Review Index:
Feedback

Corsair VOID PRO RGB Wireless SE Gaming Headset Review

Subject: General Tech
Manufacturer: Corsair

Introduction and Specifications

Corsair has released a premium version of their VOID headset with the VOID PRO family, which includes wired and wireless option boasting major improvements to the previous designs.

View Full Size

“We made it better. Building upon the success of CORSAIR’s VOID series of headsets, VOID PRO features various significant enhancements across comfort, sound, mic quality and wireless performance designed to provide an even better gaming experience. VOID PRO resets the bar and delivers best-in-class performance.“

Surely, every major segment of the PC accessory market has reached saturation at this point, with the gaming headset market one of the most crowded. Companies need to offer more than just style and value to differentiate at the high end, with sound quality - including the microphone - now beginning to get some much-needed attention.

At times, aggressive styling and an apparent obsession with low bass seemed to dominate design choices, but a more balanced and accurate sound provides the kind of fidelity that can transform gaming and entertainment into a truly immersive experience. So, can Corsair match the improvements of such competitors as Logitech and provide a more premium sonic experience? We will find out!

View Full Size

Continue reading our review of the Corsair VOID PRO RGB Wireless SE gaming headset!


Corsair VOID PRO RGB Wireless SE

  • Type: 2.4 GHZ Wireless (USB receiver)
  • RGB Lighting: Yes
  • Surround Audio: Dolby Headphone 7.1
  • Battery Life: Up to 16 hours
  • Headphones:
  • Driver: 50mm Neodymium
  • Frequency Response: 20Hz – 20kHz
  • Impedance: 32 Ohms @ 1kHz
  • Microphone:
  • Mic Type: Unidirectional noise cancelling
  • Mic Impedance: 2.0k Ohms
  • Frequency Response: 100Hz – 10kHz
  • Sensitivity: -38 dB (± 3 dB)
  • Headset Dimensions (LxWxH): 228 x 242 x 108 mm
  • Weight: 390 g
  • Warranty: 2 years

View Full Size

In addition to the headset, wireless adapter, and a USB cable for charging, the package also includes a dock for the adapter which doubles as a phone stand, and a foam windscreen for the mic.

View Full Size

This is a more deluxe offering than most, with the dock a nice addition as it allows for better receiver placement in some desktop setups.

View Full Size

The VOID PRO RGB Wireless SE is offered with a 'yellow jacket' yellow and black color scheme, though a non-SE version will be available in a more subdued black/white finish.

View Full Size

The ear cups are distinctively angular, and the headset has a really solid feel to it. On the next page we'll take a closer look at this design.

View Full Size


August 22, 2017 | 10:14 AM - Posted by YTech

From your review, these feel like a couple step down from the Logitech G933.

Thou I do like the USB extension cable for the receiver. A receiver with better antennas would be a nice touch as well instead of always making the receiver smaller.

August 22, 2017 | 10:22 AM - Posted by flippityfloppit...

I would like to see Sebastian use his auditory skills to review non gaming headphones.
I know they have a place, but I find that gaming headphones are overall a pretty crummy gimmick.

August 22, 2017 | 06:56 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

I'm in favor of this, naturally :)  I'll make sure Ryan knows I expect to be showered with headphones of all kinds.

August 23, 2017 | 04:06 PM - Posted by EsaT (not verified)

And that place would be mostly near garbage bin...
Reason why there's nowadays so many gaming headphones/sets is high profit margins for bling blinged cheap Chinese junk.
Roller coaster's loop wouldn't look out of place in these:
https://uk.hardware.info/reviews/6080/17/13-headsets-review-listen-in-hi...

Even Sennheiser has smelled those gaming stuff profit margins by selling Audigy FX/Xonar DGX performance level cheap ass Conexant CX20745 DAC/output buffer equipped GSX1000/1200 without any better headphone amplifier for luxury price!
And wouldn't wonder if typical USB dongles of gaming headsets are at Realtek ALC892 level.

August 24, 2017 | 07:45 PM - Posted by Anonymouse (not verified)

LOL, obviously the ASUS Strix are the best - they have the most LEDs.

Who would even notice 20+ dB holes in the frequency response?!

August 22, 2017 | 11:42 AM - Posted by Mexigreek

I bought the Corsair void SE wireless headset late last year. They look identical to the Corsair void pro SE wireless. It also appears to have the same specs. I'm sure I'm totally missing what the difference is.
https://www.bestbuy.com/site/corsair-void-se-wireless-gaming-headset-yel...

I do like them a lot and use them on my Pc, Xbox one and PS4.

August 22, 2017 | 01:38 PM - Posted by Jo (not verified)

Haha man in the same boat actually just got mine 1 month ago lovong em. But exact same specs same mic only dofference is our mic has the led lights for battery ect. Literally only thing i see.

August 23, 2017 | 12:33 PM - Posted by YTech

Interesting. The review didn't cover the compatibility with the Xbone and PS4.

Does it hook up to the console with a cable like the G933 does for the Xbox 360?

August 23, 2017 | 02:28 PM - Posted by Mexigreek

I also couldn't find any documentation saying it had Xbox One or PS4 compatibility. But I just plugged in the USB receiver to my PS4 and it recognized I plugged in a USB headset. Same with Xbox One.

August 22, 2017 | 03:57 PM - Posted by Jann5s

I have the non-pro version of these and I'm happy with them. However they have one annoying thing: i can't charge the headset while using it. This means that when the batt goes dead mid game i have to switch headsets, and reconfigure windows input output settings.

@sebastian, is this still the case for these "pro" versions?

August 22, 2017 | 06:55 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

I was able to charge while using with my laptop without issue. It was still connected as the default device through the adapter, and the USB input was simply drawing power from another port on the computer through the supplied cable.

September 22, 2017 | 01:02 PM - Posted by Horacio Balestrini (not verified)

So, what's the difference between the void pro and the void pro SE? only te color and the base? $30 more for that?

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.