Feedback

Interview with Bohemia Interactive, ArmA 3 Developer: Expansion, Optimization, Roadmap

Author:
Subject: Editorial
Manufacturer: Bohemia Interactive

Project Lead: Joris-Jan van ‘t Land

Thanks to Ian Comings, guest writer from the PC Perspective Forums who conducted the interview of Bohemia Interactive's Joris-Jan van ‘t Land. If you are interested in learning more about ArmA 3 and hanging out with some PC gamers to play it, check out the PC Perspective Gaming Forum!

I recently got the chance to send some questions to Bohemia Interactive, a computer game development company based out of Prague, Czech Republic, and a member of IDEA Games. Bohemia Interactive was founded in 1999 by CEO Marek Španěl, and it is best known for PC gaming gems like Operation Flashpoint: Cold War Crisis, The ArmA series, Take On Helicopters, and DayZ. The questions are answered by ArmA 3's Project Lead: Joris-Jan van ‘t Land.

PC Perspective: How long have you been at Bohemia Interactive?

VAN ‘T LAND: All in all, about 14 years now.

PC Perspective: What inspired you to become a Project Lead at Bohemia Interactive?

VAN ‘T LAND: During high school, it was pretty clear to me that I wanted to work in game development, and just before graduation, a friend and I saw a first preview for Operation Flashpoint: Cold War Crisis in a magazine. It immediately looked amazing to us; we were drawn to the freedom and diversity it promised and the military theme. After helping run a fan website (Operation Flashpoint Network) for a while, I started to assist with part-time external design work on the game (scripting and scenario editing). From that point, I basically grew naturally into this role at Bohemia Interactive.

View Full Size

PC Perspective: What part of working at Bohemia Interactive do you find most satisfying? What do you find most challenging?

VAN ‘T LAND: The amount of freedom and autonomy is very satisfying. If you can demonstrate skills in some area, you're welcome to come up with random ideas and roll with them. Some of those ideas can result in official releases, such as Arma 3 Zeus. Another rewarding aspect is the near real-time connection to those people who are playing the game. Our daily Dev-Branch release means the work I do on Monday is live on Tuesday. Our own ambitions, on the other hand, can sometimes result in some challenges. We want to do a lot and incorporate every aspect of combat in Arma, but we're still a relatively small team. This can mean we bite off more than we can deliver at an acceptable level of quality.

PC Perspective: What are some of the problems that have plagued your team, and how have they been overcome?

VAN ‘T LAND: One key problem for us was that we had no real experience with developing a game in more than one physical location. For Arma 3, our team was split over two main offices, which caused quite a few headaches in terms of communication and data synchronization. We've since had more key team members travel between the offices more frequently and improved our various virtual communication methods. A lot of work has been done to try to ensure that both offices have the latest version of the game at any given time. That is not always easy when your bandwidth is limited and games are getting bigger and bigger.

Continue reading our interview with Bohemia Interactive!!

Another issue we’ve had is that it has sometimes been hard to keep developing the live game post-release. We have the opportunity to still improve, expand, and fix the game, but we need to keep backwards compatibility in mind. It's not just our content that should keep working while we improve the game, but also a huge library of user-generated content. This has meant that sometimes we simply need to make compromises or take more time to implement a new feature in a more complicated way. This has been the case for the Firing from Vehicles feature, which could have been done more quickly if we didn't want it to be backwards compatible.

Lastly, updating the game can be a bit of a frustrating endeavor. Our intention is obviously to improve things, but it's such a complex system that a fix in one area can easily cause a new problem elsewhere. We're still improving our quality assurance methods to prevent this, focusing on things like automated testing, larger scale multi-player testing, and longer release candidate testing periods ahead of releases.

PC Perspective: Where do you see Bohemia Interactive in 5 years?

VAN ‘T LAND: The company has grown a lot these last few years, and, within the next five years, I imagine we’ll have overcome some of the growing pains. Bohemia Interactive should be a fun place to work, with several full teams developing a number of big projects. And, even though we'll be bigger, we do want to preserve our identity. There are things people have come to expect from Bohemia Interactive, some good and some less ideal (the latter we will have defeated of course!).

PC Perspective: How is Bohemia Interactive different from competitors like DICE and Activision?

