Review Index:
Feedback

OCZ Octane 512GB SSD Full Review - Indilinx Has Returned With Everest

Subject: Storage
Manufacturer: OCZ

IOMeter - Average Transaction Time (rev 1)

 Back with the Kingston SSDNow V Series 40GB review, I revised the layout of these graphs to better show SSD latency and access time.  First, I have removed HDD results as they throw the scale too far to tell any meaningful difference in the SSD's you are trying to focus on.  Second, I have reduced the queue depth scale down to 4.  In practical terms of a running OS, queue depth is how many commands are 'stacked up' on the SSD at that time.  An SSD is so fast at servicing requests that typical use will rarely see it increasing past 4.  In the cases where it does, there is so much going on that you are more concerned with IOPS and throughput at that point than transaction time.  The below charts are meant to show how nimble a given SSD is.  Think of it as how well a car handles as opposed to how fast it can go.

Some notes for interpreting results:

  • Times measured at QD=1 can serve as a more 'real' value of seek time.
  • A 'flatter' line means that drive will scale better and ramp up its IOPS when hit with multiple requests simultaneously.

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

View Full Size

Further demonstration of the Octane's very low latency.

 

November 23, 2011 | 09:43 AM - Posted by Matt (not verified)

Great review and an interesting product. I am finally tempted to put an SSD in my Laptop. To bad about the compatibility issue. There is no way I would do a fresh install.

also, on the pc per File copy test page, you haev a small typo :

''Even with a laege cache''

November 23, 2011 | 11:05 AM - Posted by Ryan Shrout

Thanks, fixed!

April 9, 2013 | 05:14 PM - Posted by Shelly (not verified)

This is a very good tip particularly to those new
to the blogosphere. Simple but very precise info… Thanks for sharing this
one. A must read post!

My website: Allure Flooring

April 18, 2014 | 03:03 AM - Posted by jlukeadan012

this blog post is sensational one to get a depth of knowledge i admire the writers creative release here an awesome one here
[ dr oz garcinia cambogia extract ][ forever garcinia plus ]

September 2, 2014 | 06:45 AM - Posted by jaceki

I couldn't agree more...
Cheers
http://www.topoptionitaly.com/

April 18, 2014 | 03:02 AM - Posted by jlukeadan012

Excellent topic to have a short review, i am certainly impressed while having a look on to it and everyone needs to follow it now on
[ whole body garcinia cambogia ][ Research Verified Garcinia Cambogia ][ where to buy whole body garcinia cambogia ]

April 29, 2014 | 09:15 PM - Posted by jlukeadan012

No content is comparable and admirable then this mentioned for the explanations, a must one to read for everyone and get assisted a lot
[ Garcinium ][ http://garciniumfact.com ]

November 23, 2011 | 01:00 PM - Posted by PNG (not verified)

When making screenshot :

Please do not using JPEG , use PNG
It looks a lot better with PNG.

Took me about 1/2 sec to spot the JPEG artifacts ...

November 23, 2011 | 05:50 PM - Posted by Nilbog

delete this lame^^

November 23, 2011 | 09:15 PM - Posted by Jeremy Hellstrom

blocked and cleaning now

November 23, 2011 | 11:35 PM - Posted by Anonymous (not verified)

It is still made by OCZ and that alone is reason enough to go no where near this product.

November 24, 2011 | 11:34 AM - Posted by ToiT (not verified)

Times are changing... keep your eye on them.

November 24, 2011 | 05:01 PM - Posted by pdjblum

My vertex recently failed and it took over a month to get a replacement from them. In the mean time, I had to buy another ssd for my system. I got the intel 320 because I was more interested in reliability than having the fastest drive out there. Really two issues come up here: one is that the vertex failed; and two is that it took over a month to get a replacement. I too will stay clear of OCZ for the foreseeable future. I just hope my vertex 3 max io edition that I bought previous to my vertex debacle hangs in there.

November 30, 2011 | 09:23 PM - Posted by josephjpeters (not verified)

Your perception is based on a first gen product. Look at the reviews of the Vertex 3 (or all SF-based drives) and you'll see that they've become a lot more reliable. I've had a Vertex 3 since launch and never had a single issue.

Now at OCZ is developing their own products (own controller), they'll be able to respond much quicker to compatibility issues. Keep in mind they're a relatively small company. As they grow their support and subsequent reliability will improve.

November 24, 2011 | 08:52 AM - Posted by pdjblum

Allyn,

Can you say anything as to the effectiveness of trim on the drive?

November 24, 2011 | 11:37 AM - Posted by ToiT (not verified)

It's too bad that OCZ handed out all 512GB drives, considering the price, that's probably more than what the majority of buyers are going to consider as viable option. I'd love to see a review of something smaller since the specs are worse, I'm not sure it would keep up to any SF-2281's or other competitors.

November 30, 2011 | 09:29 PM - Posted by bluehorseshoe (not verified)

Rumor has it OCZ is being qualified at a major OEM who wants to put SSD's in every laptop across their product line, either all SSD or as part of a hybrid system. This is part a response to the recent HDD shortage. I'd assume that's where the 128GB and 256GB drives are being shipped at the moment.

January 3, 2012 | 07:44 PM - Posted by wujj123456

I just read a relevant review on tom's hardware. Honestly, based on my knowledge of SSDs, I think their test approach is more complete, especially if your are evaluating a new controller.

The worst case scenario and steady performance they pointed out is orthogonal to what you've tested here (sequential/random I/O). I don't see many other websites doing the same thing, and it would be great if you can try similar methodology if possible. Thanks.

March 27, 2012 | 11:29 PM - Posted by Allyn Malventano

First - I am the original source for review sites conducting this type of testing:

http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Storage/Long-term-performance-analysis-Inte... (dated Feb of *2009*).

The part of the Tom's article you speak of:

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/octane-sata-indilinx-benchmark-perfo...

...is a dated method that is no longer relevant when using an SSD with an OS that continually issues TRIM commands to the drive. Benchmarks can not accurately test for this as they are unable to issue TRIM commands directly to the drive while doing all of those random writes. The closest you can get is to run something that fragments the drive, but then to partition and format the drive under Windows 7, *then* run the HDTach pass and see what happened. I do this to all drives as part of my testing, and the Octane behaved as all other modern SSDs do - performance had returned to normal. This was actually noted below the basing portion on that page of the Tom's piece.

That said, I'll revive my "Performance Over Time And TRIM" page for future pieces.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote><p><br>
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.