Review Index:
Feedback

The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Ti Review - Featuring EVGA!

Author:
Manufacturer: NVIDIA

Here comes a new challenger

The release of the GeForce GTX 1070 Ti has been an odd adventure. Launched into a narrow window of a product stack between the GTX 1070 and the GTX 1080, the GTX 1070 Ti is a result of the competition from the AMD RX Vega product line. Sure, NVIDIA might have speced out and prepared an in-between product for some time, but it was the release of competitive high-end graphics cards from AMD (for the first time in forever it seems) that pushed NVIDIA to launch what you see before us today.

With MSRPs of $399 and $499 for the GTX 1070 and GTX 1080 respectively, a new product that fits between them performance wise has very little room to stretch its legs. Because of that, there are some interesting peculiarities involved with the release cycle surrounding overclocks, partner cards, and more.

View Full Size

But before we get into that concoction, let’s first look at the specifications of this new GPU option from NVIDIA as well as the reference Founders Edition and EVGA SC Black Edition cards that made it to our offices!

GeForce GTX 1070 Ti Specifications

We start with our classic table of details.

  RX Vega 64 Liquid RX Vega 64 Air RX Vega 56 Vega Frontier Edition GTX 1080 Ti GTX 1080 GTX 1070 Ti GTX 1070
GPU Cores 4096 4096 3584 4096 3584 2560 2432 1920
Base Clock 1406 MHz 1247 MHz 1156 MHz 1382 MHz 1480 MHz 1607 MHz 1607 MHz 1506 MHz
Boost Clock 1677 MHz 1546 MHz 1471 MHz 1600 MHz 1582 MHz 1733 MHz 1683 MHz 1683 MHz
Texture Units 256 256 256 256 224 160 152 120
ROP Units 64 64 64 64 88 64 64 64
Memory 8GB 8GB 8GB 16GB 11GB 8GB 8GB 8GB
Memory Clock 1890 MHz 1890 MHz 1600 MHz 1890 MHz 11000 MHz 10000 MHz 8000 MHz 8000 MHz
Memory Interface 2048-bit HBM2 2048-bit HBM2 2048-bit HBM2 2048-bit HBM2 352-bit G5X 256-bit G5X 256-bit 256-bit
Memory Bandwidth 484 GB/s 484 GB/s 410 GB/s 484 GB/s 484 GB/s 320 GB/s 256 GB/s 256 GB/s
TDP 345 watts 295 watts 210 watts 300 watts 250 watts 180 watts 180 watts 150 watts
Peak Compute 13.7 TFLOPS 12.6 TFLOPS 10.5 TFLOPS 13.1 TFLOPS 11.3 TFLOPS 8.2 TFLOPS 7.8 TFLOPS 5.7 TFLOPS
MSRP (current) $699 $499 $399 $999 $699 $499 $449 $399

If you have followed the leaks and stories over the last month or so, the information here isn’t going to be a surprise. The CUDA core count of the GTX 1070 Ti is 2432, only one SM unit less than the GTX 1080. Base and boost clock speeds are the same as the GTX 1080. The memory system includes 8GB of GDDR5 running at 8 GHz, matching the performance of the GTX 1070 in this case. The TDP gets a bump up to 180 watts, in line with the GTX 1080 and slightly higher than the GTX 1070.

Continue reading our review of the GeForce GTX 1070 Ti!

All signs point to the GTX 1070 Ti being a competitive performer in line with the GTX 1080. With only a 5% drop in CUDA core count and a slightly reduced peak memory bandwidth (25%), my expectation is that the GTX 1070 Ti would look much closer to the GTX 1080 than the GTX 1070.

The pricing is interesting as well – NVIDIA and its partners are going to push the GTX 1070 Ti down to an MSRP of $449, right smack in the middle of the expected pricing on the 1080 and 1070. Partners will likely have supply in that range as well, with EVGA sending me the GTX 1070 Ti SC Black Edition that has a price at $469.

The GTX 1070 Ti Oddities

Let’s address a couple of interesting things about this product release. First, this marks the first time that I can remember being a reviewer of hardware that NVIDIA has stealth launched (if you don’t count the buckets of leaks) a graphics card without briefing the media group prior. The Oct 26th announcement was the first official word I had gotten from NVIDIA about it, at all. Odd, but maybe not interesting to those of you reading today.

What is of interest is the lack of pre-overclocked options from vendors like EVGA, ASUS, and others. For a normal launch, we would see 3-5 options from each of these guys hit our inboxes, each with a slightly different/better cooler implementation and each with slightly increased base and boost clock speeds. This pre-overclocked status helps to differentiate the cards from each other and creates a tiered structure of product so EVGA can sell and offer premium options.

If you read our launch story for the GTX 1070 Ti, EVGA is offering four different models. They have a blower cooler, two different dual-fan options, and a hybrid liquid cooler. However, all four models have the same clock speeds and memory speeds out of the box. Why is this? Though NVIDIA and its partners won’t say officially, the benchmark numbers we are going to show you on the next page make it pretty obvious: an overclocked GTX 1070 Ti will often times beat the performance of a stock GTX 1080. Rather than deal with the fallout of a card labeled GTX 1070 Ti besting a card labeled GTX 1080 at stock settings, NVIDIA decided to restrict the AIC vendors’ ability to set above-reference specs.

