Feedback

My Experience with Windows 10 (Build 9879)

Subject: General Tech
Manufacturer: Microsoft

It could be a good... start.

So this is what happens when you install pre-release software on a production machine.

Sure, I only trusted it as far as a second SSD with Windows 7 installed, but it would be fair to say that I immersed myself in the experience. It was also not the first time that I evaluated upcoming Microsoft OSes on my main machine, having done the same for Windows Vista and Windows 7 as both were in production. Windows 8 was the odd one out, which was given my laptop. In this case, I was in the market for a new SSD and was thus willing to give it a chance, versus installing Windows 7 again.

View Full Size

So far, my experience has been roughly positive. The first two builds have been glitchy. In the first three days, I have rebooted my computer more times than I have all year (which is about 1-2 times per month). It could be the Windows Key + Arrow Key combinations dropping randomly, Razer Synapse deciding to go on strike a couple of times until I reinstall it, the four-or-so reboots required to install a new build, and so forth. You then also have the occasional issue of a Windows service (or DWM.exe) deciding that it would max out a core or two.

But it is pre-release software! That is all stuff to ignore. The only reason I am even mentioning it is so people do not follow in my footsteps and install it on their production machines, unless they are willing to have pockets of downtime here or there. Even then, the latest build, 9879, has been fairly stable. It has been installed all day and has not given me a single issue. This is good, because it is the last build we will get until 2015.

What we will not ignore is the features. For the first two builds, it was annoying to use with multiple monitors. Supposedly to make it easier to align items, mouse cursors would remain locked inside each monitor's boundary until you provide enough velocity to have it escape to the next one. This was the case with Windows 8.1 as well, but you were given registry entries to disable the feature. Those keys did not work with Windows 10. But, with Build 9879, that seems to have been disabled unless you are currently dragging a window. In this case, a quick movement would pull windows between monitors, while a slow movement would perform a Snap.

View Full Size

This is me getting ready to snap a window on the edge between two monitors with just my mouse.

In a single build, they turned this feature from something I wanted to disable, to something that actually performs better (in my opinion) than Windows 7. It feels great.

Now on to a not-so-pleasant experience: updating builds.

Simply put, you can click "Check Now" and "Download Update" all that you want, but it will just sit there doing nothing until it feels like it. During the update from 9860 to 9879, I was waiting with the PC Settings app open for three hours. At some point, I got suspicious and decided to monitor network traffic: nothing. So I did the close app, open app, re-check dance a few times, and eventually gave up. About a half of an hour after I closed PC Settings the last time, my network traffic spiked to the maximum that my internet allows, which task manager said was going to a Windows service.

Shortly after, I was given the option to install the update. After finishing what I was doing, I clicked the install button and... it didn't seem to do anything. After about a half of an hour, it prompted me to restart my computer with a full screen message that you cannot click past to save your open windows - it is do it or postpone it one or more hours, there is no in-between. About another twenty minutes (and four-or-five reboots) after I chose to reboot, I was back up and running.

View Full Size

Is that okay? Sure. When you update, you clearly need to do stuff and that could take your computer several minutes. It would be unrealistic to complain about a 20-minute install. The only real problem is that it waits for extended periods of time doing nothing (measured, literally nothing) until it decides that the time is right, and that time is NOW! It may have been three hours after you originally cared, but the time is NOW!

Come on Microsoft, let us know what is going on behind the scenes, and give us reliable options to pause or suspend the process before the big commitment moments.

So that is where I am, one highly positive experience and one slightly annoying one. Despite my concerns about Windows Store (which I have discussed at length in the past and are still valid) this operating system seems to be on a great path. It is a work in progress. I will keep you up to date, as my machine is kept up to date.


November 14, 2014 | 12:33 PM - Posted by ammacdo

I have had Windows 10 on a backup computer basically since the preview was released but I decided to install it on my main machine last night since my experience had been pretty positive so far. On my backup computer I ran the in place upgrade and it was essentially flawless. I uninstalled my AV software first but otherwise I didn't have to uninstall or reinstall anything else.

