Review Index:
Feedback

CPU Water Block Comparison on Haswell-E

Manufacturer:

Testing Configuration and Benchmarks Used

View Full Size

ASUS X99-A with Koolance CPU-360 water block

View Full Size

ASUS X99-A with Koolance CPU-380i water block

View Full Size

ASUS X99-A with Swiftech Apogee HD water block

View Full Size

ASUS X99-A with Swiftech Apogee XL water block

View Full Size

ASUS X99-A with XSPC Raystorm water block

To validate the performance of the water blocks under comparison, the all water blocks were tested with the CPU running at stock and at a known stable overclocking speed using an X99-based motherboard and using the XSPC Raystorm D5 Photon RX480 V3 WaterCooling kit, so that comparative results could be provided for Haswell-E based systems. The benchmark tests used should give you a good understanding of the tested water block capabilities so that you, the reader, can make a more informed purchasing decision.

Test System Setup
CPU Intel Core i7-5960X
Stock - 3.0GHz, 30 x 100MHz Base Clock
Max Overclock - 4.50GHz, 36 x 125MHz Base Clock
Motherboard ASUS X99-A
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2666 modules
Stock - 2133MHz, 15-17-17-35-2T
Overclocked - 2666MHz, 15-17-17-35-2T
Hard Drive Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD
Intel 730 240GB SSD
Sound Card On-board sound
Video Card ASUS Poseidon GTX 780 3GB
CPU Cooling XSPC Raystorm D5 Photon RX480 V3 WaterCooling Kit with the following blocks
  • Koolance CPU-360 water block
  • Koolance CPU-380I water block
  • Swiftech Apogee HD water block
  • Swiftech Apogee XL water block
  • XSPC Raystorm water block
Video Drivers NVIDIA 335.23
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Operating System Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Thermal Paste MG Chemicals 860-60G Silicone Heat Transfer Compound
Coolant Koolance LIQ-702 High Performance Liquid Coolant

The 64-bit Windows 7 based test bench used for Intel X99 LGA2011-v3 board testing includes an Intel Core i7-5960X CPU, 32GB of DDR4-2666 memory, an ASUS Poseidon GTX 780 3GB graphics card, and an Intel 730 240GB SSD drive. Using the selected components gives us the ability to demonstrate the cooling system's capabilities rather than that of the system components.

Benchmark Tests used for evaluation:

  • AIDA64 Extreme Edition v5.00.3300
  • EVGA OC Scanner X v3.4.0.1

Video News


September 18, 2015 | 01:36 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Thanks for the review.

Here's an unused digital download code for Metal Gear Solid V for whoever gets there first:

MVNA-OXLL-QWBP-AJIK-DPRI-RVMC

September 18, 2015 | 01:46 PM - Posted by bburnham37 (not verified)

Thanks broheim, awesome sauce.

And, thanks for not mentioning the method of redemption in the post since I'm pretty sure that's why it was still active when I redeemed it ;-)

September 18, 2015 | 02:34 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

No problem man, it expired in two weeks and i didn't want it to go to waste. Cheers.

September 18, 2015 | 01:56 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

These water blocks always seem way over priced. There really isn't much to them compared to something like a large heat pipe air cooler. Why should these cost so much more?

September 19, 2015 | 02:04 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

well the copper is expensive. so you pay for that. nickel also expensive. Blending the materials together. meaning a custom metal also adds to cost. Then each one has to be routed by a very expensive multi axis CNC machine
so yeah there isnt much to them.
but the design and building is where its at

September 19, 2015 | 07:07 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I still think they are overpriced. I suspect the margin on these are a lot higher than a big heat-pipe based air cooler. I think that this is somewhat based on the idea that it provides better cooling, so it should be more expensive, even if the BOM does not justify the MSRP.

I think another part of the problem is that these are designed much more expensive than they need to be. If you look at an all-in-one block, they mostly don't have the parts used for mounting machined out of the same piece as the block. There isn't too much point to doing this except for looks. The mounting bracket could easily be made out of much cheaper material. The block could also be designed to need a lot less machining. I suspect if you made it as a casting, it could be finished with only a small amount of machining. I have wondered if one of the all-in-one blocks could be modified to be used in a custom loop. These have to be significantly cheaper than the custom loop blocks since they are a lot cheaper than buying all of the components for a custom loop. They may be designed in such a way that they cannot be easily used with the pump removed.

September 19, 2015 | 07:17 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I see they have some built economically (copper base, sheet metal mounting brackets, and plastic top) for only about $20. It would be interesting to see how these cheap blocks compare to the really expensive models tested here.

September 19, 2015 | 07:07 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I still think they are overpriced. I suspect the margin on these are a lot higher than a big heat-pipe based air cooler. I think that this is somewhat based on the idea that it provides better cooling, so it should be more expensive, even if the BOM does not justify the MSRP.

I think another part of the problem is that these are designed much more expensive than they need to be. If you look at an all-in-one block, they mostly don't have the parts used for mounting machined out of the same piece as the block. There isn't too much point to doing this except for looks. The mounting bracket could easily be made out of much cheaper material. The block could also be designed to need a lot less machining. I suspect if you made it as a casting, it could be finished with only a small amount of machining. I have wondered if one of the all-in-one blocks could be modified to be used in a custom loop. These have to be significantly cheaper than the custom loop blocks since they are a lot cheaper than buying all of the components for a custom loop. They may be designed in such a way that they cannot be easily used with the pump removed.

September 19, 2015 | 07:07 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I still think they are overpriced. I suspect the margin on these are a lot higher than a big heat-pipe based air cooler. I think that this is somewhat based on the idea that it provides better cooling, so it should be more expensive, even if the BOM does not justify the MSRP.

