Feedback

Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB Memory: Brilliant Capellix LEDs With Performance to Match

Author:
Subject: Memory
Manufacturer: Corsair

Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB Memory Review

After first teasing the product last month at CES, Corsair today is officially launching the latest edition of the company's flagship memory. The Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB is not only a new model of high performance DDR4 memory, it's also the first product to feature Corsair's new Capellix LED technology.

View Full Size

The Dominator Platinum RGB line will be rolling out in 22 SKUs of varying capacity and performance, with clocks ranging from 3000MHz to 4800MHz and capacities between 16GB and 128GB. We were supplied with early access to the CMT32GX4M4C3200C14 SKU, a 32GB (4x8GB) kit clocked at 3200MHz with timings of 14-14-14-34.

View Full Size

Read on to see how this memory performs, how far we could overclock it, and how the new Capellix LEDs look and work outside of the Corsair showroom.

Capellix LEDs

Developed jointly by Corsair and Taiwan-based electronics firm Primax, Capellix technology differs from traditional Surface Mount Device (SMD) LEDs by ditching the package layer and mounting the LED substrate directly on the PCB. This not only allows for the use of much smaller LEDs — Capellix LEDs have a volume of 0.2mm3 compared to 2.8mm3 for SMD, a 92 percent reduction — but also much greater energy efficiency, which means brighter lights and lower power consumption.

Corsair states that Capellix LEDs can be up to 60 percent brighter, use up to 40 percent less power, and have up to a 35 percent longer service life than SMD LEDs. The primary beneficiaries of these advancements will be wireless gaming products, enabling noticeably longer battery life for things like RGB-enabled wireless gaming headsets and making it possible to achieve reasonable battery life from wireless gaming keyboards with per-key LED lighting.

But beyond wireless gaming accessories, even products like Dominator Platinum RGB memory can benefit. Corsair designed the new memory modules with just twelve Capellix LEDs each, which means that more power can be focused on eking out every ounce of performance from the kit.

It’s difficult to convey an accurate representation of Capellix LEDs through text and still images, but our impressions in hands-on testing with the Dominator Platinum RGB kit have been quite positive. While comparisons will vary depending on your setup, the RGB LEDs in these new RAM modules are indeed noticeably brighter than the RGBs on our test motherboards, other RGB-enabled memory, and even Corsair’s own AIO CPU coolers. Colors are bright and vivid, and response times for synchronized lighting configurations are tight.

We also like how the Capellix LEDs easily suit both reserved and over-the-top RGB lighting setups. The lights look clean and bright in either a simple single-color setup or a crazy, rapidly rotating rainbow. You’ll need Corsair’s iCue software to truly take advantage of the Dominator Platinum RGB’s lighting features but, that requirement aside, the look and function of these Capellix lights will easily fit almost any RGB lighting configuration.

We’re most interested to see how Capellix LEDs affect future Corsair products like wireless gaming peripherals but, in short, the positive impressions we held from seeing Capellix LEDs demoed at CES have clearly carried over to hands-on use at home.

Dominator Platinum RGB Design & Specs

Turning now to the memory itself, the new Dominator Platinum RGB modules will be instantly familiar to owners of other members of the Dominator Platinum line. The new modules are packaged in the same compact-style case and feature the same basic design as their predecessors. There are a few small differences, however, such as sporting anodized aluminum on the sides and redesigned stamped aluminum cooling fins to accommodate the Capellix LEDs.

View Full Size

Looking at the top of the modules, the Dominator Platinum RGB design features the Dominator branding in the center, which is illuminated by two Capellix LEDs, and five isolated LEDs flanking it on either side. When compared to an older DDR4 Dominator Platinum design, which featured a solid top bar and just subtle white LEDs under the cooling fins, the Platinum RGB offers a more interesting and impressive look.

View Full Size

As mentioned, Corsair is launching the Dominator Platinum RGB in a variety of size and performance SKUs. Our 32GB (4x8GB) test kit had default clocks and timings with the XMP profile of 3200MHz and 14-14-14-34. It arrives with a launch MSRP of $549.99.

