Review Index:
Feedback

Phison S10 Roundup - Kingston HyperX Savage vs. Patriot Ignite vs. Corsair Neutron XT

Subject: Storage
Manufacturer: PC Perspective

Internals, Testing Methodology and System Setup

Internals:

First up is the Kingston HyperX Predator:

View Full Size

We ran into a stumbling block as the Predator uses T6 Security screws. Neither the IFixIt 54 bit set nor their Pro Tech Screwdriver Set include that size. Regardless, we got creative and opened 'er up anyway:

View Full Size

Inside we find the Phison S10 controller, 256MB of RAM, and 256GB (240GB provisioned) of Kingston packaged Toshiba A19 MLC flash.

View Full Size

Flash packages appear at the front and rear of the PCB.

View Full Size

Next up is the Patriot Ignite:

View Full Size

No problems getting the screwless, snap-fit housing open. The PCB is smaller than the Kingston unit, but the component layout is similar. This is the 480GB model, so there is 512MB of DRAM equipped here.

View Full Size

Patriot chose to be different with their choice of flash memory, opting to go with Micron 16nm Asynchronous MLC flash. These are 128Gbit dies, which allows the Ignite to have half the number of flash memory packages as compared to the Savage despite being twice the capacity.

View Full Size

Testing Methodology

Our tests are a mix of synthetic and real-world benchmarks. IOMeter, HDTach, HDTune, Yapt and our custom File Copy test round out the selection to cover just about all bases. If you have any questions about our tests just drop into the Storage Forum and we'll help you out!

Test System Setup

We have several storage testbeds. A newer ASUS P8Z77-V Pro/Thunderbolt and an ASUS Z87-PRO. Variance between both boards has been deemed negligible when testing SATA devices. Future PCIe and SATA device testing, including this review, take place on a new ASUS Sabertooth X99, which comes equipped with USB 3.1, M.2, and can also handle SFF-8639 devices with the proper adapter.

PC Perspective would like to thank Intel, ASUS, Corsair, Kingston, and EVGA for supplying some of the components of our test rigs. 

 
Hard Drive Test System Setup
CPU Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.125 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth X99
Memory 16GB Micron DDR4 @ 3333
Hard Drive G.Skill 32GB SLC SSD
Sound Card N/A
Video Card EVGA GeForce GTX 750
Video Drivers GeForce Game Ready Driver 347.88
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-650TX
DirectX Version N/A
Operating System Windows 8.1 Pro X64 (update)
  • PCPer File Copy Test
  • HDTach
  • HDTune
  • IOMeter
  • YAPT

Video News


May 6, 2015 | 11:46 AM - Posted by This elephant isn't forgetting (not verified)

"They differ in flash memory types used..."

Which reminds me why Kingston is still off of my consideration list.

May 6, 2015 | 02:05 PM - Posted by Chaitanya Shukla

Same here, nearly 90% kingstons drive I have sold to this date have failed within 1hr of installation into clients machines. Its better to Avoid Kingston SSDs like a plague.

May 6, 2015 | 07:30 PM - Posted by Ravneil Lal (not verified)

I have been using a pair of Kingston HyperX 3K ssds in raid 0 as my primary drive and i havnt had a single issue with them.

May 6, 2015 | 07:44 PM - Posted by Buyers

Hey Allyn, i have a comment on your graphs. When using the graphs with a higher number of data sets, can you change up the shapes of the data points for similarly colored lines to better distinguish them? For example, the red line from the slightly-different-red line (Patriot vs Crucial), and the green line from the slightly-different-green line (Corsair vs Sandisk), etc.

May 6, 2015 | 09:23 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

Understood. I'll try and see if I can find a more contrasting / differing color for those two. What is now the white line used to be a *third* red/pink line :).

May 7, 2015 | 01:58 PM - Posted by StewartGraham (not verified)

Allyn,

This isn't so much a complaint but a suggestion, as I'm certainly a fan of the critical work you do for PCper... and your dead-pan (sometimes pleasantly cheesy) sense of humor is *always* appreciated on the podcast.

Anyway, you should get Ken to brain storm idea for a new charting/color system as the current "Rainbow Edition" is a bit hard to follow sometimes, especially when the data are heavy populated. Thanks Allyn!

May 6, 2015 | 11:58 PM - Posted by Cyclops

SATA SSDs don't interest me as much since NVMe drives have become available.

It's like the new hot neighbor that moves in next door. She has the looks AND the smarts. Now if only the price was right...

Sorry... eh... uh... thanks, Allyn! Nice article!

May 7, 2015 | 02:00 PM - Posted by StewartGraham (not verified)

I wish I had a new, hot, neighbor, but I've always lived in the woods :(

May 7, 2015 | 12:25 AM - Posted by fade2blac

It is unfortunately quite expensive, but there are sets of security bits that go down to T6.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/EAZYPOWER-86155-Security-Screwdriver-Bit-Set-3...

Alternatively, it might be easier to just drill out a cheap T6 bit or use a screw extractor if you have the tools.

May 8, 2015 | 10:54 PM - Posted by HERETIC (not verified)

Allyn I see the Sandisk Ultra 2 in your charts.
Have you reviewed that drive?

February 5, 2016 | 02:01 PM - Posted by bill (not verified)

@chaitanya
90% failure means to me something isn't installed correctly.
Ever heard of "Devsleep"?
Bottom-line, if your power-supply has a fifth wire (usually orange)
going to the drive, it'll go into a coma and never wake up.
I even found this hard to swallow, I mean, powering down the computer and restarting it would help, right?
Intel and Sandisk, inventors of the flawed technology,
quietly released a firmware update to deal with it (I've read).
Everyone else should use an adapter most motherboards include, that eliminates 3.3v.
Intel, al-la Queen-Biggie, said "let them eat signal instead of 3.3v".
Don't know if that's your 90% in an hour, but it's looking like a suspect.

November 21, 2017 | 05:35 AM - Posted by Edward (not verified)

You put corsair on title but dont put corsair images on same text? thumbs down!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.