Review Index:
Feedback

Western Digital RE RAID Edition 4TB SATA Enterprise Drive - Full Review

Subject: Storage

IOMeter v2006.07.27 - IOps

Iometer is an I/O subsystem measurement and characterization tool for single and clustered systems. It was originally developed by the Intel Corporation and announced at the Intel Developers Forum (IDF) on February 17, 1998 - since then it got wide spread within the industry.

Meanwhile Intel has discontinued to work on Iometer and it was given to the Open Source Development Lab (OSDL). In November 2001, a project was registered at SourceForge.net and an initial drop was provided. Since the relaunch in February 2003, the project is driven by an international group of individuals who are continuesly improving, porting and extend the product.

Light desktop usage sees QD figures between 1 and 4. Heavy / power user loads run at 8 and higher. Most SSD's are not capable of effectively handling anything higher than QD=32, which explains the plateaus. Regarding why we use this test as opposed to single-tasker tests like 4KB random reads or 4KB random writes, well, computers are just not single taskers. Writes take place at the same time as reads. We call this mixed-mode testing, and while a given SSD comes with side-of-box specs that boast what it can do while being a uni-tasker, the tests above tend to paint a very different picture.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

Here we see the RE performs well, but is outpaced slightly by the RE and Black, both running at the same RPM. The increase in platter density doesn't help overcome the marginally longer seeks of the new RE. Each seek stacks up, becoming amplified slightly as the test progresses and more IO's are stacked up on the drive logic.

October 10, 2012 | 08:21 PM - Posted by wujj123456

It's RAID edition review without RAID benchmarks, right? Did I miss something or maybe you are not provided enough drives for RAID testing?

October 28, 2012 | 06:17 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

All of these drive tend to scale similarly when in a RAID, depending more on the RAID controller than the drive itself. WD had a very limited number of samples for the new RE.

October 11, 2012 | 07:47 AM - Posted by fourpixel

Me gusta! :3

October 12, 2012 | 06:36 PM - Posted by James (not verified)

To answer the first fellow's question. That is simply the name of the drive not what the review entails. RE is short for Raid Edition.

October 16, 2012 | 11:58 AM - Posted by EVOTiVO

I have always wanted a SSD....Now i want 4 terabyte of hard drive space....

October 29, 2012 | 09:14 AM - Posted by Nerun (not verified)

I am curious, do you think the 2TB and 3TB would perform the same as the 4TB version? Will the lower amount of platters and heads cost some performance to the lower capactiy drives?

What I also wonder about is the new line of specific SAS models. Aou can plug a SATA drive in a SAS controller without any problems, so why the specific SAS line?

Thanks!

January 10, 2013 | 07:46 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

You can plug a SAS device into a SATA controller but NOT a SATA device into a SAS controller.

September 3, 2013 | 04:00 AM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

You're backwards on that :). Most SAS RAID controllers can handle SATA.

September 5, 2013 | 03:34 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

In fact, it's exactly the other way around.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.