Performance

So this new Dominator Platinum RGB memory looks pretty good, but for most users performance is the most important factor. Since we are rebuilding our hardware test suite we unfortunately don’t have many competing RAM kits to compare with Dominator Platinum RGB. Instead, we ran a series of benchmarks and tests against an older Dominator Platinum memory kit, the CMD32GX4M4A2400C14, a 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4 kit with an XMP clock of 2666MHz and timings of 14-16-16-35.

We tested both memory kits at their stock settings, and then again at overclocked settings. For the older kit we overclocked to just to 3000MHz, however we pushed the new Dominator Platinum RGB to several levels focused either on tighter timings or higher frequency.

Detailed specifications are omitted from the charts below for the sake of readability but listed here for your reference.

Memory Configurations
Name in Charts Model Frequency Timings Voltage
Dominator Platinum 2666MHz CMD32GX4M4A2400C14 2666MHz 14-16-16-35 1.35V
Dominator Platinum 3000MHz CMD32GX4M4A2400C14 3000MHz 15-16-16-36 1.35V
Dominator Platinum RGB 3200MHz CMT32GX4M4C3200C14 3200MHz 14-14-14-34 1.35V
Dominator Platinum RGB 3500MHz CMT32GX4M4C3200C14 3500MHz 15-15-15-35 1.35V
Dominator Platinum RGB 3800MHz CMT32GX4M4C3200C14 3800MHz 15-15-15-35 1.40V
Dominator Platinum RGB 4000MHz CMT32GX4M4C3200C14 4000MHz 16-16-16-36 1.40V

We didn’t push the older memory kit to its limit since we were primarily interested in its results as a baseline comparison point, but we were able to easily get it to 3000MHz with only slightly looser timings and without needing to exceed 1.35V.

For the Dominator Platinum RGB kit, we started with the base XMP profile at 3200MHz and we were able to get to 3500MHz with only a slight bump in timings. By increasing the voltage to 1.4V, we were able to maintain those same timings up to 3800MHz. From there, we had to loosen timings slightly once again to get to 4GHz, where we saw the best performance in most benchmarks.

Our testing was conducted on the following platform:

Memory Testing Platform
Component Model
CPU Intel Core i7-8700K @ 5.0GHz
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix Z370-E Gaming
Graphics iGPU: Intel UHD Graphics 630
System Drive 2TB Samsung 960 PRO
CPU Cooler Noctua NH-U14S
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 1300W Gold
Operating System Windows 10 1809 x64

GEEKBENCH

We used Geekbench to compare the results of the memory sections of the benchmark’s test suite. We then also compared overall Geekbench scores to see how changes in memory speed or latency affect overall system performance according to this test. Memory tests are reported for both single- and multi-core performance.

View Full Size

View Full Size

The results in the charts above are reported in arbitrary Geekbench “points,” so higher numbers equal better performance, even for categories such as latency. That said, we see the expected steady increase in performance as frequency increases.

View Full Size

Looking at how faster memory might affect overall system performance, we see a tiny 1.5 percent improvement between 3200MHz and 4000MHz in single-core results, which increases to 3 percent for multi-core results.

AIDA64

We used the AIDA64 Memory and Cache Benchmark to measure total read, write, and copy bandwidth as well as latency. The bandwidth results are presented in megabytes per second, with higher numbers equaling better performance, while the latency tests are reported in nanoseconds, with lower numbers being better.

View Full Size

Once again as expected, achievable bandwidth increases with memory speed. Indeed, the results almost scale perfectly. Looking again at the comparison between stock and maximum overclock for the Dominator Platinum RGB, our memory frequency increases by 25 percent, while the bandwidth results increase between 19 and 22 percent.

View Full Size

Aside from a blip at 3500MHz, latency stays roughly the same for the Dominator Platinum RGB, and represents an improvement over its predecessor.

PASSMARK

Passmark PerformanceTest measures memory performance as well as overall system performance in a number of categories. As we did with Geekbench, we first looked at just the memory test results and then looked at other tests to see how changing memory speeds affected other areas of the system.

View Full Size

We see just a slight increase in performance — about 3.5 percent — for writes and uncached reads.

View Full Size

Again comparing stock to maximum speed, CPU performance is about 2.5 percent better, but the system’s overall Passmark rating remains almost the same.

SISOFTWARE SANDRA

Finally, we use the bandwidth and latency tests in SiSoftware Sandra to measure relative performance. Memory bandwidth results are reported in gigabytes per second while latencies are registered in nanoseconds.

