Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q 165Hz 2560x1440 27-in IPS G-Sync Monitor Review

Author:
Subject: Displays
Manufacturer: ASUS

Specifications

It's hard to believe that it has only been 14 months since the release of the first ASUS ROG Swift, the PG278Q, back in August of 2014. It seems like lifetimes have passed, with drama circling around other G-Sync panels, the first release of FreeSync screens, the second geneation of FreeSync panels that greatly improve overdrive. Now, we sit in the middle of the second full wave of G-Sync screens. A lot can happen in this field if you blink.

The PG278Q was easily the best G-Sync monitor on the market for quite a long time. It offered performance, features and quality that very few other monitors could match, and it did it all while including support for NVIDIA's G-Sync variable refresh rate technology. If you are new to VRR tech, and want to learn about G-Sync you can check out our original editorial or an in-depth interview with NVIDIA's Tom Petersen. In short: being able to have a variable refresh rate on a panel match the frame rate of the game prevents Vsync quirks like screen tearing and judder.

View Full Size

But a lot has changed since ASUS released the PG278Q including the release of other higher quality monitors from the likes of Acer, BenQ and others. ASUS showed off some new G-Sync ready displays at CES but that was way back in January of 2015 - more than 10 months ago! The PG279Q was the most interesting to us then and remains that way today. There are some impressive specifications on the table including a 27-in 2560x1440 screen built on IPS technology, to improve color reproduction and view angles, a 165Hz maximum refresh rate and the best build quality we have seen on a gaming monitor to date.

This time ASUS has a lot more competition to deal with but can the ROG Swift PG279Q real ignite ASUS as the best G-Sync monitor provider? What kind of experience do you get for a $799 monitor today?

Continue reading our review of the ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q 165Hz 2560x1440 27-in IPS G-Sync Monitor!!

The specifications on the ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q are impressive; let's ta

  • Display
    Panel Size: Wide Screen 27.0"(68.6cm) 16:9
    Color Saturation : 100%(sRGB) 
    Panel Backlight / Type : In-Plane Switching
    True Resolution : 2560x1440 *
    Display Surface Non-glare
    Pixel Pitch : 0.233mm
    Brightness(Max) : 350 cd/㎡
    Contrast Ratio (Max) : 1000:1
    Viewing Angle (CR≧10) : 178°(H)/178°(V)
    Response Time : 4ms (Gray to Gray)
    Display Colors : 16.7M (real 8 bit)
    Flicker free
  • Video Feature
    Trace Free Technology : Yes
    Color Temperature Selection : 4 Modes
    GamePlus(modes) : Yes (Crosshair/Timer/FPS Counter)
    Low Blue Light : Yes
    HDCP support : Yes
    GameVisual :6 Modes(Scenery/Racing/Cinema/RTS/RPG/FPS/sRGB Modes)
  • Audio Features
    Stereo Speakers : 2W x 2 Stereo RMS
  • Convenient Hotkey
    GamePlus
    5-way OSD Navigation Joystick
    Turbo key
  • I/O Ports
    Signal Input : HDMI , DisplayPort
    Earphone jack : 3.5mm Mini-Jack 
    USB Port(s) : 3.0x2, 1 x upstream
  • Signal Frequency
    Digital Signal Frequency : Display port 34~209KHz(H)/30~165Hz (V)
  • Power Consumption
    Power On: <90W*
    Power Saving/Off:0.5W
    Voltage: 100-240V, 50/60Hz
  • Mechanical Design
    Chassis Colors : Black
    Tilt : +20°~-5°
    Swivel : Yes
    Pivot : Yes
    Height Adjustment : Yes
    VESA Wall Mounting : 100x100mm
    Super Narrow Bezel Design : Yes
  • Security
    Kensington lock
  • Dimensions
    Phys. Dimension with Stand(WxHxD): 619.77x552.53x237.9 mm
    Phys. Dimension without Stand(WxHxD): 619.77x362.96x65.98 mm(For VESA Wall Mount)
    Box Dimension (WxHxD): 756x456x300 mm
  • Weight
    Net Weight(Esti.): 7.0kg
    Gross Weight(Esti.):10.6kg
  • Accessories
    Power cord 
    Power adapter
    DisplayPort cable 
    USB 3.0 cable
    Quick start guide
    HDMI cable 
    Support CD
    Warranty Card
  • Regulation Approval
    Energy Star®, BSMI, CB, CCC, CE, CEL level 1, ErP, FCC, J-MOSS, KCC, PSE, RoHS, UL/cUL, VCCI, WEEE, WHQL (Windows 8.1, Windows 8, Windows 7), RCM, TUV Flicker-free , eStandby, TUV Low Blue Light
  • Note
    1) Refresh Rate
    DisplayPort: 2560x1440(up to 165Hz)
    HDMI: 2560x1440(60Hz)

    2) Signal Frequency
    DisplayPort 34~209KHz(H)/30~165Hz(V)
    HDMI: 30~140KHz(H)/24~60Hz(V)

I won't walk through every line here but some of the points are more important to the overall experience than others. The screen is an IPS 2560x1440 panel which results in outstanding view angles and color reproduction, even right out of the box when enabling the sRGB profile in the settings. The panel is a matte finish and doesn't reflect lights in the same way those typical glossy panels do - which is great for gamers but can affect color to some degree for professionals. 

