Review Index:
Feedback

Western Digital RE RAID Edition 4TB SATA Enterprise Drive - Full Review

Subject: Storage

Yapt v0.3

Yapt (yet another performance test) is a benchmark recommended by a pair of drive manufacturers and was incredibly difficult to locate as it hasn't been updated or used in quite some time.  That doesn't make it irrelevant by any means though, as the benchmark is quite useful.  It creates a test file of about 100 MB in size and runs both random and sequential read and write tests with it while changing the data I/O size in the process.  The results are a good look at overall drive performance.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

YAPT is not a 4K aligned test, and it wreaks a bit of havoc with Advanced Format HDDs. This causes most drives to have difficulty on the random access tests. Outside of those results, we saw the RE really take off in the random writes. It sat just below the VelociRaptor in our sequential testing.

October 10, 2012 | 11:21 PM - Posted by wujj123456

It's RAID edition review without RAID benchmarks, right? Did I miss something or maybe you are not provided enough drives for RAID testing?

October 28, 2012 | 09:17 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

All of these drive tend to scale similarly when in a RAID, depending more on the RAID controller than the drive itself. WD had a very limited number of samples for the new RE.

October 11, 2012 | 10:47 AM - Posted by fourpixel

Me gusta! :3

October 12, 2012 | 09:36 PM - Posted by James (not verified)

To answer the first fellow's question. That is simply the name of the drive not what the review entails. RE is short for Raid Edition.

October 16, 2012 | 02:58 PM - Posted by EVOTiVO

I have always wanted a SSD....Now i want 4 terabyte of hard drive space....

October 29, 2012 | 12:14 PM - Posted by Nerun (not verified)

I am curious, do you think the 2TB and 3TB would perform the same as the 4TB version? Will the lower amount of platters and heads cost some performance to the lower capactiy drives?

What I also wonder about is the new line of specific SAS models. Aou can plug a SATA drive in a SAS controller without any problems, so why the specific SAS line?

Thanks!

January 10, 2013 | 10:46 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You can plug a SAS device into a SATA controller but NOT a SATA device into a SAS controller.

September 3, 2013 | 07:00 AM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

You're backwards on that :). Most SAS RAID controllers can handle SATA.

September 5, 2013 | 06:34 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

In fact, it's exactly the other way around.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.