Review Index:
Feedback

ORIGIN Gensis Overclocked Quad SLI Gaming PC Review - Dual GTX 690s

Author: Ryan Shrout
Subject: Systems
Manufacturer: ORIGIN PC

Performance and Conclusions

Testing the ORIGIN Genesis as we had it configured for us was truly a breathtaking experience with the combination of a 4.9 GHz Sandy Bridge-E 6-core processor and dual GeForce GTX 690s presenting a computing and gaming experience that is unmatched. 

View Full Size

For a quick look at performance we selected CineBench 11.5 and x264 CPU benchmarks as well as the 3DMark11 Physics sub-test.  For gaming we will see Battlefield 3 and Metro 2033 at 2560x1600.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

The performance of the hexa-core processor running at 4.9 GHz is just damn impressive, with a CB11 score that is 78% faster than the Core i7-3770K at default and 49% faster than the overclocked IVB part in our recent AVADirect system.  And while we see a higher score in the x264 first pass, the 2nd pass is 77% faster than the stock Core i7-3770k.

Obviously if you are looking for a high performing processor platform then this Genesis has you covered.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

Gaming performance is also impressive with a Battlefield 3 average frame rate that is 86% faster than a single GTX 690, our previous best score.  Metro 2033 saw a 45% increase.  Keep in mind these are the highest single screen resolution settings as well - 2560x1600.  I did play around with the ORIGIN Genesis at 5760x1080 (triple panel Surround) and we were obviously impressed, running BF3 at Ultra settings over 60 FPS. 

I think it goes without saying but any system with a pair of GTX 690s is going to perform beyond your expectations for PC gaming. 

Closing Thoughts

In other system reviews, we have built a similarly speced out rig on Newegg or a site like PC Part Picker to see how system builder pricing compares.  We did do that in this case, but I have to say there are many more caveats this time around than usual.  The build I made in PC Part Picker shows a price of $4350.

View Full Size

That does NOT include any of the water cooling components though as they aren't found in the PC Part Picker database today.  Even if you add a solid $400 for liquid cooling components and the LED light, that brings our component cost to about $4750, about a $1000 less than the ORIGIN pricing.  For that difference you get setup and configuration, an overclock to 4.9 GHz on your processor as well lifetime support from the ORIGIN team.  That is a hefty price hike to be sure but for many gamers looking to spend $5000+ for a machine I think the ability to trust your support and warranty to a third party is likely a key deciding point.

View Full Size

Pricing aside, the ORIGIN Genesis is the fastest and most impressive PC we have tested at PC Perspective and we have seen our fair share of systems in our labs.  If you want the ULTIMATE gaming experience then this machine will power it though I recommend (almost require) you invest in three monitors for a Surround experience if you are already shelling out $5000+ for a computer.  If I had to nitpick I would say the cables could be slightly cleaner and a solution to keep the noise levels down while running at idle would put this configuration at the Editor's Choice level but I am comfortable giving it a Gold award for gamers that want NO compromise.

View Full Size

November 5, 2012 | 01:21 PM - Posted by Humanitarian

WTS: 1xUsed Kidney, average condition - $5751

I'm kinda surprised they never bothered to watercool the VRM's seeing as there's more than enough radiator to. I'd probably even try running the GFX cards on water as well. But yeah, pretty sweet machine and lifetime warranty is a nice touch.

February 26, 2013 | 05:22 AM - Posted by Dwayne (not verified)

Are you aware that your website is coming up with errors in Firefox?

I needed to open IE to finish reading. No biggie,
nevertheless, you might want to take a look at that.
I'm positive it is costing you a number of readers.

my page ... new article

November 5, 2012 | 02:21 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Cables/Wires. That is just so wrong..

November 5, 2012 | 06:15 PM - Posted by Anonymous2 (not verified)

I promise not to complain about the wires when PCPer holds the Origin Genesis Giveaway :^)

November 5, 2012 | 03:35 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

The CPU loop is just that to cool the CPU, the fans on the radiator do not cool the chipset, if you want mobo cooling a full chipset water block would take care of that, let the watercooling experts do the review for the watercooling bits.

November 5, 2012 | 03:55 PM - Posted by Wolvenmoon (not verified)

Man, for that price I'd want everything on the mobo+both of the GPUs in the water cooling loop.

November 5, 2012 | 06:42 PM - Posted by Billgatez (not verified)

That top card is probably starving for cool air.

November 5, 2012 | 11:18 PM - Posted by robogeoff (not verified)

I had two GTX 580s that ran too hot stacked on top of each other. How do those 690s do with stock cooling?

Those GTX 690s should probably be in a water loop of their own, but that would add considerable cost to an already extremely overpriced rig.

November 6, 2012 | 08:31 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Great review but your price estimation is way below since I tried to customized the same specs. you have in origin site and when I reached the dual 690 its already 6K in which I still don't have hard drive & memory.

November 6, 2012 | 12:46 PM - Posted by mgripy

Oh my that is sweet, but the cabling on the backside is so bad.

November 6, 2012 | 07:02 PM - Posted by D1RTYD1Z619

I would totally buy this to play Plants vs zombies and Bejeweled at max settings.

November 7, 2012 | 09:34 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Damn dual 690's is so overkill but sooooooooo sexy. I think the price estimation is way too low too there's no way they will only charge 5k for this the thing is a powerhouse. I got a pc from ironsidecomputers.com for a really good price i think they are someone to watch out for.

November 8, 2012 | 06:26 PM - Posted by DMZ (not verified)

beautiful  [byoo-tuh-fuhl]

Part of Speech: adjective
Definition: physically attractive

November 10, 2012 | 07:00 AM - Posted by IAMPROHAHAYOUARENOT (not verified)

Shit, Shit i have better ;)

November 10, 2012 | 01:52 PM - Posted by UarenoobImproahha XD (not verified)

Hahahahahahahaha,nice joke XD

November 13, 2012 | 12:06 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Needs a better mobo. More & faster ram won't let the system or the price down.

November 19, 2012 | 12:33 PM - Posted by tiago almeida (not verified)

here buy 1 this machine in europe?

December 4, 2012 | 04:35 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

WTF did you just say to me?

December 21, 2012 | 05:33 PM - Posted by GregR (not verified)

I have a 3930k that I overclocked myself to 4.6ghz with just the multiplier, no voltage adjustment.

I have a Dell 30 inch ultrasharp monitor at 2560x1600.

I run Battlefield 3, Modern Warfare 3 and black ops 2 at ultra settings. I have one GTX 690 overclocked (boost speed)to 1225mhz with stock cooling.

The one GTX that I have doesn't even reach its full potential in any of these games. It doesn't even break a sweat.

The review only used one monitor, as do I. I can see two cards if your running three monitors in surround.

But what I don't understand, is when does the second GTX 690 kick in???? How is it even needed if one of them runs games smoothly at ultra settings, without reaching the boost speed????

December 21, 2012 | 05:34 PM - Posted by GregR (not verified)

I have a 3930k that I overclocked myself to 4.6ghz with just the multiplier, no voltage adjustment.

I have a Dell 30 inch ultrasharp monitor at 2560x1600.

I run Battlefield 3, Modern Warfare 3 and black ops 2 at ultra settings. I have one GTX 690 overclocked (boost speed)to 1225mhz with stock cooling.

The one GTX that I have doesn't even reach its full potential in any of these games. It doesn't even break a sweat.

The review only used one monitor, as do I. I can see two cards if your running three monitors in surround.

But what I don't understand, is when does the second GTX 690 kick in???? How is it even needed if one of them runs games smoothly at ultra settings, without reaching the boost speed????

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.