Review Index:
Feedback

ASUS PB258Q Frameless 25-inch WQHD IPS Monitor Review

Subject: Displays
Manufacturer: ASUS

Introduction and First Impressions

The ASUS PB258Q is a "frameless" monitor with a full 2560x1440 resolution from a fairly compact 25-inch size, and at first glance it might appear to be a bare LCD panel affixed to a stand. This attractive design also features 100% sRGB coverage and full height/tilt/swivel and rotation adjustment. The price? Less than $400. We'll put it to the test to see just what kind of value to expect here.

View Full Size

A beautiful looking monitor even with nothing on the display

The ASUS PB258Q came out of nowhere one day when I was looking to replace a smaller 1080p display on my desk. Given some pretty serious size constraints I was hesitant to move up to the 27 - 30 inch range for 2560x1440 monitors, but I didn't want to settle for 1920x1080 again. The ASUS PB258Q intrigued me immediately not only due to its interesting size/resolution of 25-inch/1440p, but also for the claimed 100% sRGB coverage and fully adjustable stand. And then I looked over at the price. $376.99 shipped from Amazon with Prime shipping? Done.

View Full Size

The pricing (and compact 25-inch size) made it a more compelling choice to me than the PB278Q, ASUS's "professional graphics monitor" which uses a PLS panel, though this larger display has recently dropped in price to the $400 range. When the PB258Q arrived a couple of days later I was first struck by how compact it is, and how nice the monitor looked without even being powered up.

Read on for our complete review of the ASUS PB258Q frameless IPS monitor!!

We'll begin by going over the specs from ASUS:


Display
Panel Size: Wide Screen 25"(63.5cm) 16:9
Color Saturation : 100%(sRGB) 
Panel Backlight / Type : AH-IPS
True Resolution : 2560x1440
Pixel Pitch : 0.216mm
Brightness(Max) : 350 cd/㎡
ASUS Smart Contrast Ratio (ASCR) : 100000000:1 
Viewing Angle (CR≧10) : 178°(H)/178°(V)
Response Time : 5ms (Gray to Gray)
Display Colors : 16.7M
Flicker free

Video Feature
Trace Free Technology : Yes
SPLENDID Video Preset Modes : 8 Modes (sRGB Mode/Scenery Mode/Theater Mode/Standard Mode/Night View Mode/Game Mode/Reading Mode/Darkroom Mode)
Skin-Tone Selection : 3 Modes
Color Temperature Selection : 4 Modes
QuickFit (modes) : Yes (Letter/A4/Alignment Grid/Photo Modes)
Low Blue Light : Yes
HDCP support : Yes

Audio Features
Stereo Speakers : 2.5W x 2 Stereo RMS

Convenient Hotkey
SPLENDID Video Preset Mode Selection
Auto. Adjustment
Brightness Adjustment
Volume Adjustment
Input Selection
QuickFit

I/O Ports
Signal Input : HDMI/MHL, D-Sub, DisplayPort 1.2, Dual-link DVI-D
PC Audio Input : 3.5mm Mini-Jack 
Earphone jack : 3.5mm Mini-Jack

Mechanical Design
Chassis Colors : Black
Tilt : +20°~-5°
Swivel : Yes
Pivot : Yes
Height Adjustment : Yes
VESA Wall Mounting : 100x100mm
Frameless Design : Yes
Quick Release Stand Design : Yes

Dimensions
Phys. Dimension with Stand(WxHxD): 570.8 x 411.4 x 220mm
Phys. Dimension without Stand(WxHxD) :570.8 x 340.9 x 59.6mm (For VESA Wall Mount)


The PB258Q arrived in an ordinary-looking box far smaller than you might expect thanks to the monitor's compact design, and inside it was sandwiched between two thick layers of styrofoam and very well protected.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

Accessories are plentiful, and include a displayPort cable, dual-link DVI cable, HDMI cable, VGA cable, 3.5mm audio cable, power cord, a bracket for organizing cables on the back of the stand, and paperwork.

View Full Size

Right out of the box this display looks very different from most, and its "frameless" design is striking. There is only a thin strip of plastic trim surround the the sides and top of the display, with a much thicker bezel still present along the bottom edge.

View Full Size

View Full Size

Around back things look a lot more functional, and the display is easily adjusted for height and rotates smoothly.

View Full Size

The swivel functionality is different than that of my previous monitors (Dell) in that the entire base swivels on a rotating rubber foot.

View Full Size

The monitor was extremely easy to assemble thanks to a simple locking mechanism between base and display, and with a standard VESA mount the PB258Q allows for any number of custom installations without the base.

