Review Index:
Feedback

Thermaltake Core X9 E-ATX Cube Chassis Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Introduction

***Editor's Note*** - Before getting into the nuts and bolts of the Core X9, please understand that this initial review is meant as a detailed introduction into the capabilities and build strengths of the Core X9 E-ATX Cube Chassis. A deeper look into the advanced capabilities of this monstrous case will be explored in a soon to be released follow-up article. Stay tuned to PC Perspective for the follow-up.

View Full Size

Courtesy of Thermaltake

The Thermaltake Core X9 E-ATX Cube Chassis is one of the largest and most configurable they've developed. The case is roughly cube shaped with a steel and plastic construction. The height and depth of the unit allows the Core X9 to support up to quad-fan radiators mounted to its top or sides and up to a tri-fan radiator in front. At an MSRP of $169.99, the Core X9 E-ATX Cube Chassis features a competitive price in light of its size and configurability.

View Full Size

Courtesy of Thermaltake

View Full Size

Courtesy of Thermaltake

The Core X9 case was designed to be fully modular, supporting a variety of build configurations to be able to adapt to the whatever build style the end user can dream up. The case comes with a variety of mounts for mounting fans or liquid cooling radiators to the top, side, or bottom of the case. Additionally, Thermaltake integrated three 5.25" device bays as well as two hard drive bays supporting up to three drives each. The chassis motherboard is removable as well for easy install of the motherboard into the system. The chassis itself can be easily segregated into upper and lower sections for controlling system and component heat flow if desired.

View Full Size

Courtesy of Thermaltake

View Full Size

Courtesy of Thermaltake

Until you can acurately visually just how many radiators and fans that this case supports, you really don't have a feel for the immense size of the Core X9. From front to back, the case support 4 x 120mm fans or a 480mm radiator along either of its lower sides or in the dual top mounts. On top, you can actually mount a total of eight 120mm fans or dual 480mm radiators if you so choose. And that doesn't take into account the additional two 140mm fans that can be mounted in the upper and lower sections of the case's rear panel, nor the three 120mm fans, dual 200mm fans, or 360mm radiator that can be mounted to the case's front panel.

Continue reading our review of the Thermaltake Core X9 Cube chassis!

View Full Size

Courtesy of Thermaltake

View Full Size

Courtesy of Thermaltake

In addition to its vast fan/radiator mounting space, the Core X9 control asembly and side panels are ambidextrous. The case has mount points on both the front left and front right to accommodate the case control panel with a blank panel included for the other side. Further, the included sides panels can be used on either side of the case, so that you can have the full sized window panel on the right side instead of the left if desired. Thermaltake also sells a variety of other panels with which to customize the case, including side panels with upper windows only.

Technical Specifications (taken from the Thermaltake website)

P/N CA-1D8-00F1WN-00
Case Type E-ATX Cube Case
Dimension
(H x W x D)
502 x 380 x 640 mm
(19.8 x 15 x 25.2 inch)
Net Weight 17 kg / 37.5 lb
Side Panel Transparent Window
Color Exterior & Interior:
Black
Material SPCC
Cooling System Front (intake):
200 x 200 x 30 mm fan (800rpm, 13dBA)

Rear (exhaust):
120 x 120 x 25 mm Turbo fan (1000rpm, 16dBA)

Drive Bays - Accessible:
3 x 5.25"

- Hidden:
6 x 3.5" or 2.5" (HDD Cage)
1 x 3.5", 2 x 2.5" (M/B Tray)

Expansion Slots 8
Motherboards 6.7” x 6.7” (Mini ITX)
9.6” x 9.6” (Micro ATX)
12” x 9.6” (ATX)
12” x 13” (Extend ATX)
I/O Ports USB 3.0 x 4
HD Audio x 1
PSU Standard PS2 PSU (optional)
Supports 1/2”, 3/8”, 1/4” water tube
Fan Support Front:
3 x 120mm
2 x 140mm
2 x 200mm

Top:
8 x 120mm
6 x 140mm
2 x 200mm

Rear:
2 x 120mm or 2 x 140mm

Bottom:
3 x 120mm

Left / Right Side:
4 x 120mm
3 x 140mm

Radiator Support Front:
1 x 120mm or 1 x 240mm or 1 x 360mm
1 x 140mm or 1 x 280mm

Top:
2 x 120mm or 2 x 240mm or 2 x 360mm or 2 x 480mm
2 x 140mm or 2 x 280mm or 2 x 420mm

Rear:
1 x 120mm or or 1 x 140mm

Left / Right Side:
1 x 120mm or 1 x 240mm or 1 x 360mm or 1 x 480mm
1 x 140mm or 1 x 280mm or 1 x 420mm

Bottom:
1 x 120mm or 1 x 240mm or 1 x 360mm or 1 x 480mm
1 x 140mm or 1 x 280mm or 1 x 420mm

Clearance U cooler height limitation:
250mm

VGA length limitation:
400mm(with ODD cage)
590mm(without ODD cage)

PSU length limitation:
220mm (With Bottom Fan)


February 29, 2016 | 11:53 AM - Posted by G.Peterson (not verified)

This is similar in concept to my Caselabs M8.... only a whole lot cheaper. It's nice to have coaster wheels though, especially when you watercool and have several liters of water in the loop. After all, a case that's difficult to move, won't get flushed.

