Feedback

Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum - My New Favorite Mouse

Author:
Subject: General Tech
Manufacturer: Logitech G

My new desk mate

Earlier this month at the 2016 edition of the Consumer Electronics Show, Logitech released a new product for the gaming market that might have gone unnoticed by some. The G502 Proteus Spectrum is a new gaming mouse that takes an amazing product and makes it just a little better with the help of some RGB goodness. The G502 Proteus Core has been around for a while now and has quickly become one of the best selling gaming mice on Amazon, a testament to its quality and popularity. (It has been as high as #1 overall in recent days.)

View Full Size

We have been using the G502 Proteus Core in our gaming test beds at the office for some months and during that time I often lamented about how I wanted to upgrade the mouse on my own desk to one. While I waited for myself stop being lazy and not just switching one for the G402 currently in use at my workstation, Logitech released the new G502 Proteus Spectrum and handed me a sample at CES to bring home. Perfect!

View Full Size

  Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum Specifications
Resolution 200 - 12,000 DPI
Max Acceleration >40G
Max Speed >300 IPS
USB Data 16 bits/axis
USB Report Rate 1000 Hz (1 ms)
Processor 32-bit ARM
Button rating 20 million clicks
Feet rating 250 kilometers
Price $79 - Amazon.com

The G502 Proteus Spectrum is very similar to the Core model, with the only difference being the addition of an RGB light under the G logo and DPI resolution indicators. This allows you to use the Logitech Gaming Software to customize its color, its pattern (breathing, still or rotating) as well as pair it up and sync with the RGB lights of other Logitech accessories you might have. If you happen to own a Logitech G910 or G410 keyboard, or one of the new headsets (G633/933) then you'll quickly find yourself in color-coordinated heaven.

View Full Size

In the box you'll find the mouse, attached to a lengthy cable that works great even with my standing desk, and a set of five weights that you can install on the bottom if you like a heavier feel to your mousing action. I installed as many as I could under the magnetic door on the underside of the mouse and definitely prefer it. The benefit of the weights (as opposed to just a heavier mouse out of the box) is that users can customize it as they see fit.

Continue reading our short review of the Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum mouse!!

View Full Size

Logitech has upgraded the wire on the G502 to a braided design that should keep it from getting cut or nicked on sharp edges, making it easier to glide around your desk top for a longer time. 

View Full Size

You like buttons? The G502 has you covered without over doing it like some other mice. Besides the two primary switches up top you'll find 9 more buttons to get your fingers on. You have a thumb switch to temporarily lower the DPI (perfect for zooming in and sniping in FPS games), two upper thumb buttons for forward/back in Windows and whatever else you map in your games. You can switch between DPI settings with the two buttons to the left of your index finger and rotate between one of three profiles with the button under your palm. 

View Full Size

Assuming there are many people like myself that like to switch between the free spinning scroll wheel and the mode with notched scrolling, you'll love that the G502 supports that with a physical switch just behind the wheel. I personally prefer to use the free scrolling for typing in Word documents but the notched style for web browsing. Don't hate.

View Full Size

Everyone's hand sizes are different, and cuticle care as well, but the G502 Proteus Spectrum fits me perfectly. Sorry, but lefties need not apply...

View Full Size

Though it's hard to tell in photos, the light on the G logo is bright and uniform, the same with the DPI indicators. It's fair to claim that RGB illumination is less impactful on this mouse since your hand will cover the G logo during use, but users will still get the added decorative charm when not in use.

View Full Size

Using the Logitech Gaming Software is straight forward and easy enough to set profiles or adjust the RGB color schemes. If you have multiple Logitech accessories, you can synchronize the colors and patterns across them all with a simple click of an icon. It's a cool feature and one that should make Logitech fans happy and likely bring some new ones on-board.

A mouse is a very personal decision, and I'm not here to poo-poo on anyone else's favorite mouse. But for me, the Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum is the perfect balance of performance, features, build quality and price. You can find the RGB-less G502 Proteus Core for $66 on Amazon while the upgrade RGB Spectrum model will cost you $79. If you don't see the value in a colored G logo under your palm, save $10 or so and get the Core model, it otherwise has identical feel and features. The G502 has found a permanent home on my desk at the PC Perspective offices, and that is about as telling of a recommendation I can give!

View Full Size

Logitech G502 Proteus Core and Spectrum

Video News


January 22, 2016 | 05:15 PM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

I'm glad for you, but...just NO. This is not the best mouse out there. First of all - Mionix Naos 7000 exists. And secondly - 3366 simply sucks way too many major donkey balls. It's really not that good of a sensor, PixArt's "ex-ADNS" PMW 3310 beats the living sh*t out of 3366, all way through.

