Review Index:
Feedback

In Win 301 Tempered Glass Mini Tower Case Review

Manufacturer: In Win

Introduction and Case Exterior

The In Win 301 is a mini tower case with a tempered glass side panel that sells for less than $70. How good is it? Dollar for dollar it could be the best affordable case on the market right now. That's a pretty bold statement, and you'll just have to read the whole review to see if I'm right.

View Full Size

In Win is one of the most unique enclosure makers in the industry, with designs running from elegant simplicity to some of the most elaborate and expensive cases we’ve ever seen. Though well-known for the striking tou 2.0 and the show-stopping (and motorized) H-Frame, in recent years In Win has expanded its offering in the affordable enclosure space, and there is no better example of this than the case we have for you today.

The 301, smaller sibling to the 303, is beautiful in its simplicity, thoughtfully designed for ease of use (as we will see here), and very affordable - even with its tempered-glass side panel, a signature of In Win enclosures. Sound too good to be true? It is limited to micro-ATX and mini-ITX motherboards, but if you’re looking for an option for a small form-factor build with room for full-sized components, this might just end up on your short list. Let’s take a close look at this stylish mini-tower case!

View Full Size

Continue reading our review of the In Win 301 tempered glass mini-tower enclosure!


Specifications:

  • Colors: Black, White (as reviewed)
  • Case Type: Mini Tower
  • Case Material: Tempered Glass, SECC
  • M/B Compatibility: Micro-ATX, Mini-ITX
  • Expansion Slots: PCI-E x4
  • Internal Drive Bays 1x 3.5"/2.5", 2x 2.5"
  • Component Clearance:
    • VGA Card Length: 330 mm
    • CPU Heatsink Height :158 mm
    • PSU Length: 160 mm
  • Thermal Solution Compatibility
    • 2x 120 mm Front Fan / 240 mm Radiator
    • 1x 120 mm Rear Fan / 120 mm Radiator
    • 2x 120 mm Bottom Fan (Occupy a PCI-E slot)
  • Front Ports: 2x USB 3.0, HD Audio
  • Product Dimension (HxWxD): 365 x 208 x 370 mm (14.3 x 8.1 x 14.6 inches)
  • Net Weight: 6.57 kg (14.4 lbs)

In Win 301 Mini Tower pricing/availability: 

Case Exterior

View Full Size

We have the white version of the In Win 301, and this finish provides a nice contrast between the body and tinted glass side panel (and the case feet).

View Full Size

The front I/O is surrounded by a trim that lights up blue when the case is powered up, which the black version trades for a red color.

View Full Size

The glass side of the 301 - like most tempered glass cases - is virtually impossible to photograph without reflections. It looks fantastic in person, of course.

View Full Size

The rear side panel has an interesting venting system with a honeycomb pattern.

View Full Size

This side is attached with a pair of captured thumbscrews at the top and it quite easy to remove.

View Full Size

The back of the case is standard micro-ATX, with four expansion slots, a 120 mm fan mount, and upper PSU location.

View Full Size

The bottom of the case is supported by a stable plastic base that is finished with four rubber feet. As the bottom of the case can be used for fan intake there is a full-length screen filter that is easy to remove from the side:

View Full Size

On the next page we'll take a look inside the 301 and try out the build process.


November 21, 2017 | 02:24 PM - Posted by Benjamins (not verified)

I got this case for my GF and this is the best cheap small case hands down.

November 21, 2017 | 02:36 PM - Posted by djotter

I have been looking for a compact MATX case for a while, and since the Cerberus is unobtainium, I have been eyeing this case as a replacement for a Bitfenix Phenom M. But the size difference is minimal so hard to justify. Thanks for the review Sebastian :)

November 21, 2017 | 09:51 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

You're welcome!

November 22, 2017 | 02:47 AM - Posted by Mik (not verified)

Great review! really thank you, this is exactly what I was looking for.

This maybe a stupid question, but ..

Do you think I can fit 2x 120mm AIO coolers on the front of the case? one for CPU and the other for GPU ... this is exactly what I got in my system atm.

