Feedback

Video Perspective: AMD Powered Star Wars Battlefront Build

Author:
Manufacturer: AMD

May the Radeon be with You

In celebration of the release of The Force Awakens as well as the new Star Wars Battlefront game from DICE and EA, AMD sent over some hardware for us to use in a system build, targeted at getting users up and running in Battlefront with impressive quality and performance, but still on a reasonable budget. Pairing up an AMD processor, MSI motherboard, Sapphire GPU with a low cost chassis, SSD and more, the combined system includes a FreeSync monitor for around $1,200.

View Full Size

Holiday breaks are MADE for Star Wars Battlefront

Though the holiday is already here and you'd be hard pressed to build this system in time for it, I have a feeling that quite a few of our readers and viewers will find themselves with some cash and gift certificates in hand, just ITCHING for a place to invest in a new gaming PC.

The video above includes a list of components, the build process (in brief) and shows us getting our gaming on with Star Wars Battlefront. Interested in building a system similar the one above on your own? Here's the hardware breakdown.

  AMD Powered Star Wars Battlefront System
Processor AMD FX-8370 - $197
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - $29
Motherboard MSI 990FXA Gaming - $137
Memory AMD Radeon Memory DDR3-2400 - $79
Graphics Card Sapphire NITRO Radeon R9 380X - $266
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 240GB SSD - $79
Case Corsair Carbide 300R - $68
Power Supply Seasonic 600 watt 80 Plus - $69
Monitor AOC G2460PF 1920x1080 144Hz FreeSync - $259
Total Price Full System (without monitor) - Amazon.com - $924

For under $1,000, plus another $250 or so for the AOC FreeSync capable 1080p monitor, you can have a complete gaming rig for your winter break. Let's detail some of the specific components.

View Full Size

AMD sent over the FX-8370 processor for our build, a 4-module / 8-core CPU that runs at 4.0 GHz, more than capable of handling any gaming work load you can toss at it. And if you need to do some transcoding, video work or, heaven forbid, school or productivity work, the FX-8370 has you covered there too.

View Full Size

For the motherboard AMD sent over the MSI 990FXA Gaming board, one of the newer AMD platforms that includes support for USB 3.1 so you'll have a good length of usability for future expansion. The Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO cooler was our selection to keep the FX-8370 running smoothly and 8GB of AMD Radeon DDR3-2133 memory is enough for the system to keep applications and the Windows 10 operating system happy.

Continue reading about our AMD system build for Star Wars Battlefront!!

View Full Size

Corsair's Carbide 300R is low cost, is big enough inside to make building simple and is solidly built for newcomers. 

View Full Size

Though we had an overkill power supply in the office for this use, a Seasonic 80 Plus Platinum at 860 watts, Seasonic makes awesome PSUs and anything you find in the 500-600 watt range should be sufficient. 

View Full Size

For storage we selected a low cost SSD option, the SanDisk Ultra II, available in the 240GB capacity for under $80. If you need more space, you can upgrade to a larger SSD or simply add a 3.5-in hard drive for mass storage at a slower speed.

View Full Size

The AMD-provided Sapphire NITRO Radeon R9 380X 4GB graphics card has more than enough horsepower to run through most any game at maximum image quality settings at 1080p. And if you want to stretch into the 2560x1440, the R9 380X gives you a high performance starting point.

View Full Size

Finally, to really wrap up the entire system, AMD sent over a 24-in 1920x1080 144Hz FreeSync monitor from AOC, the G2460PF. This monitor is selling for just $259 in the US and thanks to the addition of low frame rate compensation in the latest Radeon Software Crimson release, running at frame rates lower than 40Hz still gives gamers a smooth experience.

View Full Size

I did some quick testing on the system with Battlefront running at 1920x1080 on the Ultra image quality preset. I played a while on the single player wave mission on Tatooine and on the Hoth map for multiplayer. Clearly, the Radeon R9 380X and the FX-8370 are able to push this game perfectly well, both hitting over 70 FPS on average and only dropping down to 68 FPS minimum in our 10+ repeated 60 second benchmark runs. Even better, because we were using the AOC FreeSync monitor, that 68-76 FPS felt perfectly smooth without any horizontal tearing from vertical sync!