January 22, 2016 | 07:37 PM - Posted by wujj123456

Sensor isn't the only thing of a mouse you know. I found the placement of abundant number of buttons on this mouse is very convenient for quite a few games. G502 have more buttons than most non-MMO mice, and for some non-MMO games, they do benefit from slightly more buttons, which is exactly what G502 provides to me.

January 23, 2016 | 01:33 PM - Posted by kent1146

If someone mentions a mouse sensor, it's a safe bet that they're a CS:Go player that buys their computer gear according to how it allows them to perform on CS:Go. And in CS:Go, the only thing that really matters is getting their mouse cursor onto their opponent before the same happens to them.

Therefore, the only thing that matters to "sensor nerds" as I call them (and I mean "nerd" in the best positive meaning), is the sensor. Extra buttons don't really mean anything to those types of mouse buyers, because you don't use those buttons in CS:Go.

I'm not saying I agree or disagree on what is better... just putting in a comment to explain why some people might only care about mouse sensors.

January 23, 2016 | 05:41 AM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

Well excuuuuuuuuse me, Princess. Excuse me for forgetting to add that this here mouse is also ugly AND uncomfortable as hell, while Mionix's Naos 7000 is absolutely GORGEOUS all way through. But whatever, I guess? Don't misunderstand me, though. I've tried this mouse already, so I have all the rights to judge it for what it is.

January 23, 2016 | 07:50 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

wow. the maturity level of this guy... Good on RS for even acknowledging this person. Keep doing what you do Per. I/we are very much appreciative.

January 23, 2016 | 08:58 PM - Posted by Dallas (not verified)

I agree with this guy, As well with The final Mouse, Roccat and corsair are great mice.. The Mionix wins in overall i hear

January 23, 2016 | 01:47 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

First, I haven't tried that mouse. There are WAY too many mice, even gaming mice, on the market for me to have tried all or even most of them. That being said, I did say at the beginning and end of this article that mice and comfortable grip are definitely a more personal choice than anything else.

January 27, 2016 | 05:57 PM - Posted by larsoncc

I posted your review on /r/mousereview to reap that sweet sweet karma. Also, you should check out a Mionix, Deathadder, and a Zowie. I like my 502 quite a bit... except for the shape. Which is funny since you seem to like the shape.

January 24, 2016 | 01:17 AM - Posted by Lagahan (not verified)

Got a source/info for the sensor being crap? Haven't noticed any tracking issues on mine, though I'm coming from a history of terrible ADNS 9500 laser sensors (Sensei, Func MS-3 and an IKARI with some other laser sensor). Tracks up to 5.45m/s on MouseTest with 9% smoothness and 98% precision.

January 24, 2016 | 03:57 AM - Posted by Not Anonymous (not verified)

Mionix sound great on paper but in reality is very average. As a previous owner of the Naos 7000 i actually returned it swapped it for a cheaper G502. I agree with the author G502 Core Prom & Spec is one of the best if not the best all round mouse currently out there.

Mionix may be ok for people with small hands but as a person with a larger hand i found it extremely difficult to hold onto / lift because the mouse is so flat and RHS is flat stepped. Mionix has an obvious lack of buttons but for FPS it's not a dealbreaker however the absolute retarded DPI button placement for a supposedly pro gaming mouse. I literately have to take my hand off the mouse to change DPI on it. Last but on least Mionix Software is average at best. It's buggy and intermittently caused mouse to loose dpi settings. Once software was closed issues went away.

You cant beat Logitech on software suite. Their mice are great, sensors are good, sure they can hit n miss from release to release with design but their software is complete and far superior to anything else on the market which also includes Razer etc. I do really like the new fat Buttons Logitech is putting on their G Series mouse. G502 is a good ba

G502 could have been a touch bigger but otherwise an awesome mouse. As the reviewer also said it's a absolute bargain price wise. I've tried Mad Catz, Lorsair, Razer, Mionix with a range of others and i always come back to Logitech. It's just good gear!

January 25, 2016 | 07:35 PM - Posted by DerekR (not verified)

@Master_Chen: Glad to know that you disagree, and that this is not the best mouse for you. As Ryan points out in the article, choosing a mouse is very personal. While you look towards the Naos 7000 and the lackluster performance of 3366, please do it with decorum and civility.

I do agree with Ryan that the Proteus G502 is a good mouse. I use one as well. I found that it makes up for a lot of the short-cummings of the G500 and G500s before it. The right and left mouse buttons work with out problems, and the cable was fixed to eliminate the kink problem where the braid would let the cable inside break through.

The one thing I still like better about the G500 style was the shape of the mouse. The G500 had a more substantial hump that made is slightly more comfortable to hold versus the G502.