With that good result I decided to do the same on my main system and for whatever reason the upgrade was successful but performance was abysmal. I'm pretty sure it was disk related. I use an HDD with an SSD cache via Intel RST and I'm pretty happy with the performance on a whole, but with or without the cache enabled it took FOREVER to boot and get me logged in. I tried different versions of Intel RST and played with different settings but nothing I did made a difference.

I finally just backed up my games folder and then formatted and reinstalled so pretty much everything else I care about is in the cloud anyway, and now performance is as good or better than Win 8.1. So far I think this is going to be the next must have version of Windows similar to Windows 7.

November 14, 2014 | 06:04 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

"...but I decided to install it on my main machine last night..."

Whoa! Wow, what a leap. I am like a little, frightened puppy cringing in the corner whilst peeing myself when I think about installing a Tech Previews OS on my main machine.

A hearty good luck and god speed.

November 14, 2014 | 02:55 PM - Posted by icebug

Running Windows 10 on both my LAN rig and my Main rig now. It has been running pretty solid overall even working with a Crossfire Eyefinity set-up without really any extra hassle.

With my LAN rig (Athlon x4 750K and HD 5850) I saw a huge improvement in game performance (20-30fps extra in most games). I am assuming that it is most likely due to the OS not being feature complete so I plan on those numbers coming back down when more features are added.

December 1, 2014 | 10:03 PM - Posted by james (not verified)

i have run it too on my 30 PC LAN, and it working quite well
should keep on update about this
regards, puri bali car rental

November 14, 2014 | 03:24 PM - Posted by YTech

Updating build reminds me of Windows Update on most previous MS OS.
If it's set to auto download updates, you need to close all the windows, do other stuff until it goes and grab the update. Otherwise, if you click on "Check for Windows Update", nothing will show up. Everything else explained, I've occasional experienced it on various MS OS (mainly 7 & 8.0/8.1). Yes, including the pause during update, etc. At times I wonder if it's okay to Force Reboot it because something wrong occurred during the update and it won't go anywhere.

Annoying when you are setting up a fresh OS and getting it ready for a User. And when you a maintaining a Server that requires to be up and running in a short time. If those old issue gets resolved in the newer release, it'll make me happy down the road.

What about offline usage where you don't have access to a network to MS? What about hardware component change? Any of these will cause a headache?

I was hoping for more details about it's performance and other features VS Win 8. In other words, should I get Win 8 or Win 10 on a new 2015 PC.

Looking forward for updates. :)

November 15, 2014 | 01:58 AM - Posted by Dood (not verified)

After using Windows 10 Preview since the first public build I am happy with it so far but for a couple of things. It doesnt seem to understand the Overclock on my 4670k to the point where it comes up with a message to say that my CPU is too slow occasionally (It wants at least a 1 GHz CPU but even under load it reads it at 800 MHz.) This caused the updates to fail.

Removing the Overclock, do a clean install and updating it has so far fixed the issues, with Windows still thinking I have a 800 Mhz CPU after replying the overclock.

Apart from that, its a great improvement over Windows 8.1 and a hell of a lot better than Windows 7.

November 15, 2014 | 07:49 AM - Posted by ammacdo

I've also noticed some odd issues with overclocking in Windows 10. I have an i5 3570k that I've had overclocked to 4.7GHz basically since I bought it. It has been very stable in Windows 7 and Windows 8/8.1. Before I installed Windows 10 I figured I better update my BIOS which inadvertently blew away my overclock settings. I installed at default clocks and once I had it up and running I reapplied my OC settings and noticed two things. First the Task Manager reported my clock speed as 6.7GHz which would be nice but is for sure not correct. Also when I ran Prime95 the temps would settle after 5 minutes or so at about 75C but then very consistently around the 15 minute mark the temps would all of a sudden skyrocket to 105C and then Windows would blue screen.