I think another part of the problem is that these are designed much more expensive than they need to be. If you look at an all-in-one block, they mostly don't have the parts used for mounting machined out of the same piece as the block. There isn't too much point to doing this except for looks. The mounting bracket could easily be made out of much cheaper material. The block could also be designed to need a lot less machining. I suspect if you made it as a casting, it could be finished with only a small amount of machining. I have wondered if one of the all-in-one blocks could be modified to be used in a custom loop. These have to be significantly cheaper than the custom loop blocks since they are a lot cheaper than buying all of the components for a custom loop. They may be designed in such a way that they cannot be easily used with the pump removed.

September 19, 2015 | 07:18 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Why do I get triple post when posting from an iPad sometimes?

September 18, 2015 | 02:02 PM - Posted by H1tman_Actua1

Where is the EKWB EVO?

September 18, 2015 | 02:31 PM - Posted by Chaitanya Shukla

My thoughts exactly, why there is no EKWB CPU Block in comparison?

September 18, 2015 | 02:52 PM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

The review was done with the samples I had on hand.  The Koolance and XSPC blocks were review samples provided by the manufacturers a while back.  The swiftech blocks were from my personal collection that I have used in my own systems.  EK did not provide us with any samples...

September 18, 2015 | 02:25 PM - Posted by 4TwizZzle (not verified)

It's highly unlikely that there is any bit of laminar flow or promotion of a relevant laminar boundary layer on any of these blocks within the channels. Ideally you want a slight bit of turbulent flow near the surface area to extract the heat more rapidly.

Laminar flow has a zero velocity on the surface which ideally limits heat transfer and would be a poor design. In essence, Laminar flow would be a bad design choice if it was attainable.

Your argument for pressure drops due to an excess of turbulent flow is however a valid point and would restrict flow. I do believe that material choice and oxidation is the main culprit to the difference in the Delta T's between the limited sample size.

I really enjoyed this article, thanks!

September 18, 2015 | 06:55 PM - Posted by KingKookaluke (not verified)

Once again outstanding post by Morry! Makes me consider going back to running my own water cooling loops again.

September 18, 2015 | 08:04 PM - Posted by Branthog

Man, I've wanted to get in on water cooling for so long, but just can't justify the cost and hassle. I don't need to super-overclock my systems and water cooling doesn't make for a quiet or dust-free system, so the only benefit I'd really get from it is the fun of doing it and having it.

Which is enough when you're young and have all the time in the world, but hard to justify when you're old and busy. :D

September 19, 2015 | 03:00 AM - Posted by Tim Verry

If you are interested in getting into it without ponying up the full cost, keep an eye out on forums like [H] and PC Perspective's for users selling off their old water cooling gear. I was able to get everything I needed minus a silver killcoil and distilled water for less than $300, would have been a lot more retail. The best part is that you can usually get help putting it together at the same forums :).

September 18, 2015 | 08:12 PM - Posted by quest4glory

Morry,

Why do you say the CPU integrated graphics processor has been disabled when you're testing Haswell-E (5960X) here?

September 18, 2015 | 11:38 PM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

Good point, overlooked in the review. Thanks for pointing it out, fixed...

September 18, 2015 | 08:50 PM - Posted by Master Chen (not verified)

Only GODLIKE Swiftech, only hardcore!

September 19, 2015 | 02:06 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

To Be Honest I don't really see Pc Per as a over clocker/water cooling type site.
The impression I get about the site is. average looking aggregate/ review site, just like pretty much every other site abt this.

and this ad looks quite out of place here.

My 2 Pesos That's all.

September 19, 2015 | 11:31 PM - Posted by quest4glory

Does a site need to be dedicated to overclocking / water cooling to therefore be qualified to provide a review of water blocks?

I would have to save no to that.

This is not your "average looking aggregate / review site." Yes they aggregate links to content from the best of the PC enthusiast websites, but that's a service and convenience to the readers.

I am in no way affiliated with PC Perspective. I simply value the additional "perspective" they bring to all things involved with the personal computer enthusiast and consumer space.

September 24, 2015 | 02:22 AM - Posted by Dr_b_

The site can review water blocks for sure, but if you are only comparing it to a few other WBs, and not including one of the top selling WBs (EKWB), then making any conclusion about the winner in this test is of limited value, unless of course your only options are are the ones reviewed here. The problem with the limited review size is that its not inclusive enough, and not as thorough as other sites (extreme rigs)who do a lot more tests on liquid cooling parts.

While nice to see something different here, don't make buying decisions about a water block based on this review alone, because the gold winners here didn't perform as well as the EK blocks on other review sites.

Also, if you are liquid cooling your PC you are likely going to liquid cool your graphics card and maybe get a block for your motherboard as well, and likely those will all be from the same brand.

Here's my all EK block loop on Z97:
http://m34t.net/system1.jpg

September 19, 2015 | 07:23 AM - Posted by Rustknuckle (not verified)

Morry did you test if turning the Koolance 380i mounting 90 degrees yields lower temps like it does when using it with Ivy Bridge/Sandy Bridge E CPUs?

September 19, 2015 | 02:16 PM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

No, we did not test in that config unfortunately. The 380 block was oriented so that the micro-channels ran perpendicular to the core.

September 19, 2015 | 09:22 PM - Posted by Rustknuckle (not verified)

Here you can see the difference rotating 90 degrees can make with that block and a Sandy Bridge E CPU: http://i.imgur.com/9OSXVwK.png

September 19, 2015 | 11:01 AM - Posted by XSPSI (not verified)

No air cooler as a base test?

September 19, 2015 | 02:18 PM - Posted by Morry Teitelman

No, but you can check out other reviews for air-based temperature comparison since we include the XSPC kit as a comparison in those reviews.  This review was more to compare the performance of the various water blocks only without introducing other variables into the review.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.