The 4ms response time is higher than we saw on the PG278Q with a TN panel, but is very typical of modern gaming IPS screens. In my opinion though the response time is well within the range necessary for even the most demanding gamer. 

ASUS has again embedded a pair of speakers in the monitor but they aren't worth using really. Any self-respecting user that has a high quality gaming headset or speakers. 

There are two inputs on the PG279Q, up from just one on the PG278Q. Only the DisplayPort input can support the extremely high 165Hz refresh rate as well as G-Sync. But thanks to a second generation of G-Sync module, the display can now accept an HDMI input at resolutions as high as 2560x1440 (60Hz) should you need it.

In The Box

Inside the box, ASUS has included the power adapter as well as a handful of cables to help you get setup.

View Full Size

The power adapter on the PG279Q is much larger than the one used on the previous ROG Swift. This is due to the move to an IPS screen as well as the incredible 165Hz refresh rate.

View Full Size

A DisplayPort cable, HDMI cable as well as a USB 3.0 cable to connect your PC to the integrated hub in the monitor. 


October 23, 2015 | 11:30 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Nice but can you turn the silly red lights off?

October 23, 2015 | 11:59 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Yes, you can.

October 23, 2015 | 12:03 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Nothing a hammer and a wire cutter can't fix. :P

October 30, 2015 | 11:53 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

And that's why you'll never have nice toys.

October 23, 2015 | 11:35 AM - Posted by i4mt3hwin (not verified)

Did they fix the first frame contrast issue (inversion) that the original had? I switched from the PG278Q to the XB (ACer) because the inversion/pixelation on the ASUS was so terrible. I also felt like the AG Coating was way worse on the ASUS then the Acer.

October 23, 2015 | 12:00 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

I'll check on that today!

October 23, 2015 | 12:03 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Turns out that is a TN-specific issue. With an IPS screen, no, the PG279Q doesn't have that "rainbow" behavior.

November 12, 2015 | 05:57 AM - Posted by Scary (not verified)

That makes it the sex.

October 23, 2015 | 09:28 PM - Posted by Astrix (not verified)

I didn't like the mat either on the PG278Q, I now have the Benq XL2730Z and it's mat is much better imo.

October 23, 2015 | 11:56 AM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

>The PG278Q was easily the best G-Sync monitor on the market for quite a long time.
PFFT!!!11 BWAAAHAHAHAHAHAH LOLWUUUUT!? Say that to XB270HU!

October 23, 2015 | 11:59 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

....

The PG278Q was out many many months before the XB270HU.

October 23, 2015 | 01:06 PM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

You're not trying hard enough.

1. PG278Q is a friggin' TN piece of trash AND was always overpriced as all hell (because Anus).
2. XB270HU was the best and ONLY truly worthwhile Gay-Sync option available for a long time, regardless of when that oh-so-mightily-beloved-by-Ryan-Shrout ROG Swift GARBAGE was released.
3. You're not fooling anyone here with that PR marketing BS, Ryan. The entire worldwide PC hardware enthusiast community has officially declared the XB270HU the best Gay-Sync offering of that particular time period, so no matter how hard you will try to BS newbies or how strongly you will keep on ignoring facts while living in your little pink world of delusional denial of the reality, the sheer fact will still stand solid - XB270HU was the only truly worthwhile and 100% successful Gay-Sync solution for all that time window since the first Gay-Sync monitor was released to the worldwide hardware market to begin with. Maybe it did appear after than that Rog Swift TRASH, but that doesn't automatically make Rog Swift any good.

October 23, 2015 | 01:39 PM - Posted by Devin P (not verified)

Found the Freesync fanboy.

October 23, 2015 | 01:41 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Dude, did you read his review? He said the Acer overthrew the PG278Q...

He even clarified to you what he meant. He is saying for awhile, PG278Q had NO COMPETITION because it came out quite a bit earlier than the XB270HU, until the XB270HU came and overthrew it...

"He original ROG Swift held that position for a while but, earlier this year, was overtaken by the Acer XB270HU."

You sound like a raging fanboy conspiracy theorist with selective reading.

October 23, 2015 | 01:43 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

$5 this troll won't even bother addressing he made a mistake and made an overblown comment.

October 29, 2015 | 04:32 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

With the number of times I've seen that guy do exactly that - make a mistake, post a hugely overblown comment, get decidedly proved wrong, and never appear again, pretending that it never happened - I'd never, ever take that bet.