VAN ‘T LAND: The fact that we are independent means that we have the freedom to explore and pioneer new genres, methods, strategies, business models, and more. We can experiment, fail, and try again without other parties dictating to us. One very specific difference is our modding scene. We've always had moddable games, and many of our developers come from a modding background. Admittedly, such an open platform can cause some headaches. Broken mods can make the game itself appear broken, and testing for all possible things modders can do is a huge amount of work. The benefits far outweigh the problems though!

PC Perspective: Bohemia Interactive is known for supporting its community through patches, free tool kits, and DLC/Expansions. With the level of support Bohemia Interactive receives, how much community input goes into the games you produce?

VAN ‘T LAND: There are many kinds of feedback that we use to improve our games. First, there is compatibility testing. Even with our growing internal quality assurance teams, we cannot replicate all the combinations of hardware, software, and peripherals that are out in the wild. Public pre-release testing lets us find and hopefully fix issues like these. We’ve had a lot of successful fixes, such as an issue that affected a group of users with a specific network card or certain graphics hardware driver errors.

View Full Size

Then there is feedback on technical changes, which may affect mod(der)s. For example, we recently made changes to the way muzzle velocity can be defined for weapons. The method we rolled onto our Dev-Branch worked fine for our purposes. However, community modders pointed out issues for their projects. After some discussion, we iterated towards a compromise that suited their needs also.

And, of course, there's a huge flow of feedback, ideas, suggestions, and requests coming from our forums, Feedback Tracker, social channels, Reddit, our own developers, and other sources. These do regularly make their way into our discussions and affect our prioritization. Sometimes we have to make the call that a request is not feasible for Arma 3, and we store it for the future.

PC Perspective: Please tell me about the Make ArmA Not War contest. How did it start? How did the International Red Cross get involved? Is there a winner yet?

VAN ‘T LAND: Our very own CEO, Marek Španel, first raised the idea within the company. He wanted to do something to invest in the modding community, stimulating creativity and quality. Some of the inspiration came from similar contests like "Make Something Unreal". One of the organizers, Ivan Buchta, had been speaking with the International Committee of the Red Cross regarding the use of the International Humanitarian Laws of War in video games, which got the ball rolling. Their Healthcare in Danger award provides a truly unique experience to the eventual winner. We have recently announced the 50 finalists for the four categories, and those entries have been passed to the jury, which will select the winners during the next few weeks.

PC Perspective: While ArmA 3 is a very beautiful game, it still does not seem very well optimized. What are your plans to improve the performance on both client-side and server-side?

VAN ‘T LAND: Unfortunately, things are not as simple as saying the game is optimized or not. There are many factors that can influence performance beyond our control. It's a pitfall of our platform's freedom. By allowing modding, user-made (MP) scenarios, and full control over settings, we make it possible for people to potentially break their game. We could limit this in a way other games have, such as restricting video settings or limiting modding, but have no wish to do so at all. What we can and will do is improve our presentation of vanilla versus modded game versions, so that users are more aware of what is going on.

Of course, that does not mean we cannot work on optimization, and we continuously do so, such as with the better use of multi-threading for servers and many miscellaneous engine improvements. We're working with the major hardware manufacturers, who analyze our code and offer tips on optimizations or new technologies. Finally, we need to be careful with low-level changes as they can very easily break the game.

PC Perspective: When does Bohemia Interactive plan to release a 64-bit client? Better GPU optimization?

VAN ‘T LAND: An investigation into 64-bit servers is ongoing, but we cannot confirm that all obstacles found so far can be overcome for Arma 3. A client is even less likely at this stage.

PC Perspective: Many players are angry over the DLC that has been released. Many do not believe that two helicopters are worth $15. What is Bohemia Interactive's reasoning?

VAN ‘T LAND: The price also covers the development of the platform updates we've released (Sling Loading, Firing from Vehicles, etc.). Our DLC Strategy has been created to prevent splits in the community, to allow us to work on one central version without branching, and to provide as much content as possible for everyone. This is something we could have better communicated, and I’m glad that now, a few months after the DLC release, we're seeing "Mostly Positive" reviews on Steam, as well as a broader understanding of our approach. And, ultimately, we are still a business. We do have running costs, so we cannot realistically support a game for years after its release without premium additions.