January 22, 2016 | 06:26 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have this mouse and I hope they come out with a wireless version. Same body and specs, but wireless.

My one gripe is the fast scroll/line by line scroll switch button should have been on the scroll wheel itself. As it is, it's a button below the scroll wheel.

But other than that, great mouse! I rate it 6 out of 7.

7 out of 7 if they came out with a wireless version.

January 22, 2016 | 06:33 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I take that back. Having tried the switch button again just now, it makes sense that it's a separate button to prevent a page from unnecessarily scrolling when switching between fast and line by line scroll. So 7 out of 7 now.

But still want a wireless version for on the road. One with long battery life.

The other thing I like about this is that it has a chip memory inside to preserve your individual mouse settings, so you can go from one PC to another and all your mouse mappings are preserved without having to install additional software.

But still want a wireless version for on the road. One with long battery life.

January 23, 2016 | 03:33 AM - Posted by kent1146

>> wireless version for on the road.
>> One with long battery life.
>> chip memory inside to preserve your individual mouse settings

You want the Logitech G602. It's about as perfect of a wireless gaming mouse as you can get.

It uses the Avago AM010 optical sensor, which is an absolutely fantastic mousing sensor. It's neck-and-neck with the other sensor that was mentioned thus far in comments, the Pixart 3310 (Pixart also manufactures Avago-branded sensors).

This is a non-rechargeable mouse; but gets a very respectable 1 month of battery life on gaming mode. Most other wireless mice get 12-18 hours. I'd actually recommend that you spend the money for 2x AA Lithium batteries instead of traditional 2x AA Alkaline. It changes the mouse from a heavier, rear-balanced mouse to a lighter, center-balanced mouse. And it gives you 3 months (8-10 hours per day) of battery life.

And it supports storing mouse profiles on-mouse, instead of relying solely on software. It's seriously the closest you'll find today to the perfect mouse.

P.S. Don't be put off by the "low" 2500dpi of this mouse. If you are put off, then you should educate yourself on what dpi really means to mousing performance (and not just as a "higher-is-better" marketing term). If you don't actually set your mouse above 2500dpi, then you're wasting your money buying a mouse that goes above 2500dpi.

January 23, 2016 | 06:15 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

No left/right wheel click? No hyper scroll? Nevermind.

January 22, 2016 | 08:55 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I saw that coming from miles. "CES trip sponsored by Logitech" and now a few days later, a Logitech product becomes his "new favorite". Just LOL.

And after that they will complain about revenues, that their "articles" need more time to get done, and so on... How can you accept to be sponsored by any brand in the first place for any report or event coverage? They pay your flight ticker / hotel, give you a free mouse and now you make it sound like this is the best thing ever? Please...

Cover events with your money, review hardware you personnally purchased, and THEN write a review. You just became a new PR agency for Logitech.

Coming soon "Computex sponsored by Nvidia" and "Pascal best GPU ever" a few days later....

January 23, 2016 | 04:29 AM - Posted by kent1146

It's not that hard to say "Look, I will only accept your sponsorship money on the condition that I get to review your products fairly. AKA, if they're great, I'll call it great. If they suck, I'll say they suck." This is called journalistic integrity.

The reason that ANY of us read the review sites we do is because those sites write high-quality reviews with journalistic integrity. People visit those sites over and over, because they can trust that the words were actually written by an author they respect; and not just some dude looking for a free flight and hotel to some major city for a tech event.

Believe me, if PCPer just regurgitated whatever Logitech PR (or any other company) pays them to write, then they'd lose readers by droves. And that would cost a LOT more money than the $2000 it costs to fly to Las Vegas and stay in a casino hotel for a week.

It takes a long time to build trust. It only takes one mistake to lose trust. Have faith that people aren't as short-sighted and stupid as you make them out to be.

January 25, 2016 | 10:13 PM - Posted by khanmein (not verified)

i trust boss ryan shrout but i don't trust sebastian peaCOCK when he reviewed cpu & especially monitors.

boss ryan i never doubt on u but this time u said G502 proteus specturn is yr new fav mouse really shock a lot viewers.

HONESTY is the BEST POLICY! don't follow linustechtips trend for god sake.

jayztwocents also another fella review product that didn't sell on the market at all.

mostly for testing purpose sent by vendors. i still don't trust SEBASTIAN PEACOCK every review. if that dude reviewed the products i will avoid it.

January 23, 2016 | 09:58 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Ugh, I try to not reply to these types of posts, but you are challenging our credibility.

Yes, Logitech sponsored our CES coverage which is essentially a special advertising bundle that runs during CES. That's it - they didn't book flights, pick hotels or even require a meeting! You know who else has sponsored our CES coverage in the past? AMD, NVIDIA, Corsair and MSI. We have reviewed products from those companies before, during and after those advertisements were running. 

