a system? Is there a boot delay due to NVMe like I've heard about on the Intel 750 series? Does it feel noticeably faster when opening applications on your PC vs an 850 EVO. The benchmarks are necessary and great but I want to know if I slap it in my new Skylake system will I even notice a difference? And where can I buy one today? Thanks!

October 22, 2015 | 01:48 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

If you are moving from SATA you would notice a difference similar (or better) to running a 4x RAID-0 of good performance SATA SSDs. Boot times vary wildly based on each manufacturers NVMe implementation in their respective UEFI BIOS.

We don't focus on boot times because the length of time booting a system can vary due to so many other factors, and that systems spend a small fraction of their total uptime in the boot process anyway.

They should be on sale by the end of this month!

October 22, 2015 | 06:18 PM - Posted by S1DIMMER (not verified)

Thank you Allyn

October 22, 2015 | 01:20 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

How much faster would this feel in normal day to day use, such as gaming, windows start up, etc.

October 22, 2015 | 01:44 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

It all depends on what you are comparing it to. The latency results should give you a feel for that, but you do get to the point of diminishing returns as these products get faster and faster.

October 22, 2015 | 02:02 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I mean in comparison to a regular SSD like the 850 EVO.

October 22, 2015 | 05:31 PM - Posted by Dr_Orgo

I think Tom's Hardware has some "real world" performance tests on the 950 Pro. Seemed like there was little difference in load times, but their testing isn't rigorous by any means.

October 25, 2015 | 07:29 AM - Posted by ppi (not verified)

But it is consistent throughout all the tests + Techreport arrived basically to same results.

The question today stands like: should I buy 512GB super-fast SSD or 1TB "slow" one?

October 22, 2015 | 02:13 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

awesome review! Since the Z170 "Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7" & "MSI Z170A GAMING M7" motherboards has two M.2 slots and supports raid modes, could you get one of said boards and two Samsung M951 NVME M.2 SSD's and two Samsung 950 Pro NVME M.2 SSD's to put them in raid 0 for comparison benchmark speed tests?

October 22, 2015 | 02:43 PM - Posted by fvbounty

Did you get a chance to use a Asus Hyper M.2 adapter card in any systems...I was wondering if there was any performance difference? I have a Asus Maximus VII Z97 motherboard and the Hyper M.2 adapter just waiting for the 950, also was there any certain order on install W10 on the 950....like chipset then Samsung's NVME drivers? Thanks in advance for any info...

October 22, 2015 | 03:11 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

Zero difference. The 512GB 950 PRO was tested using that exact card.

October 22, 2015 | 03:31 PM - Posted by fvbounty

Thanks a lot, good news, you know what would be Great for a short video is showing a os install on the 950, shouldn't take very long that's for sure...lol

October 24, 2015 | 05:30 AM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

We have such a video for the SSD 750. 950 PRO would be an identical process.

October 22, 2015 | 02:48 PM - Posted by Arul

cool !!!

October 22, 2015 | 04:47 PM - Posted by Larry Roberts (not verified)

one comment made in the article i want to make sure i understand - that on the back side of the PCB board is where there's a sticker - if that's correct, what are those on the controller and Nand chips - are they stickers (plastic or paper) or aluminum plates with the samsung logos?

thanks

October 22, 2015 | 10:33 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

It's also a sticker. 

October 22, 2015 | 05:37 PM - Posted by MRFS (not verified)

This review talks about RAID modes
e.g. with native RST software:

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/samsung-950-pro-ssd,4313-2.html

MRFS

October 24, 2015 | 05:32 AM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

RST currently doesn't support opposing NVMe drivers. RAID testing these right now is jumping the gun a bit.

October 22, 2015 | 05:49 PM - Posted by Dr_Orgo

Really cool to see this finally get released. Looks like this should keep Samsung at the top of the performance charts for a good while.

For general gaming, web browsing, and office productivity the 950 Pro isn't worth it. If you can get a double capacity SSD for the same price, might as well get the larger SSD. In the future when most SSDs are M.2 then it'll be time to switch. Although, if I do build a new PC, I might just get it anyway.