View Full Size

PC Perspective: Will ArmA 3 support Mantle or DirectX 12?

VAN ‘T LAND: We don't have plans for Mantle support at the moment. Microsoft's plans for Windows 10 and DirectX 12, however, look very promising and we will be investigating the SDK to see how Arma 3 may benefit.

PC Perspective: Will there be an ArmA 3 for SteamOS in the future?

VAN ‘T LAND: This would require a Linux client, which we don't have for Arma 3.

PC Perspective: In the Roadmap, Bohemia Interactive mentions the Marksman DLC improving the authenticity of firing weapons and new gameplay opportunities. Can you explain what BI means by this?

VAN ‘T LAND: It is difficult to authentically replicate weapon handling via PC peripherals, but there are things we can do to improve it. When we introduced Weapon Sway and Weapon Inertia, the feedback was mixed. With the introduction of Weapon Resting (passive) and Weapon Deployment (active), those former mechanics received a logical balancing counterpart. That whole package should provide really interesting tactics and ways to play the game. In addition, we've improved our recoil, which adds to the immersion of firing weapons.

PC Perspective: What new features can we expect to see in the ArmA 3 Expansion mentioned in the Roadmap?

VAN ‘T LAND: Our feasibility studies for the Expansion are ongoing and we're not yet ready to discuss them. We can say that some of these features benefit the new terrain. Other areas of exploration are connected to "getting into multiplayer" and "getting into mods" in a smoother fashion.

PC Perspective: A new terrain is mentioned - what can you tell us about this new terrain?

VAN ‘T LAND: Very little at the moment; your readers will need to wait a while longer. We can say that progress has been good, and the terrain is looking better and better every day. It's feeling fresh and contrasts the existing Altis and Stratis terrains. In terms of production, the environment team has sculpted the height map, determined key points, and even installed many placeholder objects.

PC Perspective: Will the ability to add ponds and water at different elevations be added to the BI Tools SDK?

VAN ‘T LAND: We're investigating ponds, but cannot promise they’ll be included. Flowing rivers and similar water bodies are not planned for Arma 3.

PC Perspective: Will the ability to add subterranean height maps be added to support tunnels and caves?

VAN ‘T LAND: We are not planning to add those to Arma 3.

PC Perspective: What does Bohemia Interactive mean by “large-scale MP performance”? Will we finally see 300+ player servers?

VAN ‘T LAND: Those numbers are unlikely to occur realistically. Some powerful servers, super connections, and use of Headless Clients may get above 100 players, but we don't think that will be the norm. Our own goals are to get a server of 100 players running better and with more stability for a longer period of time. It should also be pointed out that there is a difference between 100 clients on a Player-versus-Player server and 100 clients engaged against and alongside AI units.

View Full Size

PC Perspective: When will Bohemia Interactive make ArmA 3 multi-core / multi-threaded? Will ArmA 3 support all 8 cores on a CPU?

VAN ‘T LAND: “Being multi-core” is a bit too simplified in our opinion. We do use multiple cores and threads for various parts of the simulation. The load changes with scene complexity, use of AI, inclusion of multiple players, and complex settings. The distribution could be better (and you need to use command-line parameter -enableHT to use more than 4 cores). Our new engine (not for Arma 3) will likely use more modern approaches and handle advanced hardware more efficiently. Meanwhile, we'll continue to see how we can improve Arma 3's performance on various kinds of hardware.

PC Perspective: Will you be joining us for the next VLAN?

VAN ‘T LAND: Probably not the next one, but who knows, maybe a future one!

Many thanks to Joris-Jan van ‘t Land for providing us with more insight into ArmA 3 beyond what is available in Bohemia Interactive’s 2015 road map blog. The future of ArmA 3 and Bohemia Interactive looks bright, and the Marksman DLC looks to be a real game changing update! I am a little disappointed that Bohemia Interactive has no plans to release a Linux client in the future, but the fact that Bohemia Interactive provides long term support for its current game clients is always a plus in my book. It looks like I will continue to run Windows for the foreseeable future just to run ArmA 3. I highly recommend picking up a copy of ArmA 3. It can be found on Steam or through companies like G2A.com.