I can't find any logical reason for that. In all my experience overclocking if cooling is inadequate temps will steadily rise to the point where the hardware is no longer stable, not stabilize for awhile and then almost immediately increase 30C and crash. After toying with BIOS settings for half a day I decided it has to be either a bug or just a change in Windows that is causing that to happen. So even though I couldn't get it Prime95 stable I loaded up the new WoW expansion since the servers were finally online again and gamed for about 4 hours with no problems at all.

Obviously playing a game for 4 hours doesn't mean my OC is stable so this weekend I think I will look for a tool other than Prime95 to test with.

November 15, 2014 | 12:03 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

More needs to be done to inform users just how to turn off all that cloud functionality baked into the windows 10 OS. There is no way that I trust any of my personal files to any cloud, or my searches of my computer to be forwarded through BING, or any other online search service. I just want a laptop/PC, and the ability to keep the browser, and my PC/Laptop in different separated spaces, with the only one in charge of uploading anything being me. This automatic cloud functionality needs to be able to be restricted at first boot up, and the OS user having to opt in to any cloud functionality, by checking a checkbox, along with the option of a local or cloud login account. Forcing, or tricking by obfuscation, the use of any cloud services by intentional hiding the options should be considered a violation of privacy. People have the right to expect that their PCs/laptops/devices will have the ability to allow the device's owner to have the final and complete decision in this matter, and any attempt to make the process other than as clear as possible, with no tricks involved, should be a violation of privacy, that can not be obviated by any license agreement. Users need to be provided with a menu at first startup, and any default cloud/cloud base logins, should be an opt in, and not an automatic choice of the OS maker.

This moving user's data onto the cloud for no other reason but metadata mining, and profiling needs to be stopped, especially in such functionality baked into the OS. It looks like windows 7 will have a long life more so for privacy reasons, than even the UI reasons that made 7 much better than 8, and if 10 has all the snooping baked in, well, that's another even numbered OS I can do without.

M$, no worries about spyware! It's baked into the OS.

7 is the New XP! And a Secure(from M$'s spying eyes) Linux distro after 2020.

November 15, 2014 | 05:01 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

just install a linux distro right now and forever STFU!

November 15, 2014 | 08:46 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Never, 10 is a no go, just like 8, who needs the snooping, who wants the forced cloud, any more than the forced TIFKAM. 7 will be the last M$ OS with greater than 50% market share. The gaming companies will target their games to the OS version with the most market share, and that OS's graphics API, so 7 will probably be good until 2020, and beyond, if M$ wants to keep market share. Steam OS will be out there, and growing so the gaming companies will target growth, and Steam OS will be growing, while 7 lives. The mobile market has never been dominated by the M$, or its OS's, and Nvidia will be pushing its Tablets with Android, with Nvidia's grid gaming service streaming to the tablets, and considering Nvidia's relationship with IBM, and the newly announced supercomputers, running Power8/9 processors, and Nvidia's GPUs, expect any future grid computers to be power8/9 based streaming Nvidia's gaming services to Nvidia's gaming tablets. I really expect Nvidia to make the transition to offering power8/9 home servers, all NvLinked to licensed power8 processors and Nvidia GPUs, OpenPower is offering power8 and future power designs up for licensing.

The WINTEL domination chapter in computing history is coming to an end for PCs/Laptops, and never was in mobile. Hopefully AMD will bring something x86 on the table in 2016, to go along with its custom ARM APUs, if for any reason to give users the option of avoiding WINTEL entirely, with STEAM OS and AMDs x86 products. The Power8 based SKUs will begin to make there presence known in more than Just the latest government supercomputers, and AMD would be smart to give Power8 a look for its SeaMicro division, and continued relevance in the future HPC/Server market. Power8/9 on Linux will be big in the server room, and OpenPower will license to many! AMD needs to get a custom ARMv8 ISA based tablet APU, and try to enter the competition with Nvidia, Apple and others, before the Licensed power8/power* IP finds its way into more PC/laptop/tablet products, and there will be derivatives of the Power8/power* licensed designs for all market segments of the devices market, that is just beginning in 2015! And do not count the PowerVR GPU IP out, when thinking discrete products, because all it would take is for someone with deep pockets to license the GPU IP from Imagination Technologies, add more GPU cores/units and make the mobile GPU into a discrete product. Look what Apple did with the PowerVR in its latest tablet, they added 2 extra PowerVR cores, and GPUs are more modular than you think, so mobile GPUs can be scaled up relatively easily. Man the innovation happening outside of the WINTEL alliance is staggering, once you stop drinking the WINTEL Kool-Aid!!

