Review Index:
Feedback

Seasonic PRIME Ultra 850W Titanium Power Supply

Author: Lee Garbutt
Manufacturer: Seasonic

Specifications and Packaging

Specifications

View Full Size

The Seasonic PRIME Ultra 850W Titanium power supply is rated for a combined, continuous output power of up to 850W at 50°C operating temperature. All of the PRIME Ultra Titanium Series PSUs incorporates a single +12V rail.  The PSU includes universal AC line input (automatically adjusts the AC line voltage) and active PFC (.95% to 1.00%), which makes the unit more environmentally friendly to the local power grid.  

PRIME Ultra 850W Titanium PSU Specifications (from the Seasonic website):

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

Packaging and Parts

The PRIME Ultra 850W Titanium power supply arrived securely packed inside a standard retail box highlighting the unit’s main features and specifications.  

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

The power supply is protected by thick foam inserts and wrapped in a classic black velvet bag with the Seasonic logo. In addition to the power supply, each box contains a power cord, mounting screws, Seasonic case badge, wire ties, Velcro cable wraps, a multi-language User Manual, Quick Installation Guide, bag of modular cables, and a PSU tester.

View Full Size

The included power supply tester can be used to start up the power supply before you install it into a system. Just attach the “tester” to the 24-pin ATX connector.


December 26, 2017 | 05:27 PM - Posted by Surely We Can Ask 4 More (not verified)

Nice Review. I always enjoy the details. : )

One question though. Are there any companies that are selling PSU's in the 700-900 Watt range, that have a better efficiency than Titanium ?

Dell was supposedly the first to get Titanium on the market, but I was wondering if there's a company that has been bold, and put a product that is beyond Titanium+ ?

Personally, I want the most efficient PSU possible, because of high room temps, due to climate of my country.

December 27, 2017 | 12:32 PM - Posted by Lee Garbutt

Thank you - we are glad you enjoy the reviews! Currently, within the 80 Plus Orginaization certification criteria, Titanium is the highest rating. Keep in mind that this is a minimum specification and a vendor can always produce a product that exceeds the criteria (even better efficiency). For example, if Seasonic came out with a new Super Ultra PSU that achieved 98% efficiency it would still be labelled a Titanium unit.

December 27, 2017 | 09:33 PM - Posted by Surely We Can Ask 4 More (not verified)

Thanks for the response Lee. : )

Do you know of any PSU's that meet the criteria that you mentioned ?

I thought you would be best to ask, because your company probably sees tons of titanium PSU's, and maybe you remember the literally best % efficiency PSU.

I would be very interested in buying a PSU that exceeds Titanium Standards.

If you can't remember any, that's alright, Titanium is great for now, but I'm always looking for better.

I have high temperatures where my PC sits, so every % point of efficiency, makes a big difference to me.

December 28, 2017 | 01:28 PM - Posted by Lee Garbutt

No, I am not aware of any ATX PSUs that operate up to 98% efficiency - sorry. Most of the "Titanium" series PSUs I have tested in the last year peak at about 94% efficiency.

If you really want to optomize the efficiency of your PC, make sure you match the PSU to the actual load your PC is pulling. For example in this review, the efficiency of the PRIME Ultra 850W Titanium peaks at about 60% load. Ideally you should measure the actual load of your PC with an inexpensive AC watt meter and then select a PSU that has a peak efficiency around that load. An 850W PSU would be ideal for a PC that draws 450~550W. Hope this helps.

December 29, 2017 | 07:38 PM - Posted by RealExascale (not verified)

Cooler Masters Made in Japan 1200W unit exceeds Titanium standards.

That being said, why do you need such high efficiency? 80 Plus ratings are a scam and youre better off with a bronze unit thats high quality than some arbitrarily 80 plus titanium rated thing.

January 3, 2018 | 01:14 PM - Posted by dan the grammar man (not verified)

Ya why would anyone want to know what efficiency to expect with a shiny marketing sticker. I mean like c'mon the bronze is good enough for gaming right but it is just arbitrary anyways. Who cares I can get a 300W supply for like 15 bucks 80 plus standards are such a sham.

December 26, 2017 | 08:10 PM - Posted by Dark_wizzie

How long is a power supply run at say, 450w to test the temperature of air coming out and noise?

December 27, 2017 | 12:34 PM - Posted by Lee Garbutt

We test a PSU for 30 minutes at each load point to let temperatures equilibrate.

December 27, 2017 | 01:14 AM - Posted by Eric (not verified)

I bought a Prime Titanium 650 about 8 months ago. What makes this new model any different?

For example, it says: "The PRIME Ultra Series builds upon the PRIME Titanium platform by delivering extremely tight voltage regulation on the three primary rails (+3.3V, +5V and +12V) and providing superior AC ripple and noise suppression with an extended hold-up time."

Does that mean the Ultra has better voltage regulation, AC ripple and noise suppression? They're both Titanium rated, so should have the same basic specs.

Then we get this "informative" blurb: "This leading member of the series boasts an improved DC to DC converter design where pins and a copper plate replace cables to connect the back panel and the PCB for increased efficiency."

Does that mean the original Prime DOESN'T have pins and a copper plate?

The packaging looks exactly the same as the one I got, and there is no Ultra marking on the box.

Help me out here...

December 27, 2017 | 01:18 AM - Posted by Dark_wizzie

From their website: 'Each PRIME Ultra Series power supply will also ship with a SATA 3.3 adapter to support the “Power Disable” (PWDIS) feature of the newer, high-capacity hard drives. The inline capacitors on the cables were removed, which takes away the bulkiness inside the system. To maximize flexibility, the 180-degree SATA connectors ensuring more flexibility and easier installation.'

December 27, 2017 | 12:52 PM - Posted by Lee Garbutt

The new "Ultra" series incorporates minor tweaks to the basic PRIME Titanium platform. The features the reader above pointed out are the most obvious external differences. Internally the new Ultra series appears virtually identical - Seasonic doesn't say what minor tweaks they may have made to the circuit design, but I'm guessing they are minor as the PRIME Titanium was already a VERY GOOD platform. I believe the earlier PRIME Titanium units (without the Ultra name) also had the pins & plate. Seasonic is just pointing this out as an included feature. If you have a PRIME Titanium PSU you don't need to worry about missing out on any big improvements. As far as basic performance parameters, I have seen no real difference between the original PRIME Titanium and the new Ultra models: same great efficiency, voltage regulation, AC ripple suppression, etc.!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.