Review Index:
Feedback

Lenovo Yoga 700 Review - Good Things Can Come Cheap

Author:
Subject: General Tech
Manufacturer: Lenovo

A Very Familiar Look and Feel

Released alongside the launch of Windows 8 in October 2012, the original Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga 13 was a revolutionary device. While Microsoft's initial vision for a touch-enabled Windows may have not panned out exactly as they wanted it to, people still found utility in 2-in-1 devices like the Yoga. In the proceeding years, similar devices from companies like HP and Dell have arose, but consumers ultimately migrated towards Lenovo's offerings.

The Yoga line has seen several drastic changes since it's inception in 2012. Industrial design changes like the Watchband Hinge introduced in the Yoga 3 Pro, and the spinning off of Yoga out of the IdeaPad brand into it's own family this generation with the Yoga 900 point towards the longevity of this 2-in-1 design.

View Full Size

Today we are taking a look at the most affordable option in the Yoga family, the Lenovo Yoga 700.

Continue reading our review of the Lenovo Yoga 700!

For those of you accustomed with the previous Yoga notebooks, this design will probably seem familiar. Instead of the updated styling introduced in the Yoga 3 Pro continued to the Yoga 900, the Yoga 700 maintains similar industrial design to the original Yoga 13, Yoga 2 Pro, and Yoga 3.

View Full Size

While it seems like this design would be getting a bit stale at this point, the build quality is still extremely competitive when compared to the rest of the Ultrabook market. Despite the lower-end price range, it feels like Lenovo did not sacrifice at all on the materials or build of this notebook. Everything feels extremely well built, and there's nothing feels cheapened or like it will break in 18 months.

View Full Size

As far as the keyboard and trackpad of the Lenovo Yoga 700 go, there's really nothing surprising here. Anyone who has been paying attention to Lenovo's consumer laptops here will know what they are in for.

The chiclet-style keyboard is more pleasant than most to type on, but seems to suffer from short throw issues more than my favorite notebook keyboards. It tends to feel a bit more mushy than my MacBook Air or the Dell XPS 13, but after some time using the notebook I was able to adjust fairly well. I wouldn't necessarily choose this notebook to write a novel on, but for anything I do day-to-day it was more than fine.

View Full Size

The trackpad however, I did not have the same experience with. For a while I have been disappointed with the trackpad choice in Lenovo's consumer notebooks, and the Yoga 700 doesn't seem to change this opinion. Pushing down the trackpad to register a click feels very mushy and doesn't seem to register clicks occasionally.

The personally most aggravating aspect is the lackluster finger rejection. I tend to rest my thumb on the trackpad while using my index finger to mouse around and the trackpad on the Yoga 700 does not like this. As a result, most of my mouse movements ended up either not tracking or jumping across the screen.

For most people the trackpad won't be a major issue, I would just like to see this advance industry-wide to the level of some of the machines we've taken a look at lately like the Surface products and XPS 13/15.

Video News


April 19, 2016 | 05:31 PM - Posted by booboop (not verified)

How many gaping security holes does this laptop come with? It's a rather pertinent question given Lenovo's recent history regarding the matter.

April 19, 2016 | 05:38 PM - Posted by meatyurologist (not verified)

Good question. Honestly, I don't think they took nearly enough bad press for that whole debacle. Personally I don't know that I could ever buy another Lenovo machine. Trust broken.

April 19, 2016 | 05:54 PM - Posted by booboop (not verified)

You would figure it would be a point of interest for reviewers of Lenovo's PCs ever since, but it seems they're inclined to brush it off as a non-matter.

April 19, 2016 | 07:57 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Not sure why you think that the SuperFish issue is so bad. I buy Lenovo laptops so I can run Linux on them. They usually make great Linux machines so SuperFish and the derivatives dont affect me.

April 20, 2016 | 01:15 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Someone should get that Carrizo FX8800P Based Lenovo Y700 gaming laptop and test it with a Steam OS/or Linux Mint build. I would purchase this SKU, but I need more information about its ability to run a Linux/Debian or other Linux based full OS.

You should note that even a Linux OS image installed can not protect users from any spyware baked into the firmware of the OEM's device, should the OEM go as far as installing the spyware in the UEFI/BIOS that can get around even the Ring 0 OS level of security.

Some gaming laptop readers need Pcper to test under Linux the only AMD Carrizo(FX8800P) based gaming laptop that uses Carrizo/Excavator and a discrete GCN latest generation GPU(Non Polaris graphics) based System/APU(with latest GCN non Polaris integrated graphics). So some testing of this Lenovo Y700 with a Linux Build would be gratefully appreciated. Polaris discrete mobile based laptop SKUs are still not going to be out in great numbers until 2017 and hopefully there will be some Zen based APUs to pair with some Polaris based discrete mobile SKUs into 2017.

Has any one heard of any Excavator/Bristol Ridge Carrizo refresh Laptop SKU design wins that offer any DDR4 dual memory channel options, as I would be seriously interested in that also. I very interested in any Linux Based OS tests for Bristol Ridge based SKUs also and Hopefully Phoronix will be testing some Bristol Ridge laptops under Linux because Phoronix has not tested the current Carrizo/FX8800p Lenovo gaming SKUs for under Linux.

April 25, 2016 | 10:09 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Lenovo is the only one with an (600$) affordable 17" IPS laptop on the market.

The next cheapest, big laptop that doesnt have SHIT SCREEN, costs 1200$.

That alone makes Lenovo the BEST laptop maker around. Fuck your child porn security.

April 19, 2016 | 08:36 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I always wipe and install a clean windows when I receive an machine. My only concern is the recent drop in quality from Lenovo. the new dell to me.

April 20, 2016 | 03:49 AM - Posted by dragosmp (not verified)

It doesn't matter if you reinstall Windows or not, the malware was in the BIOS (the call-home helper utility) and if it detected the OS didn't have it, it reinstalled itself from the BIOS. Superfish could be removed by reinstalling, but the Lenovo driver utility thing couldn't be removed.

April 20, 2016 | 03:47 AM - Posted by dragosmp (not verified)

+1 that, does it come with malware installed? You could go to grc.com and use a few of Steve Gibson's free online tests to see if Lenovo replace the root cert and other nonos.

April 19, 2016 | 06:53 PM - Posted by Rev C (not verified)

The trackpad looks like the one on my Dell Inspiron 3000 which is pure garbage. You hit the right button and it registers as a left click half the time.

April 19, 2016 | 08:34 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Good Day,
Is the sacrifice in pciexpress ssd vs sata ssd noticeable.
Thank you

April 20, 2016 | 09:44 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

WHere is the oled model?

April 23, 2016 | 09:29 PM - Posted by BlackDove (not verified)

Does anyone buy Lenovo Chinese malware shit?

January 28, 2017 | 07:56 AM - Posted by Lenovo Service (not verified)

Hi

Lenovo Yoga 700 laptop is the one of the best in the market. All users are doing works. We are doing Lenovo Mobile Service Center in Chennai. If any problem or any queries you have contact us through our website - lenovoservicecentreinchennai.com

Regards
Lenovo Mobile Service Center in Chennai.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.