STFU, NEVER, it's twilight for the WINTEL alliance, and hello to the Licensed IP world, better keep innovating CPU/GPU makers, as only those that evolve the fastest will survive, the old Dinosaurs food supply is drying up, along with their stranglehold on the market. It does not Matter what Intel, or M$ will do, its too late, and they have milked for too long, they do not even know how to innovate anymore, the computing world does not revolve around a single CPU ISA, and the makers of mobile GPUs will begin to become the makers of discrete GPUs, its only a license away and a little investment, GPUs based on licensed IP, Server CPUs based on licensed IP, with no one supplier holding the market captive, or forcing device OEMs hands. Its going to be fun to watch, but it is going to happen, the market forces are too great towards the complete domination of licensed IP, for CPUs, GPUs, and other computing technologies.

November 15, 2014 | 11:59 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Such hype for YOUR little power8 will be nothing but a rounding error. Go away.

November 16, 2014 | 01:07 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It ain't my Power8, it ain't even IBM's Power8, it will be all those licensed Power8s, from such companies as Google, that will get a license from openpower, and may do a little tweaking, and pay globalfoundries to fab the resulting server SKUs up, at the cost of engineering, and other incidentals, plus fab fees, all without paying Chipzilla's hefty markups for server SKUs. Maybe Google will buy some GPU accelerators for high speed data analytics and hire someone to produce the GPU accelerators, and use CAPI, or other interconnects to high speed stacked memory. Openpower has a lot of IP to license, and Google is in with the OpenPower foundation, there are other big players, and new ones joining every day, oh man, ARM style licensing on powerful server SKUs, and no expensive chip fabs that need to be kept running at as close to full capacity as possible, least they bleed all the profits away. The whole chip fab industry will get more business, and they can and do keep their capacity as full as possible, and need more, and it's not just power8's for IBMs internal use, its Google's and others' supplying not just ARM SOCs, but Powre8s, MIPS, GPUs, and chipsets for the motherboards, all without sending too much chipzella's way!

I'm hyping MIPS, ARM, and Power8/9, U. Sam's supercomputer will be using Power9's with Volta accelerators Nvlinked to stacked memory. Let there be MIPS SOC with PowerVR GPUs, or Apple A8X's with PowerVR extras, or Nvidia K1 Denvers with more GPU SMXs. There will be AMD custom ARMv8s arriving at a later date, I'm hyping that too! It's more than just a rounding error for chipzilla and mobile, they're spending more cash in mobile than a Hollywood mogul, and still not getting anywhere. It's not so easy to buy into mobile, when the market already has an ISA, and an OS not chained to a moldy old WINTEL alliance, no appendages to twist, you do get my gist, and Now Power8 in the server room too, what is that Old Chipzilla to do, with margins so small, on chips produced by all!

November 16, 2014 | 03:58 PM - Posted by ET3D (not verified)

Just a couple of facts which you might have missed:

Intel has been using PowerVR cores for years in their mobile chips, just like Apple does. So it's not like Intel is at any disadvantage when it comes to mobile GPU cores.

NVIDIA has its own CPU architecture, which it currently uses to emulate ARM. Given that it has developed its own cores, it's unlikely that it will go for a Power architecture.

