Review Index:

Dell Inspiron 13 7373 2-in-1 Review: Mass Market Appeal

Author: Ken Addison
Subject: Mobile
Manufacturer: Dell

Battery Life and Pricing

View Full Size

With just a 38Wh battery, the Dell Inspiron 13 7373 2-in-1 disappoints on battery life in our web browsing test at only 4.9 hours. Compared to the ultra thin-and-light ASUS Zenbook 3 Deluxe UX490UA which manages to pack a 46Wh battery into a smaller form factor and achieves a battery life that is 36% longer than the Dell.


The model of Dell Inspiron 13 7373 2-in-1 that we've been taking a look at today has an MSRP of $899 directly from Dell for a configuration containing the i5-8250U, 8GB of RAM, and a 256GB SATA SSD. However, as mentioned earlier, this notebook can be found at the time of writing for $750 and has regularly been on sale for $800 late last year.

Personally, I think $750 or $800 is an excellent value for the amount of computing power and the build quality you get with the Inspiron 13 7000 series. However, when you get closer to the $899 MSRP, it becomes a less appealing proposition. $899 is close to the starting point for a lot of more premium notebook options like the XPS 13 and Lenovo's Yoga 900 lineup. 

Unfortunately, there is no option on the Dell website to upgrade just the SSD or RAM on the Inspiron 7373. Instead, you must opt for the $1149 to get either of these options. However, the SSD is upgradable, so if you are comfortable with 8GB of RAM, there is still some potential to save by installing your own upgraded storage.

View Full Size

Between notebooks like the Inspiron 13 7373 and the Inspiron 15 7000 Gaming that we took a look at last year, Dell has been putting a lot of attention to improving their Inspiron lineup. While many consumers still have an unfavorable view of the Inspiron brand from some of Dell's products in the early-to-mid 2000s, I am impressed with their current product lineup.

While I think that the MSRP is a little high for the Inspiron 13 7373 2-in-1, the reduced street prices provide an immense source of value for anyone looking for a simple thin-and-light notebook for productivity tasks.

View Full Size

January 22, 2018 | 10:34 AM - Posted by tindo

Thanks for covering this price point, interested in picking up one

January 22, 2018 | 11:09 AM - Posted by derFunkenstein

I have the Kaby Lake semi-upgraded version of this machine (i7-7600U, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD) and I love it. Looks like Dell didn't take too many chances with the design - your review unit appears identical to mine. Similarly small-capacity battery, too, but 5 hours is plenty for me. That USB-C port supports power delivery, which may come in handy down the road should I need a new charger.

Fortunately for me I got it pre-RAM price bubble and even pre-SSD price bubble so my notebook cost me a whopping $900.

January 22, 2018 | 11:34 AM - Posted by MoreProperReviewsSVP (not verified)

Why is this Intel SOC based laptop only being compared to other Intel based laptops. Let's begin comparing things to the competition at some point in time.

This is a non review if the review does not attempt to compare with any similar laptops with the competition's SOCs/APUs inside.

That 620 graphics haw does it compare to Vega integrated graphics?

January 22, 2018 | 02:22 PM - Posted by Anonymously Anonymous (not verified)

But can it run Meltdown?

January 22, 2018 | 02:47 PM - Posted by FunFingTimesAreTheyNot (not verified)

It can very well run meltdown and make Linus T compose some of his creative prose(##$%$, Intel, WTF you ##$$%$# &^**%) ! And also that Intel 620 Graphics, get over here, Rover, it's feeding time!

Hey AMD has just announced its Ryzen Desktop Processors with Radeon Vega Graphics and I do hope that ASUS/Others will be offering Laptops with some Desktop Raven Ridge SKUs Inside instead of systems with thermally castrated SOCs inside of TabTops like these from Dell. But Dell is the best friend that the big chip monopoly's money can buy as was proven in the past!

Hey look at the websites failing to report any AMD news because they are too busy writing sponsored content!

January 22, 2018 | 03:35 PM - Posted by WSJ-SJW (not verified)

1.45kg and only a 38Wh battery? Now that is decidedly meh-range.

January 22, 2018 | 03:47 PM - Posted by Chris Brunhaver (not verified)

Ryan mentioned testing Ryzen mobile and a "performant" cpu as well as GPU. Any word yet on this review.

Based on other sites, other than lackluster launch graphics drivers, Ryzen mobile looks pretty outstanding, going toe to toe with kabylake-r but with 2x the GPU performance.

January 22, 2018 | 06:42 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I think is going to address this one next!

January 22, 2018 | 09:27 PM - Posted by SincereAnonymous (not verified)

The bezels are disgracefully thick.

January 22, 2018 | 09:37 PM - Posted by Shambles

Are they really putting a wifi adapter in a 2018 laptop that was released Q3 2014? Wow...

January 23, 2018 | 07:20 PM - Posted by Berkut99 (not verified)

I bought this notebook for my wife under the condition that the rep demonstrate that it can be charged via USB Type-C because it has that stupidly fragile dedicated power. He demonstrated that it could--at least through the Dell dock they had available. You might want to check to see if it will let you do that as well.

January 23, 2018 | 07:27 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

It will ... but make sure to use the Dock_DL_Win_A00_Setup-2FYHH driver, the newer ones are completely smegged up.

January 23, 2018 | 09:49 PM - Posted by Berkut99 (not verified)

Good info. I'll keep that in mind.

March 4, 2018 | 12:07 PM - Posted by Oscar Castillo

Does the 8GB model support NVMe SSDs? The spec page on Dell says up to a 512GB NVMe SSD but there seems to be some confusion online whether it does or if it's limited to the 16GB model.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.