Review Index:
Feedback

OCZ Vertex 3.20 240GB Full Review - Vertex 3 Pushes 20nm Flash

Subject: Storage

IOMeter v2006.07.27 - IOps

Iometer is an I/O subsystem measurement and characterization tool for single and clustered systems. It was originally developed by the Intel Corporation and announced at the Intel Developers Forum (IDF) on February 17, 1998 - since then it got wide spread within the industry.

Meanwhile Intel has discontinued to work on Iometer and it was given to the Open Source Development Lab (OSDL). In November 2001, a project was registered at SourceForge.net and an initial drop was provided. Since the relaunch in February 2003, the project is driven by an international group of individuals who are continuesly improving, porting and extend the product.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

Light desktop usage sees QD figures between 1 and 4. Heavy / power user loads run at 8 and higher. Most SSD's are not capable of effectively handling anything higher than QD=32, which explains the plateaus.

Regarding why we use this test as opposed to single-tasker tests like 4KB random reads or 4KB random writes, well, computers are just not single taskers. Writes take place at the same time as reads. We call this mixed-mode testing, and while a given SSD comes with side-of-box specs that boast what it can do while being a uni-tasker, the tests above tend to paint a very different picture.

There's no way to sugar coat this, folks. In our mixed workload tests, the 3.20 simply falls flat, even when compared to the Intel SSD 335, which operates on the same 20nm IMFT flash.

April 17, 2013 | 08:22 PM - Posted by derz

Very thorough review Allyn. The move to try out the new flash size using sandforce instead of Indilinx perplexed me at first, but then I thought that they would probably want to experiment the hardware change with a tried and true firmware.

April 17, 2013 | 10:20 PM - Posted by mAxius

looks great nice work Allyn! Though you should really include more 500+ gb units in your reviews for completeness :D

April 17, 2013 | 10:55 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

Thanks! We usually try to cover ranges, but the 3.20 is not available in a >240GB capacity.

April 18, 2013 | 05:22 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

I am still using my OCZ Vertex 3 SSD with no problems. Vertex 3.20 does not deserve that Vertex name. Come on, OCZ, you need to do better SSD Vertex SSD products.

April 24, 2013 | 09:03 AM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

Hey Allyn,

What components make up the overhead that prevents SSD's from reaching the max 6gbps bus speed? Is it all scsi frame overhead or are there other limiting factors?

Thanks.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.