Review Index:
Feedback

Lenovo Yoga 700 Review - Good Things Can Come Cheap

Author: Ken Addison
Subject: General Tech
Manufacturer: Lenovo

A Closer Look and Specifications

We've reviewed quite a few Ultrabooks over the years here at PC Perspective. Let's take a look at some current favorites in order to gain some context for the Lenovo Yoga 700.

  Lenovo Yoga 700 Dell XPS 13 Lenovo Yoga 900
Processor Intel Core i5-6200U Intel Core i5-6200U Intel Core i7-6500U
RAM 8GB DDR3L-1600 8GB DDR3L-1866 8GB DDR3L-1600
Storage 256GB SATA SSD 256GB PCIe SSD 256GB PCIe SSD
Display 14" 1920x1080 Touch-enabled 13.3" 1920x1080 Non-touch 13.3" 3200x1800 Touch-enabled
Battery Capacity 45Wh 56Wh 66Wh
Price $899 $1,149 $1,199

When compared to some of the "higher-end" Ultrabook offerings like the Dell XPS 13 and Lenovo's own Yoga 900, it's easy to see why the Yoga 700 is so compelling. For $250 less than the Dell XPS 13, the Yoga 700 offers a great value. The only thing you are sacrificing for the price difference specification-wise is the drop down from a PCIe SSD to a traditional SATA interface as well as a 20% or difference in battery capacity.

The Yoga 900 is the most expensive machine in this comparison at $50 more than the XPS 13, and $300 more than the Yoga 700. For that price increase you are getting a bump from SATA to PCIe on the SSD, a Core i7 instead of an i5, a higher resolution screen, and an impressive 45% increase in battery size. Personally, I feel the only real appreciable increase here is in battery capacity. While things like the i7 and PCIe SSD are nice to have, most users won't notice the improvement brought by them.

Keep in mind that the increased resolution will provide a battery life hit when compared to the 1080p panels of the Yoga 700 and XPS 13. We'll touch on the full battery life comparisons a little later.

Beyond the raw hardware specifications, the Lenovo Yoga 700 provides what we have come to expect from notebooks in this class.

View Full Size

Available ports include Three USB 3.0 Ports (one is shared with the charging connector), a full-size SD card slot, as well as a Micro HDMI port.

View Full Size

One disappointment I've held with the Yoga line for many years is the decision to go with Micro HDMI as the only display output. While the Yoga 900 steps away from this trend with the inclusion of a USB Type-C connector, I would love to see the other Yoga machines with an alternative display option.

Micro HDMI is still extremely obscure at this point, and difficult to find the appropriate cables for. I would much rather see a slightly thicker machine with Mini DisplayPort, or Lenovo including an adapter to full-size HDMI in the box with these products.

Video News


April 19, 2016 | 05:31 PM - Posted by booboop (not verified)

How many gaping security holes does this laptop come with? It's a rather pertinent question given Lenovo's recent history regarding the matter.

April 19, 2016 | 05:38 PM - Posted by meatyurologist (not verified)

Good question. Honestly, I don't think they took nearly enough bad press for that whole debacle. Personally I don't know that I could ever buy another Lenovo machine. Trust broken.

April 19, 2016 | 05:54 PM - Posted by booboop (not verified)

You would figure it would be a point of interest for reviewers of Lenovo's PCs ever since, but it seems they're inclined to brush it off as a non-matter.

April 19, 2016 | 07:57 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Not sure why you think that the SuperFish issue is so bad. I buy Lenovo laptops so I can run Linux on them. They usually make great Linux machines so SuperFish and the derivatives dont affect me.

April 20, 2016 | 01:15 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Someone should get that Carrizo FX8800P Based Lenovo Y700 gaming laptop and test it with a Steam OS/or Linux Mint build. I would purchase this SKU, but I need more information about its ability to run a Linux/Debian or other Linux based full OS.

You should note that even a Linux OS image installed can not protect users from any spyware baked into the firmware of the OEM's device, should the OEM go as far as installing the spyware in the UEFI/BIOS that can get around even the Ring 0 OS level of security.

Some gaming laptop readers need Pcper to test under Linux the only AMD Carrizo(FX8800P) based gaming laptop that uses Carrizo/Excavator and a discrete GCN latest generation GPU(Non Polaris graphics) based System/APU(with latest GCN non Polaris integrated graphics). So some testing of this Lenovo Y700 with a Linux Build would be gratefully appreciated. Polaris discrete mobile based laptop SKUs are still not going to be out in great numbers until 2017 and hopefully there will be some Zen based APUs to pair with some Polaris based discrete mobile SKUs into 2017.

Has any one heard of any Excavator/Bristol Ridge Carrizo refresh Laptop SKU design wins that offer any DDR4 dual memory channel options, as I would be seriously interested in that also. I very interested in any Linux Based OS tests for Bristol Ridge based SKUs also and Hopefully Phoronix will be testing some Bristol Ridge laptops under Linux because Phoronix has not tested the current Carrizo/FX8800p Lenovo gaming SKUs for under Linux.

April 25, 2016 | 10:09 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Lenovo is the only one with an (600$) affordable 17" IPS laptop on the market.

The next cheapest, big laptop that doesnt have SHIT SCREEN, costs 1200$.

That alone makes Lenovo the BEST laptop maker around. Fuck your child porn security.

April 19, 2016 | 08:36 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I always wipe and install a clean windows when I receive an machine. My only concern is the recent drop in quality from Lenovo. the new dell to me.

April 20, 2016 | 03:49 AM - Posted by dragosmp (not verified)

It doesn't matter if you reinstall Windows or not, the malware was in the BIOS (the call-home helper utility) and if it detected the OS didn't have it, it reinstalled itself from the BIOS. Superfish could be removed by reinstalling, but the Lenovo driver utility thing couldn't be removed.

April 20, 2016 | 03:47 AM - Posted by dragosmp (not verified)

+1 that, does it come with malware installed? You could go to grc.com and use a few of Steve Gibson's free online tests to see if Lenovo replace the root cert and other nonos.

April 19, 2016 | 06:53 PM - Posted by Rev C (not verified)

The trackpad looks like the one on my Dell Inspiron 3000 which is pure garbage. You hit the right button and it registers as a left click half the time.

April 19, 2016 | 08:34 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Good Day,
Is the sacrifice in pciexpress ssd vs sata ssd noticeable.
Thank you

April 20, 2016 | 09:44 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

WHere is the oled model?

April 23, 2016 | 09:29 PM - Posted by BlackDove (not verified)

Does anyone buy Lenovo Chinese malware shit?

January 28, 2017 | 07:56 AM - Posted by Lenovo Service (not verified)

Hi

Lenovo Yoga 700 laptop is the one of the best in the market. All users are doing works. We are doing Lenovo Mobile Service Center in Chennai. If any problem or any queries you have contact us through our website - lenovoservicecentreinchennai.com

Regards
Lenovo Mobile Service Center in Chennai.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.