Review Index:
Feedback

OCZ Vertex 460 240GB SSD Full Review - Now with Toshiba 19nm flash

Subject: Storage
Manufacturer: OCZ Technology

HDTach

HD Tach will test the sequential read, random access and interface burst speeds of your attached storage device (hard drive, flash drive, removable drive, etc). All drive technologies such as SCSI, IDE/ATA, 1394, USB, SATA and RAID are supported. Test results from HD Tach can be used to confirm manufacturer specs, analyze your system for proper performance, and compare your performance with others. HD Tach is very easy to use, quick, and presents data in easy to read graphs, including the ability to compare two storage devices on screen at the same time for easy analysis.

View Full Size

Bursts are provided only for your review. SSD's don't cache the same way HDD's do (in many cases they don't cache reads at all), so burst testing typically results in figures that are lower than the sequential throughput figures, regardless of controller used.

View Full Size

HDTach feeds the tested drive a continuous string of small sequential read requests. This is a single threaded operation, which means the SSD doesn't get to see what's coming next. The lower the QD=1 latency of the controller pipeline, the better the numbers we see from this test. It doesn't equate to real-world maximum throughput, but it does mean something for analysis, which is why we include these results.

More realistic sequential figures are present on the next page (HDTune).

View Full Size

January 22, 2014 | 07:17 AM - Posted by mAxius

i am going to say this Toshiba can turn ocz back into a premium player in the ssd market hopefully with better customer support!

January 22, 2014 | 02:59 PM - Posted by pdjblum

Once again you tout all sorts of hyperbole about OCZ aggressive pricing. OCZ ssd's continue to be priced higher than the competition, other than intel, despite having the worst overall review averages. In the past you gave them gold awards predicated on the possibility that they would release a firmware that would only then make the drive competitive and the possibility that the retail prices would actually be aggressive. Hard to understand your subjectivity with respect to OCZ. You need to remember that because you have the money to afford any hardware you seem to want, no matter how fringe, many of us still find $500 for a 480GB drive a lot of money. BTW, I have been using small ssd's for the os since they were released unbranded by samsung and sold on ewiz, and want nothing more than ssd's exclusively in my system; but storage drives at that price are out of my reach. Yeah, I am jealous.

January 23, 2014 | 05:45 PM - Posted by Sonic4Spuds

You may want to check the pricing of the 460, it is listed at $360 not $500, and yes granted that is more than most people can afford, but it is significantly less.

January 22, 2014 | 03:57 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

If Toshiba laptops are any indicator, crappy Toshiba system software, no graphics driver updates(For their customizied Intel HD graphics drivers) and overall crappy build quality! Just say NO to Toshiba, I am still waiting for a Graphics driver update for my first generation core i3 based laptop(Intel can not update OEM customizied HD graphics drivers), OH Toshiba wants me to buy a new laptop to get the latest drivers, It's not going to happen Toshiba, and your other products are a NO BUY, until you update you first generation core i3 Modded Intel HD graphics drivers!

January 22, 2014 | 05:07 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

First gen i3 is dead, Jim. The graphics were terrible to begin with.

January 22, 2014 | 05:38 PM - Posted by biohazard918

you want better graphics then buy a better laptop nehalem had shit integrated graphics.

January 22, 2014 | 06:39 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Yes the graphics are shit, but with driver updates a few more graphics programs would work on the Toshiba laptops, readers who game should Know to not purchase Toshiba, bcause with Toahiba if Your game needs a graphics driver update, no matter how new the laptop is, that laptop will never get a driver update, Intel can NOT update OEM modified HD graphics drivers, and If you purchase a brand new Toshiba and the game needs a Graphics Driver Update you are SOL! P.S. Nehalem is the code name for the desktop core i3 CPUs, Arrandale is the codename for first generation mobile core i3 CPUs! Intel has a terrible habit of letting OEMs customize and gimp their graphics drivers, one wonders what OEMs do to the Full advertised features of Intel's graphics in their customization process, just to get the product out the door and sold to the unsuspecting public!

