Review Index:
Feedback

Lenovo LaVie Z and LaVie Z 360 Review - Unparalleled Portability

Author: Ken Addison
Manufacturer: Lenovo

CPU Performance

Handbrake

View Full Size

In video transcoding with Handbrake, the Intel Core i7-5500U in the LaVie-Z performs as expected. The 300MHz bump over the i5-5200U processors found in both the Dell XPS 13 and Intel NUC provides a bit of a bump in power, but doesn't touch the higher voltage i7-4870HQ found in the MSI GSS30.

CineBench 11.5

View Full Size

View Full Size

In CineBench 11.5, we see the LaVie-Z within 10% of the GS30 in single-threaded performance. However in the multi-threaded test, the i7-5500U performance is more inline with the other dual-core hyperthreaded ULV parts, as opposed to the quad-core hyperthreaded i7-4870HQ.

SiSoft Sandra

View Full Size

The i7-5500U of the LaVie-Z provides a healthy bump in CPU arithmetic over the i5 ultrabook processors, but can't come close to matching the higher voltage i7-4870HQ.

3DMark Cloud Gate

View Full Size

Even though all LaVie-Z configurations feature i7 processors, it still doesn't mean that you'll be doing any serious gaming on this machine. With Intel HD 5500 graphics, you should expect the same GPU performance as you would out of any other modern ultrabook.

View Full Size

Since Lenovo decided to offer only one CPU option for the LaVie-Z laptops, I'm glad they went with the highest performance part for the given thermal constraints. While there may only be a 300MHz or so bump over the more mainstream ultrabook parts like the i5-5200U, the additional speed could help futureproof the machine a bit more without a large sacrifice in battery life.


August 4, 2015 | 12:30 PM - Posted by ciddo (not verified)

Ken, great review but I think you've made a small typo under the battery life section:

"While the Dell XPS 13 has a 52Wh battery, the capacity of the battery found in the Lenovo laptop is only 85% of that, at (4.44Wh)."

Shouldn't that be 44.4Wh?

August 4, 2015 | 12:43 PM - Posted by Ken Addison

Nice catch, Thanks!

September 24, 2015 | 02:13 AM - Posted by archer (not verified)

the 1.72-lb - HZ550 model(29.6Wh)
the 2.04-lb HZ750 model (44.4Wh)

September 24, 2015 | 02:22 AM - Posted by archer (not verified)

I think test laptop - HZ550 29.6Wh

August 4, 2015 | 12:34 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Not sure if anyone's worked out an anodising process for MgLi alloys, so that may the the reason for the denting (no hard anodised layer to distribute force).

August 4, 2015 | 02:25 PM - Posted by Ken Addison

I think that's the likely culprit here, and something we might see in the near future

August 4, 2015 | 03:42 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

After years of technological improvements, we still have fragile, slow laptops with mediocre battery life. This trend of sacrificing everything on the altar of thin and light has gotten ridiculous.

August 5, 2015 | 03:18 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You want a small laptop with a long battery life? Get an X2xx series laptop with a battery slice/wedge. Same solution as pretty much the last decade.

August 12, 2015 | 04:06 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

we also have laptops that are tanks with crazy performance and laptops that are built to survive in a warzone. Different strokes.

August 5, 2015 | 07:06 AM - Posted by Roshan kalyan (not verified)

didn't ivy bridge tablets have a similar battery life and weight?

August 10, 2015 | 02:39 PM - Posted by obababoy

Good review Ken, but this thing is easily paralleled IMO. Battery life and durability are pretty damn important. You also mentioned brightness which is poor. These are HUGE features for Ultrabooks. I would rather get the Dell or better yet keep my Acer S7 392-9439.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.