Review Index:
Feedback

OCZ Octane 512GB SSD Full Review - Indilinx Has Returned With Everest

Subject: Storage
Manufacturer: OCZ

Internals, Testing Methodology and System Setup

Internals:

View Full Size

The Octane shares a housing with the Agility 3. The top cover portion is made of plastic. This is not necessarily a bad thing - many other manufacturers choose entire housings made of plastic, so long as heat production is not an issue.

View Full Size

The interesting bits hide on the bottom of the PCB.

View Full Size

...and the rest on the flip side. Note the extra SDRAM chip.

View Full Size

The shiney new Indilinx controller is paired with 512MB of SYNC DDR3 SDRAM, half of which is pictured here.

View Full Size

Storage is accomplished via IMFT 25nm flash, configured to run SYNC for the Octane.

View Full Size

We were a bit puzzled by the inclusion of what appears to be 8 4-bit 1-2 mux/demux chips from Texas Instruments. This configuration suggests this Everest is configured to run in 4-channel mode (8x 4-bit chips add up to split 4x 8-bit channels into a pair of the same, making up 8 channels). The question is - why add all of these extra parts when Everest is supposed to natively interleave multiple flash chips per channel? We don't have that answer, but these are extremely fast multiplexer chips that are likely just as fast as the controller could have switched natively anyway. Hopefully the added complexity and chip count won't negatively impact pricing.

Testing Methodology

Our tests are a good mix of synthetic and real-world benchmarks. PCMark, IOMeter, HDTach, HDTune, Yapt and our custom File Copy test round out the selection to cover just about all bases. If you have any questions about our tests just drop into the Storage Forum and we'll help you out! 

Test System Setup

We're breaking in a new SandyBridge testbed. Necessary for properly testing these new drives, even with the known issues. To get around this, we are using only the Intel SATA 6Gb/sec ports, which are known to not exhibit the inconsistent performance / connectivity issues. 

PC Perspective would like to thank ASUS, Corsair, and Kingston for supplying some of the components of our test rig. 

Hard Drive Test System Setup
CPU Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V Pro
Memory Kingston HyperX 4GB DDR3-2133 CL9
Hard Drive G.Skill 32GB SLC SSD
Sound Card N/A
Video Card Intel Core i5-2500K Native
Video Drivers Intel
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-650TX
DirectX Version DX9.0c
Operating System Windows 7 X64

 

  • PCMark05
  • Yapt
  • IOMeter
  • HDTach
  • HDTune
  • PCPer File Copy Test

 

Video News


November 23, 2011 | 12:43 PM - Posted by Matt (not verified)

Great review and an interesting product. I am finally tempted to put an SSD in my Laptop. To bad about the compatibility issue. There is no way I would do a fresh install.

also, on the pc per File copy test page, you haev a small typo :

''Even with a laege cache''

November 23, 2011 | 02:05 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Thanks, fixed!

November 23, 2011 | 04:00 PM - Posted by PNG (not verified)

When making screenshot :

Please do not using JPEG , use PNG
It looks a lot better with PNG.

Took me about 1/2 sec to spot the JPEG artifacts ...

November 23, 2011 | 08:50 PM - Posted by Nilbog

delete this lame^^

November 24, 2011 | 12:15 AM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

blocked and cleaning now

November 24, 2011 | 02:35 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It is still made by OCZ and that alone is reason enough to go no where near this product.

November 24, 2011 | 02:34 PM - Posted by ToiT (not verified)

Times are changing... keep your eye on them.

November 24, 2011 | 08:01 PM - Posted by pdjblum

My vertex recently failed and it took over a month to get a replacement from them. In the mean time, I had to buy another ssd for my system. I got the intel 320 because I was more interested in reliability than having the fastest drive out there. Really two issues come up here: one is that the vertex failed; and two is that it took over a month to get a replacement. I too will stay clear of OCZ for the foreseeable future. I just hope my vertex 3 max io edition that I bought previous to my vertex debacle hangs in there.

December 1, 2011 | 12:23 AM - Posted by josephjpeters (not verified)

Your perception is based on a first gen product. Look at the reviews of the Vertex 3 (or all SF-based drives) and you'll see that they've become a lot more reliable. I've had a Vertex 3 since launch and never had a single issue.

Now at OCZ is developing their own products (own controller), they'll be able to respond much quicker to compatibility issues. Keep in mind they're a relatively small company. As they grow their support and subsequent reliability will improve.

November 24, 2011 | 11:52 AM - Posted by pdjblum

Allyn,

Can you say anything as to the effectiveness of trim on the drive?

November 24, 2011 | 02:37 PM - Posted by ToiT (not verified)

It's too bad that OCZ handed out all 512GB drives, considering the price, that's probably more than what the majority of buyers are going to consider as viable option. I'd love to see a review of something smaller since the specs are worse, I'm not sure it would keep up to any SF-2281's or other competitors.

December 1, 2011 | 12:29 AM - Posted by bluehorseshoe (not verified)

Rumor has it OCZ is being qualified at a major OEM who wants to put SSD's in every laptop across their product line, either all SSD or as part of a hybrid system. This is part a response to the recent HDD shortage. I'd assume that's where the 128GB and 256GB drives are being shipped at the moment.

January 3, 2012 | 10:44 PM - Posted by wujj123456

I just read a relevant review on tom's hardware. Honestly, based on my knowledge of SSDs, I think their test approach is more complete, especially if your are evaluating a new controller.

