Review Index:
Feedback

Samsung 750 EVO Full Capacity Roundup - Planar Performance

Subject: Storage
Manufacturer: Samsung

Introduction, Specifications and Packaging

Introduction

Earlier this year we covered the lower two capacities of the Samsung 750 EVO. We had some requests for a review of the 500GB model as soon as it was added to their lineup, and Samsung promptly sent a sample, but I delayed that review in the interest of getting the full 750 EVO lineup tested under our new storage test suite. I've been running batches of SSDs through this new suite, and we now have enough data points to begin cranking out some reviews. The 750 EVO was at the head of the line, so we will be starting with it first. I'm 'reissuing' our review as a full capacity roundup of the 750 EVO lineup as these are fresh results on a completely new test suite.

View Full Size

Specifications

View Full Size

These are the 'Rev. 2' specifications from Samsung, which include the 500GB model of the 750 EVO. The changes are not significant, mainly a slight bump to random performance of the top capacity model along with a changeover to lower power DDR3 (of twice the capacity) for the 500GB model's system cache.

Packaging

View Full Size

Nothing new here. This is the standard Samsung packaging for their SATA products.

Continue reading our full review of the Samsung 750 EVO series of SSDs!!


December 22, 2016 | 01:01 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

On the page "Performance Focus - 750 EVO 250GB" under the first graph it says "Very impressive speeds for the 1TB 960 EVO. [...]".

Clearly that's wrong :D

December 22, 2016 | 01:09 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

Fixed. Thanks!

December 22, 2016 | 01:41 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You're welcome ;)

December 22, 2016 | 02:07 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Was Samsung 840 EVO really worth Editor's Choice Award?

December 22, 2016 | 02:53 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

840 EVO? Back when it launched? Sure. There were issues that were fixed, but could not be discovered at the time of the review.

December 22, 2016 | 04:22 PM - Posted by jt AJ (not verified)

hey Allyn, is it possible to include some raid0 SATA devices on your chart? for example samsung 850 pro raid 0 or 960 pro raid 0 to see how it fairs with single drives.

I understand due to raid latency, QD1 performance would drop but since your chart shows average of 1-4QD this would see some improvement in terms of raid, also see how well does SSD caching with intel RST would benefit us over single drive.

December 23, 2016 | 09:14 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Isn't the 750 EVO EOL now?

December 23, 2016 | 12:10 PM - Posted by madhatter256 (not verified)

I love your write up about the Latency Percentile. Your storage reviews are by far more realistic with some real engineering behind it. Keep up the great work!

December 23, 2016 | 02:26 PM - Posted by Mutation666 (not verified)

Still waiting on a Storage Leader board, like have the stats of all of them on an consistently updated page.

December 23, 2016 | 05:54 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

The 500GB 750 Evo is $241, the 500GB 850 Evo is $170. You'd be a fool to buy the lesser 750 for more than the better 850.

December 24, 2016 | 11:34 AM - Posted by Isaac Johnson

You would be a fool to pay that, especially since you can get one practically anywhere for ~$145-155 depending on tax/shipping.

December 23, 2016 | 11:43 PM - Posted by HERETIC (not verified)

Hi Allyn.
Wishing you all a happy festive season..................

Samsung and Sandisk(rip)were the only ones to get a grip
on planer TLC.That Ultra 2 result in the write cache test
is really strange.
I remember when you did a comparison a while back I asked
if you could include ultra 2 which was using folding on
each individual die-obviously you were too busy.
Guess something was going on in the background there.....

As to the 750 EVO's-the 250 and 500 pass my requirements.
1.More than 8000 IOPS read QD1.(must for a boot drive)
2.Write more than 200MB after the cache(cant have it slower
than my spinning rust)

December 30, 2016 | 10:58 AM - Posted by Pawel11 (not verified)

Would be great if this huge chart was searchable and not as an image. I wonder if my Toshiba Toshiba THNSNJ is somewhere there...