October 22, 2015 | 06:12 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Why does this have half of the warranty of the old 950 pro? Pretty big turn off for me, especially given Samsung's issues with the 840 series - they need to be doing extra to rebuild confidence in their products, not cutting down warranties.

October 22, 2015 | 10:35 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

The 850 Pro launched with a 5 year warranty. It was later extended to 10. No NVMe products currently carry a 10 year warranty. 

October 22, 2015 | 07:03 PM - Posted by willmore (not verified)

Sorry I'm late. Beginning of page 2 "Meing..." What's Meing?

October 22, 2015 | 10:42 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

Thanks - fixed!

October 22, 2015 | 07:21 PM - Posted by Mutation666 (not verified)

Wish my AM3+ would work with this for boot :( Waiting for Zen but might have to go X99.

October 22, 2015 | 07:27 PM - Posted by aparsh335i (not verified)

I have an MSI Z97MX-Gaming 5 motherboard with M.2 10gb/s slot. Is this fully compatible? Sorry, im very new to the whole m.2 thing. I currently have 2x Samsung 850 Pro 512gb in Raid 0 - would mind selling 1 or both and switching to this based on how god damn fast it is.

October 22, 2015 | 08:52 PM - Posted by aselwyn1

ya i agree they didnt exactly make m.2 very easy to understand

October 23, 2015 | 12:27 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I don't think m.2 was really meant to be that consumer oriented. It has a large number of possible keying and interfaces (A through M). I suspect that they mostly designed it for mobile use without really expecting people to use it that much on the desktop. The SATA express connector looks like a total kludge though and a lot of boards do not have that many x4 or greater slots available, so this form factor makes a lot of sense. Although, I think they should have made a form factor closer to a memory module also. We may get that with Intel X-point or other next generation nonvolatile technology.

October 22, 2015 | 08:00 PM - Posted by fvbounty

I don't know what these guys did but look at this link page 3 of there review....95C....and throttling only 62 seconds with out fan....

http://www.legitreviews.com/samsung-ssd-950-pro-512gb-nvme-pcie-ssd-revi...

October 23, 2015 | 11:49 AM - Posted by Bri (not verified)

Definitely concerning enough to warrant a further look. Maybe slapping a heat spreader on there would help?

October 22, 2015 | 11:42 PM - Posted by sensacion7

Found out today, Linux Kernel 3.3+ all support NVMe !

October 23, 2015 | 12:37 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

While this is fast, I don't know if it is fast enough to justify price differences over an 850 pro. We have kind of reached a fast enough point unless we change how the device is used. Current systems are designed to access non-volatile storage as little as possible since the difference between DRAM and disk is many orders of magnitude. This makes it such that small changes in performance will make almost no difference in day-to-day use. Flash isn't good enough to act like DRAM, so it will be stuck being accessed in a disk-like manner even through NVMe. Intel's X-point may be fast enough and durable enough to actually be used more like DRAM, or at least fast enough to make it a separately defined level of the memory hierarchy. The NVMe software stack kind of makes flash a separate level, but it will still mostly be treated like disk due to the durability.

October 23, 2015 | 12:49 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Unless you are a power user (ie running loots of VMs etc) this drive is only for bragging rights. Having said that in about 3-4 years the application ecosystems will keep on developing apps that will push the limits of this drive. Asrock has an M.2 slot which they call ultra M.2. I would love to see how this performs on the Ulta M.2 slot. 5 years ago if you needed 300k IOPS you would have required high end Storage arrays with massive number of SAS 15k drive in RAID 0 to achieve that result.

November 27, 2015 | 11:34 AM - Posted by Grov (not verified)

The Asrock " Ultra M2" slot is a standard PCI-E gen 3 - 4x slot. Nothing " Ultra" about it. They call it "Ultra" to differentiate with M2 slots that run on lower gen PCI-E

October 23, 2015 | 01:22 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Probably too late to get an answer, but I didn't see anything about power loss prevention in the specs for these SSD's.
Any of the tested Samsungs have anything in place to prevent data loss in case of sudden power loss?

Haven't gotten a Samsung SSD since my 830 bricked due to this problem.