October 29, 2015 | 11:04 PM - Posted by Kusanagi (not verified)

Happy-Sync. That's a new one. Who's the vendor?

January 1, 2016 | 05:45 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Sorry thats not true. Acer is ok and there gaming monitor was for a while the only ips gsync model available. But it never was appealing like the Rog Swift series. All people i know where waiting for a IPS Rog Swift model and as soon it hit the market we bought it. Acer was first maybe, but they hade not the same succes like Asus with the PG278q when it first came out.

October 24, 2015 | 09:09 AM - Posted by Prasanna Shinde (not verified)

hey i've been asking this for a around 3 days to PCPer, please consider this question :
is there anyone (a company like ASUS, Acer, DELL, or hell even Nixeus) even trying to build a 24" 1080p 144Hz IPS G-SYNC/FreeSync monitor under 300$-350$?
G-SYNC / FreeSync either would work because we all know that in 2016 AMD and nVidia both would have tremendously powered GPUs that could easily overpower a 1080p screen which would cost less than 300$ !!!

October 27, 2015 | 03:02 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

We will eventually get smaller asynchronous monitors, however the demand is for the large ones on the desktop.

I don't know why you would expect a monitor with the same specs except 3" smaller diameter to be significantly cheaper. $350 for the specs you listed? That will take YEARS.

There are CHEAPER options that are not asynchronous, such as a 25", 1440p, IPS monitor from Acer. That's 60Hz but it's also the closest to your budget.

November 10, 2015 | 01:18 AM - Posted by VitoDaKing (not verified)

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00QS0AK6U?keywords=acer%2024%20inch%20...
I know it's a little over the price range but close enough

October 24, 2015 | 01:52 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

The PG278Q was easily the best G-Sync monitor on the market for quite a long time.

LOL! You lost some credibility here, before stating such fact you should look around.

And this new PG279Q not supporting 3D Vison? F*ck ASUS.

October 30, 2015 | 04:41 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Best is subjective and if you go by total sales it's probably closer to the truth than anything you could prove yourself that is again, only subjective.

November 10, 2015 | 01:19 AM - Posted by VitoDaKing (not verified)

People actually use 3dvision?

October 23, 2015 | 12:10 PM - Posted by Mountainlifter

Allyn, are the problems from the original swift present in this one? Specifically the alternate bright and dark lines?

October 23, 2015 | 05:39 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

That was an issue specific to a lot of the TN panel TCONs (not just the original Swift). I have yet to see that issue in any IPS panel. Also, you'd be able to pick it out in the overdrive test pics (the blade has just appeared in the frame shown, and it would have had banded colors if that issue was present). See here for more detail on the banding: TCON Atrifacts

October 23, 2015 | 08:17 PM - Posted by Mountainlifter

Yeah that's what I thought too, that I should have seen that artifact on the picture of the blades. I wanted to make sure anyways. Thanks for the reply and the information on the tcon artifacts. I didn't know it was specific to Tn panels.

October 28, 2015 | 08:24 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I'm glad to hear that, but I'm also very sceptical since no reviewer picked up on those issues with the original ROG Swift.

Also, the interlaced output is not that obtrusive on other TN-based GSYNC monitors, probably because they actually refresh the whole screen each refresh interval. After 6 failed RMAs (I bought 2 screens and returned both 3 times) and asking friends in other parts of the world to send me test photographs, I finally figured out that ASUS designed the monitor to have those 'issues', since refreshing only half of the columns at a time allows them to use a much cheaper IC (only has to refresh the whole panel @ 72Hz, which is much easier).

Since they break up the input image into luma and chroma samples, it is also fairly easy to demonstrate loss of image data by simply constructing a pixel-level image (in, say, paint.net) with alternating lines (not columns) of high spatial frequency colours on 1-4 lines and a constant black line of pixels on the following line, repeated for 1440 lines. When the image is viewed at native resolution, and cropped so that you can still see a small portion of the right of the screen, those black lines 'spill over' and distort whatever you are displaying there.

However, it is ASUS's assumption that people won't notice or care if their $800 monitor is not really displaying a full 1440P144 image that really worries me.
Even today you still read about people defending the product and insisting that their Swift does not have these issues, even though it is present in all monitors, as that is the way it was designed.
I would seriously recommend that everyone who is considering buying this monitor should wait for other manufacturers to release their new GSYNC monitors and then compare the image quality between them.

November 3, 2015 | 02:09 PM - Posted by Doggg (not verified)

This is really interesting... do you have a post somewhere that contains more information about the half-refresh rate? Also, do you know for sure that the interlacing issue was not as prevalent on other TN-based G-Sync monitors? I've heard that it was a common artifact on 120+ Hz TN panels, with or without G-Sync.

Thanks!

October 23, 2015 | 12:34 PM - Posted by Cyclops

I left a Youtube message regarding power consumption jump when any of these high refresh panels go above 120 Hz.

