Review Index:
Feedback

Corsair HXi Series Fully Modular 1000W Power Supply Review

Author: Lee Garbutt
Manufacturer: Corsair

Under the Hood

Here are a few pictures showing the layout and components inside the HX1000i power supply.  Corsair is once again using CWT as the OEM for the HXi Series.

View Full Size

The following photo illustrates the main sections within the power supply and their functions.

View Full Size

(Courtesy of Corsair)

View Full Size

The new Corsair HXi Series PSUs utilizes a modern half-bridge design with LLC resonant converter topology to minimize switching losses and help increase efficiency. Two DC-to-DC converters are used on the secondary to produce the +3.3V and +5V minor rails from the +12V main section.

View Full Size

All of the capacitors used inside the new HXi Series are high-quality Japanese made electrolytics rated for 105°C operation. The PSU incorporates two primary capacitors made by Rubycon rated for 470uF, 400V and 105°C. The overall component layout is clean, leaves room for good airflow and the soldering appears very good.

View Full Size

Video News


October 10, 2014 | 11:08 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I love those reviews where the manufacturer is sending their own product directly. I used to be a prostitute before, sorry, journalist, and this is always the same song. One bad review, and you stop receiving samples. Period. Only real reviews would be if the reviewer spent the website money on this, to be relevant and 100% fair. Anything else is just an extension of a press release. But good job, you should get your RGB keyboards soon to play around with... And maybe they won't ask the sample back... LOL. What a "life".

October 10, 2014 | 11:49 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

October 10, 2014 | 06:13 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

This is yet another reason why I follow PCPer :)

October 11, 2014 | 12:30 PM - Posted by SeaJay (not verified)

Granted, that guy was a dick and didn't deserve a serious response, but let's be honest, this "review" was not a review, it was an advertisement. It did not contain a single sentence of criticism or personal opinion.

JonnyGURU's review of the HX1000i:

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story&reid=394

"Corsair Link, seven year warranty, 80 Plus Platinum... we already know all this stuff."

"Ok... I have to ask. Why on earth does this thing come with three Molex chains? Who is ever going to need twelve Molex connectors? Is it 2004 again? This unit could be better served by four SATA chains and two Molex ones. I'm going to deduct something off the score for this one, I think."

"Hmm... once again, we find that Corsair Link is not able to give us entirely accurate results on either the minor rail loads, the power draw, or the power output. I expect we'll find accuracy improving on those last two items as we go up in power, but it's interesting to me that we now have seen two HXi units fail to keep proper tabs on the minor rail current draw. I'm not too put off by that, however, as you simply cannot get true accuracy on anything costing less than a small fortune."

"Are these the best looking shots I've ever seen? No, they aren't. There's a small spike on the 5VSB rail at power up, while the 12V side of the unit seems like it takes a little time to come up to full power."

"EVGA has been stomping all over everybody lately when it comes to value, and we find their P2 1kW unit sitting at thirty dollars cheaper than this one. Even Seasonic has a Platinum unit this size for cheaper, though only by ten bucks. In fact, there are only two units more expensive than this one, and not by a lot: the Antec HCP-1000 and Enermax Platimax 1kW. Both of them are ten dollars more than this one. Corsair, I think you need to get this price down some yet."

This is what a review sounds like. Even on a really good unit like the HX1000i, there are always things to pick at. A good reviewer should always try to find these and mention them.

JonnyGURU gets free samples from Corsair as well, so what's with this softball bullshit? If you're going to be paid by Corsair to put up an overview of one of their products, that's fine, just mark it as a sponsored article and don't label it as a review.

October 10, 2014 | 02:56 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

+1

So true.

October 10, 2014 | 10:35 PM - Posted by Mike Ciletti (not verified)

What nonsense. I've seen a lot of reviews both here and on other pro-sites that were quite harsh.

PcPer, as always....great job!

October 10, 2014 | 01:32 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

What is the benefit of super good voltage regulation? For instance the ax1500i had a voltage regulation of ±0.1%. How is that more beneficial in a real world sense than the hx1000i's ±2%?

Thanks!

October 10, 2014 | 01:52 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I wouldn't allow anonymous comments.

-- Anonymous

October 11, 2014 | 03:11 AM - Posted by Cyclops

An almost Arc weld ready power supply.

October 11, 2014 | 03:12 AM - Posted by Cyclops

Thanks internet explorer!

October 11, 2014 | 09:40 AM - Posted by magoo (not verified)

Yeah.....but does it blend?

I'd like to see some comment about what you don't like.

This is common on JonnyGuru and HARDOCP reviews.

October 11, 2014 | 02:58 PM - Posted by PhoneyVirus

After the experience I had with Corsair AX860i and their Corsair Link was noting more then a nightmare. No review will cover what I had to go through with their software and ASUS Software bundle that came with Maximus VII Hero motherboard, put it this way I'll never purchase another Corsair or Asus Product again, and no I don't care what kinda of rep they have.

PhoneyVirus
https://twitter.com/PhoneyVirus
https://phoneyvirus.wordpress.com/

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.