View Full Size

A look at the input options

OSD Menu

View Full Size

There is a plethora of veiwing modes and picture control adjustments available in the OSD menu. From a number of preset color modes, to blue light reduction, to separate color/saturation/tone controls, it's easy to get overwhelmed (just me?). For the purposes of this review I left it at sRGB since my concern was with color accuracy as I purchased the display for photo editing (and maybe a little gaming).

View Full Size

There is also an adjustable overdrive control provided under the "Trace Free" heading, with individual controls from 0 - 100.

So how does the display look? Read on for a look at color performance.


August 21, 2015 | 01:35 PM - Posted by Shambles (not verified)

Yup, that's a frame I see.

August 21, 2015 | 02:16 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Yeah, completely disappointed to not see Asus called out on this. that is definitely not frameless as people would think when you said that to them - which is weasely anyway; they're trying to sidestep the connotation of "bezel-free" in a very technical way.

December 11, 2015 | 12:09 PM - Posted by realist (not verified)

There is no such thing as a truly "frameless" display. It's a marketing term. This one is as frameless as any.

August 21, 2015 | 02:43 PM - Posted by Esa (not verified)

Awww, it does have a bezel, I got so excited. Mostly I blame Josh for that :(

August 21, 2015 | 03:06 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

I also blame Josh. For most things.

August 21, 2015 | 02:44 PM - Posted by Heavy (not verified)

what no VRR?

August 21, 2015 | 03:09 PM - Posted by Arul

Amazing one for this price point.

August 21, 2015 | 05:12 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It's funny (but also sad) to see technology standards drop over time. 600-1800:1 contrast/0.03 minimum black level with unrealistically low brightness is now considered "extremely good black levels", when even a 15 year old CRT will put out much better numbers.

August 21, 2015 | 05:26 PM - Posted by DrDieLess (not verified)

Regardless of what card you use, you could have easily adjusted your picture and made it frameless. I have the issue with my htpc system. I adjust the overscan (I think that's the setting, been a while since i had to use it) and my fancy near frameless TV (LG LM7600) looks as it should.

August 21, 2015 | 06:51 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Not sure if you are trolling or just plain dumb.

August 21, 2015 | 06:45 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

DrDieLess: I believe what the review is stating is that the display actually stops .25" from the edge of the housing, which accounts for the gap. Overscan can't help. It's just dead plastic in there.

August 21, 2015 | 07:15 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

You're right. The panel has an internal frame that is simply covered by the plastic screen overlay, probably blacked out around the edge from the other side (I'm guessing since I don't feel adventurous enough to open it up). It's about the same as my Samsung TV, which has a visible bezel that's about a 0.25" width.

August 21, 2015 | 07:57 PM - Posted by Joe (not verified)

just curious as to the refresh rate on this monitor, didnt see anything about that in the article. or maybe i missed it, just curious though.

August 21, 2015 | 10:08 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

Oh yeah, sorry. This is just a standard 60 Hz display. No variable refresh either. There is adjustable pixel overdrive for faster response time, but otherwise a pretty basic IPS monitor.

August 21, 2015 | 11:41 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

do you happen to know of some other options for 2560x1440 resolution with a size of under 27 inches?

August 22, 2015 | 08:22 AM - Posted by biohazard918

well there is this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824009728 pretty damn similar only its 260 usd.

August 22, 2015 | 03:31 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

yep. did some digging, theres a dell thats 24" 1440p P2416D and 25" 1440p U2515H, and also this samsung thats 23.6 inches but has a resolution of 3840x2160 http://www.samsung.com/us/computer/monitors/LU24E590DS/ZA

August 23, 2015 | 10:05 AM - Posted by Pixy Misa (not verified)

There's another Samsung 24" 4K model as well: http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-23-5-3840-2160-1000/dp/B010MZV484

Looks like the same panel and electronics but with a better stand (height, tilt, swivel, and pivot).

More details here from an Australian store: https://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=...

August 22, 2015 | 02:19 AM - Posted by 63jax

omg, i'm in love, i so really want that shit!!!!

August 22, 2015 | 02:29 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Your display testing results are woefully inadequate. Why would your target white point be 5800k? 6500k is the industry standard... You show the grayscale dE's from HCFR but don't show the results for RGBYCM 0% - 100% color saturation, color checker patterns, Luminance, or Gamma measurements. Just because a display can do close to 100% of the sRBG gamut doesn't mean that it accurately can display color and none of the data that's provided shows this.

Ditch the Spyder, they're known for not being accurate. A better investment is the X-Rite i1Display Pro. Also don't trust the manufacturer's automatic software calibration, use ArgyllCMS. It's freeware and can tighten up the display better than the manufacturer's easy button software and has more control for changing the Gamma curve/correction.

Please take this as constructive criticism, I see this sort of incomplete display tests on most reviews of PC based displays. Take a look at Tom's Hardware and how they do the display testing, they use different software (CalMAN) but they provide more data though not quite as much as I'd like. BTW this is the first time I've seen this site for reviews so sorry if this has been mentioned before.

