Review Index:
Feedback

Cooler Master Seidon 120V Liquid CPU Cooler Review

Test Setup and Temperature Benchmarks

Test Setup

Two test systems were employed here to give a look at what you might expect from a current-gen AMD and Intel CPU. With only higher end parts to test, the model numbers won’t be consistent with the budget build idea. Obviously a $500 PC isn’t going to be build around a $320 Core i7 4770K processor, but it is actually possible to build around AMD’s $185 high-end 7850K APU (if no discrete GPU is used). Regardless, the results will still show these coolers’ differences.

  AMD System Intel System
Processor AMD A10-7850K APU Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ ASUS Maximus VI GENE
Memory G.Skill Sniper 8GB 2133MHz G.Skill Sniper 8GB 2133MHz
Graphics Card (APU Graphics) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 (OEM)
Storage Plextor M5 Pro 128GB SSD OCZ Vertex 460 120GB SSD
Power Supply Corsair CX 750W Modular PSU Corsair CX 750W Modular PSU
OS Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit

Temperature testing was done at both stock and overclocked loads, and measurements were made using RealTemp and HWMonitor. The room temps were a constant 18 C. For load temps Prime95 was used, with the max stress torture test run for a minimum of 10 minutes before the readings were taken.

Temperature Benchmarks - AMD

View Full Size

The Seidon 120V was very impressive for a budget liquid cooler here, keeping the 7850K at only 40 C at a full load. The Hyper 212 EVO was right behind it at just 41 C at load.  The stock cooler’s temps are not particularly impressive, as one might expect, but not bad – though the benefit of aftermarket cooling can clearly be seen here with the 13-14 degree decrease in temps with the Cooler Master offerings.

View Full Size

With the overclocked workload the Seidon 120V again leads the 212 EVO by just 1 degree C, and both coolers saw temps rise by 10 C over stock clocks. Excellent considering that 1.4V was required to keep this 4.40GHz overclock stable. The stock AMD cooler managed to keep the overclocked APU from overheating, but at 65 C it was pushing a lot of warm air down against the power delivery and memory on the motherboard.

Temperature Benchmarks - Intel

View Full Size

The 120V and Hyper 212 were pretty evenly matched with the stock 4770K, but the Seidon 120V managed lower load temps by 2 C. The results from the stock Intel cooler started off looking promising…and the temps kept climbing and climbing under load. 82 C is not exactly acceptable from a stock workload, though in Intel’s defense Prime95 is pegging the Haswell CPU at 100% on each core. Much better results were possible with the Intel cooler manually set to 100% fan speed, which lowered the temps a full 10 C to 72 C under load. This was not a typical situation, as the PWM fan is not going to reach 100% by default, so the PWM result was given on the chart.

View Full Size

The Hyper 212 EVO comes out on top here at the 4.50GHz OC load, and it's a good result for both aftermarket coolers given the punishing workload of the test and the hefty overclock on this Haswell CPU.

Note: There is no result for the Intel stock cooler here after the poor showing in the stock frequency test, so this 4.50GHz overclock was not attempted with Intel’s default solution.

Video News


May 2, 2014 | 01:18 PM - Posted by Keno5net (not verified)

I read something intriguing about exposed heat pipe coolers like the 212 EVO when used with Haswell processors. The core of the Haswell is long and narrow and it usually runs horizontal on a motherboard mounted in a tower case. The question is will the exposed pipe cooler have better results with the heat pipes running perpendicular to the core so all the pipes pass over part of the core instead of parallel where the outside pipes miss the core? Any thoughts on this.

May 2, 2014 | 02:38 PM - Posted by AirSKiller (not verified)

Logical answer would be that running the heat pipes perpendicular would result in better cooling performance since the heat would be spread out evenly through all of the pipes.
However, things aren't all that simple, there are so many variables that it's impossible to know for sure. You could test it and end up with no difference at all or even an illogical conclusion (for example, having the fans blowing horizontal vs perpendicular could harm/improve cooling).

May 3, 2014 | 12:17 PM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

The reply from AirSKiller answered this as well as I could - and it is an interesting question. I'd hope that the thermal material under the cap on my 4770K is good enough to distribute heat evenly on the surface, but I'd never know without some pretty destructive research :)

February 15, 2015 | 10:20 AM - Posted by yangstylz (not verified)

I've ran the heat pipes both ways...still hot as hell. Yes, I applied the thermal paste correctly, same result 4 out of 4 times.

I hit 70 degrees at 30 percent progress on prime95 with a i5 4590. The oem cooler maxed out at 55 degrees. One time I let the 212 test run all the way through and that thing hit 90 degrees.

May 2, 2014 | 02:23 PM - Posted by pdjblum

Excellent review. I have the EVO on at least one my rigs, and it continues to be the little train that could based on these amazing results. But this seems to be a very nice AIO for the price, if you want to go that way. Thanks much.

May 2, 2014 | 03:32 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Not bad for $50 I guess, but I'd still save my pennies and choose a Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo. Thing is a beast even on a i7 3930K. Silent and cool.

May 7, 2014 | 01:15 AM - Posted by builder (not verified)

What is the "life span" of these types of liquid kits? what kind of maintenance is required?

