Review Index:
Feedback

Western Digital My Cloud EX4 - Personal Cloud Goes Big

Subject: Storage
Manufacturer: Western Digital

Packaging and Setup

Packaging:

The My Cloud EX4 came well packaged and protected. Drives come pre-installed with WD Red models appropriate to the capacity option purchased. Included in the box are a power supply and 6 foot Cat 5e rated ethernet cable.

View Full Size

Setup:

Western Digital has made it a point that these devices are ready to go straight out of the box. Provided you have purchased a model with included capacity, the volume will come pre-configured as a standard RAID-5 array. This can be changed to suit user customization preferences, but the point is that most standard users will be able to unbox a new EX4 and be storing and sharing files within a very short period of time. No extra steps configuring and initializing the array.

Once on your network and fired up, the EX4 pulls its own IP from your router or DHCP server. This IP is viewable simply by pressing the down arrow on the front panel of the EX4. Simply browse to that IP, or to the MyCloudEX4 network name, and you are presented with a simple sign-in:

View Full Size

A password can be configured once in the console, but the default is none. Default security is only for LAN devices to connect (not WAN), so the configuration console is reasonably secure out of the box. Once you're in, the device presents a neat and tidy UI:

View Full Size

With a range of apps installed (more on that later), the EX4 presents itself on your network in multiple ways:

View Full Size

Up top you see the standard Samba capable device name, followed by various media devices, and a standard storage device. All of these are linked to the same EX4, just via different available protocols.

November 12, 2013 | 05:11 PM - Posted by mAxius

MORE NAS REVIEWS MAYBE EVEN A BUILD YOUR OWN GUIDE!!!

November 12, 2013 | 05:22 PM - Posted by Sublym3 (not verified)

Yeah a build your own and a look into RAID alternatives like FlexRAID, unRAID and Greyhole based stuff.

November 12, 2013 | 06:35 PM - Posted by Robert23655124 (not verified)

I agree, I would love to see regular NAS builds (different budgets) and os's with comparisons to pre-built gear.

November 14, 2013 | 01:28 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

NAS build guide for home use (backup, basic network advice, where bottlenecks exist) would be super useful. Maybe a buyers guide for someone looking at building a small home NAS?

November 14, 2013 | 07:05 AM - Posted by Quix (not verified)

Good work Allyn! Nice review. .. Now slave, MORE STORAGE REVIEWS/INFO! get to work.

(thanx)

November 14, 2013 | 10:27 PM - Posted by razor512

Horrible performance for the price, compare that to building a $400 PC and then installing a bunch of hard drives and setting up RAID 5.

At that price range, it should be maxing out a gigabit connection.

November 15, 2013 | 03:25 AM - Posted by praack

impressed, have been looking for a good system for over a year- have seen some in action - seen the reviews of others- most have failed expectations others were to - well let's face it - how many of us are millionaires!

this looks nice, good combination of featurs - right price

November 15, 2013 | 07:41 AM - Posted by Robogeoff (not verified)

I see that WD states that WD Greens are compatible with this device. I have 4 x 3TB Greens at hand that I could spare for this. How good an idea is it to used Greens on a NAS? I used to hear bad things about Greens and drive failures in NAS devices.

November 16, 2013 | 09:17 AM - Posted by Scimmy (not verified)

I have a home built NAS with WD greens in it. Been running 24/7 for about a year now with no issues in raid 0.

November 19, 2013 | 07:42 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Can you add ram to the unit? 512mb seems a bit small when moving large files? Could that improve performance?

November 21, 2013 | 02:45 PM - Posted by David (not verified)

I commend them for allowing redundant power supplies and network connections. That is something most NAS makers usually don't provide on consumer units.

The speed is horrible. Either the unit is defective or they have a big problem with that software. They need to upgrade to the i3 chip and get away from the Atom. It's too slow to do RAID and encryption.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.