Review Index:

Dell Inspiron 13 7373 2-in-1 Review: Mass Market Appeal

Author: Ken Addison
Subject: Mobile
Manufacturer: Dell

CPU and Storage Performance

For our performance comparison, we are looking at the Inspiron 13 compared to two machines with similar Intel 8th generation mobile quad-core processors (i7-8550U), one with the previous 7th generation dual-core part (i5-7300U), as well as a higher power draw 7th generation quad-core CPU (i7-7300HQ).

View Full Size

In our first CPU benchmark, Cinebench R15, the Inspiron 13 7373 shows similar performance to the 8th generation processor equipped ASUS ZenBook 3 Deluxe. It's interesting to note that all of the 8th generation Intel U-series quad-core processors manage to outperform the H-series i5-7300HQ in the Inspiron 15 7000 gaming which sucks down significantly more power. 

View Full Size

Interestingly enough, The Inspiron 13 7373 comes in on top in H.264 encoding with Handbrake compared to even the HP Spectre x360 which is a much larger machine. We would normally expect larger notebooks with the same processor to provide better cooling and in turn, better performance through higher sustained clock speeds. This is a testamate to the thermal design and tuning of the Inspiron 13 7373 2-in-1.

View Full Size

PCMark 8 is a benchmarking suite that aims to emulate several different usage scenarios ranging from basic productivity to mixed workloads with light gaming and to applications for creative professionals like photo and video editing. While the "conventional" tests are running applications as you'd expect, the "accelerated" versions add OpenCL acceleration and use the available GPU devices for some operations.

PCMark 8, being a more holistic benchmark made to test total system performance, shows some different results than the earlier synthetic CPU benchmarks. While the Inspiron is competitive with both the HP Spectre and ASUS ZenBook, ultimately it falls short of both. This is likely due to the use of PCIe storage in both of those devices, as opposed to the SATA SSD in the Inspiron.

Storage Performance

For a quick look at the storage performance of the SATA SSD inside of the Inspiron 13 7373, we ran ATTO.

View Full Size

As far as modern SATA SSDs go, this performance is indicative of what we expected. However, the write speeds seem to suffer a bit at larger transfer sizes compared to the current top-end SATA 6Gbps drives like the Samsung 850 Evo.

Our particular Inspiron 13 came with a Sandisk X400 SSD, but your mileage may vary here since Dell makes no claim at the time of purchase what exact SSD your notebook will contain, but rather the general performance levels.

January 22, 2018 | 10:34 AM - Posted by tindo

Thanks for covering this price point, interested in picking up one

January 22, 2018 | 11:09 AM - Posted by derFunkenstein

I have the Kaby Lake semi-upgraded version of this machine (i7-7600U, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD) and I love it. Looks like Dell didn't take too many chances with the design - your review unit appears identical to mine. Similarly small-capacity battery, too, but 5 hours is plenty for me. That USB-C port supports power delivery, which may come in handy down the road should I need a new charger.

Fortunately for me I got it pre-RAM price bubble and even pre-SSD price bubble so my notebook cost me a whopping $900.

January 22, 2018 | 11:34 AM - Posted by MoreProperReviewsSVP (not verified)

Why is this Intel SOC based laptop only being compared to other Intel based laptops. Let's begin comparing things to the competition at some point in time.

This is a non review if the review does not attempt to compare with any similar laptops with the competition's SOCs/APUs inside.

That 620 graphics haw does it compare to Vega integrated graphics?

January 22, 2018 | 02:22 PM - Posted by Anonymously Anonymous (not verified)

But can it run Meltdown?

January 22, 2018 | 02:47 PM - Posted by FunFingTimesAreTheyNot (not verified)

It can very well run meltdown and make Linus T compose some of his creative prose(##$%$, Intel, WTF you ##$$%$# &^**%) ! And also that Intel 620 Graphics, get over here, Rover, it's feeding time!

Hey AMD has just announced its Ryzen Desktop Processors with Radeon Vega Graphics and I do hope that ASUS/Others will be offering Laptops with some Desktop Raven Ridge SKUs Inside instead of systems with thermally castrated SOCs inside of TabTops like these from Dell. But Dell is the best friend that the big chip monopoly's money can buy as was proven in the past!

Hey look at the websites failing to report any AMD news because they are too busy writing sponsored content!

January 22, 2018 | 03:35 PM - Posted by WSJ-SJW (not verified)

1.45kg and only a 38Wh battery? Now that is decidedly meh-range.

January 22, 2018 | 03:47 PM - Posted by Chris Brunhaver (not verified)

Ryan mentioned testing Ryzen mobile and a "performant" cpu as well as GPU. Any word yet on this review.

Based on other sites, other than lackluster launch graphics drivers, Ryzen mobile looks pretty outstanding, going toe to toe with kabylake-r but with 2x the GPU performance.

January 22, 2018 | 06:42 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I think is going to address this one next!

January 22, 2018 | 09:27 PM - Posted by SincereAnonymous (not verified)

The bezels are disgracefully thick.

January 22, 2018 | 09:37 PM - Posted by Shambles

Are they really putting a wifi adapter in a 2018 laptop that was released Q3 2014? Wow...

January 23, 2018 | 07:20 PM - Posted by Berkut99 (not verified)

I bought this notebook for my wife under the condition that the rep demonstrate that it can be charged via USB Type-C because it has that stupidly fragile dedicated power. He demonstrated that it could--at least through the Dell dock they had available. You might want to check to see if it will let you do that as well.

January 23, 2018 | 07:27 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

It will ... but make sure to use the Dock_DL_Win_A00_Setup-2FYHH driver, the newer ones are completely smegged up.

January 23, 2018 | 09:49 PM - Posted by Berkut99 (not verified)

Good info. I'll keep that in mind.

March 4, 2018 | 12:07 PM - Posted by Oscar Castillo

Does the 8GB model support NVMe SSDs? The spec page on Dell says up to a 512GB NVMe SSD but there seems to be some confusion online whether it does or if it's limited to the 16GB model.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.