The GPU kicks in to low 3D clocks and in my case, power consumption on idle goes up around 100 watts.

October 23, 2015 | 01:02 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Interesting...I'll check into it today!

October 25, 2015 | 08:26 PM - Posted by Cyclops

Any updates?

October 24, 2015 | 12:21 AM - Posted by Mandrake

I noticed that, too. With my Swift at 144Hz neither my GTX 780 or 980 Ti will enter low power mode. Set it to 120Hz and the cards instantly enters low power mode.

October 24, 2015 | 05:59 PM - Posted by dustinr26

Yea I have same issue too with my 980SC. What is strange is when I had Tri SLi 680s it didn't do it. But I then went to Single 980SC and it does it. It also won't play Netflix at 144hz as it will make screen all snowy like with audio. If you drop it to 120hz it will downclock the GPU and you can also play Netflix.

October 23, 2015 | 12:36 PM - Posted by shiloh_zx6 (not verified)

Does it support NVidia 3D Vision?

October 23, 2015 | 12:38 PM - Posted by mLocke

This is probably why 165hz isn't enabled out of the box.

"Over Clocking supported GPUs: NVIDIA Maxwell GPU Graphics Card like GTX745, GTX750, GTX750 Ti, GTX 960, GTX970, GTX980, GTX980 Ti and GTX Titan X. For other GPUs, please contact the manufactures to see if they are compatible."

https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/1828/2290/9f/dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/LCD%2...

October 23, 2015 | 01:03 PM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Still doesn't explain WHY it requires those GPUs.

October 23, 2015 | 06:03 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Didn't Tom Petersen on one of your podcast interview say that the Kepler cards had added latency which he denied to every extent prior to making that statement but he mentioned all the new Maxwell cards had improved to minimize that. That could be the reason why the older cards aren't compatible.

October 24, 2015 | 05:22 PM - Posted by AnonymousE (not verified)

Just read tft central's review as well, they are saying you need a gtx960 or higher to access OC' ing above 144hz. So no joy for my 780ti SLI ??
Thanks for the review guys. It's on my list for Santa

October 26, 2015 | 04:13 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Could be that the RAMDAC outputs literally cannot switch fast enough on certain cards to push enough pixels over the bus. 2560x1440@165Hz is more pixels/sec than 3840x2160@60Hz.

October 23, 2015 | 03:13 PM - Posted by jessterman21 (not verified)

Woohoo! Can't wait to get one and play games at 165fps!!! Too bad I'll have to turn the resolution down to 720p!!!

November 10, 2015 | 01:21 AM - Posted by VitoDaKing (not verified)

lol

October 23, 2015 | 03:19 PM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

TFT Central has already posted their review on this monitor.
http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/reviews/asus_rog_swift_pg279q.htm
Now THESE are the guys I fully trust when it comes down to reviewing things like monitors or/and panels. According to guys from TFT Central, PG 279Q is a true MASTERPIECE of a monitor (Delta-E at just 0.3 with static contrast hearing IPS technology's limits after calibration, and all of that while having native refresh ratio of 144Hz and being a 2650x1440 27" panel, WITH overall response timings actually LOWER than the officially stated 4ms. Holy friggin' shit). I'm definitely getting one now, it's about damn time I change that XB270HU baby for something even better.

October 23, 2015 | 05:49 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

Yup, TFTCentral does a great in-depth job on their panel reviews. Remember that awesome deltaE is the *calibrated* figure, not the out of the box figure.

October 23, 2015 | 06:36 PM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

They include downloadable calibrated profiles alongside their tests, so it might as well be considered as being a default one. At least that's what I'm personally going to do when I get one of those - I'll download and apply TFT Central's calibration profile to it right away (it's way too good of a calibration to ignore that thing). Also, even in the case if you (for some crazy reason) decide not to calibrate this monitor, according to TFT Central it ALREADY has pretty good Delta-E/Gamma curve even in the out-of-the-box state, which is simply amazing for a panel with such specs. I will not be surprised one slightest bit if Anus tries to milk every single last cent out of us due to their typical extra added cost marketing politics, especially if this monitor turns out to be massively popular worldwide.

October 24, 2015 | 05:21 AM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

We also provide calibration files in our reviews - and TFTCentral has some of our calibrations in their database. Remember though, you will likely not hit deltaE applying a cal to a different panel. You'll only be that accurate by calibrating your specific panel on your specific setup. 

October 24, 2015 | 08:06 AM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

We'll see. I have all the needed software and hardware anyway, but lately I've been using it less and less. In my U2414H's and XB270HU's cases, for example, all I had to do is just apply TFT Central's calibration profiles and it was an exact 1-to-1 match.

October 23, 2015 | 04:15 PM - Posted by Danny (not verified)

It's wonderful to have 165Hz 8-Bit IPS monitor but I still don't want G-Sync in it because it makes the monitor so damn expensive or prohibitive, even though frames are stored in dram which introduces more latency and more lag associated with G-Sync. Thus, Adaptive-Sync needs to be off as well as V-Sync Off.

