Review Index:
Feedback

MyDigitalSSD SBX M.2 NVMe SSD Full Capacity Roundup - 128GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1TB Tested!

Subject: Storage
Manufacturer: MyDigitalSSD

Internals, Testing Methodology and System Setup

Internals

Outside:

View Full Size

View Full Size

Not much to show here, and the labels only cover the flash, which we already know to be Toshiba BiCS3 TLC flash. The 128GB model has only two packages. The next capacity up goes to four packages, with higher capacities simply doubling the per-package die count each step. The SBX uses the Phison PS5008-E8 controller, not the PS5008-E8T (dramless), so we find NANYA / Micron DRAM accompanying the controller on each part.

Testing Methodology

Our tests are a mix of synthetic and real-world benchmarks. IOMeter, HDTach, HDTune, Yapt and our custom File Copy test round out the selection to cover just about all bases. We have developed a custom test suite as off-the-shelf tests just no longer cut it for in-depth storage testing. More details on the next page. If you have any questions about our tests just drop into the Storage Forum and we'll help you out!

Test System Setup

We have several storage testbeds. A newer ASUS P8Z77-V Pro/Thunderbolt and a Gigabyte Z170X SOC Force (for RAID testing). Future PCIe and SATA device testing, including this review, take place on an ASUS Sabertooth X99, which comes equipped with USB 3.1, M.2, and can also handle SFF-8639 (U.2) devices with the proper adapter.

PC Perspective would like to thank Intel, ASUS, Gigabyte, Corsair, Kingston, and EVGA for supplying some of the components of our test rigs. 

Hard Drive Test System Setup
CPU Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.125 GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth X99
Memory 16GB Micron DDR4 @ 3333
Hard Drive G.Skill 32GB SLC SSD
Sound Card N/A
Video Card EVGA GeForce GTX 750
Video Drivers GeForce Game Ready Driver 347.88
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-650TX
DirectX Version N/A
Operating System Windows 8.1 Pro X64 (update)
  • PCPer File Copy Test
  • HDTach
  • HDTune
  • IOMeter
  • YAPT
  • PCPer Custom SSD TEST SUITE!!!

Video News


March 16, 2018 | 01:27 PM - Posted by James

“The SBX uses the Phison PS5008-E8 controller, not the PS5008-E8T (dramless), so we find NANYA / Micron flash accompanying the controller on each part.”

Is this supposed to be NANYA / Micron DRAM?

March 16, 2018 | 04:04 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

LOL yup. Fixed, thanks!

March 16, 2018 | 07:18 PM - Posted by Anonymous-911 (not verified)

I have a bpx... I would have sent it back compared to my samsung ssd if i needed the money. Building a PC, sure buy this. Upgrading, anything less than a 1TB just doesn't seem to add much value. About the only thing it does noticeably faster is unrar. At least with 1TB, you could put a few games on it since games are now 100GB each.

anyways, nice review.

March 17, 2018 | 06:06 PM - Posted by Elliott Allen (not verified)

Great in depth review. Thanks for bringing new products like this to us. I am definitely interest in getting a 500 or 1 TB for my next build.

March 17, 2018 | 11:40 PM - Posted by RustAintDeadJustYet (not verified)

I'm still using spinning rust, and I can multitask while the lappy boots up by gettng my coffee ready during the process. Whenever they decide to make a 500GB SSD/1TB hard-drive hybrid drive I'll become interested. I still like laptops that come with CD/DVD/Blu-ray drives as that can be swapped out for a hard/SSD drive caddy also.

March 18, 2018 | 01:06 PM - Posted by Cyclops

Is MyDigital a Chinese firm? Where would you have to send their products for RMA if worst were to happen?

March 19, 2018 | 12:17 PM - Posted by L McClure (not verified)

Their website shows their location as in Oswego, NY, and they have a US toll free number for customer service.

March 19, 2018 | 04:58 PM - Posted by elites2012

i still rather get something from westerndigital. at least i know t hey stand behind their stuff.

March 28, 2018 | 07:23 PM - Posted by Adriano (not verified)

How would performance be affected on a system with PCIe 2.0? I appreciate the power efficiency and cost saving of using PCIe 3.0 (2x), but I'm considering using one of these drives to update an older system that only has PCIe 2.0. I'd be using an m.2 to PCIe adapter. It would be going into a 16x slot running 8x,but as far as I can tell, it will run at 2x speed, which tops out well below the speed of this drive. A drive with 4x should still have plenty of overhead, even at PCIe 2.0 speeds.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.