There you have it - a brief system build for Star Wars Battlefront using a full complement on AMD hardware. Big thanks goes out to AMD for providing the hardware for the build!

Do you have any thoughts or suggestion on how you would change the build? How much time have YOU put into the new Star Wars Battlefront? Let us know in the comments below!


December 23, 2015 | 05:05 PM - Posted by JohnGR

No AMD SSD? :p

How rare is it today to see an AMD build on a tech site? Even a sponsored one. Skylake everywhere. Let's hope that Samsung's 14nm and later 10nm, combined with AMD's engineers work on Zen will change that in 2017.

December 23, 2015 | 05:14 PM - Posted by Kusanagi (not verified)

Price. It's under 1K without the monitor. a 120GB SSD would put it a little above 1K.

December 23, 2015 | 05:16 PM - Posted by Kusanagi (not verified)

meaning the AMD SSD. you'd probably pay a little more for something that's branded.

December 23, 2015 | 05:58 PM - Posted by JohnGR

That is also correct for the memory. There is cheaper DDR3 2400 memory than the Radeon.

Anyway, it was more like a fun comment than a real question.

December 23, 2015 | 08:13 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

i3+450w PSU will cut the price by 10%,and gain a better performance.

December 23, 2015 | 09:33 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It won't actually, and the i3 is definitely not future proof for directx 12. Troll somewhere else.

December 24, 2015 | 12:53 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Even with dx12.I3 4330 is still 20% faster than fx8370,hail amd.

December 24, 2015 | 03:33 AM - Posted by JohnGR

At 640x480 and with low quality settings in the games, it could be true.

December 24, 2015 | 02:40 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

How would you possibly know that? Do you have the ability to see the future?

Irrelevant anyway. For the same price you can get a Core i5-6400, which is more powerful than the most powerful available FX-series chip. AMD just doesn't have anything competitive for gaming, particularly because some games are very dependent on single-thread performance and fall over entirely on AMD CPUs. It's pretty depressing, but that's the situation. The lack of competition is getting problematic.

December 24, 2015 | 08:06 PM - Posted by -- (not verified)

Hm lets see

passmark CPU rating

i5 6400: 6511
FX 8370: 8971

cpu for value numbers, the FX also comes away the winner.

December 25, 2015 | 11:58 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

your lack of functioning brain cells is becoming problematic

December 25, 2015 | 12:08 PM - Posted by -- (not verified)

FX 9590: 10261

how is that i5 holding up to the highest end FX ???

December 23, 2015 | 10:13 PM - Posted by Lunyone

If I was keeping close to the system requirements that was posted in this article, I would opt for a few different parts and get a better gaming system for a similar price:

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/VCPy6h
Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/VCPy6h/by_merchant/

CPU: AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz 8-Core Processor ($165.99 @ NCIX US)
CPU Cooler: CRYORIG H7 49.0 CFM CPU Cooler ($32.50 @ Newegg)
Motherboard: Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($96.98 @ Newegg)
Memory: G.Skill Ares Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($34.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Samsung 850 EVO-Series 250GB 2.5" Solid State Drive ($81.61 @ Amazon)
Video Card: XFX Radeon R9 390 8GB Double Dissipation Video Card ($303.98 @ Newegg)
Case: Corsair 200R ATX Mid Tower Case ($49.99 @ Amazon)
Power Supply: EVGA SuperNOVA NEX 750W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply ($49.99 @ Amazon)
Monitor: AOC G2460PF 144Hz 24.0" Monitor ($259.99 @ Newegg)
Total: $1076.02
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2015-12-23 22:09 EST-0500

December 24, 2015 | 06:40 AM - Posted by CrisisHawk

Can we get some more in depth coverage on the monitor please. At that price I'm pretty tempted to pick one up, but I'd like some more details first.