Currently, we have advertising on pcper.com from the following: ASUS, Gigabyte, MSI, EVGA, Corsair, OCZ and Seasonic. Of those companies, ASUS, EVGA and Corsair make gaming mice, none of which have been listed as "my favorite" mice in recent memory. Corsair in particular is a strong competitor in this market and they have been CONTINUOUS advertisers and sponsors for more than 13 years. Yet, one of their mice isn't my currente favorite. How odd.

While I agree with the idea that in a perfect world we could buy our own hardware, spend our own money on events, etc. that's just not realistic or feasible. Nearly 100% of our income comes from advertisers. As much as I love our Patreon campaign, just crossing $1500 / mo today, it would be literally impossible to pay for my family and the other writers on our team, not to mention web hosting / development, hardware purchases, rent, electric, Internet and all that without at least an order of magnitude higher income from readers. How many $1000+ items could we review if we were buying them ourselves? Probably....zero.

And we have had advertisers since day one, so in my view you either can trust us or you can't and your view on that isn't likely to change through anything else do.

Honestly, the feedback is welcome from all angles, but in this case, it's completely misinformed.

January 23, 2016 | 10:42 AM - Posted by 85739gary

Maybe Leo Laport[TWIT.TV]could "supply" y'all with whatever's necessary to review?

Leo has said many times he always buys everything he reviews,etc.

Since TWICH is a Twit show, it would make sense for Leo to "assist buying" what y'all review...

January 23, 2016 | 01:40 PM - Posted by kent1146

The Twit.tv network doesn't own PCPer. Why would they buy hardware for PCPer (a company / website they don't own)?

My guess is that the arrangement that PCPer & Twit have today is that Twit.tv pays Ryan to come onto TWiCH to talk about computer hardware that he already bought & reviewed for PCPer.

It's a lot cheaper for TWiT to just pay someone like Ryan to just use his content (since he's doing hardware reviews anyway), than it would be for TWiT to set up their own hardware purchases & reviews.

January 23, 2016 | 01:47 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

The amount of items that Leo and the group at Twit "reviews" is significantly lower than what we deal with here. Love the guy, but I don't think that's even a remote option. :)

January 23, 2016 | 08:46 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Not a fair comparison. One company's business revolves around punditry/speculation, while the other's is not.

The sarcastic ellipsis, coupled with "...it would make sense..." is just silly, at best.

January 22, 2016 | 09:54 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

A mouse article with no mention of main grip style?

So who is it mainly for? Palm, Claw or Fingertip for average joe with average size hands.

I currently use my trusty old Logitech G9 and it isn't going to last forever, Really looking at this mouse but I use somewhere between fingertip and claw grip mainly for fps style games.
Would this mouse work for fingertip/claw users or is it another palm mouse?

Any suggestions for a fingertip/claw grip mouse that has more than two side buttons like this one? Or will I be ok if I buy this mouse?

January 23, 2016 | 03:50 AM - Posted by kent1146

From what I read (from other reviews out there before this one), this fits in that middle space that lets it be used with just about any mouse grip.

If you can, go into a store that has one on display to try out. If not, then buy from a place that has a good return policy.

It has roughly the same size / shape as other Logitech 400-series or 500-series mice (i.e. MX518, G400, G402, G5, G500, G502, etc). I'm sure that if you own a Logitech G9, then you've run into a 400 or 500-series mouse before, for a rough comparison.

January 23, 2016 | 07:46 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Thanks for replying,
I may just have to do that and find a local computer shop, Where I can try one out. I usually just shop online to buy pc parts at the best price, But in this instance it's not really the price that concerns me but wether or not I will be able to use it at all.
That's the problem with mice, It's very subjective to each person, What works great for others may be entirely crap for someone else. So many factors, Hand size, grip style, weight, amount of buttons, Sensor used etc etc
If only it was as easy as just buying a new gpu/cpu/ssd and plugging it in!

Been dreading the day this G9 dies, It's a very flat low profile mouse great for fingertip/claw grip. Just after something similar but with an extra few buttons for game macro's. I also have the Logitech G600 mmo mouse thinking I could just use that for everything but I find it's palm grip and I can't use it at all, Had taken a risk and just bought it cheap online.
Logitech if any of you peeps frequent this site and read comments, Please make an updated G9 with more dpi, better sensor and 4 side buttons! ;)

January 23, 2016 | 01:50 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I'm going to be honest with you here - I'm not a mousing enthusiast and so a lot of the terms there don't mean much to me. I understand there are different grip types but I just go back on "comfort" for me in its most basic meaning. I consider myself a person with average sized hands, average gaming usage, etc. 

