Review Index:
Feedback

Logitech Artemis Spectrum G933/G633 Headset Review

Build Quality and Comfort

View Full Size

Though predominantly plastic, the G933 and G633 both felt very well made, even when flexing them with both hands. Thankfully there was an absence of the characteristic creaky plastic noises often heard from cheap construction, which extended to the time I was actually wearing them. There is a really high level of fit-and-finish to these that's apparent from the moment you remove them from the box; while only time will tell how durable they are, they do feel very solid.

One aspect of the design stood out right away, and that was the quality of the headband adjustment. The size adjustment was quite strong, and there is a reassuring click with each step. The headphones hold their position well, too; making it easy to keep them at your preferred setting through multiple listening seasons. I simply set them down on the desk between uses, and they were at my setting when I picked them back up, even after moving them around. I own headphones that have to be readjusted each time, so this was a nice surprise.

View Full Size

Overall I was very impressed, and as we move on to comfort we'll see more details about the construction of these headsets.

Comfort

No matter how good a pair of headphones may sound, if they are uncomfortable to wear for any period of time they aren't going to be enjoyable. To this end I'll try to cover my experience with these headsets as objectively as possible, as my own experience - based on head size and personal preferences - wouldn't be very helpful to the reader. Here are my impressions:

  • Size and Weight

These are big headphones. There's no way around that. The earcups stick out about 2.5 inches from the side of your head, which contributes to a 'large' feel. As the owner of a pair of Audio Technica AD700X's I'm used to a large size, but these felt larger on my head. 

They weren't as heavy as I was expecting at 13 oz considering how substantial they look, and both headsets felt fine after longer listening sessions. To put the weight into perspective, the Razer Tiamat 7.1 headset is close to the same weight at 12.6 oz, and the ASUS STRIX 7.1 is 15.8 oz. 

  • Headband

View Full Size

This is made from combination of materials. Internally it starts with a metal band, which is covered with plastic trim panels and has a fabric cushion where it rests against your head. The foam inside this pad is more dense than that of the ear cups, and feels like it will hold up for some time.

  • Clamping force

This is moderate; enough force to keep the ear cups against your head without squeezing - though I can only speak for my own dome here. This is an important aspect of comfort, and in this case level of force contributed to a more comfortable feeling during longer listening sessions.

  • Ear cups

View Full Size

The ear cups are large and have a soft, padded fabric cushion that fits around the ear.

View Full Size

These were comfortable and did a surprisingly good job of reducing outside noise. They don't create an airtight seal, but I prefer this only mostly open-ear designs (personal preference here, of course). So, while these are definitely not open-ear headphones, the breathable cushion does allows some air - and thus noise - in. This external noise is faint, as I could barely hear anything with the headphones in place and nothing playing, and with the game or music on I didn’t notice any outside noise.

Another benefit of the fabric is breathability, and this aided in the comfort over longer listening sessions by preventing uncomfortable perspiration buildup against the ear cups (it sounds gross, but it happens!). And on this topic, the ear cushions are actually easily removeable for cleaning.

View Full Size

Simply pull them off to wash (I recommend hand washing with light soap and then allowing them to air dry).

View Full Size

The ear cups also swivel generously; moving inward several degrees as needed to provide a good fit, and outward close to 90 degrees.

View Full Size

View Full Size

The headphones can also lay completely flat, and it's useful to be able to turn an earcup away from your ear without completely removing the headset.

View Full Size

Next we'll look at controls and software.

Video News


February 23, 2016 | 09:20 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

do we need lights on everything...

February 23, 2016 | 09:21 AM - Posted by brisa117

They're easy enough to turn off.

February 23, 2016 | 02:47 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

with software

October 26, 2016 | 09:55 AM - Posted by Dongus Kongus (not verified)

Do we NEED lights on everything? no. Do we WANT lights on everything. Hell yeah

February 23, 2016 | 09:21 AM - Posted by brisa117

Nice review! I always love your pictures. I've had the 933 set since September of last year. They were my only "speakers" on my system until just about a week ago (in between houses). The sound quality is beyond amazing (unless you're a super picky audiophile). I walk around my entire house with minimal signal drop (2200 sq\ft house). They are pricey, but really cool. And as cliché as the buttons seem, they're handy for skipping, pausing, etc when listening to music. And although the mic isn't what I usually use -- I go for a blue yeti -- but the quality is decent and I like the mute function as you lift the mic arm.

Again, great review as always.

February 23, 2016 | 09:43 AM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

Thanks! Glad you liked the review. I was really impressed with the sound myself, and I'm one of those "super picky audiophile" types you mention. :)

August 27, 2017 | 01:42 PM - Posted by Robb (not verified)

I've been using these for about an hour and the sound is ok but my friends tell me that the mic is terrible, and that it sounds like I'm speaking into a cup. so I'm not sure if I should return them or not. Any thoughts?

February 23, 2016 | 12:29 PM - Posted by DJ (not verified)

I actually have the G633's and I wouldn't buy another set ever. The software/driver is broken. I have constantly had issues with the headphones just crashing where I need to reconnect them to get them working again. Also parts of the EQ's functions in the software don't even work. If you take a look at their support forums they are filled with people having issues with the headsets, both types. When they work, their nice, but that's the issue... when they work.

February 23, 2016 | 01:00 PM - Posted by Mark D (not verified)

What games did you test with? In the short time I owned a pair I found out about their fatal flaw, that they only appear to Windows as a stereo headset, instead of a 5.1 device. A lot of games read the speaker setting from Windows and output based on that. This meant that for a majority of the games I played, virtual surround simply didn't work right because the driver was just upmixing a 2 channel signal from the game. In my experience 60-70% of games didn't work right, including new stuff like Witcher 3.