November 22, 2017 | 09:13 AM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

Thanks - and no, that wouldn't work. There wouldn't be enough room between the two since those rads extend beyond the size of the fan itself.

November 21, 2017 | 03:47 PM - Posted by Mr.Book

I can understand the PC Perspective Editors Choice award from an aesthetics perspective, but from an engineering and function perspective, it's a fail.

"In the front of the case there is a dual 120 mm fan mount, which will allow for the installation of intake fans..."

Fans it will mount, except there's no mention of the lack of clearance between the front fans and solid sheet of material that's the front panel. Those fans have no way of drawing the air required.

Not to mention the starved for air fans are then asked to push air across a rad. That hot air is then pushed across the components inside.

This review has left me scratching my head. Expected better journalism out of PCPer.

November 21, 2017 | 04:32 PM - Posted by Tim Verry

Hmm from the photos there looks to be a gap big enough to pull air frim that side honeycomb when the case is closed up. not ideal though sure.

November 21, 2017 | 09:47 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

"Fans it will mount, except there's no mention of the lack of clearance between the front fans and solid sheet of material that's the front panel. Those fans have no way of drawing the air required."

I did not mention a lack of clearance because the fans do have clearance. They are not directly against the front panel, and there is an adequate air gap. The fans can draw from the slots directly adjacent via the honeycomb pattern intake on the side panel, as mentioned in the review (not to mention indirectly via the bottom of the case - which is completely vented, including the area below the front fans).

"Not to mention the starved for air fans are then asked to push air across a rad. That hot air is then pushed across the components inside."

You are describing the issue all cases have when you choose to front-mount a rad, and then blow the air accross components. Unless you set up with a reverse airflow, front-mounting always creates the potential for warmer air inside the case, which makes proper exhaust all the more important. Once again, not a problem exclusive to any one case, and therefore not worth detracting from any one case.

November 21, 2017 | 04:56 PM - Posted by Badedas523 (not verified)

Bit late for this case review, as the RGB version of this case, the 301c, is already available (limited quantities for now). I'm after the 301c in White.

Regarding the air intake:
As clearly stated on Inwin's website, the main air intake comes from the bottom, hence the room for two 120mm fans.
Same goes for the bigger ones: the 303 /303c, 101 / 101c

November 21, 2017 | 05:13 PM - Posted by LauRoman

What's the point of using a mITX board in a mATX case if you can't show clearences for ports?

November 21, 2017 | 09:50 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

I did it because I have an ATX test platform for most cases, and a mini-ITX platform for smaller cases. So few of the cases I get in for review are micro-ATX that I didn't invest in a micro-ATX platform, as mini-ITX can occupy all smaller case designs. If more micro-ATX designs start coming in for review, I'll have to re-evalute that position.

November 22, 2017 | 12:20 AM - Posted by LauRoman

I am asking because i came across a case that was advertised as supporting a full width atx case and two optical drives, but surprise, surprise, it could not do both evend if it was advertised as it had support. Also a lot of cheap cases, may seem to have access holes for cable management, but some do not fit the cable plugs if the sata ports are parallel to the motherboard...

November 22, 2017 | 12:20 AM - Posted by LauRoman

weird double-post...

November 27, 2017 | 12:22 PM - Posted by Rocky123 (not verified)

Yea the lack of front air movement would make this a no go for me. Yea it has those tiny vents but you lose about 30% air volume for every 90 degree turn you force sir to do. Just go over to GN and see what these new cases are all about and how they turn your PC into a hot box (sweat Box).

Case makers need to realize most of us that want cases do actually want it to not only look good but to function good as well. With the lack of thinking going into most of the new cases now days I hope that more people like me just say enough is enough and stop buying into all of this and force the case makers to rethink their designs.

November 27, 2017 | 12:25 PM - Posted by Rocky123 (not verified)

I just wanted to add that yes the case does look very nice and thank you for the review of it. I also know a case like this or most of the other new designs they put out now days that my PC would die in about a week since it has pretty much everything overclocked and it depends on high air movement to keep itself running nice and cool.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.