If you have a tutorial that can help teach me about these differences so I can better help users compare these mice, and if it targets your fingertip/claw grip or not, I'd love to see them!

January 23, 2016 | 07:51 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Fair enough Ryan,
Yeah not sure if there is such a thing out there in proper tutorials, Tom's Hardware had an article a few years back and there are the odd youtube vids out there that discuss the different styles, But it's sort of hard to tell another person with so many different factors, What works for one person doesn't mean it is going to be good for another.

If anyone is interested on the basics, Tom's Hardware has a decent article,
http://www.tomsguide.com/us/how-to-select-gaming-mouse,news-18517.html

Only tip I can give is, When I read a mouse article on any website I mainly just want to know what grip it works for the best with average sized hands.
The DPI is high enough on any new mouse so that isn't really a factor anymore, The way the buttons click(pressure needed), Sensor accuracy, How many buttons etc etc
RGB is a bonus but it's just bling.

Cheers,
Shane

January 23, 2016 | 12:54 AM - Posted by Rustknuckle (not verified)

If this is your new favorite mouse and not the original non RGB Proteus G502 odds are that you are twelve years old and think blinking colors trumps function.

I hate all this "ooooooohhhh, look its shiny" BS. If you need your PC to look like an 80s disco club you need to change your priorities. A PC is a tool not a fashion statement.

PCs are like true love. Its the inside that counts. If what you want is the outside flash odds are you will end up with STDs you dont want and no one that matter will respect you.

January 23, 2016 | 03:54 AM - Posted by kent1146

Yes. Ryan Schrout is a 12-year old that thinks blinking colors trumps function [/sarcasm]

Don't you know? RGB lighting is all the rage now. By putting RGB lighting on a mouse, you just boosted it by 5 horsepower.

January 26, 2016 | 05:44 AM - Posted by kent1146

>> A PC is a tool not a fashion statement.

And I absolutely 100% disagree with you on this one. PCs absolutely ARE a fashion statement. And people who put their own PC together should take some pride in showing off their work.

That's why you'll find
>> PC cases with plexiglass windows, to show off the interior.
>> people who prefer a PC case that has a brushed metal exterior vs full ventillation vs budget bang-for-your-buck case.
>> colored fluids & dyes for liquid cooling solution
>> people that put in the time to sleeve their power supply cables, or buy pre-sleeved power supply cable extensions
>> people who DON'T buy Noctua fans, despite their awesome silence and performance, because they look hideous.

All of those things actually cost a lot MORE than the "non-bling" counterpart. And I promise you, the kind of person who spends $60 for cable sleeving (on top of the cost of the PSU) and spends 80 hours with a heat-shrink gun to resleeve his PSU cable, so that it color-matches his RAM, fans, and video card; isn't a 12-year old kid. More likely, he's an adult that has been a PC enthusiast his whole life, and has the disposable income to sink into this hobby.

Look at rigs like the ones below. I say that if you can't call them works of art, then you've got issues.
** WARNING ** RIG PORN INCOMING
1. http://bit.ly/1SCZ1mk
2. http://bit.ly/1HWHKza
3. http://bit.ly/1PtYf4j
4. http://bit.ly/1REGplM
5. http://bit.ly/1lEvqdW
6. http://bit.ly/1nFwRKC

January 23, 2016 | 01:51 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

To be fair, I do point several times in the article that you can get the non-RGB model for less money and it is identical in every other way. :)

January 25, 2016 | 05:27 PM - Posted by willmore

Logitech has upgraded the wire on the G502 to a braided design that should keep it from getting cut or nicked on sharp edges, making it easier to glide around your desk top for a longer time.

It's probably just my reading that is failing here, but does this comment apply to the Core as well as the Spectrum? I have no interest in the RGB lighting, but I do want a braided shield on my cable.

My current mouse is a Razor DeathAdder (3G) and the *only* thing I like about it is the braided cable. Fortunately, the left button is failing and it's going to get replaced soon.

January 23, 2016 | 03:07 AM - Posted by khanmein (not verified)

another pathetic review from ryan shout it out that RGB thang.

guys remember that CES 2016 is fully sponsored by LOGI!

January 23, 2016 | 04:27 AM - Posted by kent1146

Have a little faith that the best tech reviewers *ARE* the best tech reviewers is because they have something called journalistic integrity.

It's not that hard to say "Look, I will only accept your sponsorship money on the condition that I get to review your products fairly. AKA, if they're great, I'll call it great. If they suck, I'll say they suck."

It takes a site like PCPer YEARS to build up the readership it has. It only takes one fuck-up to lose that. Have faith that people aren't as short-sighted and stupid** as you make them out to be.

