Feedback

Video Perspective: Corsair Bulldog - An HTPC Designed for 4K Gaming

Author:
Manufacturer: Corsair

Woof

The Corsair Bulldog, version 2.0, is now shipping and upgrades the internal components to a Z270 motherboard and upgrade fans with improved noise profiles. Other than that, the Bulldog looks, style, form and function remain unchanged.
 
 
The design is likely still dividing opinions; the short squat form factor with angular exterior will appeal to some, but the dimensions are perfectly suited to sitting in or around a TV and entertainment center. And because of the spacing and design of the interior, the mini ITX form factor can support any performance level of GPU and Intel's latest Kaby Lake processors. This gives users the flexibility to build for ultimate performance, making the dream of a 4K-ready gaming PC in the living room a possibility.
 
View Full Size
 
Our quick video review will talk about the design, installation process and our experiences with the system running some premium components.
 
View Full Size
  • Corsair Bulldog 2.0 (includes case, PSU, MB and CPU cooler)
  • Intel Core i7-7700K
  • 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4
  • Corsair Z270 Motherboard mini ITX
  • Corsair Hydro GTX 1080
  • 480GB Neutron GTX SSD
  • 600 watt Corsair PSU

The barebones kit starts at $399 through Corsair.com and includes the case, the motherboard, CPU cooler and 600-watt power supply. Not a bad price for those components!

View Full Size

You won't find any specific benchmarks in the video above, but you will find some impressions playing Resident Evil 7 in HDR mode at 4K resolution with the specs above, all on an LG OLED display. (Hint: it's awesome.) 


February 20, 2017 | 02:36 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Glossy plastic... Dust magnet
Stupid decision, should be all alu.

February 21, 2017 | 09:47 AM - Posted by Rob Sluban (not verified)

I think it's just glossy on the front, the rest I believe is a mat finish ?

February 20, 2017 | 03:51 PM - Posted by zurv (not verified)

Hopefully you installed the HDR lag patch for the TV.
the TV looks like a b6.

The latest firmware has a HDR-game mode. Last i looked you still had to manually install the firmware via USB. (maybe they added to TVs autoupdate via the internet.. but do check. 04.30.77 is the latest.)

LG's website, support, dirvers/firmware, browse by product, tv, oled, and you model.

[03.10.19] 
1. To apply Netflix promotion 
2. To improve 'No signal' problem happening upon HDCP 2.2 certification 
3. To improve HDR performance with 4K Blu-Ray player connection 

[03.15.07] 
1. Apply to Dolby HDR for VUDU 
2. Apply to HDR PQ for Amazon 

[03.15.25] 
1.Improve Dolby HDR Pop-up issue 

[04.30.40] 
1. Improve that motion remote controller doesn’t work after blue-tooth initialization pop-up. 
2. Improve the lip-sync issue in RF DTV. 

[04.30.65] 
1. Improve the Sony PS4 Pro no signal issue (HDCP fail)

[04.30.77]
1. Apply the HDR Game mode.

February 22, 2017 | 11:07 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

Yup, we did. You have to install that update manually, from USB.

February 20, 2017 | 06:09 PM - Posted by PCPerFan (not verified)

If they call it 4k and high-end, then they get to charge extra for a case that is at least twice as big as it needs to be. This is not SFF folks.

February 20, 2017 | 09:38 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I don't see anyone claiming it's SFF.

February 21, 2017 | 12:10 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

The barebones kit starts at $399 through Corsair.com and includes the case, the motherboard, CPU cooler and 600-watt power supply. Not a bad price for those components!

$150 mobo
$100 case
$70 psu
$30 cooler
----
$350

on sale
$100 mobo
$70 case
$50 psu
$20 cooler
----
$240

but hey, i guess with these cheaper builds you don't get that glorious cable wiring like in that picture

February 21, 2017 | 12:12 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

i didn't see that water cooler under those wires... add $60 to each build

$410 & $300

If it goes on sale for $300 then not to bad.

February 21, 2017 | 11:01 AM - Posted by Dustin Sklavos (not verified)

The water cooler is mounted to the side, it's visible in the photo.

The motherboard we're using is a derivative of MSI's $180 Z270I GAMING PRO CARBON. The PSU is our SF600, which retails for $120+. The liquid cooler is ~$70 if you find a generic one for sale. That leaves, what, $30 for the chassis?

We didn't cheap out on any of the parts here.

February 22, 2017 | 12:12 AM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

Listen to Dustin! As someone who builds a LOT of systems, and tests various enclosures and coolers, I can say that this is actually a very good value. A mini-ITX Z270 board of any kind is going to be over $120 (the cheapest on Newegg currently is $123.99), and Corsair is using a higher-quality option with that MSI model. SFX power supplies are pricey to get high power density, and I paid $95 for my 450W model, and the SF600 is indeed $119.99 right now. The cheapest liquid coolers on Newegg are $59.99. Someone like me, parting out a build on Newegg (yes, I know I can chase deals around using other sites) would START with 288.97 in my cart before looking for any better options for motherboard or liquid CPU cooling. Based on my preferences/experiences I would not get the budget board for Z270, so my cart price would move up another $60 to the ASUS or MSI option available. So now I'm at $348.97, and that only gives me $50 for a case. I can get a decent case for this amount, but that leaves me right where we started - $399 - and I'm in a pretty boring case for $50.

Here's the thing: mini-ITX is more expensive, and it always has been. These arguments about bottom-of-the-barrel pricing and the lowball numbers are generally assuming ATX and a low-end PSU and case. And for those who rip on compact designs and small form-factor, I get it, but you clearly aren't the target consumer if all you care about is rock-bottom pricing regardless of design or quality.

February 21, 2017 | 10:46 AM - Posted by Rob Sluban (not verified)

Can we get specs on the TV..?
What is it's refresh rate in Game Mode, does it have adaptive refresh ?

How's the response time and input lag..?

Please review the TV as a gaming platform in 4K HDR!!!!

February 21, 2017 | 11:54 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

A lot of good info on the B6 here, including the response time and input lag accross the various inputs/resolutions. http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/lg/b6?uxtv=abea

February 22, 2017 | 09:05 AM - Posted by billb (not verified)

Is there an nvme connection underneath like the msi 270 mobo that supports optane?

February 25, 2017 | 01:53 PM - Posted by Dustin Sklavos (not verified)

Yes. :)

February 23, 2017 | 08:02 AM - Posted by Ghigo (not verified)

We need soon a ryzen version :)