The Logitech forums are filled with people complaining about it, and logitech's response was simply to shrug and say "This is how Microsoft says to do it now." Whether or not that's true doesn't change the fact that they're incompatible with most games, so I returned it and never looked back. There's lots of other headsets and/or sound cards that don't have this issue.

February 23, 2016 | 02:12 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

Windows will always display these as a 2-channel device, which is how they would operate without the LGS software installed. The software is approximating surround without dedicated multi-channel input, but that doesn't mean it ignores content mixed in multi-channel surround. You must be running the software and have one of the surround effects enabled before launching any content to hear these effects.

As to games, I tried out Witcher 3 myself, and directional surround effects worked as expected. Other games I tried while wearing the headphones were DiRT Rally, Project CARS, and Shadow of Mordor. Mordor was a standout, and as I moved voices and other effects would pan around the virtual mix as if there were dedicated channels. Witcher was easy to test as well. An example was dismounting walking away from my horse, and as I moved I could hear it drift from front, to left, to my rear; turning around placed the sounds from behind me back to the front.

Turning in a circle with your character where there's a lot of ambient noise (in a game mixed in surround) will give you a quick dose of the 3D effect. I was very skeptical going in, and it worked for me.

To verify that surround was working with encoded content I downloaded some Dolby demos, including the new Atmos stuff (though of course the height channels were not available), and played them back with VLC. In home theater setup material (where the channels are called out one by one), the center, front L/R, and L/R surround channels were all distinct. The only channel I found less convincing was rear L/R surround in a 7.1 mix.

February 26, 2016 | 02:04 PM - Posted by MarkD (not verified)

Checking their forums today it looks like they finally recognized and fixed the issue.

February 23, 2016 | 06:03 PM - Posted by ACEkombatkiwi (not verified)

Do the 933s still have the issue of turning off after 5 mins of no activity or has that been fixed, its really the only thing holding me back from buying these.

February 23, 2016 | 07:46 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

Great question! I did some research, and it turns out Logitech just fixed this. I'm running the newest version of the Logitech Gaming Software (8.79.77), and on the "Customize Audio Experience" settings page there is a dropdown on the bottom right corner to change the timer.

I clicked on this with the G933 headset connected, and was prompted to update the firmware of the headphones. I had to connect them via USB, and the update finished in about a minute. Now I can set the timer anywhere from 5 min to 30 min - or choose "never" to keep them on all the time.

I wouldn't have discovered this without your question, so thanks! I'll update the wireless page on the review.

February 23, 2016 | 07:01 PM - Posted by Kingkookaluke (not verified)

I hope that these don't have the quality issue that my 930's have with the pieces that hold the speakers on breaking. I bought these on Ryan's recommendation and love the sound on them, but worry about the quality of the build.
If these break I'll never buy Logitech headphones again.

February 23, 2016 | 07:07 PM - Posted by Kingkookaluke (not verified)

The only con that I have with these headphones at present is that the USB connection is kind of difficult to plug in when in a low light environment.

February 23, 2016 | 09:58 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

This is why micro USB should always have been a reversible connector! Think of all of the time we waste trying to plug in a smartphone; fumbling in the dark. Apple got this right with the Lightning connector, but the USB Type-C connector should become standard soon enough. Fingers crossed.

February 23, 2016 | 11:09 PM - Posted by Matt (not verified)

I had a set of G930's that were great; but the usb port on the headset wore out and they refused to charge. Apparently this was a fairly widespread issue with the soldering. I wonder if they've solved that issue.

February 26, 2016 | 01:41 PM - Posted by demechman

Why can't we get a headset at this end of the spectrum that also has wireless charging or at least a charging cradle. While the battery life is commendable there is a likely chance you will forget to plug it in after a long session of use at some point in the future.

February 28, 2016 | 11:32 AM - Posted by Button Pusher (not verified)

Thank you very much for the review Sebastian, i have been seriously looking at the 933 for a wireless option that covers all my various audio needs. Your review has all but sold me on the product as it seems within my price range and is starting to look like the best option for me.

February 28, 2016 | 01:48 PM - Posted by GRPeng (not verified)

I have a few issues with these headphones: turning the headphones off won't release control of the audio to listen to speakers- I need to unplug the dongle, the range can easily be disrupted by large appliances (sound gets spotty when I am 20 feet away in the kitchen, with the dishwasher and fridge in between), and they slide off when I sit back in my recliner.

May 30, 2016 | 07:54 PM - Posted by TheTruth (not verified)

Sounds like your just a lazy sod

February 28, 2016 | 10:18 PM - Posted by Brandon M (not verified)

Thanks for the informative review and I'm glad it's from someone with experience with other audio products. That being said, I wish you would have dedicated a section to comparison to the older Logitech headsets. I've been using the G35s for six years and I'm curious how far Logitech has come in comparison with these brand new headsets vs the ancient G35 - leaps and bounds?

December 13, 2016 | 09:41 PM - Posted by Dan Lim (not verified)

G933 is garbage because when I plug in ASUS Xonar DX Sound Card, it produces static noises, and bass sound was very weak! So therefore, I returned it, and bought Logitech G230 Stereo Headset which has excellent stereo mix and bass was loud and clear, and it's much cheaper than G933! So I am very disappointed for paying over $150 including tax of G933. Luckily, I bought G230 Headset for $30 with discount promo code.

January 11, 2017 | 03:57 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Hi is there a way to get any tyoe of surround sound out of the G933 on ps4 doesnt have to be 7.1 .. at least 5.1 dolby is it only 2.1 stearo on ps4 ?

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.