December 24, 2015 | 02:53 PM - Posted by Mac (not verified)

Seconded, would really love to see that monitor reviewed, especially the lfc functionality.

December 28, 2015 | 02:47 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I'll put it in the queue. :)

December 28, 2015 | 05:05 PM - Posted by CrisisHawk

Thanks, I appreciate it.

It's discounted on Overclockers UK at the moment, but what little info I've seen on it so far has been a mixed bag and I'm not sure how much of it is accurate. So I've been hesitant to buy it.

Might be worth holding off until after CES anyway, in case a better option gets shown off there.

December 24, 2015 | 12:28 PM - Posted by Paul K (not verified)

Can you fully declare the nature of the sponsorship. They sent you much of the kit for the system but were you limited in the games you tested and the way you tested? Obviously this article is a big departure from your usual coverage of hardware and the way you test it so I think its only reasonable you tell us why that is.

I feel its not just providing the hardware that is sponsored, the entire post and what its meant to contain is sponsored. This was an advert by the looks of things and is required (by law) to be clearly marked as such before we even click into it.

December 24, 2015 | 03:05 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

You are not the one.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z696bTiP8Ro

December 24, 2015 | 08:01 PM - Posted by -- (not verified)

get the hell out of here.

December 26, 2015 | 03:38 PM - Posted by Bianchi4me (not verified)

Save us from the internet psychic lawyer wanna-bes. Love the use of "I feel" used as basis for a legal argument.

December 25, 2015 | 03:33 PM - Posted by Bhappy (not verified)

Ryan please tell us this 'review' isnt actually a sponsored advertisement by AMD that is missing the disclaimer

December 26, 2015 | 12:59 PM - Posted by serpico (not verified)

This isn't a review

December 28, 2015 | 02:49 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Yeah, it's definitely not a review. In fact there is NO statement on playability versus any other harware, ever, in the story or video. AMD sent all the goods for this one. Even the benchmarks don't compare to other Radeon or GeForce GPUs.

December 25, 2015 | 07:25 PM - Posted by Eric (not verified)

I built an 8350 FX system when they first came out. There's no question that it's been the absolutely best computer I have ever had. It's rock solid and never crashes. All peripherals work flawlessly. USB3, Esata, wireless, video cards. Various linux (Kubuntu, Ubuntu) and Windows OSs: Xp, 7, 8, 8.1. and now 10. With a Radeon 7950 it plays all games flawlessly at high settings on my 28" monitor. Video encoding with Handbrake is a snap.

Really, I don't need anything more. However, I will build a Zen system as soon as it comes out, and pass this computer down to my daughter.

AMD ALL THE WAY!!!

December 26, 2015 | 12:28 AM - Posted by -- (not verified)

except some i5 should have beat the pants off your new build..............with plenty to spare.

LOL no

December 26, 2015 | 02:23 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Wow, look at all the Intel and Nvidia fanboys climbing out of the woodworks to pillory PCPer for daring to do an AMD build.

It's pathetic. But hilarious to watch.

December 27, 2015 | 06:59 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Look at all the AMD fanboys coming out of their closests to glorify the poorest excuse of computing hard wag from 2012. Pathetic and hilarious as the same time.

December 26, 2015 | 11:00 PM - Posted by -- (not verified)

the 860k beats the i5 6400 LMAO

December 28, 2015 | 07:22 AM - Posted by Arul

system components are good value for the money

December 28, 2015 | 10:28 PM - Posted by -- (not verified)

of course they are...its AMD!

December 28, 2015 | 10:28 PM - Posted by -- (not verified)

more AMD builds!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

December 30, 2015 | 09:58 PM - Posted by BDS (not verified)

I got 103 hours in Star Wars Battlefield and I am loving it. Say what you want about the limited content, repetitive gameplay, etc.. but it is the first game in many years that impressed me so much visually that I invited people over just to show it to them.
It's also got me super excited for the next generation of games yet to come.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.