Review Index:
Feedback

Logitech G533 Wireless 7.1 Surround Gaming Headset Review

Subject: General Tech
Manufacturer: Logitech

Introduction and Specifications

The G533 Wireless headset is the latest offering from Logitech, combining the company’s premium Pro-G drivers, 15-hour battery life, and a new, more functional style. Obvious comparisons can be made to last year’s G933 Artemis Spectrum, since both are wireless headsets using Logitech’s Pro-G drivers; but this new model comes in at a lower price while offering much of the same functionality (while dropping the lighting effects). So does the new headset sound any different? What about the construction? Read on to find out!

View Full Size

The G533 exists alongside the G933 Artemis Spectrum in Logitech’s current lineup, but it takes most of the features from that high-end wireless model, while paring it down to create a lean, mean option for gamers who don’t need (or want) RGB lighting effects. The 40 mm Pro-G drivers are still here, and the new G533 offers a longer battery life (15 hours) than the G933 could manage, even with its lighting effects disabled (12 hours). 7.1-channel surround effects and full EQ and soundfield customization remain, though only DTS effects are present (no Dolby this time).

What do these changes translate to? First of all, the G533 headset is being introduced with a $149 MSRP, which is $50 lower than the G933 Artemis Spectrum at $199. I think many of our readers would trade RGB effects for lower cost, making this a welcome change (especially considering lighting effects don’t really mean much when you are wearing the headphones).Another difference is the overall weight of the headset at 12.5 oz, which is 0.5 oz lighter than the G933 at 13 oz.

View Full Size

Continue reading our review of the Logitech G533 Wireless 7.1 Surround Gaming Headset!

Before we proceed we’ll take a look at specs from Logitech:


Specifications:

  • Headphones
    • Driver: Pro-G 40 mm
    • Frequency response: 20Hz-20KHz
    • Impedance: 32 Ohms
    • Sensitivity: 107dB SPL/mW
    • Charging Cable Length: 2m
    • Battery Life: 15 hours
    • Wireless Range: 15m
    • Size: 197 mm x 189 mm x 85 mm
    • Weight: 350 grams (12.5 oz)
  • Microphone
    • Pickup Pattern: Cardioid (Unidirectional)
    • Type: Pressure Gradient Electret
    • Condenser Size: 4 mm
    • Frequency response: 100Hz-20KHz
  • System Requirements
    • Windows 7 or higher
    • Internet connection for Logitech Gaming Software installation
    • USB port
  • Warranty: 2-year limited hardware warranty

First Impressions

View Full Size

The G533 headset arrives in the standard Logitech packaging, with minimal accessories.

View Full Size

A USB cable for charging is included, and the usual paperwork. There is no 3.5 mm analog option with this model, though the likelihood that you are purchasing these to use with a wire is admittedly low. Still, there is no clear mobile option with the G533, as this is a more PC-specific model. It's worth noting that the wireless dongle is not stored within the earcup as it was with the G933, so you will have to be careful not to lose it in transit.

On the next page we will take a close look at the headset itself, and then move on to usage impressions.

View Full Size


March 7, 2017 | 07:28 PM - Posted by pdjblum

Thanks for the review. I didn't know you could get decent stereo sound from wireless headphones. Thanks for the heads up. I will definitely be checking them out. Sebastian, can you please compare the stereo music sound quality to grado 60 or 80?

March 7, 2017 | 10:09 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

The Grado SR60 provides similar detail levels, but lighter bass and a little more 'midrange-forward' sound - so voices and instruments like guitars will be a little more prominent. The SR80 is a better-sounding headphone, but not by a lot. The Grados do get incrementally better as you go up the chain, and I've gone through them one after the other at my local hi-fi store to verify this. I still find the biggest jump to be at the top of the Prestige series from Grado with the SR325, which is in another world for detail and clarity compared to any gaming headset I have heard, but costs $295, too.

I have to say as an 'audiophile' type I have been really impressed with the last few pairs of Logitech headphones, which have a much more lifelike stereo sound quality to them, rivalling some dedicated stereo headphones. Even the lower-cost G231 sounded great from stereo sources, easily on par with Grado SR60's - and had a similar bass response to the Grado as well. Bass is probably the most notable difference moving up to the Pro-G drivers in the G533, as they have plenty of kick in the lower frequencies.

March 7, 2017 | 11:00 PM - Posted by pdjblum

Thanks so much Sebastian for the awesome response. I had the SR60's and then SR80's for many years, and tolerated the awful discomfort because of their price and sound. It is great that you think the G533s are close to the same level of sound outside of the midrange, which is important to me (and I am sure you), but not a deal breaker considering they are wireless and for what I will be using them for. Knowing how great the sr60's and sr80's are for the price, I have no doubt the sr325s sounds scary good.

