Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS N53S Core i7-2630QM Sandy Bridge 15-in Notebook Review

Author:
Subject: Mobile
Manufacturer: Asus
Tagged:

Introduction and Specifications

Brushed aluminum has become synonymous with luxury electronics, and the ASUS N53’s (N53SV-A1) exterior is clad in it like a suit of armor. The lid and palmrest are both coated the velvet-smooth metal, resulting in an instantly impressive finish. The usage of aluminum on the N53 has a dark gunmetal tint – like the ASUS U33JC Bamboo laptop we reviewed some time ago, the N53 goes for elegance rather than flash.

 

Laptops are compromises. Despite continuing reductions in processor power draw and the physical size  of hardware, there are still trade-offs that must be made. Batteries can be made larger to provide better portability, but this increases weight and size. Laptops can be made smaller, but this can make the user interface uncomfortable, and limits the hardware inside. Powerful processors and GPUs can be stuffed inside, but this increases weight and cost while it reduces battery life. And the list goes on and on.

Not all compromises are equal, however. There is a reason why 15.6” laptops are the most popular and, contrary to the belief of some tech-heads, it isn’t because consumers are stupid. Rather, it’s because many people don’t move their laptops very far very often. But even in this large category we have a wide range of products; while the recently reviewed Toshiba C655 and ASUS G53 have the same display size, they couldn’t be more different otherwise.

And now we come to the ASUS N53, a laptop that seems from afar to the ultimate compromise - a laptop that may not be the best at anything but offer a lot of everything. Let’s take a closer look.

The Core i7 processor is quad-core, but the slowest model available. The GPU is quick, but not as fast as what you’d find in a “true” gaming laptop. The 15.6” display is as mainstream as you could ask for, and while the 750GB hard drive isn’t the biggest you could stuff inside a laptop, but its close. Even the price is a compromise; at $1099 it’s not a bargain, but it’s not outrageously expensive.

But compromise isn’t bad. Laptops are often asked to do many things, and a laptop that can do most things well may be a better choice than a laptop that can do some things perfectly, but at the price of doing other things poorly.

 

April 15, 2011 | 08:59 AM - Posted by Amaury (not verified)

This article is unreadable under firefox 4

April 15, 2011 | 09:46 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

What do you mean? I am reading it under FF4 right now...

April 19, 2011 | 03:40 PM - Posted by Dan (not verified)

Same here, the article is compressed to a one inch column.

Dan

April 15, 2011 | 03:31 PM - Posted by LauRoman

Just clean the cookies for pcper.com

April 15, 2011 | 04:39 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

what about full hd screen with gt550m graphics? I want to see benchmark scores with msi's new gen crazy models

June 27, 2011 | 04:03 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

i own one of these laptops and i play games with it...
yeah it ain't exactly the best thing u can have but there is a good way to play games...

put everythig on high and very high and just lower the resoloution to 1280x720...
fps will go up wildly!

well,u always need to do sth about weakness of ur system... ;)

September 5, 2011 | 08:57 PM - Posted by Fappy McGee (not verified)

Not much a computer for the price

November 24, 2011 | 02:04 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Can you comment about the 1080p display available for this series of notebooks?

December 19, 2011 | 06:17 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

My muse pad on the Laptop stopped working any idea how to fix it.?

January 2, 2012 | 10:49 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

install the drivers found at your manufacturers website.
To ryan shrout....This week in computer hardware is a great podcast. thanks for providing it to the community of hardware nerds like myself, and for someone to finally review my asus n53s laptop properly. Before I bought this laptop no one reviewed it besides a couple of mentions in forums. I think Matt Smith the author spoke graciously and precisely about the asus laptop. this is my first laptop and i enjoy the power and versatility. Also pcper.com is refreshing in a world of websites with articles that read like ad space with lame marketing terminology copied straight from the manufactures website. Not sure if anyone notices the abundance of these misleading, non informal sites but i do. thanks ryan and matt

Also to anyone who buys this laptop it can be upgraded to 16GB of ram...which i did for a mere 60 bucks from amazon....Virtual Machines, Hello. A word of warning my right hands thumb always bumps the mouse pad and takes the focus off of what im typing this is a real nuisance and i have had to consciously keep my hand titled to the right..this is more annoying than a problem to me i am very forgiving and this is a reason this is my first and probably my last laptop ever. I am a desktop junky with the need for gaming horsepower and really dont travel or need a laptop i do however utilize this as a roaming(friends and families homes) gaming machine which it works very well for and you must bring the large power brick with you...(i hit the mouse pad two times while typing that last sentence)and i have medium sized hands ..I played skyrim on this machine and it plays very well(smooth framerates) with everything maxed out with default resolution of 1366x768 side by side with my desktop(q9450@3.2GHz, 6GB DDR2ram, gtx570, 2.5" velociraptor drive) I think my asus laptop played it a bit more smooth...I am beginning to think my q9450 is showing its age but not sure because i had to reinstall due to strange popping with my audio and extreme stuttering with video playback ...Im not sure what the problem was but after a clean reinstall and more scrutiny to my tinkering habits my desktop is running fine but i havent retested skyrim due to a lack of interest of that game...I cant stop playing team fortress 2 lol I love valve. sorry for the crazy rant im a computer junky.