** - Unless that "stupid" lapse in journalistic integrity is for a ridiculous amount of money. Say, $10 million for example... in which case, that wouldn't be stupid at all. That would be very smart. If someone paid me $10 million, I'd type whatever the hell they wanted me to type on the internet.

January 23, 2016 | 01:50 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I would ask that you read my comment above from a similar question asker.

January 23, 2016 | 04:43 AM - Posted by khanmein (not verified)

@kent1146 great statement u pointed out but can u look at this review as i shown below?

literally, Scythe Ninja 4 SCNJ-4000 is way better than Noctua NH-D15 as morry gave silver award while peacock gave editor choice.

http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Cases-and-Cooling/Scythe-Ninja-4-CPU-Cooler...

January 23, 2016 | 01:53 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Not sure what you are attempting to get at here...

But consider the reviews were done on different hardware, by different reviewers, more than a year apart. ??!?

January 24, 2016 | 02:02 AM - Posted by khanmein (not verified)

if more than a year apart then y review this G502 with "RGB"?

they didn't make it better or fix anything special but just added RGB only.

yeah Pixart 3366 one of the best. apparently, just for LOGI.

January 23, 2016 | 05:01 PM - Posted by Tim Verry

Could you clarify your statement? The Scythe you say is better does have an editors choice award not silver.

January 24, 2016 | 02:02 AM - Posted by khanmein (not verified)

what i mean is morry gave silver for noctua.

January 23, 2016 | 06:29 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Gave the original Proteus Core a try when it was on offer, and promptly returned it. Doesn't even come CLOSE to holding a candle to the MX Revolution. Sadly, Logitech's recent 'high end' MX Master doesn't either.

When the last remaining supplies of the MX Revolution dry up, I'm going to have to look into the USB HID mouse profile and optical-flow-sensor interfaces. If Logitech can't tell when they have a good thing I'll damn well make one myself!

January 23, 2016 | 10:42 AM - Posted by Chizow (not verified)

Wow MX Revolution huh? Certainly a fine mouse, as long as you don't try to do any gaming. Very laggy and low precision/polling rate.

January 23, 2016 | 01:54 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I love the MX Revolution as well - Ken uses one on the desk behind me for his editing tasks.

January 23, 2016 | 10:41 AM - Posted by Chizow (not verified)

Agreed Ryan, it's the best gaming mouse I have ever owned and I have used it for over a year and a half now. The only way Logitech could improve it would be to make it wireless like the g700.

Ignore the haters as always lol

January 23, 2016 | 06:17 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Yes wireless agree!

January 23, 2016 | 01:04 PM - Posted by TooL (not verified)

While the RGB is useless to me, I will be looking at the G502 Proteus Core as my G9x is nearing it's end.

And to the nit-pickers, the article clearly states "favorite", not best mouse.

Cheers!

January 23, 2016 | 01:54 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Thanks! ;)

January 23, 2016 | 03:03 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Although I've generally liked using the Logitech mice I've had over the years (especially that dual mode scroll wheel), they always seem to have poor build quality and never last very long, and $65+ is just too much for a mouse that will probably die within a few years no matter how many lights or buttons you throw on it. Until someone brings actual quality mice to market, I'll just keep using these surprisingly decent $14 Anker vertical mice.

My daily driver keyboard is 28 years old and working flawlessly - why does no one build mice like that?

January 23, 2016 | 08:03 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I would have to disagree, My G9 is still working.
Also have an old Logitech G5 that I use on HTPC in lounge room, I kid you not that thing has been bumped and dropped so many times when one of my dog's run past and knock the cord, But it still works!
There are lemons in all brands!
I am kind of biased on MB's, Just use Asus now because of one bad experience I had with a high end Gigabyte board years ago that was DOA, But really the reality is the same thing could happen on the next Asus board I buy.
I hear the same thing said on forums about Razor mice being cheap and poor quality, Yet a friend of mine has had theirs working for many years also, It's just the luck of the draw.
You either buy one that was made by someone who is picky and a perfectionist in their job, Or you lose the lottery and buy one made from somebody that just happened to make yours on a late Friday afternoon, And can't wait to get out of the factory so rush through the job. ;)

January 23, 2016 | 08:21 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have the original Core version. The sensor was a huge step up from my G9, tracking targets is noticeably more consistent. The additional buttons are highly welcome too, being able to keep your fingers fully on the movement keys and use all your abilities/weapons quickly is a real benefit in some games. My mousing hand is now contributing much more to gameplay.

Coming from the G9 took a lot of adjustment. Two months before it felt natural. It's much bigger and heavier and a completely different shape. In the end I'm happy with the adjustment though because of the benefits. My biggest complaint is that the scope button is a little too far forward for me to press comfortably with my grip. Not perfect but the best mouse with this many buttons for FPS games - I'd give it a 9/10.