October 23, 2015 | 03:12 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I don't think it has power loss prevention, but I don't know for sure. Providing enough power to shutdown properly generally requires some relatively large capacitors. You can see them on the Intel 750 board, since it has plenty of room. The 750 in the 2.5 inch drive form factor has two boards, I believe, and it actually has cut outs to fit a capacitor. It would be difficult to fit a large capacitor on a tiny m.2 PCB. It is lower power than the competition, so it may be able to use a smaller capacitor, but it would probably still be difficult to make room. The m.2 standard was meant more for mobile, so it has strict size limits, including thickness. I would rather have a full PCIe card which wouldn't have any thermal or component size issues.

October 23, 2015 | 08:26 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have the Intel 750 in one of my computers and is quite satisfied with it. It's more for another of my computers I'm looking to get a new SSD for.
It's unfortunate, but understandable, if the m.2 ssd's don't have caps for power loss prevention.

October 23, 2015 | 11:05 AM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

Power loss prevention is not the same as protecting 'data in flight'. A 750's capacitance can help it finish writes sent to it immediately prior to a power loss, but the only way that happens is if power is lost during heavy write activity. Even in that case, chances are the full lenght of the write is not completed (there would still be some data on the host that did not make it across the bus).

There is insufficient space on consumer M.2 SSDs for PLP. It just is what it is. Now that 830 you had bricked was likely the result of something other than just a power loss, as there would be *way* more reports of bricked drives if simply losing power during use resulted in a bricked drive.

October 23, 2015 | 08:28 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

hey i wanted to ask this for a long time to PCPer, i know this a "storage" area but, please consider this question :
is there anyone (a company like ASUS, Acer, DELL, or hell even Nixeus) even trying to build a 24" 1080p 144Hz IPS G-SYNC/FreeSync monitor under 300$-350$?
G-SYNC / FreeSync either would work because we all know that in 2016 AMD and nVidia both would have tremendously powered GPUs that could easily overpower a 1080p screen which would cost less than 300$ !!!

October 23, 2015 | 08:34 AM - Posted by Kraaketaer

I find it rather odd that you list "Power Consumption is half that of the closest competing NVMe SSD" as one of the Pros of this drive, yet your testing includes no power consumption data at all? I get that the "closest competing NVMe SSD" is the 2.5" u.2/HHHL PCIe Intel 750, but looking at AnandTech's review of the 950 Pro, the power consumption in most cases is disproportionately high even when compared to its stellar performance.

October 23, 2015 | 11:07 AM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

The 950 Pro has a similar power rating and construction to the SM951:

Anandtech tested idle consumption, and from the looks of it, their new editor is not testing DevSlp in their results. They also did not include the SSD 750 in their results (it draws more). In a desktop install, 1-4W idle draw from a high performance SSD is perfectly acceptable. Mobile installs implement DevSlp, which allows most SSDs to dive even deeper into shutdown and draw near-negligible power, at the expense of added first-IO latency as the controller spins back up.

October 23, 2015 | 07:38 PM - Posted by DS4130 (not verified)

Would like to send my thanks for the review, by far the most concise published to date and also with comparisons of all relevant drives included, many sites seem to have omitted the SM951 NVMe for example.

May I ask which driver you were using for testing? Apologies if this missed this info but is's rather late here and have had a number of beers..

October 24, 2015 | 05:35 AM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

All 950 PRO testing was done with a beta version of the Samsung NVMe driver installed. Performance is decent but lower when using the MS inbox driver. 

October 24, 2015 | 08:59 AM - Posted by fvbounty

Any idea when Magician 4.8 will be out and the non beta NVMe driver will be available....I would guess by the time they are available for retail, and thanks for the Great review. Oh buy the way there sure is a lot of differences in reviews on temps and throttling any Idea why?

October 24, 2015 | 01:22 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

Not sure really. All review samples came from (literally) the same batch / box. I can only speak for our own results, and promise that I was intentionally trying to make these throttle. From what I have seen in my testing, I would have no issue putting one of these in my own system / usage with zero airflow over it. 

October 24, 2015 | 02:10 PM - Posted by fvbounty

Thanks Alan, I have a 200mm fan blowing in on my case (Corsair 650D) and the Hyper M.2 adapter card will be right in front of the fan about 18 inches away, so it should have pretty good airflow...Going to go for it, just waiting for W10 Threshold 2 to come out on November 2 to install it!