October 23, 2015 | 05:48 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

1. This is the cheapest 165Hz panel available, in that it is the *only* 165Hz panel available. Even considering the avaialable 144Hz panels available, this is a minimal cost premium above those. Further, GSync hardware is currently required to even reach the 165Hz refresh rate.

2. GSync uses a lookaside buffer, which has 0 impact on frame latency.

October 23, 2015 | 06:41 PM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

It's not an actual "165Hz" monitor, though.
Natively it supports up to 144Hz, and everything that's higher than that is simply a panel OverClock. It's basically a marketing/PR stunt and nothing more, those "165Hz" that is. Don't get me wrong, though. Native 144Hz for a 2560x1440 IPS panel with ORT lower than 4ms and such outstanding calibration is nothing less than just simply AMAZING, but I really don't like when PR and marketing sharks trying to fool newbies or slightly-less-educated-on-the-matter mainstream audience of potential buyers.

October 24, 2015 | 05:23 AM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

'Simple panel overclocks' never get you that sort of gain. Otherwise I'd be running my Acer 144Hz panel at 165. As would everyone else. 

October 24, 2015 | 08:03 AM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

I'm saying it's a "simple" OverClock simply (pun not intended) because it's done through a mere hotkey button push. There are several presets, and "165Hz OverClock" just being one of them.

October 25, 2015 | 06:01 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

I think it's a matter of the panel maybe dropping to lower color saturation or otherwise not meeting its specs exactly at 165, so they made it an option. There is also the possibility that there are only so many slots in the EDID (which would explain the higher max replacing the 144 slot).

October 27, 2015 | 07:01 PM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

So it goes into 4:2:0/4:0:0, or something like that, when it reaches 165Hz? I thought Nvidia tried to shove that as a "feature"?

October 23, 2015 | 05:04 PM - Posted by tincrow

Finally a purchase date I have been spamming Amazon for the past week for this. Plus you know this monitor is a big deal when Allyn ( Storage Man ) Malventano is super excited. I'll make sure to use that affiliate code. Also does this ULMB as I didn't see it mentioned in the review?

October 23, 2015 | 05:48 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

It does dupport ULMB, but not simultaneous with GSync.

October 23, 2015 | 06:43 PM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

Look up and read TFT Central's review by the link I've provided slightly above this post. They have all the tests, including ULMB.

October 23, 2015 | 07:20 PM - Posted by Dark_wizzie

No glossy version?

I'm going to go drown in my tears now. :(

October 24, 2015 | 12:18 AM - Posted by Zabojnik

Great monitor, great review, yada yada yada.

Now, when is that Acer X34 Predator review dropping? :P

October 24, 2015 | 08:07 AM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

"Curved" is a fad. I'll never get tired of repeating this.

October 31, 2015 | 08:53 AM - Posted by gtxer (not verified)

predator monitors look cooler to me

October 24, 2015 | 12:58 AM - Posted by chizow (not verified)

Nice review Ryan, it looks like the Best keeps getting Better with G-Sync. Certainly some nice upgrades here with the PG279Q but not enough for me to upgrade my PG278Q which as you've said, is now 14 months old and still holding its own!

As for the $200 G-Sync premium, I think its safe to say at this point, its just the cost of admission for better tech. Like comparing a GTX 980Ti to say, a 390X. Sure the 980Ti costs a lot more, but then again, its a lot better than the 390X and outclasses it in every aspect.

I think at this point, its safe to say the G-Sync module similarly outclasses any of the FreeSync scalers you see employed by different monitor makers. No minimum VRR windows. 144 and now 165Hz max refresh rates. And now, no major deficiencies relative to FreeSync monitors now that the G-Sync Mk2 module also supports multiple inputs.

Personally, I'll wait for Asus PG348Q to think about upgrading again, but I really love how Asus continues to push the high-end monitor market with their ROG line of displays. Anyone who held off for the best 16:9 1440p IPS VRR monitor should be happy with the PG279Q however.

October 24, 2015 | 05:59 AM - Posted by Perfectionist (not verified)

Thanks for the review..

One of the best Ive ever seen.

October 24, 2015 | 07:22 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

- Can the power led be turned off like on the MG 279q or does it at least fade out ?
And does the power led stick out as much as in your pictures ? just wondering for multi monitor portrait setup

- btw guys whats your opinion on ulmb, you dont seem to talk about it in the review, does it offer an advantage when used with overdrive?

October 24, 2015 | 09:07 AM - Posted by Prasanna Shinde (not verified)

hey i wanted to ask this for a long time to PCPer, please consider this question :
is there anyone (a company like ASUS, Acer, DELL, or hell even Nixeus) even trying to build a 24" 1080p 144Hz IPS G-SYNC/FreeSync monitor under 300$-350$?
G-SYNC / FreeSync either would work because we all know that in 2016 AMD and nVidia both would have tremendously powered GPUs that could easily overpower a 1080p screen which would cost less than 300$ !!!

