Feedback

Video: MSI Gaming Notebook Overview - How to pick the best for you

Author:
Manufacturer: MSI

We have a lot of gaming notebooks

Back in April I did a video with MSI that looked at all of the gaming notebook lines it built around the GTX 900-series of GPUs. Today we have stepped it up a notch, and again are giving you an overview of MSI's gaming notebook lines that now feature the ultra-powerful GTX 10-series using NVIDIA's Pascal architecture. That includes the GTX 1060, GTX 1070 and GTX 1080.

What differentiates the various series of notebooks from MSI? The GE series is for entry level notebook gaming, the GS series offers slim options while the GT series is the ultimate PC gaming mobile platforms. 

  GE series GS series GT62/72 series GT 73/83 series
MSRP $1549-1749 $1499-2099 $1499-2599 $2199-4999
Screen 15.6" and 17.3"
1080p
14", 15.6" and 17.3"
1080p and 4K
15.6" and 17.3"
1080p, G-Sync
17.3" and 18"
1080p, 4K
G-Sync (varies)
CPU Core i7-6700HQ Core i7-6700HQ Core i7-6700HQ Core i7-6820HK
Core i7-6920HQ
GPU GTX 1060 6GB GTX 1060 6GB GTX 1060 6GB
GTX 1070 8GB
GTX 1070 8GB (SLI option)
GTX 1080 8GB (SLI option)
RAM 12-16GB 16-32GB 12-32GB 16-64GB
Storage 128-512GB M.2 SATA
1TB HDD
128-512GB M.2 SATA
1TB HDD
128-512GB PCIe and SATA
1TB HDD
Up to 1TB SSD (SATA, NVMe)
1TB HDD
Optical DVD Super-multi None Yes (GT72 only) Blu-ray burner (GT83 only)
Features Killer E2400 LAN
USB 3.1 Type-C
Steel Series RGB Keyboard
Killer E2400 LAN
Killer 1535 WiFi
Thunderbolt 3
Killer E2400 LAN
Killer 1535 WiFi
USB 3.1 Type-C
3x USB 3.0 (GT62)
3x USB 3.0 (GT72)
Killer E2400 LAN
Killer 1535 WiFi
Thunderbolt 3
5x USB 3.0
Steel Series RGB (GT73)
Mechanical Keyboard (GT83)
Weight 5.29-5.35 lbs 3.75-5.35 lbs 6.48-8.33 lbs 8.59-11.59 lbs

Our video below will break down the differences and help point you toward the right notebook for you based on the three key pillars of performance, price and form factor.

Thanks goes out to CUK, Computer Upgrade King, for supplying the 9 different MSI notebooks for our testing and evaluation!


November 9, 2016 | 01:59 PM - Posted by PCPerFan (not verified)

You wasted your time with all these random laptops and you still haven't given us the 1050 review...

November 9, 2016 | 01:59 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

"We have a lot of gaming notebooks", No we have a lot one maker's/OEM's Nvidia graphics based laptops.

So hopefully there will be some testing for the Alienware laptop SKUs with the full RX 470 graphics. Can CUK, Computer Upgrade King, provide any of the alienware laptop SKUs with the Rx 470 graphics for review! "Three key pillars" not so! The pillars really are Price, Performance, and a fair comparsion with the competition's SKUs! Form factor is for the birds!

November 9, 2016 | 03:21 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I'm all for this! If I can get another vendor to send me this sized array of machines to compare, it would make our recommendations that much better.

November 9, 2016 | 02:15 PM - Posted by Jet Fusion

$5000... That's like 6000 EU Rupees including VAT. Does it also come with a bagel carrier?

November 9, 2016 | 04:44 PM - Posted by bburnham37 (not verified)

Oh my, this comment section has gone quite downhill.

November 9, 2016 | 05:26 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

That's CUK, Computer Upgrade King's fault for not supplying both AMD and Nvidia based laptop SKU's! Folks are getting tired of Nvidia's market tactics so CUK may just lose business from some. Better yet tell them to supply both AMD and Nvidia based gaming laptop SKUs or the review can not be objective! What's causing things to go downhill is the lack of integrity, and reviews that are bought and paid for with review samples and/or money!

November 9, 2016 | 07:00 PM - Posted by Anonymously Anonymous (not verified)

Ryan, are you sure that the refresh rate for all of the reviewed laptops that have gsync are limited to 60hz?

I looked around and a couple of reviews show that the last years model with the 980/980m had max refresh rate of 75hz, if true, why would they go down in refresh rate?

I could be totallymistaken, but that max refresh rate doesn't make sense.

November 10, 2016 | 09:37 AM - Posted by Redemption77 (not verified)

I have the GT72VR 6RE-015 and it came stock without G-sync and only had a 60hz refresh. I went to the MSI support page for my model and got the new BIOS that unlocked G-sync and also increases my refresh to 75hz. I did however OC my display to 85hz and it runs like a charm. I wish MSI was better communicating things, but a very simple problem to solve.

November 10, 2016 | 08:10 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I agree but I checked with both MSI and CUK.

:/

January 24, 2017 | 08:41 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

The Msi GT73VR with the gtx 1080/gtx 1070 has two variants. One with FHD screen and one with 4K. the FHD screen has a refresh rate of 120Hz with response time of 5ms. And it is equipped with Gsync.
The 4K screen is only 60Hz. Not sure whether it has Gsync

November 9, 2016 | 08:28 PM - Posted by edselm (not verified)

nice line up a good gaming dock will be nice

November 10, 2016 | 03:49 AM - Posted by JohnGR

If someone is not trying to find the best performing gaming laptop, there are better options in the market. A friend of mine was seriously looking a Dell model with 15,6" FullHD, 8GB of RAM, M.2 and 2.5" for HDD/SSD, TRUE quad core i7, SSD and a 4GB 960M GPU for about $800.

November 10, 2016 | 01:37 PM - Posted by Dweeberly (not verified)

This isn't a big deal, but the audio seemed kind'a "flat" to me. I could hear everything just fine, but it just seemed a bit damped. I suspect this is an effect of the new studio . Thanks for the content, hope y'all get all settled in quickly.

November 10, 2016 | 08:11 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Yeah, we are still working out the new audio kinks. :)

November 14, 2016 | 10:40 AM - Posted by scajjr2

Have read a lot of reviews from buyers of these new MSI laptops and they seem to have some QC issues. Might be better to wait a bit to see if they get them sorted out.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.