November 27, 2015 | 11:40 AM - Posted by Grov (not verified)

Magician 4.9 is out and also the driver http://www.samsung.com/global/business/semiconductor/minisite/SSD/global...

October 24, 2015 | 10:01 AM - Posted by TinkerToyTech

and to top it off MSFT has a driver for it, or generically for NVMe now? I just bought a 6700k and a Gigglebyte UD5 mobo, they were delivered yesterday, I haven't even unpacked it all nor started building but be assured I'll be debating hard whether 650 goes on these or a 980ti about the time I'm ready to make my next upgrade - guess it will depend if I sell even more ham radio gear to buy computer parts. :D

October 24, 2015 | 01:23 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

Windows 8 and up has a built in NVMe driver, but it's like using a built in GPU driver. It works but you won't get the best possible performance.

October 25, 2015 | 12:45 AM - Posted by hoxlund

pre-ordered the 512GB version today. next week can't come soon enough!

swapping out my sm951 256GB ahci

October 27, 2015 | 10:25 AM - Posted by BBMan (not verified)

We've gone from SATA3 to PCIe and the next step up I see today are Memory card slots. It might be interesting to see controllers that could exploit DDR addressing or maybe even a new type of slot for storage style memory.

Pipe dreaming- but the lines are blurring.

October 28, 2015 | 06:18 AM - Posted by amadsilentthirst

Plugging in some next gen storage into an unused memory slot....well it'll defiantly be faster than PCiEx4, and the Enterprise x8 @ 6GB/s

No idea if they could make a controller that would be able to bridge that miss-mash but it sure would be fast.

While we are pipe dreaming - why for the love of sanity, don't they use rechargeable ML2032 (instead of the CR2032) on MB/s

October 30, 2015 | 03:47 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Intel already announced something like this.
http://www.theplatform.net/2015/10/28/intel-shows-off-3d-xpoint-memory-p...

October 29, 2015 | 05:11 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

So, an ITX MB, an R9 Nano, some enthusiast class processor, an SFF PSU, this SSD. We'd have to hear from a case maker with a small enough case because the ones sold currently are too big. Wooh.

Can't wait to see how SFF PCs look in 1 year or 2.

October 30, 2015 | 09:52 AM - Posted by Albert89 (not verified)

Interesting review. Would like to have seen a SanDisk included in this review. As for WD buying SanDisk......what a loss for SanDisk users. By chance I own a WD HDD and two have surface corruption ! No one is that unlucky.
But no reporting of DX12 multi-adapter ? I guess it must be hard for you Nvidia fanboys to report on the recent successes of AMD GPU's.

November 2, 2015 | 02:32 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

The Sandisk samples we have on hand were not comparable in performance.

The previous iterations of PCPer.com were:

  • AMDMB.com
  • Athlonmb.com (Athlon was an AMD brand)
  • K7M.com (K7M was an AMD motherboard)

We also just did a piece covering practical installation of the Nano into SFF cases, and even detailed how to modify a case which had caused a Nano to thermally throttle in its stock form. Seemed a more appropriate thing to cover than the *one* game that supports the niche configuration of running opposing GPU vendors simultaneously. I'd rather just deal with a single vendor and their associated driver quirks, and I suspect a majority of gamers would agree. It may be a bigger deal in the future, but for now we are focusing our energy on more important content.

Nice try on the accusation though. Trolling a non-GPU topic with that comment was also a nice touch.

November 3, 2015 | 11:15 AM - Posted by fvbounty

The Samsung NVMe driver is up at the Samsung site for the 950 Pro...

http://www.samsung.com/global/business/semiconductor/minisite/SSD/global...

November 5, 2015 | 05:19 AM - Posted by tommi (not verified)

can I use this and boot in a Dell Xps 15 (the new skylake one)?