October 24, 2015 | 06:53 PM - Posted by Cyclops

Your crystal ball is using common sense.

October 24, 2015 | 09:45 PM - Posted by chizow (not verified)

I think AOC, Phillips and BenQ built 1080p G-Sync panels but they didn't fare very well because they were priced at $500 or so at launch. I know the AOC has dropped in price to that $350 range, but I don't think monitor makers are racing to see who can hit the bottom on pricing first, they are clearly trying to market and sell these VRR panels at a premium as the cheap TN 120+ panels in the $200-300 range are quite abundant now.

I think at this point, most of these panel makers understand the target market for these kinds of high-end gaming panels already own a 120+Hz high refresh screen and are looking for upgrades in every respect, so someone who already has a 1080p 120Hz panel probably wouldn't pay a pretty heavy premium for another 1080p panel just because of VRR, they would look a bit higher at the 1440p range or higher which is where you see most of the new market entrants.

October 28, 2015 | 02:23 AM - Posted by Ty (not verified)

... did you even bother looking?

http://www.amazon.com/Nixeus-1920x1080-Adaptive-Sync-Widescreen-NX-VUE24...

November 3, 2015 | 06:04 PM - Posted by funandjam

The guy that you replied to was complaining about no IPS panels at that price range. What you linked is for a TN panel.

October 25, 2015 | 09:24 AM - Posted by Hz

Looks like a great monitor.

It's a shame that they couldn't push the overclocking to 168Hz instead of 165Hz, as it means that you will have to drop the refresh rate to watch movies. (which are 24 FPS)

Now if only NVIDIA would enable ULMB across the entire range that the monitor can sync to, instead of being restricted to 85/100/120Hz.
There are so many new games capped to 60 FPS, older games which run at odd tickrates like the id Tech 4 games running at 62.5Hz, or old arcade games that ran at rates like 55Hz, that ULMB seems to be quite useless in its current implementation.

And it is disappointing that "IPS Glow" is an accepted thing, as if it had not already been solved by the use of an A-TW polarizer.
It really takes away from the excellent viewing angles that IPS has when the image completely washes out at an angle or has glowing corners when viewed straight on in the dark.
I wish there was more of a push from reviewers for them to be included in displays, instead of just accepting it as "normal".

October 27, 2015 | 12:48 PM - Posted by larsoncc

Has there been any technical reason given by ASUS as to why this monitor doesn't support 3DVision? This is a slight disappointment, given that the monitor seems to replicate all of the previous functionality (but better) of the prior ROG Swift, except 3D Vision.

Has NVidia announced anything about killing off 3DVision? I haven't seen anything.

October 27, 2015 | 06:59 PM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

I think it's Nvidia and their drivers that don't support 3D Vision with this monitor as of this very moment, not Asus.

October 28, 2015 | 03:15 AM - Posted by JCCIII

Thanks guys… an excellent and informative video.

‘You know some people are going to ask about panel quality a.k.a. backlight bleeding’; seriously?

Damn straight! Backlight bleeding, not IPS glow, equals shoddy engineering, even if the phenomenon happens during shipping: pack the merchandise correctly manufacturers. What the hell?

It all comes down to building a system that is worth your time and effort and a system that is not.

Sincerely, Joseph, 28.10.2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zCy2vjWBdJc

October 28, 2015 | 07:56 PM - Posted by Jinroh10

Now we know that the 34" Swift is due early 2016 so is it better to wait for that at 100hz, 3440x1440 and that sexy stand? What are your thoughts?

October 29, 2015 | 05:08 PM - Posted by JCCIII

I am torn between the two

October 29, 2015 | 01:29 PM - Posted by Can't get 165hz to show up (not verified)

When I enable overclocking/165hz, all that happens is that the 144 hz option disappears from Windows and the Nvidia control panel. The turbo button just toggles between 60 and 120 hz instead of 60, 120 and 144. I'm using the cable that came with the box, and I have a GTX 780.

Any idea why I can't get 165 hz to show up?

November 1, 2015 | 04:47 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You have to use a Maxwell card, like the 750 or 960+ series. 780 has the Kepler architecture.

October 29, 2015 | 03:42 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Will You have G-sync Dell S2716DG for review any time soon ?

October 31, 2015 | 01:13 PM - Posted by GeeJay

Need your advice. I've found the Acer XB270HU for about 180 euros cheaper than the Asus PG979Q (it's about $200). Hand on heart, which should I buy? I only got a single gtx980ti

November 3, 2015 | 02:06 AM - Posted by Crysto

Is it possible for you to test what scaling options are available when plugging a console into the HDMI input? ie. Scaled to fit (no aspect change), stretched to fit (aspect changed), or shown at native resolution with unused screen space.