The worst case scenario and steady performance they pointed out is orthogonal to what you've tested here (sequential/random I/O). I don't see many other websites doing the same thing, and it would be great if you can try similar methodology if possible. Thanks.

March 28, 2012 | 02:29 AM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

First - I am the original source for review sites conducting this type of testing:

http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Storage/Long-term-performance-analysis-Inte... (dated Feb of *2009*).

The part of the Tom's article you speak of:

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/octane-sata-indilinx-benchmark-perfo...

...is a dated method that is no longer relevant when using an SSD with an OS that continually issues TRIM commands to the drive. Benchmarks can not accurately test for this as they are unable to issue TRIM commands directly to the drive while doing all of those random writes. The closest you can get is to run something that fragments the drive, but then to partition and format the drive under Windows 7, *then* run the HDTach pass and see what happened. I do this to all drives as part of my testing, and the Octane behaved as all other modern SSDs do - performance had returned to normal. This was actually noted below the basing portion on that page of the Tom's piece.

That said, I'll revive my "Performance Over Time And TRIM" page for future pieces.

December 11, 2018 | 07:14 AM - Posted by legitdocumentonline (not verified)

you will see that they've become a lot more reliable. I've had a Vertex 3 since launch and never had a single issue.

April 19, 2019 | 07:46 AM - Posted by kazimaperfumers (not verified)

Private Label Skin care products in India

Private Label Organic shampoo in India

April 19, 2019 | 06:02 PM - Posted by IG (not verified)

Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after looking at some of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m certainly happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!
the tre ver e brochure

April 20, 2019 | 05:46 PM - Posted by IG (not verified)

Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.
Pinoy TV

April 21, 2019 | 02:37 AM - Posted by Kj Jitta (not verified)

바카라사이트【 https://www.baccaratbro.com 】온라인바카라사이트 | 바카라사이트주소 | 바카라사이트추천 | 바카라사이트먹튀 | 바카라사이트검증 | 바카라사이트업체 | 바카라사이트운영 | 바카라사이트쿠폰

카지노사이트【 https://www.winebro.net 】국내카지노사이트 | 카지노사이트추천 | 카지노사이트검증 | 카지노사이트모음 | 카지노사이트주소 | 카지노게임사이트 | 카지노사이트쿠폰 | 바카라카지노사이트

온라인바카라【 https://www.redballgood.com 】무료온라인바카라 | 온라인바카라주소 | 온라인바카라추천 | 온라인바카라하는법 | 온라인바카라룰렛블랙잭 | 온라인바카라쿠폰 | 온라인바카라업체 | 온라인바카라백전백승

온라인카지노【 https://www.blackeyespro.com 】온라인카지노조작 | 온라인카지노벌금 | 온라인카지노검증 | 온라인카지노꽁머니 | 온라인카지노총판 | 온라인카지노커뮤니티 | 온라인카지노후기 | 온라인카지노노하우

우리계열카지노【 https://www.victoryhends.com 】우리카지노총판 | 우리카지노계열 | 더킹카지노 | 우리계열먹튀 | 우리계열쿠폰 | 코인카지노 | 우리계열카지노바카라 | 우리카지노사이트

카지노검증【 https://www.continuegame.net 】 바카라검증업체 | 먹튀커뮤니티 | 카지노사이트 | 카지노사이트추천 | 바카라먹튀검증 | 카지노커뮤니티사이트 | 카지노제휴 | 메이저사이트

카지노주소【 https://www.bigmoneywon.net 】 카지노추천 | 보증업체 | 무료체험머니 | 빠른입출금 | 필리핀바카라 | 사설카지노 | 세부카지노 | 호텔카지노

우리카지노【 https://www.goodhorse.net 】우리카지노계열 | 우리카지노사이트 | 우리카지노쿠폰 | 우리카지노총판 | 우리카지노이벤트 | 카니발카지노 | 슈퍼카지노 | 우리카지노총판모집

카지노커뮤니티 【 https://www.casinobestpro.com 】카지노홍보게시판 | 바카라커뮤니티 | 카지노고수 | 카지노홍보게시판 | 올인구조대 | 먹튀커뮤니티 | 카지노톡 | xo카지노먹튀

카지노추천【 https://www.parkbet.net 】온라인카지노주소 | 온라인카지노사이트추천 | 인터넷카지노사이트 | 카지노게임사이트 | 온라인카지노순위 | 카지노사이트쿠폰 | 온라인카지노검증 | 온라인슬롯카지노

바카라사이트【 https://www.cark99.com 】온라인바카라사이트 | 바카라사이트주소 | 바카라사이트추천 | 바카라사이트먹튀 | 바카라사이트검증 | 바카라사이트업체 | 바카라사이트운영 | 바카라사이트쿠폰

카지노사이트【 https://www.dtech888.com 】국내카지노사이트 | 카지노사이트추천 | 카지노사이트검증 | 카지노사이트모음 | 카지노사이트주소 | 카지노게임사이트 | 카지노사이트쿠폰 | 바카라카지노사이트

April 21, 2019 | 02:38 AM - Posted by Kj Jitta (not verified)

What a creative site! Just have to say writing a blog and reading it was extremely fun, hope you visit my site too and explore some interesting topic. Looking forward to it!
https://www.winebro.net/ 카지노사이트

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.