View Full Size

I would like to thank Bohemia Interactive and Joris-Jan van ‘t Land, in particular, for taking time out of his day to answer questions for us. I hope we see more of Bohemia Interactive in the future.


February 24, 2015 | 06:23 PM - Posted by Cyclops

Please optimize your engine. I mean for real. Here's an example, and I know it ain't ARMA 3 but DayZ's engine is closely related.

Single GTX 780 Ti running at 1255/7700 with a 3930K running at 5 GHz with HT disabled, i.e. 6 cores running at 5 GHz.

When playing DayZ, the GPU hardly ever maxes out, pointing out to a potential CPU bottleneck, but then you look at the CPU load and none of the cores are being pushed further than 60%. That is not acceptable.

It's the result of a highly broken and unoptimized engine that you guys have been using for ages. That game has been on sale for almost two years now, and it's not just DayZ, ALL of your games have this problem. They can't utilize the hardware that's being thrown at them.

You sold what, over 3 million copies of DayZ and THIS level of performance this far post alpha launch is acceptable to you? It's frankly pathetic.

February 25, 2015 | 06:25 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

1. Its not like they are not trying, they know.
2. Do you realize the complexity in arma 3? Do think its that simple? Its a game of its own, so shut the hell up.
3. Why don't you help contribute instead of sitting on your computer whining over something that takes time, especially for a much smaller company that is growing.

February 25, 2015 | 07:45 PM - Posted by Cyclops

Oh I've contributed enough by buying their broken products. Do they give paychecks to fanboys like you to come and defend them here? Should I "contribute" by praising their broken engine and giving them even more money and pretending the problems don't exist?

I'm sorry you're butthurt over the truth, but you need to get over it :).

April 9, 2015 | 12:25 PM - Posted by Th3Mafia (not verified)

Truth points a many here, the guy you replied to is stupid....the complexity of the game was generated by the developers... it was their choice, so they should be the ones to make it better.

September 11, 2015 | 04:50 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

What are you implying? That they make their 200km2 game world smaller? That they get rid of many of the simulation weapon physics just for better performance? Your statement is actually the most stupid one concerning this game's performance that I have ever seen.

Understand that a game trying to simulate the real thing down to every small detail is not very easy to "optimize". Most true Arma players would prefer it stay complex, even at the cost of performance. If you're so unhappy about a game doing something different, serving its niche and having some performance issues, then it would be best that you stick to Battlefield.

October 5, 2015 | 03:27 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

They know, of course they know but you see they play the blame game. They blame the mods which have almost nothing to do with it. Half-life had a lot of mods, many more than arma and all run 200% better.

Look at DayZ their new baby and tell me you get the performance you expect from a modern game on modern hardware.

They also just scored a major defense contract. I wonder what will happen when the real soldiers in the simulation run into the low fps issues we're all having.

This game is developed in a single room office by a handful of people. What did you expect?

November 8, 2015 | 09:23 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You are confusing Bohemia Interactive with Bohemia Interactive Simulations. They are two completely separate companies. And, yes, BI can blame some mods for your poor experience. Especially if the vanilla game runs just fine. Mods mean additional code and complexity and such. Also, Bohemia Interactive is NOT a single room office or only a handful of people. Bohemia Interactive has more than one office, and somewhere between 250 and 500 employees.

Do your research before insulting a company doing its level best to make your experience the best it can be. How many game devs do you know of that release patches and updates to games released in 2009? Seriously, take your butthurt self and find a less complicated game for you to play.

February 25, 2015 | 09:46 PM - Posted by Humanitarian

Second this, the optimisations or I say there lack of, is by far the one major thing that lets arma down.

Apart from that, it's an amazing game, hands down the best £20 I've spent in my life.

But yeah, you can only put up with 40fps for so long.

May 16, 2015 | 10:06 AM - Posted by LostDivice (not verified)

I agree with you, there is something weird going on with the game not using 100% even though your only getting 18fps on some scenes.
I have a I5 4670 and a GTX 770 (with auto overclock to 80 Celsius) yet the overclock doesn't kick in unless I'm in a vehicle and I only have 12fps or less. My CPU doesn't go above 65% load and still gets to 56 Celsius (the hottest it can get with my heat sink is 62C).

So after looking at this I though that it may be to do with memory usage, I have 16GB gaming RAM and only 50% use with several background programs running including Skype and Fraps.

