Review Index:
Feedback

Thermalright TRUE Spirit 140 Direct CPU Air Cooler Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Introduction

View Full Size

Courtesy of Thermalright

Thermalright is a well established brand-name, known for their high performance air coolers. Their newest edition to the TRUE Spirit Series line of air coolers, the TRUE Spririt 140 Direct, is a redesigned version of their TRUE Spirit 140 Power air cooler offering a similar level of performance at a lower price point. The Thermalright TRUE Spirit 140 Direct cooler is a slim, single tower cooler featuring a nickle-plated copper base and an aluminum radiator with a 140mm fan. Additionally, Thermalright designed the cooler to be compatible with all modern platforms. The TRUE Spirit 140 Direct cooler is available with an MSRP $46.95.

View Full Size

Courtesy of Thermalright

View Full Size

Courtesy of Thermalright

View Full Size

Courtesy of Thermalright

View Full Size

Courtesy of Thermalright

The Thermalright TRUE Spirit 140 Direct cooler consists of a single finned aluminum tower radiator fed by five 6mm diameter nickel-plated copper heat pipes in a U-shaped configuration. The cooler can accommodate up to two 140mm fans, but comes standard with a single fan only. The fans are held to the radiator tower using metal clips through the radiator tower body. The cooler is held to the CPU using screws on either side of the mount plate that fix to the unit's mounting cage installed to the motherboard.

Continue reading our review of the Thermalright TRUE Spirit 140 Direct CPU air cooler!

View Full Size

Courtesy of Thermalright

The cooler is topped with a black colored plate with the five heat pipes coming through the top plate and capped. The holes for securing the fan mounts are to the outside of the heat pipes with the mount wires fitting directly into the provided holes. Note that the Thermalright corporate logo has been incorporated into the top plate of the cooler as well.

View Full Size

Courtesy of

Courtesy of Thermalright

 

The nickel-plated heat pipes are press fit into the base plate, forming the CPU mating surface. The heat pipes have been machined flat to ensure optimal mating with the CPU surface. Note the small valleys in between the heat pipes because of the construction method used for the base plate. These "valleys" do not appear to negatively impact the cooler to CPU mating nor the cooler's performance.

Technical Specifications (taken from the manufacturer website)

Heatsink Specifications
Dimension L140mm x W77mm x H161mm
Weight 650g
Heat pipes 6mm heatpipe x 5 units
Motherboard Compatibility Intel: Socket LGA 775 / 1150 / 1151 / 1155 / 1156 / 1366 / 2011 / 2011-3

AMD: Socket AM2/AM2+/AM3/AM3+/AM4/FM1/FM2/FM2+

TY-140 Black FAN Spec
Dimension L152 mm x W140 mm x H26.5 mm
Weight 160g
Rated Speed 300 – 1300 RPM
Noise Level 15 – 21dBA
Air Flow 16.9 - 73.6 CFM
Connector 4 Pin (PWM Fan connector)

June 26, 2017 | 02:31 PM - Posted by Doesn'tletmepostasanon (not verified)

link on the main page leads to pcper main page, not to the article

June 26, 2017 | 11:19 PM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

Fixed, thanks for pointing that out...

June 26, 2017 | 03:10 PM - Posted by pdjblum

thanks for the review

relatively small footprint and stands up very well against the mighty Noctua, so definitely going on my list of parts to consider for future builds

and it has ryzen support, awesome

June 27, 2017 | 01:26 PM - Posted by Lucidor

At the bottom of the 'Features and Design' page:
'If their was any variation in height between the heat pipes...'
Under 'Included Accessories':
'The socket top is then put on top of the CPU / space plate adn locked in place.'
At the top of the 'Conclusion' page:
'... impressive peice of kit...'
In the middle of the 'Conclusion' page:
'...small single tower radistor...'
Also, you spell 'upper-most' with a hyphen, but 'innermost' without one. I don't know which spelling is correct, but surely you should at least be consistent.

June 27, 2017 | 02:47 PM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

Thank you for the feedback, this has all been corrected...

June 27, 2017 | 05:17 PM - Posted by agello24 (not verified)

one hell of a review. i usually would look passed thermalright, and would focus on enermax, coolermaster and deepcool. i may consider getting one for my ryzen 5 1600.

June 28, 2017 | 10:31 PM - Posted by KHeymans (not verified)

Thermalright have been around for a long time, way before Noctua became popular.
I am still using my first Thermalright that i had mounted on my AMD 6400+ , just had to buy a different mounting kit for socket 1151 when i upgraded. it is a Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme and its been in use for almost 10 years now ,replaced the fan about 3 times so far and have a Noctua fan on it right now.

June 29, 2017 | 02:57 PM - Posted by Eric (not verified)

I considered buying the True Spirit Direct for my personal Ryzen 1800x build, but opted for the larger True Spirit Power with the 8mm pipes, simply because I was curious and have a big enough case. Thermalright's site rates the 140 Power at 325 watts, but don't seem to have a rating for the 140 Direct. That's a lot of watts, I wonder if it would handle the new Intel X299 chips. (?)

The Power is intended for a big case, it's over 171mm tall and weighs 725 grams vs 161mm and 650 grams for the Direct. Honestly, the Power is overkill for the 1800x which runs cool no matter what I do to it. The Direct would have saved me $10, and kept it almost as cool.

I like the True Spirit series. They have great performance and are very space efficient. They are well built and look really good. Their fans seem to be excellent.

IMHO Thermalright is the Rolls Royce of air coolers. All four of our family computers are equipped with Thermalright coolers. I have a box full of old Thermalright video card and CPU coolers that I would like to use some day; these coolers seem to last forever.

July 2, 2017 | 03:24 PM - Posted by Donald Trump (not verified)

I personally am a big fan of their Macho series, although they are huge. But you must believe me, they're great coolers, and nobody does them as good as they do.

July 10, 2017 | 03:43 PM - Posted by agello24 (not verified)

what are your temps at with that cooler?

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.