February 29, 2016 | 12:11 PM - Posted by Evo01

Great overview Morry.I just got the white version of this case. Love it so far. With just the stock fans my 5960X is running 10c cooler. Can't wait for the follow up.

February 29, 2016 | 01:42 PM - Posted by Mnemonicman

Got this case for my father's PC. Didn't quite realize just how large the case really was. Not complaining. It was a joy to work with. After dealing with an Antec 300 it was nice to have all the extra room for activities and a PC.

February 29, 2016 | 02:41 PM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

It is a very large case.  Really got my feel of how large it was when I hauled it to a LAN party earlier in the year.  That being said, it is a joy to work with and has more space than most of us could fill (though I've done my part in trying :))...

March 1, 2016 | 11:30 AM - Posted by Qrash

Huh. I've been going in the opposite direction lately, towards smaller more space efficient cases. I can't imagine lugging this case around!

February 29, 2016 | 02:24 PM - Posted by hoxlund

think i might have found a replacement for my fractal design r5. running an e-atx mobo in that and it is cramped. MSI X99A Xpower AC

February 29, 2016 | 07:45 PM - Posted by Randy (not verified)

I love the way this case looks. I wouldn't mind doing a build in it in the future.

March 1, 2016 | 01:10 AM - Posted by quest4glory

Bought this case last summer. It's been good, other than the flimsy side panels. I've filled it up.

March 1, 2016 | 02:16 AM - Posted by neroglance (not verified)

I own this case and honestly I moved to it from a Corsair 900D and I couldn't be happier with it. My Corsair had so many quality control issues with things not lining up right after spending $350 for a case and this one only being $140 with tax and its quality was amazing. I wish I could get a Caselabs case but honestly I can't justify spending a large amount on a case after my burn with Corsair's. One complaint I do have with the case is the motherboard tray. I wish it doubled as a midplate so I could not see the rads and stuff below but I solved that with a piece of black acrylic I just cut a whole new motherboard tray and had it extended all the way to the front panel.

March 1, 2016 | 10:15 AM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

I was thinking about doing something similar, not necessarily replacing the entir try, but more extending it forward with 1/4 acrylic and adding a side piece in front of the window, with some type of backlit design...

March 1, 2016 | 07:57 AM - Posted by J (not verified)

I've been looking for something like this that was cheaper than Caselabs and not fugly like Mountainmods. Looks good.

March 4, 2016 | 10:30 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

OH DEAR... This is just an fugly, made in china and bad copy of the Caselabs S8 or the smaller S8S. If you don't believe it look for some images.
They also took the very little details, incredible, pedestal concept included.Even every grill is in the same exact position. I wouldn't be surprised if it also had the same exact dimensions. If I was between the designers that worked on this thing I would feel embarassed.

But this is not even the first.. They also copied other designs from the Caselabs lineup.

SHAME !

March 4, 2016 | 10:41 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

* Actually after looking at it even better I noticed has tyhe same height of a S8 but it's longer, as it supports 480 rads instead of the 360s.
I also noticed the grills have the same exact mesh design.. At least they could've change that.

March 4, 2016 | 11:57 PM - Posted by biblicabeebli

What in the What is a 540mm radiator. 140*4=560.

March 4, 2016 | 11:57 PM - Posted by biblicabeebli

What in the What is a 540mm radiator. 140*4=560.

March 5, 2016 | 02:18 PM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

A 540mm radiator is 3x180mm, not a very well known or wide-spread size, but supported according to the Thermaltake documentation...

March 10, 2016 | 01:47 AM - Posted by Nick (not verified)

Morry, did you try to fit a drive in the five and a quarter inch bays?
i have the X1 and the drive does not fit flush with the front of the case, just wondering if all the Core X cases are like this

http://imgur.com/wQ7vkpi
http://imgur.com/ewTVICb
http://imgur.com/OlyaKh7

March 10, 2016 | 02:50 PM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

The Core X9 is similar, where a device mounted in the 5.25" bay is not flush with the front...

March 22, 2016 | 12:40 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Thanks a lot for featuring this! I got my eye on it back when it was mentioned on "pick of the week". Got it based on this review to replace Cooler Master Sniper case, which had issues with drive cages, cable management and cleaning. Loving horizontal motherboard mount and the ways that I can route multiple SATA cables. Was thoroughly confused, however, on how best to install case fans and direction of push/pull that would be effective for something this large. Looking forward to advanced version to get more ideas on how to play with it.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.