Review Index:
Feedback

Phanteks Eclipse P400S Silent Edition Mid-Tower Case

Author:
Manufacturer: Phanteks

Introduction, Features and Specifications

Introduction

Phanteks currently sells cases, CPU coolers, cooling fans, and PC accessories. They recently added the Eclipse Series to their case lineup, which includes two models, the Eclipse P400 and the Eclipse P400S (silent edition). Both the P400 and P400S are available with black, white, or gray finishes and can be purchased with or without a side window. We will be taking a detailed look at the Phanteks Eclipse P400S ATX mid-tower, closed-panel case (no side window) in this review.

View Full Size

Phanteks Eclipse P400S Silent Edition ATX Mid-Tower Case
Satin Black, Glacier White, or Anthracite Gray
with, or without a side window

The Eclipse P400S silent edition case comes with an integrated 3-speed fan controller and two quiet 120mm fans (one intake and one exhaust). The P400S incorporates sound dampening panels on the front, top and both sides. And in addition to quiet cooling, the Eclipse P400 and P400S cases feature selectable, 10-color RGB LED lights at the bottom of the front panel for some interesting lighting effects. Two internal 2.5” SSD bays and two internal 3.5” HDD bays are included but there are no 5.25” external drive bays.

View Full Size

Phanteks Eclipse P400S ATX Mid-Tower Case Key Features:
•    Mid-Tower ATX enclosure (WxHxD, 210x465x470mm, 8.3x18.3x18.5”)
•    Supports E-ATX, ATX, Micro-ATX and Mini-ITX motherboards
•    Very quiet case for noise sensitive applications
•    Sound dampening panels on front, sides, and top
•    Easily removed dust filters on front, top and bottom panels
•    Two included case fans (120mm intake and 120mm exhaust)
•    Three-speed fan controller included
•    (2) USB 3.0, mic and headphone jacks on the top I/O panel
•    Two internal 3.5” HDD / 2.5” SSD trays
•    Two internal 2.5” SSD mounting brackets behind mobo tray
•    Tool-free mounting for 3.5” HDDs
•    Up to 395mm (15.2”) for long graphic cards
•    Up to 280mm (11.0”) clearance (with optional 3.5” HDD cages installed)
•    Up to 160mm (6.3”) of space for tall CPU coolers
•    Price: $79.99 USD

Please continue reading our Phanteks Eclipse P400S case review!!!

Packaging

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

The Phanteks Eclipse P400S case arrived securely packed inside a standard retail box illustrating the enclosure’s main features and specifications.  The case comes wrapped in a plastic bag and is protected by two large Styrofoam inserts.

View Full Size

Located inside the case is a small box that contains an Installation Guide, wire-ties, hardware, and two top panel dust filters.

View Full Size

Specifications

The Phanteks Eclipse P400S silent edition mid-tower case is designed for budget-minded users who are looking for a quiet case for their next build. The P400S comes with two internal cooling fans pre-installed with four additional locations for adding more fans or liquid cooling radiator(s) if desired.

View Full Size

(Courtesy of Phanteks)

View Full Size

Eclipse P400S silent edition mid-tower case Specifications:

View Full Size

View Full Size

Optional liquid cooling radiator mounting locations:

View Full Size

(Courtesy of Phanteks)

Video News


April 13, 2016 | 09:32 PM - Posted by ReconFX786 (not verified)

Is the front face panel steel/metal or is it plastic? Which bits are ABS on this case?

April 14, 2016 | 09:10 AM - Posted by Lee Garbutt

The front face plate and trim pieces are plastic.

February 4, 2017 | 12:05 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

That is not true for mine, front panel is metal. The solid top vent covers are plastic, the HDD drive caddies, some other misc parts are plastic, the rest is metal.

April 13, 2016 | 10:03 PM - Posted by Old Fat Guy (not verified)

I worry a little when I see the power supply area closed in like that as I would normally install a fanless power supply in a case that size and would like the surrounding area to be totally open.

April 14, 2016 | 09:12 AM - Posted by Lee Garbutt

That lower section shroud is removable if you don't want it or need more room.

February 4, 2017 | 12:07 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It also has a downward power supply vent with an air filter.

April 14, 2016 | 03:54 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Clean AF

July 28, 2016 | 12:57 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Can you fit an HDD bracket with an HDD in it with that front mounted liquid cooler?

September 2, 2016 | 01:34 AM - Posted by Rasmus Andersen (not verified)

Can u dit a 220 radiator to the top is the question then :)

September 8, 2016 | 12:42 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have phanteks p400s can you have front plate on the case while the h100i is installed there or will the airflow not work. And radiator not get cooled

September 12, 2016 | 02:28 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have the h80i and am interested in this case. I want to mount it in the front like you did with the 100. Are the tubes long enough to do this?

October 20, 2016 | 08:41 PM - Posted by Mr.Universe (not verified)

good review, however some shots of the fan controller thats built into this case would be a really big help. it says the controller can support up to 11 fans by use of a splitter, but nowhere do they state whether or not the included fans are pwm or not, and on top of that whether the controller thats onboard can support pwm fans or 3 pin fans.

ive been interrested in this case as a cheaper solution to something like a carbide s as i like the full basement and provides a cleaner end look, but i dont want to have to buy a grid+ or corsair link to controll all fans seperately from the single PWM header on my mobo that my water pump will be hooked too directly. mobo can handle 82w BUT id rather not push it with the pump and 3 fans.

please pleas eplease finish this review or inform me of the lack of explination because phanteks website doesnt give any information on the onboard controller either

November 22, 2016 | 10:13 PM - Posted by adrian (not verified)

Hi, is hdd bay fixed only 2 slots or you can screw another one between hdd bay & psu? My local store doesn't sell those optional bracket. thanks

December 18, 2016 | 01:49 AM - Posted by coubi64 (not verified)

I have this tower and I have mounted it with fan up but I wonder what si better: mounted with fan up ou fan down?

December 18, 2016 | 01:51 AM - Posted by coubi64 (not verified)

sorry "power supply" with fan up or down i wanted to say

September 25, 2017 | 01:25 PM - Posted by Adam (not verified)

Looks like your fans on the radiator are mounted backwards and working against the rear exhaust fan. The blades are curved to be pushing air out the front instead of pulling through the case... Whoops!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.