To be clear: I do not think this is a standing policy NVIDIA will make going forward. Instead, this appears to be a one-off solution to a complicated problem that they didn’t predict would occur when laying out the roadmap years ago. Also, this policy in no way impacts the consumers' ability to overclock the GTX 1070 Ti cards they purchase manually through EVGA Precision XOC or other software tools. In fact, the latest iteration of Precision XOC actually prompts you to run its auto overclocking tool immediately after install – almost as if they feel guilty for not getting you a boost out of the box.

The Founders Edition and EVGA SC Black Edition Cards

I’m going to be upfront with you all here: there isn’t much to see. The GTX 1070 Ti Founders Edition looks exactly like every other Founders Edition of this generation. Without the “Ti” added to the tail end of the name, you wouldn’t know this is a different product.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

You get the same blower cooler, same display output configuration, same 8-pin power connection requirement, etc.

The EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC Black Edition uses a slightly updated version of the company’s ACX 3.0 cooler with some addition black-out styling.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

The dual-fan design of the ACX 3.0 cooler is something we have a lot of experience with and have come to appreciate. Again, we are working with the same display output connectivity and feature set, but with this cooler design we should be able to run at lower temperatures, lower noise levels, and higher clock speeds, with or without overclock settings.

Now, let’s dive into what we all came to see: the benchmarks.


November 2, 2017 | 09:39 AM - Posted by Mr.Book

Performance looks great, at a great price. nVidia saw an opportunity and brought the heat to AMD's door, with a 'refresh' none-the-less.

And in Canadia, VEGA 56 continues to retail for $750 (VEGA 64 for $950), while GTX 1070Ti can be had for $650. Even the recent "pitty us" price cuts won't save VEGA. Lack of AIB cards are not helping. What's is going on over there AMD. For god sakes, apply some logic to your thinking.

Shootin' from the hip in another great review Ryan. Nice work!

November 2, 2017 | 10:12 AM - Posted by Spunjji

Weird assessment there. Vega 56 selling at $750 has little-to-nothing to do with AMD's pricing and simply signifies crypto-currency demand - they're selling every one they make. Not exactly a "poor me" situation.

November 2, 2017 | 11:16 AM - Posted by Mr.Book

I heartedly believe that if AMD were selling every single card they build, without being able to keep stock due to demand, then there is absolutely no reason for AMD to provide a price cut on the VEGA line. Especially when they are confident their GPU can continue to ride the crypto-currency wave.

Looking forward to seeing how pricing develops in the coming months. As someone that uses their GPU for gaming, I'm patiently awaiting MSRP pricing to return.

edit:
So the question is,
1. Is AMD cutting price because they know crypto miners are now going to gravitate towards the 1070Ti, or;
2. Are they now forced to provide a competitive price on the VEGA line for the gaming community due to the 1070Ti?

Further, the 'poor us' statement was relative to AMD no longer being able to price gouge their product line now that competition came to town.

November 2, 2017 | 04:22 PM - Posted by Colin Pastuch (not verified)

As a Canadian shopper the best value is a 1080Ti. I just bought one because it's the only video card that regularly sells below MSRP. I've seen them as low as $780 with blower cooler. I got a triple fan 1080ti for $860 with Shadow of War which I was going to buy anyway.

November 2, 2017 | 07:16 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

That's pretty impressive, where did you score that one from?

November 2, 2017 | 09:44 AM - Posted by Vince (not verified)

So the real conclusion is don't buy a 1080, buy a 1070Ti and overclock it--if you can buy it at or close to MSRP.

November 2, 2017 | 10:19 AM - Posted by niteowler

While Pc Per is one of my favorite sites..... the fps charts of different games is terrible. A bunch of squiggly lines running together and you have to try and figure out what's what. At least they got it right on 3DMark and Unigine Heaven part of the review. Am I the only one who feels that way?

November 2, 2017 | 11:25 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

If you have trouble wrapping your mind around the Frame Rating graphs you can try two things:

1. Re-read the page on testing methodology as a refresh.

2. Read the tables at the bottom of each page that indicate percent differences between the competitors.

November 3, 2017 | 11:27 PM - Posted by Garrett (not verified)

I agree with the other posters, I don’t even look at the stupid graph data for FPS info. I quickly scroll down to your % stats vs. The graph is NOT easy to decipher. Also, you should include some other games, your choices are all older Nvidia favoring games, makes you look like a paid NV shill.

November 3, 2017 | 11:29 PM - Posted by Garrett (not verified)

Also some overclocked stats, because who doesn’t overclock their gpu at least a little.

November 2, 2017 | 02:18 PM - Posted by jimmy Buffet (not verified)

I agree with you 100% Ryan please try to mix in a little bit more of a lamens quick chart like a Guru3d does with your usual Frametime charts ect.