May 9, 2014 | 01:19 AM - Posted by Sebastian Peak

Units like the Seidon 120V have a 1-year warranty - and no maintenance is required during that period. Beyond this I'd have to go based on anecdotal information online...search around but they are pretty reliable. I haven't owned/used any one particular self-contained unit past its warranty period myself, but I haven't ever had an issue with one either. I think the oldest one I ever tested was 2 years old at the time, and had never received any maintenance...It was a Corsair H40 or H50 I think. Worked fine.

May 23, 2014 | 04:21 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

To improve the cooler, you have to add rubber dampers under the 4 screws which are "pressing" it on the CPU. The basic screw aren't right enough to assure the best contact between the cooling plate and the CPU.
I did that and gained 5°C idle and 15°c when full load with FPU only test in Aida 64 or Prime 95. Now my cooler really squishes the cooling paste between the CPU and itself, filling all the gaps.

The cooler is good hardware (pump, tubes and fan/radiator) but the fixing isn't so good and you have to perfect it yourself. Then this is absolutely fantastic, specially if you consider the price of it.

April 21, 2016 | 04:25 AM - Posted by tony (not verified)

hi I am just wondering if u could explain /give more details re the dampeners -as had never considered /come across -though it does seems very sensible/logical. Have you a best buy/recommended list for coolers generally at prices ranges 35,50,100 . Thank you - I am a nebie & a golden oldie! Regards, Tony

January 13, 2015 | 04:49 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Thats is absolutely Fake, i got an A10-7850K apu running intergrated graphics, with stock Cooler!
On idle IT DOESNT GIVE 29Deg!!!!!!!!! I get around 62deg on idle...
and around 100deg on load with Stock cooler!!!

the seidon 120V was tested to give around 74deg on load and around 50deg on idle!!!

This review is Fake!!!

January 19, 2015 | 12:36 AM - Posted by elzafir (not verified)

you need to inform us your ambient temp and your PC case. I myself use a Cooler Master Elite 120 Advance mini-ITX case. The CPU is Intel Core i3-2100 on stock cooler. I have 60C on idle and 100C under load. Due to the cramped nature of a mini-ITX case, those temps are expected and I can't install a cooler taller than 5cm. The Seidon 120V shows respectable temps almost on par with the 212 EVO, which is why I went ahead and bought it. I have yet to install it, but I'm expecting idle temps of ~35C and load temps of around ~75C.

My ambient temp is constantly around 30C (I live in the tropics) with no air conditioning at the moment.

May 10, 2016 | 03:59 AM - Posted by Old Geek (not verified)

Hey my ambient temps are to low to get a proper reading on my amd FX 8320 as temps do not register properly till around 40C Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-03 Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Case with of course the amd fx 6320 cpu and a Sapphire radeon R9 270 2 gb graphics card.Had the same problems till I discovered Artic silver then I prime 95 on the chip at 51C and never raised any higher ! By the way could not even run prime 95 before the artic silver because of running too hot in a matter of minutes.I am running a Coolermaster seidon 240m on the chip .I am running Coolermaster 120 m on my sapphire radeon R9270 2gb graphics card.the card run at best on high settings and would get hot and bsod around 78C under full load.So I got 120 m Seidon liquid cooler and some Articsilver ceramique 2 compound ! Now i run this card on maximum movies lol whatever freaking settings the game offers. Currently running my card on maximum or ultra high settings with temps never over 41C hope this helps In my opinion the Artic silver changed how I set up and run my builds forever.I would never had bought into the compound making such a difference and liquid cooling a card such as mine ! But I did and it blew me away ths card performs 50% with the right cooler and compound !

April 7, 2015 | 01:50 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Uh....no offense intended but my DUH...brother installed this cooler (which I now have I liked his so much) and called me because his ideltemp was over 60. I disassembled the whole thing, and found he hadn't removed the plastic film on the waterblock base. After removing it, and applying good thermal paste (I personally have always used Arctic Silver) he , and I, are getting 26-27 idle on AMD 8370's. Is it possible you didn't remove that film? Even clocked up it NEVER breaks 30 idle. Oh, and the guy who mentioned the rubber grommets....nice find, you were right. AND, included are two sets of scre2s to get a second fan to use a push pull config with the fans, under load it drops the temp about 8 degrees for my rig.

December 12, 2015 | 03:50 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

THE A10-7870 IS AT THIS TEMP. CPU TEMP SAID IT WAS 22 ON MINE. ITS A GLITCH IN THE PROGRAM. IT DIDNT GIVE THE CORRECT TEMP FOR ANY OF MY AMD CPUS (FX 6300, 8350, A10). I HAD TO GO THROUGH THE BIOS AND AFTERBURNER TO GET THE RIGHT TEMPS. SO YOU SIR ARE CORRECT. I ACTUALY USED THE SEIDON 120V ON MY A10 WITH IC DIAMOND. IT SUCKED UNTIL I PUT PUSH PULL,THAN IT JUST SUCKED HALF AS BAD. BUT IT STILL COOLED MUCH BETTER THAN THE STOCK COOLER BECAUSE OF MY TINY CASE (IT WAS A HTCP/ MILD GAMING RIG). BUT ACCORDING TO LINUS TECH TIPS FORUM THEY RUN, AND CAN HANDLE HIGHER TEMPS AND MINE WAS FINE WITH NO THERMAL THROTTLEING.

September 6, 2016 | 10:42 AM - Posted by Mozart Jarabe (not verified)

Does the Seidon 120 V CPU cooler supports MOBO FM2-A55M2-DS2 ??

October 24, 2016 | 04:53 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I have this cooler with fx8350 and it idles at 15-20°C

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.