I think that the biggest problem for Bohemia is being an independent company, they don't have the financial capability to get a team constantly working on the engine and optimizations. Maybe the next ArmA will be better optimized so we can expect the FPS to go above 30 and to have 100% usage of hardware but for now we just have to grin and bare it.

February 24, 2015 | 07:15 PM - Posted by ouroboros (not verified)

Thanks for conducting the interview. I like playing this game and have many hours spent playing. I agree with Cyclops that game optimization is the biggest problem with this game. I have 3x290x and a 4930K, with 16Gb of memory, but often have a hard time getting a playable framerate while playing multiplayer. It does depend greatly on the server, but it is hard to understand why performance is so poor, at times.

February 24, 2015 | 08:20 PM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

I just can't wait for "Day-Z 2: Electric Boogaloo". Ahh, so many hundreds of hours...good times.

February 24, 2015 | 08:22 PM - Posted by Boggins (not verified)

Poor CPU core utilization, poor GPU utilization and a 32bit application limits the performance of ARMA. They keep saying that a 64bit engine will not help, but many feel it's more that they can't or don't know how to implement 64 bit.

The ARMA3 engine has evolved from nearly 15 years of development at this point. It was built at a time that didn't anticipate the type of hardware we'd have today. BI has shown real reluctance in starting over and building a truly modern game engine that effectively uses the hardware we have. ARMA will always feature clunky, chunky gameplay.

February 25, 2015 | 12:40 AM - Posted by renz (not verified)

good interview. will PCPer going to make other interviews from other game company?

February 25, 2015 | 01:14 AM - Posted by KRDucky (not verified)

I will be attempting to get an interview from Vostok Games on their S.T.A.L.K.E.R-esk game. And FYI, I stream Arma 3, run a 4770K, HD 7970GHz, and an SSD and have no issues running Arma 3 and getting around 60fps on average. BI states to properly spread the load across the cores, enable the '-HT' option in the launch settings. Also, the memory allocator should be set to TBBMalloc.

February 25, 2015 | 06:01 AM - Posted by BrightCandle (not verified)

That was a really disappointing interview. Sounds like they have given up on performance, which is a real problem when nobody can actually play the game above 30 fps in multiplayer right now. To turn around and blame mods and player scenarios without any support for either to profile themselves is pretty poor display especially considering you can walk on the empty map of Altis and get the game below 30 fps with nothing happening and no mods.

They aren't every going to fix this game.

February 25, 2015 | 09:48 AM - Posted by Avariel (not verified)

Funnily enough it really depends on the mod running, and the server itself together with the number of AI and People playing.

For instance take some of the 100 man servers of King of the hill, that support so much combat going on, on the altis map while maintaining 40+ fps on a 270 square kilometer map.

So basicly, just because you play on specific scripted scenarios with a weak host as server you're blaming the game to have ill performance.

- Avariel

February 25, 2015 | 12:57 PM - Posted by KRDucky (not verified)

Another big this to remember is that Arma 3 is not like BF4 or CoD. You do not just fire up the game and go at it. It is not considered a simulation for nothing. There are MANY tweaks for the engine and client depending on your hardware that can be activated prior to launching it. For example, you can specify how much RAM you want it to see in your system, how much total VRAM you have, If you have more than 4 cores or Hyperthreading, What Memory Allocator you wish to use, If you want it to load a specific world at launch, skip splash screens etc. Sure the Military version by a similar company Bohemia Interactive Simulations (used to be sister company) has a better engine and graphics to die for but, they also charge $6k per license copy so they are rolling in dough. $6k (being payed by world governments) vs $60 (being payed by us). you do the math. Tweak your freaking settings cause I must have a weaker system than most of you and I run this game on Invade & Annex and King of the Hill at ~60FPS 90% of the time. I only join 120 players servers too. Perhaps playing on optimized servers instead of janky servers running janky missions would help too?

February 25, 2015 | 05:29 PM - Posted by aLmAnZo (not verified)

You obviously don't know who you are replying to :P

http://forums.bistudio.com/showthread.php?188420-Digging-a-little-deeper...

