Review Index:
Feedback

EVGA SuperNOVA 550W G3 Power Supply Review

Author: Lee Garbutt
Manufacturer: EVGA

Specifications and Packaging

View Full Size

The EVGA Supernova 550W G3 power supply is rated for a combined, continuous output power of up to 550 watts at 50°C operating temperature. The PSU incorporates a single +12V rail that can deliver up to 45.8A (549.6W) on the +12V output.  The PSU includes universal AC line input (automatically adjusts the AC line voltage) and active PFC, which makes the unit more environmentally friendly to the local power grid.  

EVGA Supernova 550W G3 PSU Specifications:

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

(Courtesy of EVGA)

View Full Size

View Full Size

Packaging and Parts

The EVGA Supernova 550W G3 power supply arrived packed inside a standard retail box showcasing the unit’s features and specifications.  

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

The power supply is wrapped in a black fabric bag and protected by thick foam inserts.

View Full Size

In addition to the power supply, the box contains a power cord, mounting screws, a User Manual, Velcro cable ties, test connector, and a package of modular cables.

View Full Size

The 550 Supernova G3 power supply comes with a good assortment of seven modular cables and one 4-pin Molex to 4-pin FDD adapter. (See table above for connector count and cable lengths.)


December 6, 2016 | 02:51 PM - Posted by Lance Ripplinger (not verified)

Thank for the great power supply review Lee! I am using the G2 650w version in my rig right now, based on your review of it, and love it. So this new version just has different fan, and perhaps slightly better performance than the G2?

December 6, 2016 | 06:44 PM - Posted by ipkh (not verified)

Mostly it's just a smaller chassis for the unit. No real gains otherwise.

December 6, 2016 | 03:47 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Jonnyguru reviewed it 200 years ago. And by review, I mean a proper one. Pcper late to the party with laughable tests, as usual. Stick with your nvidia sponsored Geforce "reviews", thanks.

December 7, 2016 | 04:31 PM - Posted by Anonymously Anonymous (not verified)

You obviously have no clue as to what testing methods that Lee uses, so I took the time to find the video where they go over his testing methods and setup:

https://youtu.be/2UnhzoRf4C4

go to about 50 min into the video where they go over Lee's setup and methods.

Now as to the rest of your statement, I get it, we all know that the way PCPer presents content about AMD, Intel, and Nvidia tends to be biased one way or another, and I do agree with that part of it. But the claims you make about their PSU testing is false.

December 6, 2016 | 06:13 PM - Posted by RH (not verified)

EVGA are well known for their PSU quality so i wasn't expecting anything less from this G3 series . I personally own an 1000W P2 and it has been flawless since 2 years now.

The only thing that i would like to change are cables. In my opinion flat cables should be standard .

December 6, 2016 | 11:41 PM - Posted by Shadowarez

I have the 1500watt monster they discontinued awhile ago bought when the 4960x dropped for my monster rig back in those days been absolutely flawless.

The plug is like a oven plug massive but can tell high Quality all around its got a nice 10 year warranty which is actually almost half way up.

Good to see they upgrading there PSU lines I'll have to buy another 1500+ Beast when pcie 4 comes out and nvdimms gota make sure all my hardware has a plethora of room to breathe.

December 7, 2016 | 11:35 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

By all means post the specs of this hardware so we can see you love to buy way more PSU than required.

December 9, 2016 | 08:08 AM - Posted by Shadowarez

Asus Rive Be 4
intel 4960x oced 4.8 ghz
64 gb ddr 3 2400 mhz Corsair Dominator Platinum
EKG 360 AIO with 6 Noctua Industrial fans
4 8Tb Hdds Raid 5
2 Samsung 850 pro 250gb
1 Intel 910 800gb pcie ssd
2 Asus Titan X (Maxwell)

i also have it linked to my cyber power backup system software says its only drawing 410-440 watts which has to be a bug, but i got it so the rig gets clean power with pure sinewave 2.

suprisingly only thing i need to change out is the ssds as there not enough for my os drives, ill replace with pcie adapter and a 1Tb 960 pro for nvme.

December 11, 2016 | 07:18 AM - Posted by scajjr2

Last 2 EVGA PSUs I got were both DOA. Won't buy them again. use Corsair for my builds now.

December 11, 2016 | 08:32 PM - Posted by Shadowarez

heard the horror storys of the corsair psu's causing shortages, must been there cheapo 650 watt mx line, heard there was a paticular series to avoid if your building HEDT systems, DOAS happen iv had 5 at one point, but Evga psu last like Tanks, this one hasnt skipped a beat in nearlt 4 years of harsh service, love this thing, cant wait till nvdimm/pcie 4 then ill upgrade, turn this beast to a server.

December 18, 2016 | 03:17 AM - Posted by Drbaltazar (not verified)

Is it properly wired for the 6 pin pcie (GPU)
That dam connector pcie configuration has one pin not connected or optional from maker . Most power supply maker use a 6+2 config and in this situation you got to make sure it's doing the proper thing other wise it will rise the volt amp etc value too high and you GPU will have a tendency to be hot and be very often in protection mode . Often the optional used by maker are not properly maintained so it tend to go ride the pcie firmware instead of simplifying thing .If you can't stay away from the GPU with 6 pin connector.most power supply vendor don't bother and this is a huge issue causing trouble

December 27, 2016 | 06:14 AM - Posted by Kristijan Vragović (not verified)

Nice review. So, even 550W G3 can power crossfire/sli configuration. That is nice. But, I'll rather hook up the second pcie to a nice sound card

January 24, 2017 | 06:30 AM - Posted by Unbranded PSU (not verified)

We live in a world where companies strike it rich on the gullibility of American market segment. They are all made in China, with just big words to lure you all fools in.

Unbranded PSU is the way to go! :)

I OC my 3.5ghz to 4.6ghz :) the magic of some tender love, a mini-fridge where i keep my PC for cooling, and the unbranded PSU. Sometimes i plug my powercable directly into the wall and i get 5.5ghz OC :)

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.