January 23, 2014 | 07:08 AM - Posted by Caeden (not verified)

No amount of software is going to fix what is plainly missing in most iGPU chips put out by Intel. Sure percentage wise you would be looking at large improvements, up to possibly a 50% increase... but even 1,000,000x performance of nothing is still nothing. Moving frame rates from 10fps to 15fps is just as unplayable, and it was never intended for gaming use to begin with.
Now I am not defending Tosh's laptop lines. Personally I have not used or seen a Tosh laptop in the wild in over 10 years. They are not exactly a relevant player in that field. But your argument against their driver issues are a big flawed.

Besides, aren't 1st gen i3 machines getting on 4 years old now? And they were hardly top of the line 4 years ago. Sounds to me like you need to get a new machine that is realistically capable of the workloads you are throwing at it. You might be able to play games with a desktop i3... but I would have my doubts of even a new i3 laptop being very game worthy.

However in the realm of HDDs Toshiba is quite respectable. They are not quite as popular as WD or Seagate in aftermarket purchases, but they work just fine, and do a fair amount of OEM business. I refurbish a lot of drives, and while Toshiba drives are fewer and further between than others, they pretty much never test out as bad. I am hoping that they bring this same level of quality to OCz who has always been a bit hit-or-miss in the quality department, which is a lot of what caused their demise.

January 23, 2014 | 09:56 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

There are two graphics software programs that do not work properly, and have never worked properly on the "4 years old now?" laptop, it is not an issue with the graphics ability of the "arrandale" core i3 first generation Intel CPU or the performence ability of the integrated GPU, as these two graphics programs worked fine on a laptop with a single core celeron M "dothan" CPU! The openGL/other drivers on the Core i3 based laprop were then gimped by Toshiba, and not properly written in the first place, leaving one of the graphics programs unable to highlite a face/faces on a selected poloygon mesh model, ever try editing a mesh in face select mode (A mesh with more than 50,000 individual faces) not knowing which faces are selected and which fases are not! Toshiba gimped the drivers, in a rushed attempt to get the laptop with the then, latest intel core i3 cpu, to the market, and toshiba being the poor quality lowball hardware/software company that they are, never intended to keep their laptops updated! Intel did not care, as they are in the business of selling the CPUs, and Intel does offer updates to the Intel generic HD graphics drivers, but Intel can Not update OEM customizied HD graphics drivers! Intel should have required all laptop OEM to use the generic HD graphics drivers, or require the OEMs to keep the OEM customizied graphics drivers updated, but again Intel only cares about selling CPUs, and not about the end users ability to update the graphics drivers on the CPUs that Intel sells. Intel and graphics should always come with a big asterisk "*" when it come to the question of graphics driver updates!

Toshiba HDD respectablility in not in question, the money I spent on the laptop is, and Toshiba Brand loyalty is in question here, as their laptops are not recieving the proper service after the sale! I will not buy Toshiba, and any laptop gamers relying on Intel graphics, who more often than not, will require Intel HD graphics drivers updates, should not also!

January 29, 2014 | 08:23 AM - Posted by Jack P (not verified)

Satellite A100 from 2006, working fine on Windows 8.1

Just saying.

January 23, 2014 | 05:51 PM - Posted by Sonic4Spuds

Looking forward I am happy that OCZ is able to be competitive going forward, as they have shown a lot of promise with their use of custom controllers. I personally own an old mid range drive from them, and have found their support to be amazing in the past, and hope that continues under Toshiba.

I am also glad that they are able to compete somewhat on price still, as I think that is the biggest hold up when comparing most drives with Samsung drives.

September 9, 2014 | 01:14 AM - Posted by Trystan (not verified)

Some pb with my old generation of SSD. (OCZ 285 60GB VERTEX 2 SERIES SATA II 2.5" SSD 5000)

RMA service is very overall. They gave me this one for remplacement.(VTX460-25SAT3-120G OCZ)

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.