Review Index:
Feedback

Seagate Desktop SSHD 4TB Review - Big Hybrid, Little Cache

Subject: Storage
Manufacturer: Seagate
Tagged: sshd, Seagate, hybrid, 4TB

Introduction

Introduction

We've looked at many hybrid options over the past few years. First we checked out Intel's RST Caching solution, introduced on the Z68 chipset. Then we looked into Seagate's first few rounds of SSHD's, which were basically a standard HDD with an 8GB cache tacked on to the controller. Despite larger adoption of SSD's taking place, Seagate continues to push further into the hybrid market, with the addition of dual mode caching and other advancements. Today we take a look at their most recent push:

View Full Size

Yup, that's 4TB of hybrid goodness right there. No doubt this is a desktop class product, but how well can it handle desktop workloads?

Read on for the full review!

June 18, 2014 | 11:05 PM - Posted by br0 (not verified)

Would be good to see the drive performance after the whole of the flash cache has died and to see how long the flash lasts.

June 19, 2014 | 01:12 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

Even though it is small, the cache will very likely outlast the mechanical portion of the drive.

June 19, 2014 | 02:29 AM - Posted by ICE (not verified)

Can i use Intel's SRT with a RAID array? One Samsung 840 pro for the OS and two WD RED in RAID 1 with a cheap 64GB SSD for caching for the array.

June 19, 2014 | 01:11 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

I haven't tested that specific config, but I believe you can use SRT caching on a RAIDed pair.

June 19, 2014 | 09:25 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Just bought two 5TB drives for $189 each. Doesn't seem that the performance gain is worth the loss of capacity.

June 19, 2014 | 04:25 PM - Posted by NeonShark (not verified)

Hi,
What 5TB drives did you get? and where did you purchase them? That price sounds really good, I'm looking to put in a couple bigger drives in my rig that I can run in Raid.
Thanks.

Mark

June 30, 2014 | 07:40 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Just bought a third. 32TB and three bays left...

Amazon - STBV5000100. Get some guitar picks to open the external enclosure without scratching it, takes like 1-3 minutes, plug into computer, convert to GPT, format, done. I still don't know why the external hard drives are so much cheaper than the internal drives. Loss leader? Inferior components?

June 19, 2014 | 09:55 AM - Posted by funandjam

It seems to me that these kinds of drives are best used as the drive for your OS and not used for games and files and such. I have one of the 750gb models and it used to be my only drive. When comparing bootup times between it and our other pc with a regular spindle drive, it was a good bitfaster.
But for games? Unless you play the same 2 or 3 games over and over again, the amount of flash memory on it just doesn't make a difference. I really think that with the prices of flash memory falling that seagate should have put more on these kinds of drives, at least doubled it to 16gb.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.