Review Index:
Feedback

EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 with iCX Technology Review

Author: Ryan Shrout
Manufacturer: EVGA

Sound, Overclocking and Power Consumption

Despite the nearly non-existent shroud, the two fans running under full load are surprisingly quiet on the EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2.

View Full Size

The EVGA GTX 1080 Ti idles at about the same level as our reference card does, which is to say nearly silent by our testing equipment. Under a full gaming load, even though its slightly overclocked, it only generates 38.6 dbA, lower than the Founders Edition, lower than the Titan X, and nearly to the level of the GTX 1080!

View Full Size

Click to Enlarge

Under load testing in Unigine Heaven we saw the EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 clock speeds hover around the 1830 MHz mark, well over the 1671 MHz rated by the GPU Boost clock settings out of the factory. This is great, and shows that NVIDIA and its partners continue to under promise and over deliver when it comes to clock speed ratings. Interesting, looking at the orange line in the graph above for temperature, we did see the GPU hit ~75C before the fan speeds ramped up enough to settle in at the 70C mark that EVGA had intended. I’m not sure if we’ll see a fan curve adjustment in software for this, but it was repeated (to a lesser degree) in our OC testing.

As for overclocking, I will admit that there was less headroom in our testing sample than I had originally expected. I was only able to get a 50 MHz offset running stable, even with the power limit cranked up to its maximum of 120% and the voltage increase peaked as well. Still, that did get us close to that magical 2.0 GHz mark.

View Full Size

Click to Enlarge

View Full Size

Click to Enlarge

With the overclock in place in Heaven, temperatures settled in the 72-73C range while clock speed averaged almost 1950 MHz.

View Full Size

The 50 MHz offset, coupled with the power limit and voltage increases through EVGA Precision XOC software were able to net us another 111 MHz over stock settings – not too shabby for a card that launched with a 1557 MHz base clock!!

Power Consumption

View Full Size

Click to Enlarge

View Full Size

Click to Enlarge

In our testing, the EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 doesn’t use any additional power over the reference version of the GTX 1080 Ti. We see real-world draw in the range of 250 watts in both Rise of the Tomb Raider and The Witcher 3 testing which is within the stated TDP of the product and under the 300 watts of theoretical power draw from the combination and power sources (motherboard, two external PCIe connections). 


April 25, 2017 | 08:25 AM - Posted by khanmein

Why didn't use Metro Last Light for power consumption testing?

April 25, 2017 | 09:58 AM - Posted by Isaac Johnson

Because in Russia, power tests your consumption.

April 25, 2017 | 09:59 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

No reason - this was just a quick spot check of everything on stock performance. You can see the Metro LL results from our Founders Edition review: https://www.pcper.com/reviews/Graphics-Cards/NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-1080-Ti-Review/Detailed-Power-Consumption-Testing

Based on the fact that RoTR and W3 showed idential results, I would expcect the EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 to follow suit.

April 26, 2017 | 03:07 AM - Posted by khanmein

Interesting. Thanks for the review.

April 25, 2017 | 12:16 PM - Posted by Dark_wizzie

Thanks for the review. Just like to point out 3 things:

1) The power target of the card is 120% which is lower than some other cards. That's not a huge deal in the grand scheme of things but it does seperate cards from each other.

2) Often times I see too many positive reviews for AIB cards. If everything is good then everything is average. It's always interesting to see which AIB cooler is better but that's a test few people can run.

3) The SC is not reference PCB and does not work with full cover water blocks. Last I checked neither EK nor Watercool have plans to develop one for it. The SC Black is reference PCB and EK has plans to make one for FTW3.

April 25, 2017 | 01:53 PM - Posted by EVGA_JacobF

To address the power target question above, you cannot use the Power Target Value (Percentage) to compare from vendor to vendor. The reason is the default (100%) value can vary depending on the VRM solution.

With that being said, the EVGA FTW3 version of the card has a bit more robust VRM solution and will allow for a higher power target.

April 26, 2017 | 04:29 PM - Posted by Dark_wizzie

Right. I agree with you and it would have been more accurate if I specified the wattage instead.

April 25, 2017 | 05:10 PM - Posted by Penterax

I have one of these, rocks a very stable 1949 MHz without any additional overclock, have yet to see it break 70C. Very nice, worth the wait, thanks EVGA!

April 25, 2017 | 06:32 PM - Posted by IntelGiant

Great Review!

Not sure why, but almost every other manufacturer is going 2.5slot thickness for their custom cooler designs, seems like EVGA should and hopefully will do the same.

If you plan on keeping the card a long time like I do, I'd wait for one of the EVGA 2.5slot (or maybe even 3.0 slot) designs like a GTX1080Ti Classified or KingPin variant.

And the custom colors EVGA is offering this season look amazing white black green blue and red.

I'd go for an EVGA 1080Ti KingPin in white or black : )

April 25, 2017 | 10:49 PM - Posted by StephanS

WHOA, the MSRP for the R9 Fury X is still $650 ?
I got mine on Amazon for $299

I think the MSRP Fury X should be 10% less then the GTX 1070 at most.
So in the $340 range.. but then I have a feeling AMD stopped production long ago, and at $320 its not making any money.

Anyways, at $300 I love that card.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.