The stretching to fit may only be testable on the X34 Predator when that review drops, but would be very helpful to know!

November 4, 2015 | 04:13 PM - Posted by Chris Connors (not verified)

Hey Ryan and Allyn,

Thanks for the awesome and thorough review! Needless to say I am incredibly excited at the opportunity to upgrade from 1080p to 1440p, but I'm curious to know if either of you can see any reason to wait until the end of November for the Predator XB 271HU. From what I've read, it seems like it will be of a similar build quality to its former iteration (i.e. worse than the Swift), with no other features to really set it apart from the now almost-released Swift. I'm also a bit worried about "1st generation" monitor releases from both of these vendors, as they are often plagued by dirt, dead pixels, etc. Could you comment on any of the above, aka convince me to buy a PG279Q before Fallout 4 comes out?

Much appreciated :)

November 7, 2015 | 11:56 AM - Posted by kanttii (not verified)

Acer's XB270HU & XB271HU and this Asus PG279Q all use the same panel, manufactured by AUO (Acer Unipac Optronics; see the connection?). The dirt and dust most probably get inside the panel at the AUO manufacturing facility, when they're assembling the panels, before they get sent to Acer and Asus for the rest of the monitor components.

On Overclock.net quite a few people including me got a horribly bad XB270HU with dead pixels, dust, and horrible backlight bleed - most probably caused by bad packaging and rough handling, some said theirs diminished after some time, mine didn't so I returned it - and some other issues, like the whole monitor feeling loose. I had high hopes, but since it's Acer after all, I wasn't too surprised by the outcome, but still extremely disappointed after waiting nearly a year after the first rumors came, then seeing that totally messed up monitor that basically wasted a panel that COULD have been excellent if the quality control was better.

But with Asus, I've learned they seem to take better care of their QC, so now my hopes really are high. I'm eagerly waiting for them to arrive to the stores here and getting one to check it out.

I at least will order one and see if it's any better than the Acer! I hope it is, AUO should have gotten better at their QC at these production lines by now, and if not, I'm hoping Asus won't accept the worst panels from them.

So I'd recommend you to order one too after more reviews are out and checking it out for yourself! Just make sure that IF problems arise, you can return the monitor easily and try a different one, or just get your cash back. PReferably a free return.

I've been postponing real gaming since last December because of waiting for first the Acer, then this Asus monitor... Let's see if Asus lives up to the promise of quality.

November 4, 2015 | 08:26 PM - Posted by J Nevins (not verified)

Looks great but bring on the Acer Predator X34 Curved 34in G-Sync IPS Gaming monitor review!

November 10, 2015 | 02:23 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

when is the release date I have pre purchased this on amazon but shipment says unavailable. the price was $799 it is also listed on newegg right now but for a higher price but it shows up as out of stock as well.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824236660

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B017EVR2VM?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_...

November 10, 2015 | 09:40 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Just bought one off Newegg

November 11, 2015 | 09:21 PM - Posted by George.X. (not verified)

I think it went out of stock at Newegg in a couple of hours last night. You were one of the few lucky ones. ;)

November 11, 2015 | 09:16 PM - Posted by George.X. (not verified)

Hey Ryan, thank you for the very helpful review. I have a question about G-Sync monitors in general. Do they work with a G-sync-capable laptop?

According to nvidia's FAQ:

http://www.geforce.com/hardware/technology/g-sync/faq#q7

It appears that a graphics card with a direct DP 1.2 output to the G-Sync monitor is required, which would mean that notebooks would not work with said external monitor. Am I understanding it correctly? I wonder if you have ever tried hooking up, say, your GTX 980 laptop from MSi to the PG279Q and seen if it would work?

Thanks.

November 11, 2015 | 09:16 PM - Posted by George.X. (not verified)

Hey Ryan, thank you for the very helpful review. I have a question about G-Sync monitors in general. Do they work with a G-sync-capable laptop?

According to nvidia's FAQ:

http://www.geforce.com/hardware/technology/g-sync/faq#q7

It appears that a graphics card with a direct DP 1.2 output to the G-Sync monitor is required, which would mean that notebooks would not work with said external monitor. Am I understanding it correctly? I wonder if you have ever tried hooking up, say, your GTX 980 laptop from MSi to the PG279Q and seen if it would work?

Thanks.

November 12, 2015 | 08:07 PM - Posted by Jake (not verified)

Noticed this site also lists it as a 165Hz monitor: http://www.144hzmonitors.com/monitors/asus-pg279q-27-inch-1440p-144hz-ip...

November 18, 2015 | 04:21 PM - Posted by Florin (not verified)

Hi guys,

I see no mention of the dreaded IPS glow, how good / bad is it on this display?

Cheers.