I play in the same community as Brightcandle, and we host a private server with a very strickly monitored list of mods. We test performance all the time. We use MCC for mission design, and we know how it works. Our numbers aren't high either, usually we end up with around 20 - 40 AI and somewhere around 10 players.

February 25, 2015 | 11:21 PM - Posted by KRDucky (not verified)

Just got done live streaming Arma 3 Invade and Annex on a 120 player server. 60FPS 119 players. No lag to speak of. 1st Rangers Battalion server. Great time.

February 26, 2015 | 12:50 AM - Posted by Insanatrix

I usually don't like to call BS on someone but there's no way in hell, like literally no way in hell. 60 FPS average with 119 players on a pub I&A server while streaming? Not that the FPS counter manager to hit 60 FPS for a millisecond but we're talking average right?

If so you must be blessed by the gods or something because I can play with 20 people on a simple coop mission with a closed group and get 15 FPS average easily with like 2000 VD and optimized settings so you must excuse me if I fail to believe you getting 60 FPS solid on a pub server with that many players and those scripts running while streaming.

Mind you I'm running an i5-3570K oc'd to 4.5hgz on water and 2x R9 290's CFX with ArmA on a SanDisk Ultra 240gb SSD.

Also no lag is kinda funny since ArmA is notorious for desyncing, especially with ArmA 3 it seems like it's nothing but desync constantly, especially with 119 players.

February 26, 2015 | 11:29 AM - Posted by KRDucky (not verified)

Well, sorry to say but, I&A is a stock Arma 3 game mode. No crazy scripts or Mods required. It is a Vanilla server. Plus, I use the optimized game client i.e. I modified my launch settings to work better with my hardware. I also use OBS which while streaming, Yes Microsoft claimed I was running out of RAM (suspect OBS memory Leak), I got an average of 60FPS for most of the ~3.5-4 hrs I was playing it. The only time it dropped to abysmal levels was when a script kiddie hopped on an dropped a Nuke on the server for getting banned. I had high FPS during major firefights with artillery shells dropping close by while I ran from downed player to downed player reviving them. I run an i7-4770k, 16GB of RAM, an ADATA XPG SX900 256GB SSD for Arma 3, and a single Radeon HD 7970Ghz edition card. You seem to think that Vanilla servers are incapable of performing well. If you use the latest server versions which BI has been optimizing for Multi-threading and 64-bit, you should be just fine. When you add mods and so on, performance will drop like a rock.

February 26, 2015 | 03:25 PM - Posted by Insanatrix

just tried playing on the 7th Cav I&A server with no mods running, fresh install of the game and dropped to below 20 FPS in many spots. Highest I saw was 56 FPS. Average FPS in the area of fighting was 28.

Also I&A contains mission scripts like crazy, it's not even close to a "stock" game mode. If you think dynamically spawned AI, dynamically spawned objectives and mission markers etc... loadout editors, and the tons of other scripted additions are stock then I'm sorry to say you're sadly mistaken. It's almost impossible to design a "stock" mission in Arma as to make any kind of good mission you need to use scripting to some degree. Mods are literally compilations of script and 3rd party assets for the most part, whether your script runs in mod form or script form called from within the init.sqf of a mission or wherever is generally irrelevant.

It's not that I think the vanilla game doesn't perform well, it's that it simply doesn't. Obviously no amount of testimony or evidence is gonna convince you but for a good majority of players it just doesn't.

Aside from the performance issue's there are a myriad of other issue's BI either chooses to ignore or assign a low priority too as well. It's not just about the performance, although that is quite frustrating but it's also about the AI issue's, scripting bugs and general bugs present in the game that really hold Arma 3 back.

February 26, 2015 | 04:35 PM - Posted by KRDucky (not verified)

I guess my live streams don't count for evidence huh?

February 26, 2015 | 08:37 PM - Posted by Insanatrix

link me to one with an FPS counter running the entire time and preferably frame times, one where you get a solid 60 FPS while streaming with minimal microstutter and desync with 119 players. Seriously the microstutter in this game is so bad simply because of the data caching method they use with the file mapping API as a workaround when they started hitting the limits of 32 bit addressing back in ArmA.