November 16, 2014 | 07:22 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Apple has it's own custom microarchitecture, that is engineered to run the ARMv8 ISA, same as Nvidia, and I would not describe Nvidia's implementation as straight up emulation! And yes Intel has used PowerVR, it is licensable technology! Nvidia could license the Power8 reference designs, or power9, which will be used in the supercomputer along with Nvidias NVlink, and the Mellanox IP. And Nvidia through its supplying of GPU accelerators for power8, and Power9 based systems, would only need to license the designs from openpower, and have the CPU/SOC/GPU mezzanine module components fabbed by GlobalFoundries, The Grid Server systems that Nvidia uses will be based on Power8/9 systems you can bet on that Nvidia will save billions! Google will be using Power8 systems, or Tyan motherboards, Google is already testing Power8 based server system of their own design. Just go and look at the membership of the OpenPower foundation, and see those that will be licensing and using the IP. Hell Tyan is already shipping development boards, with power8s.

Nvidia sure as hell does not want to give all their money to Intel, so Nvidia will be power8 powered for their servers, and if Nvidia has the brain power to roll their own ARMv8 custom cores, they certainly have the brain power to license a reference design power8 from openpower, and derive all sorts of PC/laptop/server SKUs. Damn with all the system integration work Nvidia is doing with IBM, and the government supercomputer contract on the power9s, most of the work will have been done for Nvidia to enter the Licensed Power8/9 market, and sale its own Licensed power8 server SKUs, the engineering will have been paid for by the supercomputer contract, and the majority of the supercomputer contract is through OpenPower/IBM/Nvidia, and a few others, via IP licensing agreements. Nvidia could be a top dog in that market, and Nvidia's GPUs will be the accelerators of choice, if AMD does not come to their senses, and get a Power* license. Power8 benches sometimes 3 times more, in server workloads, than Xeon v3 does! Who Knows what power9 will be, but it's on the way, with Volta accelerators, on the just announced supercomputer contract.

So many big names in computing world wide are already planning their own Power* based products! Power8/power* is a RISC design with something ARM does not offer, and that something is SMT, 8 treads per core, and is all up for license, why would Nvidia need to spend years adding SMT to Denver, they still have to pay ARM royalties for each CPU sold, and for the top tier ARM architectural license! Nvidia could license the already Uber powerful RISC power8/9 designs and be to market relatively quickly, with a product that Nvidia already has engineering knowledge of, by virtue of its past, present, and future work with Power8/9 systems.

November 17, 2014 | 03:10 AM - Posted by ET3D (not verified)

Well, you certainly are enthusiastic about Power. I wish them the best. It could work.

As for NVIDIA, the Denver cores don't run ARM ISA directly, which is why I call that emulation. (That said, x86 chips don't run x86 directly either.) NVIDIA's approach should allow it to run other ISA's over the Denver architecture, and it won't surprise me if NVIDIA does that.

November 17, 2014 | 06:37 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Why would Nvidia spend the time reengineering the Denver microarchitecture to run the Power8 ISA, when they could just license the extremely more powerful Power8 reference designs from OpenPower, the power8 reference design does mot need any tweaking, like the ARM reference core designs(Which Nvidia never used for its custom Denver cores)!! The licensable Reference Power8 designs do not need to be improved upon, or any completely custom core designed, the licensable Power8 reference design is a beast of a server SKU. Why would Nvidia need to spend billions, and years Tweaking the Denver microarchitecture to run the power8 ISA, or creating SMT for Denver/whatever, when there is a licensable Power8 design that already runs the Power8 ISA, and already has SMT(symmetrical multithreading) baked into to the Power8 reference design. IBM designed one hell of a beast, and now through openpower, any company can license the reference design Powre8 core design, and have it fabbed at Globalfoundries, or Samsung.

IBM may not be in the chip fabrication business, but they still control the ISA, and the reference designs and microarchitecture IP around the Power8/9, and IBM is still in the chip design business, but through the openpower foundation other manufactures can license the reference power8 cores and add to the feature set of the cores, and add other on die components from other third party IP suppliers. There is no logic in taking just the Power8 ISA, and trying to best IBM's reference design, like Apple, and Nvidia had to do with the ARM Holdings reference designs, Apple and Nvidia had to license the ARMv8 ISA, and make a custom wider order superscalar designs with Apple's and Nvidia's own custom microarchitectures. IBM's power8 design is so powerful is needs no such beefing up, its already the result of some of the best microarchitectural engineering, and its beats Xeon handily is server workloads.