February 4, 2012 | 12:58 PM - Posted by jcnorheim@yahoo.com (not verified)

What RAM did you buy? Having 4 GB of RAM sucks, I'm thinking 8 GB?

February 6, 2012 | 05:29 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

the link is below....

Corsair 8GB (2x 4GB) 1333mhz PC3-10666 204-pin DDR3 SODIMM Laptop Memory Kit CMSO8GX3M2A1333C9

http://amzn.to/xPT1Ll

December 27, 2014 | 01:29 AM - Posted by Broderick (not verified)

There are several documents that the management of the facility must fill
out, and record. But there is only a very small percentage of people that are looking to
buy cars every month. Nowadays, people are looking for more
and more ways to reduce energy costs.

Check out my web blog :: appliance repair

January 13, 2012 | 01:01 AM - Posted by whirlwind (not verified)

This asus is suppose to have more everything, than the sony fz480e I've had since 2008. The Asus isn't near the computer to me , one of the main things is the wireless connection is not near as good as the sony,normally the sony has 2 more bars than the asus,so if the connection is marginal,which it is where I'm at the sony has much better reception

March 8, 2012 | 01:25 PM - Posted by ASUS sucks (not verified)

This computer is not worth the price at all. It is very slow, and crashes a lot. Do not buy this.

April 9, 2012 | 05:29 PM - Posted by Australia (not verified)

Have been using Asus N53S for about 6 months now and I can honestly say it is the WORST laptop I have ever owned, and I have owned a LOT. Even worse than HP!
1. Dark keys, light lettering on keys. In half light you can't see what you are doing. This is one of the most annoying things about it.
2. Keyboard is like a trampoline. Horrible to use.
3. Battery dying at a fast rate - from normal, careful use.
4. BLUE SCREENED REGULARLY until I re installed it and now it blue screens only occasionally - despite running Win 7 64 bit.
5. Blu-Ray looks terrible for a Blu-Ray.
6. NVIDIA Graphics driver frequently comes in "Solve PC Issues"
7. Kept update with required Windows patches IT IS SLOW to boot slow to shut down.
8. Freezes for up to 45 seconds FOR NO REASON often. Yes, OFTEN. Then it comes out of it.
9. Has an overall CHEAP feel about it. Cheap and nasty.

ASUS N53S is truly an annoying, aggrivating P.O.S.

June 21, 2012 | 09:22 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

i have had none of the problems you mention what so ever. added 16GM 1600MHz RAM. I LOVE this machine

July 25, 2014 | 01:24 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I agree, this laptop is one of the fastest and best I have had next to a top line mac. blows other pc away.

fast, no delay, 11 second start up to surfing online, 5 seconds from standby. I have the newer version vz2. Anyone who doesn't like it is probably never run a defrag or know anything about computers.

February 2, 2013 | 12:11 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

This laptop is totally great! Works soooo well. I used it for more than a year now. I'm working on Adobe softwares a lot (Photoshop, Illustrator, etc.) and works like a charm. This is the best laptop I ever had!

January 9, 2016 | 12:32 PM - Posted by Ezequiel (not verified)

My Asus N53S has the same issues. Its lags make me crazy.

June 4, 2012 | 10:09 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

http://www.pcper.com/news/Graphics-Cards/Video-Perspective-AMD-A10-4600M...

Take anything Matt says with a grain of salt. He is a known Intel fanboy.

http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/amds-trinity-laptop-apu-makeuseof-explains/

Proof of his fanboyism.

June 4, 2012 | 10:13 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

New AMD A-Series APUs Win 2012 Best Choice of COMPUTEX
Straight from http://www.techpowerup.com/166813/New-AMD-A-Series-APUs-Win-2012-Best-Ch... And Matt says they are bad. But then again he said "Noone cares about battery life" in that same article.
Sad but true.

February 11, 2013 | 05:44 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

J'ai un ASUS N53S
Je voudrais savoir si mon portable possède un tuner TV...
Si ce n'est le cas quelle serait la (ou les) marque(s) que vous me conseilleriez d'acquérir pour pouvoir recevoir la TV sur mon ordinateur portable.
Je possède l'option VOO passionément (TV, Internet, Téléphone)
et je ne sais comment m'organiser...

Merci d'avance pour votre réponse.

Yves Loriau (0495 54 96 30)

September 14, 2013 | 06:23 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

i have the 8gb one, i7 2630qm and gt550m model for 2 years now. Its really excellent machine, no problems whatsoever, played the games i wanted really nicely, like skyrim etc, its fast, i really recommend it. Battery is enough for almost 2 movies time which is more than i need.

November 7, 2013 | 02:37 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have one that was given to me by employer. It is crap. too large and heavy to call it laptop. It is better to name it portable desktop.

December 27, 2013 | 06:07 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I found this model to be very disappointing. The power supply blew TWICE. First time was under warranty and they fixed it but it lasted less than a year. Didn't have the speed I would expect from a 7200 rpm hard drive. All in all, not a good experience. My second and last try with ASUS.

August 13, 2015 | 06:17 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Can the gpu be upgraded or is it permanently on board?

February 14, 2017 | 07:59 AM - Posted by Nemanja (not verified)

hey guy sorry for my bad english I'am Serbien and live in Australia I have got an Asus N53 SV seconde hand that I want to sell I can't find how much could i seel it for it works well the only thing is missing is the hard driver. thank you very much, have a good one
Cheers

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.