Review Index:
Feedback

Logitech G29 Driving Force Racing Wheel Review

Subject: General Tech
Manufacturer: Logitech

Introduction, Packaging, and A Closer Look

Introduction

We haven’t had a chance to sit down with any racing wheels for quite some time here at PC Perspective. We have an old Genius wheel on a shelf in the back of our closet here at the office. Ryan played around with that a few years back, and that was the extent of the racing wheel usage here at home base. Josh, on the other hand, frequents driving sims with a Thrustmaster F430. I hadn’t ventured into racing sims, though I do dabble with the real thing a bit.

Given our previous  Logitech coverage, and especially following our recent Q&A covering the new LogitechG line, it only made sense for us to take a look at the new Logitech G29 Driving Force Racing Wheel.

View Full Size

Today we are covering the G29, which is a PS3/PS4/PC specific model from Logitech. There is an Xbox/PC variant coming soon in the form of the G920, with will have a different (fewer) button layout and no LED RPM/shift display.

Read on for our review of the Logitech G29 Driving Force Racing Wheel!

Packaging

View Full Size

The G29 came to us triple-boxed, with cardboard dividers separating the various parts. All parts were plastic bagged, and there was certainly a ‘new car smell’ upon opening the leather wrapped wheel.

A Closer Look

View Full Size

With all parts unpacked, we have some simple setup directions, a set of triple pedals, a power adapter, and the G29 wheel itself.

View Full Size

Taking a closer look at the pedals, we see they are of high quality construction. To better approximate the feel of actual car pedals, the spring rates and travel are different for all three pedals.

View Full Size

At the underside of the pedal assembly we find a few rubber feet, six threaded (M6x1) holes for mounting to a racing chair setup, and a spring loaded section of plastic spikes that can be extended.

View Full Size

These dig into carpet and prevent the pedal assembly from sliding backwards as pedals are depressed.

View Full Size

On the underside of the wheel we find the desk clamps and two additional M6x1 screw mounting holes. Cable management is nicely done here, with grooves to route all cables onto a built-in cleat which comes in handy to prevent cable ends from being pulled out of their connectors. Note there is no shifter connected here, as the shifter is optional with both the G29 and G920 Driving Force wheels.

View Full Size

At the top edge of the wheel we find a green power LED and a switch for PS3/PS4 compatibility.

Video News


July 30, 2015 | 11:12 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Ryan...

What...no masturbation comments?

July 31, 2015 | 03:47 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

You're out of luck man...I didn't write it. I guess you'll have to save your fantasies for later.

July 31, 2015 | 12:17 AM - Posted by hosko

I like you guys are reviewing wheels be it needs to be compared to Thrustmaster's and Fanatec's offerings hands one to form any conclusion.

Also some would argue that the Thrustmaster T500 is better than the Fanatec

July 31, 2015 | 12:56 AM - Posted by Anonymouse (not verified)

Wheels/ SIMs are not their thing; it would be much better to leave that to The Simpit, Inside Sim Racing and the many other sites dedicated to SIM racing. They have the experience, the many review samples and for the most part, the balls to attempt objectivity.

Then again, since everything has to start somewhere, it would be good to see PC Per dive more into this area.

July 31, 2015 | 09:03 AM - Posted by hosko

It would be disappointing for pcper to review one product from a category and leave it there. Considering several of the review team openly say they like racing games with a wheel I don't think its asking much to at least get one product from each company and do a shootout.

July 31, 2015 | 11:55 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Which fanatec you talking about? The t500 isn't better than the csw v2.

August 1, 2015 | 10:48 PM - Posted by JCCIII

Great video review on the wheel Ryan and Allyn, I hope all is well. Sincerely, Joseph

October 27, 2015 | 09:32 AM - Posted by wiz601 (not verified)

Just bought the G29 and used it successfully on PS3 for Dirt 2 and Dirt 3. Just great! No problems. Realism and wheel weight are awesome.
But...

Got a new ASUS G20aj PC and sure enough downloaded Steam DIRT RALLY and eventually got it to work but it wasnt obvious to get the right settings. Better now still dont have all the functions. But I'm getting the feel of it.

Also downloaded DIRT 3 and DIRT SHOWDOWN. Can't even get the wheel recognized.

Can anybody help! Any advise will be greatly appreciated.

October 29, 2015 | 10:22 AM - Posted by Richard (not verified)

Have a G29 and DiRT Rally isn't detecting it at all.
Works fine with other games
Please help

December 10, 2015 | 04:16 AM - Posted by downhillstyler (not verified)

dirt Showdown on PC does not match with the G29!
the steering in Extras cannot be set...

Have anybody a tip ?
the pedals are working....

thanx

December 25, 2015 | 11:34 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I got my son the g29 for christmas once he hook it up to his ps4 it doesnt work. Can someone please tell how to get it to work so my sons christmas doesnt get wasted. Thanks

December 26, 2015 | 09:40 AM - Posted by Plz help :'( (not verified)

Have you put the switch on the top of the wheel to ps4? I had the same problem, turn on a ps4 controller with the wheel plugged into the USB port when you get to the home menu for ps4 try all the buttons and if they work then check if the game that you might be trying to play it with is actually made to play that specific wheel.

December 26, 2015 | 09:36 AM - Posted by Plz help :'( (not verified)

I got my G29 yesterday for Christmas as well and I managed to get it to work with WRC 5 on Ps4. However, today I bought Asseto Corsa because I know that the g29 works with the game, however when it comes to setting up the wheel, the computer thinks that the clutch is the x and y axis for the steering wheel and can't actually detect the steering wheel when it is turning. The only good part is that it can detect the pedals on shifter... any suggestions?

August 1, 2016 | 02:53 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Ive had nothing but problems with the g29, wont change degrees of rotation and issues with iracing. im stuck having to use the g27 wheel the the pedals.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.