March 8, 2017 | 02:18 AM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

No problem! Yes, the SR325s are really, really good. So good, I found the RS2s to be more of a build upgrade (wood construction) than a big upgrade in sound, and I have owned both. To even be talking about Grado headphones in the same conversation as a gaming headset makes me happy. For $149 the G533s are pretty damn good, and they're wireless. My only real complaint is that they are PC/Mac only - with no way to use them with a phone or music player. Oh well, they work all over the house so you could just play music on the computer and walk around freely.

March 8, 2017 | 02:53 AM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

Fugly as all Fs. Tanks, but no thanks.
I'll keep on using my GODLIKE Bose QuietComfort 35 and Sennheiser HD 4.50 BTNC.

March 8, 2017 | 04:13 AM - Posted by Jann5s

Does anybody know if this unit allows charging while in use. My current Corsair Void does not and I underestimated how annoying this can be. In mid game changing headsets and thus reconfiguring the windows audio settings is really not what you want to be doing.

March 8, 2017 | 08:52 AM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

Yes, this allows use while charging. It still needs to be connected wirelessly via the dongle, but the USB cable can be attached for charging from an available port and it can be used at the same time. It charges pretty fast via USB 3.0.

March 8, 2017 | 01:23 PM - Posted by Jann5s

thanks for the reply, the only problem is that I now have to resist my temptation to buy (yet) another headset, lol.

March 8, 2017 | 01:28 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

:)

March 8, 2017 | 08:16 AM - Posted by Chazz (not verified)

Would you recommend the 533 over the 933 with the 533 at $129.99?

March 8, 2017 | 08:53 AM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

That's tough... There are pros and cons; battery life and range are better with the G533, but the 933 is a little more premium overall and offers mobile/console support as well. I'd go with the 933 if you can still get it for around $135. I doubt they will last at that price, and then the G533 will be an easy first choice :)

March 8, 2017 | 12:02 PM - Posted by BrightCandle (not verified)

How does the surround compare to the other solutions such as the Sennheiser GSX 1000, Soundblaster Z, Xonar cards with Dolby headphone, Razer surround software etc?

DTS Headphones is one of those solutions I only know exists on a few particular headphones so its impossible to get it on a decent set of cans and also compare it like people have done with Realtek v SBX v Dolby headphone v CMSS etc.

Thoughts?

March 8, 2017 | 01:30 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

Good question, and I wish I had the gear to compare. My impression that the DTS effects provide very good positional surround is not going to change, but I would like to hear the other options.

March 8, 2017 | 08:46 PM - Posted by Shambles (not verified)

I just can't get excited about a wireless headset that doesn't use a standard like Bluetooth. Is there a good reason why this isn't a Bt set or does Logitech just like locking people into proprietary dongles that are easy to break and lose?

March 8, 2017 | 10:23 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

Latency. Bluetooth introduces a lot of latency, which matters a lot when you need audio to sync with the video output. There is an aptX Low Latency Bluetooth CODEC, but that is still ~40ms, and there is nothing with less latency. A 2.4 GHz connection like the G533 allows for two things: lowest latency and uncompressed audio.

March 8, 2017 | 09:06 PM - Posted by Kionic (not verified)

The sound in the drivers fluates for me Sebastian. how do you fix that? Sometimes its great then its LOW. I set audio to 60 on windows 10 and the problem still happens.

Its weird you didnt mention any low audio issues. I think the logitech software is the issue. It takes control of audio enhancements.

March 8, 2017 | 10:25 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

That is odd. I never had audio level issues. I controlled audio with the control on the headset, which changes the Windows audio level. I had the G533 set as my default output device under sound settings. Zero issues, with or without effects enabled.

March 18, 2017 | 12:34 PM - Posted by Carlos Leyva (not verified)

Thank you for great review Sebastian.
I drove to Best Buy yesterday, on your recommendation, to see if I could find a pair of these but had no luck.
Fortunately, I found the G933s on sale for $129!
I was really looking forward to the understated look of the G533s but I can definitely settle for the fancy 933s since I wont really be looking at them as i use them.
I'm going to set these up today and give them a whirl. I'm upgrading from my current Creative Tactics Wrath Wireless with 50mm drivers, they are at least 5 years old I think.
I'm hoping to be wowed and impressed! :)

March 18, 2017 | 09:11 PM - Posted by Sev (not verified)

I want to add that I plugged these into my android phone through an otg cable and the worked flawlessly, even the mic was detected. Disclaimer: Phone is a Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 Pro, rooted, with cm13 on it. It does drain the battery quite a bit, was at 75% after 2 and a half hours of use.

March 18, 2017 | 09:15 PM - Posted by Sev (not verified)

I should clarify that the battery I am referring to is my phones, not the headsets.