December 1, 2015 | 08:57 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

This monitor is getting horrible quality control reviews at NewEgg with back light bleed, and dead pixels being a huge factor. They are being returned in droves. Did you see any of these issues in your review unit?

December 14, 2015 | 03:22 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Does this monitor allow for console gaming; ie. an Xbox One or PS4?

December 14, 2015 | 12:24 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

waste of your money though, they support neither high refresh rates nor variable refresh rates.

February 28, 2016 | 01:30 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Basically, they are crap for gaming enthusiasts. I'm too old to enjoy 30 fps anymore. Even 60hz panels are starting to make me a bit queasy. The older I get, the more I need truly fluid movement as it is easier on my eyes. I simply won't play under ~60 fps anymore at all. I have some games I don't even want to play again until I get a proper 120+ hz panel (one that isn't defective). I only got a bit into Deus Ex: HR when I tried it at 144hz and it looks drastically better, so there is no way I am going to play the whole game at 60 fps after seeing it at 144 fps.

December 19, 2015 | 10:12 AM - Posted by Bruce (not verified)

What graphics card(s) did you use to drive this at max?

July 8, 2016 | 08:44 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have the 1080

December 30, 2015 | 08:53 AM - Posted by David p (not verified)

The ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q is the best 144hz monitor in my opnion. But it is still too expensive. Monitornerds have proposed many good alternativ gaming monitors that can compete with this one. I think i will choose one of them instead. Finally the best gaming monitor arives, with 144hz, 1440p and everythin, but too expensive for me :(

https://www.monitornerds.com/gaming-monitor

March 18, 2016 | 11:07 AM - Posted by alkhn33 (not verified)

I got this monitor recently but I am having issues setting it up to even 144hz. On either Nvidia or Windows control panels, the highest refresh rate is 120hz. I am using a GTX 680.

Also, as far as the overclocking option, I have put the slider up to 165, but those options are still not appearing. I'd check the box for overclocking and close the menu, but whenever I open it again, the box is unchecked. The turbo option also puts my screen back down to 60hz, I have to restart it in the Nvidia Control Panel to get back to 120hz.

Not sure why any of this is happening

June 16, 2016 | 11:45 AM - Posted by natepayne

I have been hunting for a new monitor for my gaming needs, but I was hoping to have two on a two screen setup. Is the asus rog good enough for that? I have GTX 980ti if that makes a difference?

I work from home as a mobile app developer so I need two screens for coding.

eSport source say its probably the best on the market so I really do want one.

August 3, 2016 | 05:43 PM - Posted by PCPerp (not verified)

Excellent review Ryan, you sold me another piece of hardware. I've had my eye on this bad boy for a while now, and am looking forward to many sleepless nights of gaming glory to come. I just have a few questions:

1.About the backlight bleed that seems to randomly plague this model. I'm pretty much expecting a 50/50 chance I'll have to send it back. Does the model you reviewed have zero backlight bleed, or do you feel there is an 'acceptable' level considering the design?

2.How has this monitor faired over time? Have there been any dead pixels/ hardware issues etc?

Anyway, I can't wait to switch from my generic dell I've been playing on since 2010!

P.S. Can you recommend a fairly sturdy monitor arm that is compatible with this monitor? Thanks.

September 27, 2016 | 08:57 AM - Posted by Gaming Monitor Boy (not verified)

I think this is a great gaming monitor with gsync and 1440p, but people complain about it alot. I have found this guide that is great to compare different monitors.

https://www.monitornerds.com/

October 11, 2016 | 06:36 AM - Posted by Ohad (not verified)

I just bought the monitor. No BLB, just ips glow, which is perfectly fine. But colors look overstaturated and white point looks off. Will a color calibrater fix the issue, like the xrite i1 display pro? Should I invest in that?

October 25, 2016 | 11:28 PM - Posted by Larryguy

This monitor is still the best gaming option on the market? I've noticed some sites still have it ranked on top.

So, nice to see this review as well.

What is the minimum I can spend on a GPU to fully utilize this monitor? GTX 1060/RX480? Or do I need to go up to a 1070?

December 2, 2016 | 09:37 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Noticed this site also lists it as a 165Hz monitor: http://pc4u.org/best-gaming-monitor/

April 13, 2017 | 07:38 PM - Posted by gaminglad

certainly looks that way

August 19, 2017 | 01:58 PM - Posted by johnsnowkornar

I got this screen as of late however I am having issues setting it up to even 144hz. I've seen a few locales still have it positioned to finish everything.

August 7, 2018 | 02:17 AM - Posted by johnsnowkornar

I got this screen as of late however I am having issues setting it up to even 144hz. I've seen a few locales still have it positioned to finish everything.

I am Looking a new good 144HZ monitor now. Would any body can siggest me a best one.

February 2, 2018 | 11:53 PM - Posted by Jojo (not verified)

Yeah this guy has it and says it runs at 165Hz if you have at least a GTX 980, otherwise you're stuck at 144Hz max..

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.