Review Index:
Feedback

Corsair HS70 Wireless Gaming Headset Review: Class Leader

Subject: General Tech
Manufacturer: Corsair

Introduction and Specifications

Corsair’s HS70 gaming headset offers 2.4 GHz wireless operation, the option of 7.1 channel virtual surround effects, 50 mm neodymium drivers, and an impressively light weight. The big questions going into this review, as with all gaming headsets: how do they sound, how comfortable are they, and are they worth the price tag. Let’s find out!

View Full Size

While you will quickly discover that the majority of this review concerns sound quality, it’s worth first noting the attention Corsair has made with the build quality of the HS70. As the company explains:

“Like all other CORSAIR products, carefully selected materials and components ensure long term reliability. Unlike many competitors that resort to low grade plastic components in critical structural support areas to reduce cost, HS70 WIRELESS uses rigid (AL5052) aluminum alloy yokes and a metal internal headband for increased strength and durability. High quality ABS plastics are used to further reinforce the outer headband and improve impact resistance. We built this headset to last.”

Comfort has also been considered with lightweight construction (330g or about 11.6 oz) as well as memory foam padding in the ear cushions and headband. Clamping force, heat and moisture resistance, and weight distribution have all be considered in this design, according to Corsair, and it all looks really impressive on paper. Now we just need to take it out of the box!

View Full Size

Continue reading our review of the Corsair HS70 Wireless gaming headset!

The packaging includes the removable boom mic, USB charging cable, and of course the 2.4 GHz dongle as this is a wireless model.

View Full Size

Here’s a quick rundown of the specifications:

  • Available Colors: Carbon, White
  • Driver: 50mm Neodymium
  • Frequency Response: 20Hz – 20kHz
  • Impedance: 32 Ohms @ 1kHz
  • Sensitivity: 111 dB (± 3 dB)
  • Wireless Frequency: 2.4Ghz
  • Wireless Range: Up to 40 feet
  • Battery Life: Up to 16 hours
  • Mic Type: Unidirectional noise cancelling
  • Mic Impedance: 2.0k Ohms
  • Mic Frequency Response: 100Hz – 10kHz
  • Mic Sensitivity: -40 dB (± 3 dB)
  • Dimensions: 155mm(L) x 100mm(W) x 205mm(H)
  • Weight: 330g
  • Warranty: 2 years

View Full Size

  • Corsair HS70 Wireless Headset: $89.99 MSRP

We have the white version in for review, and the HS70 also comes in a stealthy all black “carbon” color. I think this headset looks more sophisticated in the black color, but that is a matter of opinion of course. In any case, initial impressions about quality are very good just handling it for these photos, and on the next page we will cover the fit and comfort before moving on to sound.

View Full Size

Review Terms and Disclosure
All Information as of the Date of Publication
How product was obtained: The product is on loan from Corsair for the purpose of this review.
What happens to product after review: The product remains the property of Corsair but is on extended loan for future testing and product comparisons.
Company involvement: Corsair had no control over the content of the review and was not consulted prior to publication.
PC Perspective Compensation: Neither PC Perspective nor any of its staff was paid or compensated in any way by Corsair for this review.
Advertising Disclosure: Corsair has purchased advertising at PC Perspective during the past twelve months.
Affiliate links: This article contains affiliate links to online retailers. PC Perspective may receive compensation for purchases through those links.
Consulting Disclosure: Corsair is not a current client of Shrout Research for products or services related to this review.

May 31, 2018 | 10:27 AM - Posted by Geforcepat (not verified)

I didn't see battery life covered in this review.

May 31, 2018 | 11:44 AM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

I forgot to add that, sorry. Battery life is rated at up to 16 hours, and for my part I listened for two days on a single charge. It really depends on how loud you listen, and I was much higher than the 50% volume level most manufacturers use for battery life estimates, but I still found this to have excellent battery life. As mentioned in the review these do need a good charge to sound their best, as low battery seemed to affect sound as well. I think 10+ hours at 60 - 70% volume is good, and it could certainly be pushed closer to the 16 hour mark with lower volume.