January 23, 2016 | 08:53 PM - Posted by Dr_Orgo

PC Perspective is not the site to visit for detailed mouse reviews and recommendations. The only conclusion you should take from this article is "Ryan finds this mouse fits his hand and usage better than his previous mice. And it's a popular mouse among PC gamers." That's all this article tells you.

If you want in depth mouse recommendations and discussions check out CS:GO forums and Overclock.net. Keep in mind CS:GO players strongly favor larger mice suitable for a palm grip while RTS and MOBA players often favor smaller mice for fingertip or claw grips. Also, BestBuy is the best store for trying out gaming mice in person. Logitech and Zowie are very well regarded gaming mice brands.

I use a Logitech G303. I tried the G502 and found it to large to comfortably use my hybrid fingertip grip. I do have medium/small hands. The lights can be turned off giving a plain matte black mouse. The G503 lights can be turned off too. I have no interest in flashy lights on any of my setup, but RGB is popular so if you want high end gear it will have it as an option.

January 25, 2016 | 12:18 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

That's a fair summation, though I think many people find value in our input since we get sent SO MANY mice from the major players. Good luck rummaging through those forums! :)

January 24, 2016 | 10:41 AM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

1. Mionix Naos 7000 exists, PMW3310 exists.
2. /thread, any further "arguments" for any other mice automatically become invalid and get disregarded due to being absolutely powerless/meaningless.

January 25, 2016 | 09:43 AM - Posted by Dr. Venture (not verified)

Of course, Master. All other mice should be eradicated immediately. Left-handed people or those with smaller hands, different shape or feel preferences, non-gamers shall suffer! I should warn you though, you could no longer pose as an elite-know-it-all as soon as everyone starts to use the same hamster-with-a-stuffed-cheek mouse of yours.

January 27, 2016 | 06:33 AM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

There is ambidextrous Avior 7000 for "left-handed". It's also smaller, for you "small-hand" pleasure. I've told you - resistance is futile, any "arguments" against Mionix's Avior and Naos 7000 automatically become invalid and get eradicated.

January 27, 2016 | 06:35 AM - Posted by AuriconXS (not verified)

Don't forget the Castor either for hybrid grip styles.

January 28, 2016 | 09:12 AM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

Castor is a mouse that was designed mainly with claw grip users in mind, it won't fit well with everyone. It's also kind of ugly. Not a very good offering if you're aiming at a top-notch PMW 3310 experience, in my opinion. This is also due to extremely overblown maximum DPI via absolutely asinine interpolation (always remember - native maximum for PMW 3310 is 5000 DPI exactly. Everything that's higher than that is an interpolation all way through). Just get Avior 7000 if you're not a "100% palm grip"-kind of a person (like I am), it's both absolutely symmetrical AND suited well for pretty much any grip type out there. I personally prefer Naos 7000 over Avior 7000 simply because it has that extra bonus comfortableness due to special rest for ring and pinkie fingers, but Avior has more buttons do to it being absolutely mirrored on both sides, so either way you're getting an absolutely top-notch mouse with a top-notch sensor, since they're both pretty much almost same thing. It all just depends on your preference. Castor, unfortunately, loses to them both.

June 17, 2016 | 06:53 PM - Posted by Anonymoose (not verified)

You are a fking moron. Hahahaha simple idiot.

January 24, 2016 | 03:21 PM - Posted by korben44 (not verified)

You should take a look at the R.A.T. Pro X mouse by MadCatz. Yes, it is expensive, but with modular sensors, you can swap out whatever sensor you want. Currently, they offer three: Pixart ADNS-9800, Pixart PMW3310, and the Philips PLN2037. I'm sure more will be offered in the future. I have been a R.A.T. 7 owner since they were first debuted, and the customization you can do is fantastic. Obviously they are not ambidextrous, but most gamers are right handed...even if they are left handed, they are primarily right hand gamers.

January 25, 2016 | 12:20 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I've seen those before, and they scared me. :) I love the idea of being able to change out the sensor though!

January 26, 2016 | 05:53 AM - Posted by kent1146

I just wanted to point out, that if you're talking about sensors:

>> Pixart / Avago ADNS-9800 is considered to be a poor high-dpi laser sensor, due to acceleration and unreliable tracking.

>> Philips PLN2037 is also known as the "Philips Twin-Eye". It's waht is on the regular RAT 7's. It's another pretty poor high-dpi laser sensor due to something called Z-axis or "liftoff" distance tracking, where it continues to track even when it's not in contact with the mouse pad; and it requires perfect mousing surfaces... flat black, or black-and-white mousepad. If you have any kind of colored graphic on your mousepad, it will glitch on tracking.