November 2, 2017 | 10:47 AM - Posted by dagnamit

All of this just underscores how poorly AMD is doing in this segment. The decision for full steam ahead on HBM and HBM2 in their consumer product lines has nearly killed them. Nvidia was wise to back away. No doubt NVidia is just sitting on piles and piles of differently binned chips, just waiting to unleash them. We haven't even seen a cut down GP102, which we likely would have seen if VEGA64 had been up to snuff and soundly beaten the 1080.

If not for the renewed cryptocurrency mining craze, AMD might be close to shuttering or selling their GPU business.

November 2, 2017 | 12:40 PM - Posted by ThatsOneTruthGamersNeverSee (not verified)

I want more DX12/Vulkan titles tested and the GTX 1070Ti is more of a 1080 lite with Nvidia having lots of binned dies that did not have a full GTX 1080's complement of working shaders and where not able to be made into actual 1080s. So Nvidia now has a GTX 1080Ti made from those not quite 1080 grade dies that has most of the 1080s performance save a few percent. Nvidia is making more than it would have made on the 1070 so the 1070ti will take most of the sales away from the 1070 and a little less sales from the 1080/AIB business because. And it's more about the AIB business for Nvidia this late in the Pascal Micro-arch based game.

And comments like this make me LOL:

"If not for the renewed cryptocurrency mining craze, AMD might be close to shuttering or selling their GPU business."

Do you really think that AMD created The Vega 10 GPU micro-arch for the consumer market ONLY any more than AMD created the Zeppelin server die(Binned down into the Summit Ridge die/platform for Ryzen/Threadripper) for the consumer market ONLY. AMD will git rid of its consumer gaming business before it would ever spin off RTG, as those Vega 10 dies are more valuable for AMD in the professional GPU market outside of the consumer market that really can not afford pay a proper markup for GPUs.

AMD has its APUs also paired with it's x86 Zen CPU micro-arch and that market will probably produce more revenues via integrated graphics revenues than AMD is currently getting from diecrete gaming GPU sales, crypto-mining not included.

AMD's future is riding on Epyc professinal CPU SKUs, Radeon Pro WX 9100s(based on the Vega 10 die) and the Redeon Instinct MI25s(Based on the Vega 10 die) professional GPU SKUs. And AMD's consumer sales market dependency is currently why AMD's stock price is so volatile and has been so low for so many years. AMD is executing it's plan to get far away from any consumer/gaming market ONLY dependency in the future for the majority of its revenues. And strangely enough so is Nvidia with its plans to not be dependent on any consumer markets where the revenues and margins do not really pay the bills.

So AMD can still sell Vega 10 based die GPUs to some coin miners(Polaris die based GPUs also), and some Ryzen/Threadripper SKUs also to the consumer market. But the real future cash cow for AMD is the Epyc and Radeon Pro WX 9100/Lower WX variants and the Radeon Instinct MI25/Lower Instinct variants that get the much higher margin markups that make AMD some profits also.

AMD could very well survive selling its GPUs to the pro markets only but AMD will continue to sell to the consumer markets, ditto for Nvidia. As the consumer markets represent the market where the underperforming Nvidia/AMD GPU dies, that do not make professional grade, can be binned and sold to recoupe some expenses and maybe turn a lttle profit. And the revenues that go along with any sales help pay some business operating expenses also.

For sure both Nvidia and AMD need those consumer revenues but both Nvidia and AMD are looking to the real market that can make the higher revenus. And even Nvidia's non consumer market GPU/Accelerator(Compute/AI) and automotive revenues are about to surpass its consumer GPU revenuse as the major source of Nvidia's revenues and AMD's Epyc sales alone, not including its professional GPU accelerator sales, will be AMD's major revenue producer with AMD consumer CPUs sales there to a much lesser degree.

AMD's stock price volatility will dissappear once thoes Epyc sales, and professonal GPU sales revenues, surpass by a wide margin any of AMD's combined consumer console and gaming revenues. And that consumer revenue ONLY dependency is going to be history soon enough for AMD. AMD will never spin off RTG as AMD's APU and Professional market GPU revenues are going to become better revenue producesr than any discrete GPU ganming revenues will provide. That AI market is a big new potential revenue producer for the entire professional computing market so that AI market represents as many billions of dollars in sales as the regular server market, and that's a large market itself.

November 3, 2017 | 09:45 AM - Posted by Aparsh335i (not verified)

You wasted a lot of time writing this assumption that no one will read

November 10, 2017 | 02:57 PM - Posted by Anonymouse (not verified)

Don't be sad cause you did. This is the future.

November 2, 2017 | 02:22 PM - Posted by jimmy Buffet (not verified)

Ryan is there any word and time frame on AIB Vega cards ? I purchased 2 Zotac Mini 1070's for mining and would like to snag some Vega 56's as well I swear in 5 years we are going to all look back at how horrible of a launch this was for AMD. no wonder Raja is MIA. He needs to bring his ass back to work and make sure his real baby NAVI is better than this Vega BS.

November 4, 2017 | 06:36 PM - Posted by Cyclops

Is GDDR5 10 cents a gig yet?

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.