August 22, 2015 | 07:08 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

Target white point was based on Datacolor software recommendation. Based on the parameters of the review (i.e. consumer colorimeter, consumer software) clearly your needs will not be met reading this article. It sounds like you are looking for a review with more professional instrumentation/measurements.

August 22, 2015 | 08:04 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Sorry if I came off like a jerk, my point is you have a tool that most other places that review displays don't have and you're in a unique position of being able to provide data other places don't/can't provide and you're only showing a tiny bit of that data that makes up the whole of if the display is accurate/quality. The measurement reports I mentioned only takes an additional minute or two to perform in HCFR since it can be automated and they provide much more in depth objective data regarding accuracy than anything the Datacolor software will show. I'm not even interested in this display, I saw it mentioned on [H]ardOCP and was curious as to what a "frameless" display looked like and was intrigued you had a Display testing section. I'm not a professional, I'm just an enthusiast that's learned about color calibration in the last 2 and half years and I keep stumbling across display reviews that leave out gobs of information regarding the accuracy but yet claim the display is accurate. If you're interested in learning more about using your Spyder with HCFR and ArgyllCMS for providing more comprehensive data for your display reviews just reply and I'll email you through the email in your profile, if not sorry I bothered you and carry on. :)

August 22, 2015 | 10:56 AM - Posted by PCPerFan (not verified)

25" 2560x1440 is really nice. I just wish this was offered in vrr or gsync.

August 22, 2015 | 03:33 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

last night i found http://www.samsung.com/us/computer/monitors/LU24E590DS/ZA

it supports amd freesync supposedly, not exactly the same, but very intriguing

August 23, 2015 | 01:56 AM - Posted by brisa117

Hmm... 4K at just under 24" would be interesting. I know alot of people like 4K at 27"+ because it provides more detail (PPI) on a big surface area, but 23.6" is a more traditional size monitor. I wonder how 4K would benefit these smaller sizes. Also, that price is outstanding for any 4K monitor!

Sebastian, you need to make Ryan send you one of these! And send me one while he's at it. Haha.

August 23, 2015 | 10:09 AM - Posted by Pixy Misa (not verified)

Samsung have a 32" version as well, though of course it's not exactly cheap.

And a 28" version, but that's a TN panel. A good TN panel (I'm using the previous model right now) but not as good as IPS/PLS. But I picked it up for A$499 (about US$360) so I'm not complaining.

August 24, 2015 | 11:16 AM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

I send Ryan 20 to 30 email requests a day for free 4k monitors. He has stopped responding.

August 22, 2015 | 06:28 PM - Posted by Screwyluie (not verified)

same as every other no bezel display, they just removed the plastic and extended the screen, but the lcd is no larger, still has the same large black border around the actual display area.

August 24, 2015 | 03:54 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Sweet monitor, and I am glad they are reviewing things that are more on the people who are budget consious and are looking for a good 1440p panel without the big price tag.

Can you please review the Acer G257HU?

It is $250 on Amazon and it is what I am considering buying since it seems to be the best sub >$250 monitor that I can find.

This monitor looks to be much better, but is it $100 better?

August 25, 2015 | 03:48 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It's "frameless" enough for me ! My next gaming monitor.
Amazon reviews are excellent as well.

August 26, 2015 | 09:05 AM - Posted by obababoy

Hmm. I have the MG279Q and can't see having a 1440p monitor smaller than that.

The frame-less marketing ploy irks me quite a bit. cell phones are theoretically frame-less these days...No reason why they can't actually do it on a monitor.

With that said price for what you get seems pretty decent but you are paying for the word "frameless"

Should be a Silver Award IMO.

October 10, 2015 | 07:49 PM - Posted by Leykis (not verified)

Yeah, because you own this monitor, right? So you know what grade it deserves.

I hate people who post stuff like this.

August 28, 2015 | 12:14 AM - Posted by Ng Khan Mein (not verified)

i hope this guy sebastian keeps review anything. he can review at all.. all gimmie!

September 4, 2015 | 04:59 PM - Posted by ashleyackley

Here I thought this was a true edge to edge display. I am not surprised they are cheating at this price point. The resolution is great for the price, and the features/ports are numerous.

This is going to be a great monitor for anyone who looked at the Catleap and said "I wish this had like, ports and options and metal and it fit on my desk and stuff". The name of the review should be "Catleap's little brother packs ports and features into a size sane for normal desks".

May 10, 2016 | 11:37 AM - Posted by T-O (not verified)

What were your settings after calibration? I don't have a Spyder yet and I'm looking for some decent settings.

May 16, 2016 | 08:31 AM - Posted by alain (not verified)

Hello
i'm looking to for a calibration profile.
can you share your setting pleasE ?
thanks

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.