Review Index:
Feedback

Cooler Master MasterLiquid Pro 240 Liquid CPU Cooler Review

Introduction, Specifications, and First Impressions

Cooler Master has introduced a pair of new all-in-one liquid CPU cooler designs, with the former Nepton series now replaced by the MasterLiquid Pro 120 and 240. It is the larger of these that we have for you today, and in this review we'll see just how well this new design performs.

View Full Size

“Based on our expertise in thermal technology, we reengineered how liquid absorbs and expels heat throughout the all-in-one (AIO) closed loop of the cooler. Our holistic approach to the flow puts in your hands a comprehensive cooling machine that lasts longer, performs better and requires virtually no maintenance.”

The MasterLiquid Pro 240 uses what Cooler Master is calling “FlowOp Technology”; a series of design choices that are intended to improve all aspects of the cooler's efficiency. It begins with the pump, which “sprays liquid directly at the center of the water block”, and the block, which offers what Cooler Master claims to be 657% more surface area (thanks to many more “ultra-fine fins on the copper base”) and 40% greater performance compared to previous designs.

View Full Size

The radiator features a square fin design, which the company claims “creates greater surface area for absorption of the heat and allows for spacious airflow”.

View Full Size

These claims, along with a pair of Cooler Master’s new “MasterFan Pro Air Balance” fans, make this new design sound very powerful, and I couldn’t wait to get it on the testbench to find out just how powerful - and quiet - it might be.

View Full Size

Continue reading our review of the Cooler Master MasterLiquid Pro 240 CPU Cooler!


Specifications for the MasterLiquid Pro 240:

Model: MLY-D24M-A20MB-R1

Socket Compatibility:

  • Intel LGA 2011-3 / 2011 / 1366 / 1150 / 1151 / 1156 / 1155 / 775
  • AMD FM2+ / FM2 / FM1 / AM3+ / AM3 / AM2+

Radiator:

  • Material: Aluminum
  • Dimensions (L x W x H): 275 x 118.5 x 27 mm (10.83 x 4.67 x 1.06 inches)

Fans:

  • Dimensions: 120 x 120 x 25 mm (4.7 x 4.7 x 1 inch)
  • Speed: 650 ~ 2000RPM ± 10%
  • Air Flow: 66.7 CFM (Max), 113.32 m3/h (Max)
  • Air Pressure: 2.34 mmH2O ± 10% (Max)
  • Rated Voltage: 12 VDC
  • Connector: 4-Pin (PWM)
  • Noise Level: 6 ~ dBA

Waterblock:

  • Material: Copper
  • Dimensions (L x W x H): 94.8 x 68 x 56.9 mm (3.7 x 2.68 x 2.2 inches)

Pump:

  • Speed: 1100 ~3300RPM (PWM)
  • Bearing Type: Ceramic
  • Rated Amperage: 0.5 A
  • Rated Voltage: 12 VDC
  • Power: 6.0W
  • Power Connector: 4-Pin (PWM)
  • Noise Level (dB-A): < 12 dBA
  • LED: Blue

Tubes:

  • Diameter: Φ8 mm
  • Length: 358 ± 5mm

Our thanks to Cooler Master for providing the MasterLiquid Pro 240 for our review.

First Impressions

View Full Size

The packaging is attractive, and more importantly it holds the parts securely within. Once opened we have the cooler, fans, rubber gasket, mounting backplate, and a very thoughtful blister-pack of hardware.

View Full Size

I greatly appreciate the organization of this sort of accessory packaging, and it is very simple to find the appropriate hardware for your motherboard. The included instructions are clear, and easy to follow.

View Full Size

On the next page we'll explore the design and installation of the MasterLiquid Pro 240.


September 12, 2016 | 12:58 PM - Posted by Chaitanya Shukla

That blue led is a big let down, else it's looking like a good cooler.

September 12, 2016 | 01:24 PM - Posted by Anonymously Anonymous (not verified)

LED on only one component and no RGB??? THIS IS HERESY!

/s

September 12, 2016 | 05:14 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I got few nepton 240m in few rigs. Pretty much identical to this cooler. Doing good job. No Blue Led! Only a white one ! :D

September 12, 2016 | 05:15 PM - Posted by Edkiefer (not verified)

This just shows how 212evo is great bang for your money.

September 12, 2016 | 11:14 PM - Posted by Odin (not verified)

If you like noise, it's great value. Give me noctua any day.

September 13, 2016 | 08:53 AM - Posted by Penteract (not verified)

The Cooler Master 212 EVO isn't about being quiet, it's about being the best dang cooler you can buy for under $30. And while I wouldn't recommend it to someone very noise-sensitive (that had more money to spend) my experience is that it is easy enough to live with - never noticed it producing more noise than anything else in my system in a closed case.

September 13, 2016 | 02:50 PM - Posted by Edkiefer (not verified)

I tell you I got 212evo cause of so cheap and it performed well until you start pumping higher voltages through it (like 1.25v).
My i5-3570k is pretty good with voltage, I don't try an ring every last mhz out of it, I can run 44x,44x,43x,43x on cores with like 1.15v max.
These give me "around" 60c in demanding games like BF1-4, were all cores are utilized a lot.
I do have fan profile set higher than default in bios and with my case Corsair 500r, which is fairly open, it does not bother me.
Yes you can hear fan ramp up with heavy load but its not bad and I use headphones so I can't hear it anyway.

September 15, 2016 | 12:33 PM - Posted by quest4glory

It's really not good for overclocking. Also, don't even bother with a Hyper 212 EVO if you have an X99 platform.

September 12, 2016 | 05:39 PM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

Swiftech's GODLIKE AIOs already exist.
That is all. Dismissed.

September 13, 2016 | 11:12 AM - Posted by BlackDove (not verified)

From what i can tell, none of theirs use micro finned cold plates.

September 13, 2016 | 07:09 AM - Posted by Fane (not verified)

Have you seen the Arctic Cooling Freezer 240? Mops the floor with all competition and is only $100.

You should really review it.

September 13, 2016 | 08:19 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

But this is a sponsored review! So when and If the Artic Cooling folks make with the review dosh, otherwise a review ain't happening!

No Cash No Flash!

September 13, 2016 | 08:55 AM - Posted by Penteract (not verified)

And you are an Arctic Cooling shill.

September 13, 2016 | 11:16 AM - Posted by BlackDove (not verified)

If its one of the Asetek rebrands that Arctic Cooling sells its probably pretty good though.

September 14, 2016 | 01:18 PM - Posted by Jmac (not verified)

Anything that mounts a vibrating pump on my CPU is out of the running immediately.

November 25, 2017 | 03:49 AM - Posted by fry178 (not verified)

One thing all air coolers will never be able to do: dump the cpu heat OUTSIDE the case.
main reason besides that LC is able to get lower temps when silent, is that i get about 20-30*C lower case and gpu temps.

even a crappy design like aseteks (pump failures) in something like the H60 gets sub 70C for my 3770 (4ghz all cores) running a 16db fan.

but this was only to sell my custom loop, new rig will get a predator (if i can find one)/arctic/ML pro.
they are not based on aseteks stuff and will run much better.

and anyone talking about godlike swiftech: google leak probs

i rather have a asetek aio risking pump failure (corsair covers ALL damaged part for 5y), than have anything leak while its running...

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.