I can see Apple, for one, licensing the Power8, and maybe adding some custom features, or different interconnect fabric, or just licensing CAPI from openpower, and having GlobalFoundries bake Apple up some Licensed power8s for their Mac Pro, and not have to pay Intel for the Xeons, or have to pay any middlemen markups on the Mac Pro's CPU.

It's not what IBM is going to do with the Power8s/9s, that IBM will use for its internal products, and contracts, it is what the third party Power8/9 licensees will do with the Power8/9 licensable CPU designs, that will give Chipzilla the most low cost competition. It's going to be some time before any third party Power8 licensee will be able to improve on the bog standard reference design Power8 core. The big implication is what of those Third party manufactures Fujitsu, Samsung, Tyan, will do when they start producing power8 and competing for the server hardware market, IBM is not in the external CPU sales business, or CPU fabrication business, GlobalFoundries will be fabricating IBM in house CPUs, and probably for others, Samsung will be fabing Power8 for itself, and others. Both Samsung and GlobalFoundries have been working in technology sharing foundations with IBM for years, in addition to the OpenPower foundation.

The long term implications for ARM Holdings, as well as Chipzilla, is that there is another RISC design up for license, and the Power8 RISC design has SMT, which the ARM holdings' reference RISC design does not. CPUs are just as scalable to a degree as GPUs, and it will not be long before someone Like Apple will take the Power8 core design, and derive some PC/Laptop SKUs from the power8, its not to hard to imagine the P.A. semiconductor(Acquired by Apple) folks, that made the A*, A7, A8, and A8X, are not already looking over the Power8 blueprints and looking at making a clean break from chipzilla, they will save Apple billions, and Power8 already has SMT, so why take the custom ARM A8/8X that does not have SMT, and spend the time and money, when Apple could License the Power8 and go from there. Apple has never been afraid to switch to another ISA, if the numbers add up, and the Power8 ISA has been around for some years.

"Well, you certainly are enthusiastic about Power", I could care less about IBM, I only care about getting cheep CPUs/SOCs from who ever decides to make PCs/Laptops SKUs with the Power8 designs, I need as many cores/treads as I can get, and Chipzilla's SKUs are too damn expensive!
8 processors threads per F_CKing core hell yes, at around $500.00, Hell an 8 core Power8 still has 64 threads! That
for a eight core part, hell yes! The cheaper the third party Power8 server SKUs, the cheaper Chipezilla will have to price their server SKUs!

November 16, 2014 | 10:17 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

he thinks people actually read it.

November 16, 2014 | 07:42 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You are welcome to TL:DR but something in there has upset you, and your x86 dreamland of Chipzilla inside. How is that mobile contra revenue working out for the billions in attempted OEM design wins, do you think for one New York Nanosecond that OEMs do not remember the days gone by, and the old market tactics of the monolithic CPU monopoly.
Apple sure is not using Chipzilla's SKUs in their tablets, and I would love to see a Mac Pro with 12 cores, at 8 threads per core, of Power8 powering the Mac Pro with 96 processor threads of Ray Tracing render power. Apple could probably have some fabbed up Apple licensed Power8 SKUs, and more money in the bank, and some very happy designers.

November 16, 2014 | 08:27 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

upset? nope its just annoying to see you ranting on and on and on and on.... every single post!!!

i've run AMD chips since the 90's , intel can take a flying leap, but that doesn't mean I have to pull up a soap box and beat a drum everyday.

Your kool-aid supply runs deep.

November 16, 2014 | 02:44 PM - Posted by Rantor (not verified)

"During the update from 9860 to 9879, I was waiting with the PC Settings app open for three hours. At some point, I got suspicious and decided to monitor network traffic: nothing."

I had that happen with win8 a few months back on a laptop. The 8.1 download and install was faster and easier but MS made me update the 8.0 install first. 3 hours wasted, about 1.5 of them due to nothing happening or a failed update install.