Ya know cause 64 bit addressing would be stupid and all in the client right, as per Dwarden? Even though the commit charge when the game is running is about 6-9gb and only about 600mb of that is pagefile usage and I posted all kinds of data on their forums and was met with no support by developers. That's why all the cool kids are doing it instead of ya know programming 64 bit binaries and all though right.....? /sarcasm

Also they can't concurrently calculate the AI apparently in separate threads, according to Suma "Some things are just too hard and we are unwilling"..., yet they can have a headless client run and do the same thing over a network. It's pure lazyness on their part, they saw an easy band-aid fix again and they pounce on it rather than actually fixing it. It's because it already existed within the game based on multiplayer locality and AI locality in their engine. AI is calculated based on the owner of the AI, so if the server owns them it's calculated on the server, client owns them then client calculates. All they're doing is having a dummy machine connect as a client and passing off the AI to them as some sort of mock concurrent threading for the AI. It's a high latency, slow and heavily network dependent solution.

They're just plain and simply lazy when it comes to maintaining and supporting their core engine and they always have been. It's been band-aid fix after band-aid fix. Sure if they can script something cool in or add in scripting commands to let you mess with some internal logic, something easy like that they're all aboard. Fix the problems with their engine though and suddenly things become too hard... It's sad too because at it's base it's a good engine, but they've just mismanaged and mishandled it all the way around until it pretty much runs like crap and half of the stuff they would like to do with it, they can't, hence why DayZ is getting an amalgamation of a new engine, the one they spoke of in the interview and basically confirmed ArmA would not be getting the same attention.

March 1, 2015 | 03:36 PM - Posted by Insanatrix

Let me also amend that while I think they are lazy about core problems, I think their design goals are amazing. I think ArmA as it plays is amazing bar a few issue's here and there. It's just core bugs, performance issue's and a few other hardcoded issue's with animations and such that really hold it back. Not to mention their stubbornness in fixing these things because they would require a lot of work.

As someone on the BI forums said though, ArmA doesn't really do anything amazing anymore. There's no excuse for the way it performs as current engines are able to come close to simulating exactly what Real Virtuality does. The only really remarkable thing is the AI and even that is fast becoming unkempt and outdated. The only thing that really keeps it going is the fact there's no competition to fill this niche.

February 25, 2015 | 09:52 AM - Posted by P0ci (not verified)

Great game, poor CPU utilization, barely uses 3 cores. Make it use more threads bohemia!!!

THen a remake of original Op Flashpoint with new engine along with Red Hammer and Resistance expansions would be great.

February 25, 2015 | 10:13 AM - Posted by DCALAnonymous (not verified)

The most important part of this interview:
"Our new engine (not for Arma 3) will likely use more modern approaches and handle advanced hardware more efficiently."

Confirmation that BI is working on a new Engine!

February 25, 2015 | 12:04 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

i too found that the most interesting part of the interview. Is there any way we can get more info about the new engine?

February 25, 2015 | 12:53 PM - Posted by Insanatrix

When they say (not for Arma 3) that means we will probably have to wait for Arma 4, if it will even be used for Arma at all. It's mostly being developed for DayZ because of the problems and headaches they have run into with development there.

February 26, 2015 | 06:09 AM - Posted by jamesk (not verified)

An engine from stoneage and a bullshit scenario!

Good Luck for ArmA 4..... is you still find some idiots.

March 6, 2015 | 10:50 AM - Posted by Arma (not verified)

Go back to your CoD, pussy. You're too weak for Arma.

August 20, 2015 | 11:37 AM - Posted by Diego Nicodemi (not verified)

The problem has known. This engine has been used since 2001 and overpainted with textures. I love this game, I love All Arma since cold war crisis, but its time to change the engine for an arma 4

August 20, 2015 | 11:37 AM - Posted by Diego Nicodemi (not verified)

The problem has known. This engine has been used since 2001 and overpainted with textures. I love this game, I love All Arma since cold war crisis, but its time to change the engine for an arma 4

March 8, 2016 | 07:51 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Love the game to bits, that's why it kills me that they don't give a shit about the slideshow they call a game.
They got their money and that's all she wrote.
You will not get a dev to respond to anything...on their forums, support..nowhere.
Bad attitude. A performance issue is not a small issue, you have to deal with it every second you play.
I have over 400hrs on record, but its blatantly obvious that the tech and hardware is here in the present, but Bohemia Interactive is in the past.
Fuckers

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.