May 31, 2018 | 10:33 AM - Posted by Anoninymous (not verified)

If Corsair has purchased advertising at PC Perspective during the past twelve months (as is stated), then that means that Corsair has influence over this review, by virtue of the fact that if PCper were to give an unfavorable review, Corsair could refuse to pay for advertising in the future. Given this clear conflict of interest, how are readers supposed to trust this review?

May 31, 2018 | 03:49 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

We choose to be transparent about advertising, which is highly unusual in the industry, and it's easy to read the disclaimer and pick on it - even though other sites and especially YouTube reviewers don't disclose their relationships and/or any money they may demand for reviews. Bottom line for this review, as I was the only member of the staff involved with the review (all listening impressions, photography, and editorial is my own): I had zero input from anyone, and handled it in my own way at my house. The only person who had any influence on this was me.

Audio quality is a hobby of mine, and I have heard a lot of gaming headsets and various types of headphones, and conduct my own evaluations using different models on hand. I don't have the expensive test equipment of someone like Tyll Hertsens (who recently retired, though InnerFidelity lives on), so I have to rely on careful and analytical listening of familiar passages to compare and assess performance.

Oddly enough, looking around today at the early reviews of this HS70 headset, it seems I wasn't alone in liking the sound quality. I don't need the validation, but it might be interesting to look around for a consensus opinion before deciding that a particular review is "biased", which you certainly would not accuse me of if you knew me personally. I'm about as objective (read: highly pessimistic, harshly critical) about this industry as anyone, and I feel it's my job to write my opinion and nothing else when it comes to reviews. That's it.

May 31, 2018 | 11:08 AM - Posted by rick0502 (not verified)

of course they release this. i just bought a void wireless!

May 31, 2018 | 01:42 PM - Posted by ಠ_ಠ (not verified)

No microphone performance?

May 31, 2018 | 03:29 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

Page 2:

"I'll quickly cover microphone sound quality here as well: good clarity with moderate background noise reduction, little bass (sounds like a headset mic)."

As I said in the review, it sounds like a headset mic - nothing to make someone give up a dedicated mic for podcasting, etc., but still sounds clear and just fine for chat.

May 31, 2018 | 02:10 PM - Posted by Anonymouse (not verified)

How are these for heat retention/sweat? Vinyl earcups don't strike me as a good idea for that.

May 31, 2018 | 03:31 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

Better than you might expect for heat, partly due to the lighter clamping force. Still, if you sweat a lot then the vinyl is never optimal - though they are easy to wipe dry.

June 1, 2018 | 01:52 PM - Posted by Rocky1234 (not verified)

So if we were to find out who made these for Corsair then we could most likely buy them directly from the company for half the price of coarse they wouldn't have the Corsair branding on them...lol

June 6, 2018 | 05:23 PM - Posted by David M (not verified)

I'm debating between these and the HyperX cloud flight. Do you have experience with the cloud flight? If so do you think the cloud flights are worth the price difference of $60? That 30hr battery life sounds incredible, but 16hrs is still more than my G930s had which I never complained about. Also how does audio compare? Also heard a review that there was audio buzzing when starting a app with the HS70, did you experience that?

June 7, 2018 | 03:09 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

I do have experience with the Cloud Flight - in fact, it was my previous headset review! The HyperX sound is a little "scooped", as in less midrange. When comparing the two head-to-head the difference becomes very obvious, with the Cloud Flight sounding warmer, with a bass emphasis and less upper midrange detail. The HS70 is remarkably clear sounding, and if anything has a slight midrange emphasis like a Grado headphone - though the HS70 offers excellent bass that is a little "tighter" sounding than the Cloud Flight, probably due to the greater midrange detail.

Didn't experience any buzzing myself, so I wonder if that was interference from something affecting that reviewer's USB adapter.

July 5, 2018 | 12:08 PM - Posted by Nory (not verified)

I'm turn between these or the new logitech pro gaming headset. I know i am comparing wireless vs wired. Considering they are the same price, which would you say performs the best in terms of sound (for FPS games) & mic performance,?

July 31, 2018 | 03:44 AM - Posted by Alexa.This is epic (not verified)

Just wondering, hows the performance gaming wise. Does it have a slight latency compared to other higher priced wireless gaming headsets?

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.