November 16, 2014 | 02:52 PM - Posted by drbaltazar (not verified)

Can gamer hope to have the easy option of turning off MSI/x .I understand in hard core server MSI/x is needed but gees on gamer PC or Xbox one?it is just creating ton of overhead and lag!.please ms implement anol optionfor gamer IRQ was made sharablein PCI ,and that is good enough.the hybrid mix between msi/x is so bad its insane,and you made it even worst by not permitting DMA and dca.

November 16, 2014 | 03:54 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I tried Windows 10 Preview. I noticed the stuff I am already familiar with with my current OS. Then, I changed back to Linux since it has all the features of Win 10 but better.

November 17, 2014 | 01:25 AM - Posted by Scott Michaud

Yeah, I am still considering Linux, especially if Windows Store certification fails to be addressed (or even gets worse).

November 16, 2014 | 08:32 PM - Posted by NamelessTed

I was personally using Windows 10 until a few days ago and was really enjoying. The actual management of different windows and screenspaces is great. The only reason I switched back to Windows 8 is because I had a lot of issues with nVidia drivers and trying to get SLI working. I managed to turn it on once but then Windows updated and broke it all.

I personally actually enjoyed the fact that the mouse cursor would lock to the current monitor when moving it slowly. I constantly overshoot my chrome tabs on the top of the screen and end up clicking on my top monitor and launch a program or open a new window or something. Given that it sounds like the new build changes this a bit I am hoping I will be able to re-enable that feature.

I am very much looking forward to the full release. I hope the rumors of a free update are true but I will definitely be buying at soon as possible if I have to.

November 17, 2014 | 01:28 AM - Posted by Scott Michaud

It currently does it when windows are being dragged between monitors and seemingly only then. There was a registry key in Windows 8.1 to turn it off, which didn't work in Windows 10, but maybe they intend a setting for users to turn it on?

November 16, 2014 | 10:57 PM - Posted by LP (not verified)

Hi,
my experience with the Windows 10 build 9879 is horrible. After the upload nothing has worked: IE, app (store, skype, wheather channel, ..). Onedrive is completely disappeared . I tried to verify if there are some new updates to fix this mess, but I didn?t find anything.
Any idea about some updates?

November 17, 2014 | 01:23 AM - Posted by Scott Michaud

I heard that OneDrive was completely broken, but have not experienced it on this machine. That said, I was several hours late to 9879 and immediately ran Windows Update after the build installed. It is entirely possible that the couple of updates that I installed fixed the problem, and it is also entirely possible that my system just did not have the bugs. I don't know, unfortunately.

November 21, 2014 | 03:44 PM - Posted by Shortwave (not verified)

I'm gunna' take the dive on my main rig right now.
I just installed a R9 Asus 285 and can't run anything but DX9 titles without getting a black screen of death. Really annoying as I'm having a kid in a week or so.. And I decided to go back to AMD after having a terrible customer service experience with nivida (directly) for the past two months.
I wanted to get one week of no-lifing Star Citizen before my life is changed forever. HAHA.. But nope... Didn't get emailed the codes yet, been 3 days.. As long as I've been waiting for a reply from Asus about the BSOD. UHG. Guess that's one more support call I'll be making today... Jesus.

From 2005 to 2013 I really never had driver issues with AMD.
Once in a while a hiccup that was resolved quickly but..
Nothing like this. Tried different PCI speeds, updated bios, tried different OS's (7/8). Different ram, different HDD's, AMD cpu, Intel cpu....

I suppose I'm just waiting on a GPU bios fix or a AMD driver to address it? Yeaaaa, I just wanted to try all I could before resorting to having to deal with more customer service this month... (I've probably wasted 20+ hours of my life this month alone taking to different customer services... Never have I been this cursed with failing products in my life.. Bad few months for me..)

I've seen a lot of people with 290's have BSOD issues fixed with bios updates and other things..

So maybe.. Just maybe 10 might resolve the issues.. (It doesn't have DX12 yet does it?..) I'm out of ideas. If not.. I think I'm finally going to take the dive into Linux and just deal with my cut down game library.

Really, really tired of all of this. HA.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.