Review Index:
Feedback

Cooler Master Elite 110 mini-ITX Case Review

Author: Lee Garbutt
Manufacturer: Cooler Master

Installation: Motherboard and Graphics Adapter

View Full Size

Mini-ITX Motherboard

Currently there are a number of very good mini-ITX motherboards available on the market to choose from. For this installation we used a MSI Z87I Gaming motherboard.

View Full Size

The Elite 110 case uses four brass standoffs to mount a mini-ITX motherboard. The Z81I mobo slid perfectly into position.

View Full Size

Because the power supply mounts directly over the mobo, you’re limited to a CPU cooler no taller than 76mm (3”). The stock Intel cooler that came with our i5-4670K processor fits cleanly into the available space. We will look at some additional options in the Case Cooling section.

Dual-slot Graphics Adapter

A lot of folks will be happy and well served by the onboard video their mobo offers, but if you want/need the extra GPU horsepower that a dedicated graphics card can provide, the Elite 110 is ready.  For optimum cooling of a high-performance graphics adapter, you may want to leave the lower left side panel HDD/SSD location open (or install one or two optional 80mm fans there).

View Full Size

(GTX 660 TI with (1) 3.5” HDD and (1) 2.5” SSD installed)

To see how things would fit up will installed a GeForce GTX 660 TI dual-slot card into the Elite 110. As expected, the card fit securely into the designated opening.

View Full Size

Here is another view of the GTX 660 TI installed without the 3.5” HDD mounted on the left side panel and with a full size (160mm) power supply in place.

Note: The maximum graphics card length is 210mm (8.3”) so don’t expect to be able to mount a full-size ~10” card in this location (the GTX 660 TI is 7” long).

View Full Size


June 19, 2014 | 04:59 PM - Posted by Qrash

This is a case that really tempts me. The Asus GTX 760 fits (based on forum feedback at www.overclock.net) so a decent gaming machine is possible in such as small package.

June 19, 2014 | 06:36 PM - Posted by Bill (not verified)

I used the CM Elite 120 for my HTPC build a few months back. I went with it for two reasons, low cost ($35.00) and I could put a Blu-Ray drive in the front. It's been a great case for me and it's very quiet too.

June 19, 2014 | 07:28 PM - Posted by Thom B (not verified)

To Bill, I was wondering how your got a Blu-Ray drive into this case? Any pics you could share? Thanks.

June 19, 2014 | 09:58 PM - Posted by pws328

He's using a bigger case, the Coolermaster Elite 120, not the same as the case in this review. It's longer and has a 5.25in bay. I can say for certain that there is no way to fit a full size DVD drive in the Elite 110.

June 20, 2014 | 01:34 AM - Posted by Bill (not verified)

Thom, as pws said in his replay to you already, I was using a different case (CM 120) than the one in this review. It was all for naught though as I eventually gave up on trying to watch Blu-Rays through Win7 as I wasn't about to spend $50 on software to be able to play a Blu-Ray disc.

June 19, 2014 | 11:24 PM - Posted by David Gilmore (not verified)

I bought this case a month ago, and it's very small for a case that fits regular ATX components. Mine was for an H81/Pentium G3240 build, and for that it's great, but I wouldn't build a high-end system in this case, not enough airflow. A video card would finish the job of blocking the airflow. It's longer siblings, the Elite 120 and Elite 130, are both longer cases which can fit a larger graphics card and have better airflow, but they don't look as cool as this little monster. I like the case, but going by the build quality and material thickness, it should be about half the price - it's only this high because it's "mini-ITX", and the market needs to mature. It's very light and flimsy, and with the cover and drive bracket removed it flexes all over the place. Solid enough when put together, but still very light and cheap feeling. All 3 cases go for the same price, $50, but should drop considerably after more choices appear. Still, it always elicits positive comments (and disbelief).

June 20, 2014 | 01:32 AM - Posted by Bill (not verified)

I agree that $50 is too much for this little case. That being said, these do go on sale occasionally, and it was one of those sales that I picked up my CM 120 for $35. I really liked the look of the 130 better, but decided it wasn't worth an extra $15 at the time.

June 20, 2014 | 02:52 AM - Posted by Rickylee (not verified)

With a SFX psu installed, will a tall tower cpu cooler fit?
Looking at the picture, it seems that a slim tower cooler can fit in there?

June 20, 2014 | 03:01 AM - Posted by Rickylee (not verified)

Could be a tight fit but something like...

Masscool 7WA868
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835150122

or Titan TTC-NC95TZ(RB)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835192031

June 20, 2014 | 05:57 AM - Posted by Justin150 (not verified)

I love mini-ITX cases, but I would much prefer it with a larger fan.

Of course Mini-ITX means compromise but what you can do with a little bundle is amazing

June 20, 2014 | 04:10 PM - Posted by TinkerToyTech

I like the fact that it includes a beeper / speaker, too many builds as of late haven't been and that adds 5-15 bucks to a individual build.

June 22, 2014 | 11:33 AM - Posted by AnonymousAI (not verified)

What model and brand of SFX PSU is that? Silverstone?

June 22, 2014 | 09:25 PM - Posted by Lee Garbutt

SilverStone ST45SF-G V1.1, 450W, 80Plus Gold

December 22, 2014 | 12:57 AM - Posted by obat limpa bengkak (not verified)

thanks so much for all the information provided at all very useful for us, especially I can add new insights,

visit my blog : obat limpa bengkak

January 8, 2015 | 02:08 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

What is the height of the Kingston RAM???

May 7, 2015 | 06:36 AM - Posted by niXXer (not verified)

I bought this case and fitted it with:

Cooler Master Elite 110 Mini-ITX BLCK
MSI Z87I Gaming AC, Socket-1150
MSI GeForce GTX 760 Gaming ITX 2GB
Corsair H60 Hydro Series CPU Cooler
Intel i5 4690k
Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB 2.5" OEM
WD® Desktop Black 1TB
HyperX Fury DDR3 1600MHz 8GB Black
Cooler Master B500 VER.2, 500W PSU
Microsoft Windows 8.1
Corsair SP120 Quiet Edt. 120mm fan
Fractal Design R2, 80mm silent fan

June 9, 2015 | 01:44 PM - Posted by Midani (not verified)

Great review, thanks for the tips i didn't think a push pull would be possible but using a SFX PSU with the bracket is a great idea and gives much more room and more airflow. I want this for my next build and if you use a m.2 SSD then there is even more room for cable management!

My ideal build:

Cooler Master Elite 110
Asus Maximus VII impact Socket 1150 W/ M.2 SSD Slot
Corsair H80 Hydro W/ Push-pull Config
Intel i7 4790K
Kingston Digital HyperX Predator 480 GB PCIe Gen2 x4 M.2 SSD
Corsaid H80 Push Pull
Silverstone 600W SFX PSU + Short Cables
Zotac GTX 970 - 8.03" will fit!

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.