View Full Size

Bandwidth performance increases steadily with changes in clock speed. Bandwidth at our maximum overclock is about 16 percent faster than stock settings for the Dominator Platinum RGB.

View Full Size

As we saw with the AIDA64 latency test, latencies reported by Sandra don’t change much aside from the outlier at 3500MHz. But the second appearance of this outlier confirms that the looser timings at that frequency, absent the voltage bump, cause a slight hit to latency.

iCue Software & Customization

Lighting for the Dominator Platinum RGB is controlled by Corsair’s iCue software, which acts as a central hub for controlling all of your Corsair devices. An updated version of iCue is launching alongside the Dominator Platinum RGB memory kits so those already running the software should be sure to upgrade in order to access all features of this new memory kit.

View Full Size

Like almost all of your other Corsair devices, the Dominator Platinum RGB shows up as its own device in the iCue Dashboard. Jumping into the menus and options, users can access the DIMM Setup page to ensure that the software knows the correct order and layout of your modules.

View Full Size

There’s also the ability to view current memory timings, per-module temperatures, and historical temperature graphs.

View Full Size

But, of course, the real stars of the show are the lighting effects. User can choose between 12 hardware and 4 software lighting modes. Just like other Corsair RGB products, lighting mode changes can be previewed simply by changing the selected option in iCue, and most modes allow a few customizable options, such as speed, direction, or color rotation.

View Full Size

Hardware lighting modes are stored in the memory’s firmware and will continue to display, even if you swap the modules into another system that doesn’t have iCue, until changed by the user. Software lighting modes (which must be enabled in the main iCue Settings interface) are faster to update and offer unique functionality, such as light changes linked to audio visualization, but require iCue to work. All LEDs will remain off in software mode if iCue is not installed or running.

In addition to the selection of pre-made RGB lighting effects, users can also customize their own lighting arrangements. Each Capellix RGB LED on each module can be programmed individually, but while the process is simply “point and click,” it may quickly grow tedious, especially for those with kits containing 8 DIMMs.

For those with existing Corsair RGB devices, there are also several Lighting Link modes that help you easily set up synced lighting effects across all of your devices, and iCue’s Instant Lighting feature is still there to quickly change all connected Corsair RGB devices to a desired color with just a single click.

View Full Size

Lastly, memory temperatures, frequency, and timings for your Dominator Platinum RGB can be added as a widget to the iCue Dashboard or the Windows Action Center-like iCue Space interface.

Pricing & Conclusion

For years, Corsair’s Dominator Platinum series has been the flagship of the company’s memory lineup. It may not have been the fastest memory Corsair offered (that typically fell to the Vengeance series), but it represented the highest-end option, with better build quality and more selective component screening.

But over the years, the Vengeance series saw some pretty sleek and exciting design updates while the Dominator Platinum line cruised along largely unchanged. The introduction of Capellix RGB LEDs gave Corsair the ability to bring some of that excitement to the Dominator Platinum series. The lower power draw of Capellix LEDs meant that Corsair could minimize any potential performance impact. And the bright, clean look that Capellix LEDs produce ensured that these modules would look good in almost any PC setup. In terms of both performance and style, the new Dominator Platinum RGB line can do conservative, crazy, or anything in between.

View Full Size

The big question, of course, is price. Capellix LEDs are exciting new technology. How much of a premium will Corsair insist on charging? The answer unfortunately varies due to ongoing global economic issues, but looking at non-Capellix kits of similar specifications, it may be “not much” in most cases.

Take, for example, the CMD32GX4M4B3600C16, a pre-Capellix 4x8GB Dominator Platinum SKU clocked at 3600MHz with timings of 16-18-18-36 that carries an MSRP of $544.99. Those specs match the new CMT32GX4M4K3600C16 Dominator Platinum RGB, which has a launch MSRP of $549.99. Another example is the 16GB CMD16GX4M2B3200C16 at $159.99 versus the RGB-enabled CMT16GX4M2C3200C16 at $174.99.

So, at least based on MSRP, you’re going to pay some degree of price premium, but it’s probably an amount that is less than you expected.

View Full Size

Check out Corsair’s own web store or retail partners for more information on street pricing and availability, and see the table below for the complete  Dominator Platinum RGB memory includes a limited lifetime warranty.

Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB Memory SKUs
SKU Density Speed Timings MSRP (USD)
CMT16GX4M2C3200C16 2 x 8GB 3200MHz 16-18-18-36 $174.9
CMT32GX4M4C3200C14 4 x 8GB 3200MHz 14-14-14-34 $549.99
CMT32GX4M4K3600C16 4 x 8GB 3600MHz 16-18-18-36 $549.99
CMT64GX4M8X3600C18 8 x 8GB 3600MHz 18-19-19-39 $879.99
CMT16GX4M2K4800C18 2 x 8GB 4800MHz 18-24-24-46 $869.99
CMT32GX4M2C3200C16 2 x 16GB 3200MHz 16-18-18-36 $314.99
CMT32GX4M4C3200C16 4 x 8GB 3200MHz 16-18-18-36 $349.99
CMT32GX4M2K3600C18 2 x 16GB 3600MHz 18-19-19-39 $389.99
CMT16GX4M2C3200C14 2 x 8GB 3200MHz 14-14-14-34 $274.99
CMT16GX4M2Z3200C16 2 x 8GB 3200MHz 16-18-18-36 $174.99
CMT32GX4M4Z3200C16 4 x 8GB 3200MHz 16-18-18-36 $349.99
CMT64GX4M4K3600C18 4 x 16GB 3600MHz 18-19-19-39 $779.99
CMT64GX4M8C3200C16 8 x 8GB 3200MHz 16-18-18-36 $699.99
CMT16GX4M2C3600C18 2 x 8GB 3600MHz 18-19-19-39 $219.99
CMT32GX4M4C3600C18 4 x 8GB 3600MHz 18-19-19-39 $439.99
CMT16GX4M2K3600C16 2 x 8GB 3600MHz 16-18-18-36 $274.99
CMT128GX4M8X3600C18 8 x 16GB 3600MHz 18-19-19-39 $1,549.99
CMT16GX4M2K4266C19 2 x 8GB 4266MHz 19-26-2-6-46 $484.99
CMT16GX4M2C3000C15 2 x 8GB 3000MHz 15-17-17-35 $164.99
CMT32GX4M4C3000C15 4 x 8GB 3000MHz 15-17-17-35 $339.99
CMT32GX4M2C3000C15 2 x 16GB 3000MHz 15-17-17-35 $299.99
CMT64GX4M4C3000C15 4 x 16GB 3000MHz 15-17-17-35 $599.99

Video News


February 21, 2019 | 10:08 AM - Posted by CollosalCollapse (not verified)

Hmm... why would RGB LEDs require PWM cycles between 3000MHz to 4800MHz...? /s

(/s is short for /sfb which is short for s̶h̶*̶t̶ ̶f̶o̶... semi-frozen brain)

February 21, 2019 | 11:33 AM - Posted by AirGapsAndEvenOuterSpaceWithNoAirCanNotStopModulatingPhotons (not verified)

Gimme that night fever, night fever
We know how to show it! [To every infected IOT Camera In the line of sight]

I just wonder if all those IOT cameras and other IOT devices with cameras will be able to pick on on any nafarious software that's infected the LCD light's controller software/firmware on PCs and that nefarious code maybe is able to modulate all that LED bling as an across the airgap attack vector.

The Security on all that IOT camera equipped TAT is not really good, if the security is even there and enabled at all. Even Cell phones with some nefarous Apps installed that can make use of the camera/s in phones/etc. So maybe even the property next door with the security cameras infected can see and do some nefarious looking and seeing! And some nefarious code that's also infecting the Gaming Rig's Close Encouters of the Third Kind levels of LCD Bling and loads of LEDs modulating to frequencies that can not be noticed by Bubba Gamer are being picked up by all that unsecure Camera Enabled IOT TAT that's become so ubiquitously scattered about everywhere.

I mean it's not like gaming cases are all made of opaque materials and not looking more like a jewelry display case than a PC case, what with all that glass and over the top LED lighting that looks flasher than that big ball in Times Square NYC that shows its bling once a year!

February 21, 2019 | 12:04 PM - Posted by Gianni (not verified)

Does anybody know who is the OEM for the Dominator Platinum series?

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.