>> Pixart PMW-3310 **IS** a good sensor. But if you're paying nearly $200 for a mouse with that sensor, you're doing something wrong. You can find mice in different shapes, brands, models, flavors, etc using that sensor at literally 1/4 or 1/3 of the price.

January 25, 2016 | 01:20 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Decent mouse, but so heavy. I have just been using my cheaper G303 over the G502, the weight makes my wrist strain more than necessary.

January 28, 2016 | 09:16 AM - Posted by Kenworth

I literally just registered an account here to reply to this nonsense. Long time listener of the podcast and can't really understand what I am reading here.

I have used Logitech mice for a long period of time using everything else along the way. MX518 devotee forever to the G500, then G500s, and now the G502. I have used everything Razer, R.A.T., Mionix, and whatever else you can think of along the way. There is a reason this supposedly uber Mionix Naos 7000 sits behind my gaming mouse on my test bench. I don't like it. I don't care if the sensor is better on paper and people would sacrifice their first born for it, I simply didn't like it for gaming and everyday use. Does that make my tried and true G502 a better mouse? Yes, for me. That is all Ryan is saying here. He likes this mouse and he is admittedly not a huge mouse guy so he didn't line up the 25 other mice in this category and use them for 100+ hours it would apparently take to make some people happy here. I don't have the time pour over the hundreds of reviews to buy something that someone else likes and then force myself to like it because someone else says "best mouse ever /thread". I buy the mouse, I game with it, I either like it or I don't. I guess that makes me a target as well for being wrong for liking something outside the apparent real experts. Get your own website and podcast and tell me I am wrong.

As for PCPer being in someone's pocket, have you read the reviews here? Have you listened to the podcast? Half the time I am worried they are biting the hand that feeds them. But they don't care. It's as if you just look at the headline, draw a line over to the sponsor, and then draw the most ridiculous conclusion you possibly can. These guys aren't sitting in bunny suits with microscopes trying to decipher the intricacies of Intel's new 14nm process, they are reporting real world data. Stuff that a vast majority of their readership and listnership relate to. Are they more familiar and more versed than everybody that comes here? Maybe not, because they don't sit around all day and test. They have to write, market, some have other jobs as well. I would say most readers are like me. They trust this site and their integrity because there has been no question as to it being an issue.

Keep up the good work, gentlemen.

January 28, 2016 | 04:18 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Ken,

Thank you.

-Ryan

January 29, 2016 | 09:13 AM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

You're not trying hard enough with that trolling attempt of yours.

February 7, 2016 | 10:08 AM - Posted by Rodrigo (not verified)

So i just go this this new mouse the other day, when i went in to install it worked but it does not show up on my logitech software I tried to fiddle with it but i cant get it to show up. On my computer devices it shows up. But it gives me a keyboard icon instead of a mouse. It also gives me keyboard and mouse options when i right click it. :( does anyone know the problem?

February 17, 2016 | 10:09 AM - Posted by spectrex

Ordered one after listening to the podcast. This mouse has a nice feel and is comfortable in the hand. I have one major problem with this mouse and that is the scroll wheel. The plastic wheel feels awful and clunky, and sounds like the drag noise on a fishing reel when it is not set to free wheeling mode. For this price a much smoother and more quiet solution could have been used.

Had I been given the chance to test drive it before purchasing, the scroll wheel would have been a deal breaker for me.

May 22, 2016 | 01:43 AM - Posted by Varis Gupta (not verified)

Wow, this is perfect! I was wondering if it was just the RGB that differed between the 2 mice as I've been keeping my eye out for the Proteus Spectrum. I plan on getting the Orion Spark keyboard so I most likely will just get the Spectrum (for some reason it is actually cheaper in Canada than the core, probably to direct more sales towards it). All the features, plus the sync with other peripherals (which I never knew could be done) are definitely pluses. Hopefully I'll love it as much as you!

December 21, 2017 | 08:39 PM - Posted by AnonymousGamerBoi (not verified)

I love the G502 Proteus Spectrum, primarily because of the weight and size. It could not be more perfect.
However, recently I have bought the G402 Hyperion Fury and using it half the time, for Overwatch and sometimes CS GO.
The Proteus Spectrum is an all-rounder, but isn't the best mouse there for FPS games, in which field the G402 is the best choice.
Both of these Logitech's mice have been my daily drivers, and I love them both equally.
http://www.mygamingmouse.com/g402-vs-g502/
It is just about what game you play and what size and weight you like- the rest is more or less the same in these gamng mice, and I honestly think they are two of the best gaming mice out there.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.