November 12, 2015 | 06:14 AM - Posted by Vigen (not verified)

Hi Allyn, thanks a lot for the review. I would like to know which block size you chose during your HD Tune's benchmark. When I run the benchmark with its default block size which is 64 KB, I get low reading speed (less than 900 mb/s). But 8 MB of block size gives 2250 mb/s.
Best regards

November 18, 2015 | 11:04 AM - Posted by fvbounty

Got it installed yesterday, clean install from a thumb-drive using rufus and GPT with W10 Threshold 2....plus it activated no problem. This is on a Maxuimas VII Z97 MB with the latest bios installed...about 6 minute on the install. Here's a couple of links of screenshots using Magician 4.9 (just came out a couple of days) and CystalMark...

http://i822.photobucket.com/albums/zz143/fvbounty/cystal%201.jpg

http://i822.photobucket.com/albums/zz143/fvbounty/samsung%204.9%20first%...

November 19, 2015 | 09:54 AM - Posted by fvbounty

Here's a link to a picture of temps running Cystalmarks....

http://i822.photobucket.com/albums/zz143/fvbounty/HD%20Sentinal3.jpg

November 22, 2015 | 11:43 AM - Posted by Nick Lauder (not verified)

After a fruitless week I am not able to load Windows 7 & boot from my Samsung the Pro 950 M.2 NVMe PCIe 256GB SSD when fitted to my Asus Z170 Deluxe Motherboard (latest BIOS v1302). Using both the Samsung Utilities for the Pro 950 M.2 NVMe PCIe SSD, I can see this device within the Windows 7 environment & know it works, but I just cannot load my W7 OS onto this card.
I have tried using the Windows 7 Rescue Disc, after cloning my W7 OS system onto the Pro 950 card, but this card just does not appear to exist in the DOS environment!
I am waiting for Asus to reply to my plea for help, but I am not hopeful.
I believe the answer is going to be with new BIOS update from American Megatrends, see link:
http://ami.com/news/press-releases/?PressReleaseID=338&/American%20Megat...

November 22, 2015 | 02:08 PM - Posted by vailr

Since Windows 10 includes a native NVMe driver, and can be installed and run for 30 days (without a product key) for free, why not try with that O.S. and see if the Samsung 950 Pro NVMe SSD can succeed at booting, whereas Win 7 was unable to do so. May require certain UEFI bios settings (such as: disabling CSM), as well as a complete wipe of any existing partitions, letting the Win10 installer create fresh ones.

November 27, 2015 | 11:37 AM - Posted by Grov (not verified)

I take it that you know that you have to install windows on this SSD with a UEFI bios setup? Also Samsung have released their own NVME driver. You can find it here:
http://www.samsung.com/global/business/semiconductor/minisite/SSD/global...

December 1, 2015 | 07:29 PM - Posted by Phil B. (not verified)

Allyn,
Great Review.

I've got a question about using the 950 Pro M.2 on my new build. I've got an MSi Z97M gaming motherboard, it has an M.2 slot (X2 speed) & also supports NVMe in the UEFI/BIOS. Would I benefit from using the 950 Pro M.2 over the 850 EVO M.2 drive.. or would the 950 Pro M.2 be limited by the X2 M.2 slot? I'm looking at either the 256GB 950 Pro or the 500GB 850 EVO, if the Z97 M.2 slot is going to limit the speed of the 950 Pro to that of the 850 EVO, I'll probably just go with the latter!? I'm still new to the way M.2 works so, thanks for the assistance.

Again, Thanks. Phil B.

February 4, 2016 | 05:04 AM - Posted by John J (not verified)

Hi Phil B. This reply is probably a bit late for you. I have both a 500G 850 EVO and 950 Pro in an i7-6700 build (Asus Z170M MOBO). The 950 is blazingly fast on M.2 NVMe with circa 1,500 MB/s write and 2,400 MB/s reads. For single threaded work on a desktop it's great. Eg copying 1G files is almost sub second. However if you throw lots of work at it Eg a big W10 update it grinds to 100% busy with latencies over 1,000ms. I even got a peak atency of 10,000ms running Performance Test 8. In these circumstances the 850 is faster overall.

February 23, 2016 | 11:23 AM - Posted by Rodrigo (not verified)

I have a "GA-Z97X-SLI" which has entrance to SSD M.2 10 / Gbs, if I buy a Samsung 950 Pro M.2, it will work 100%? with maximum efficiency?

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.